User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3502 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ed
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    I am not allow to spoil anything and that was the deal for getting an early copy of MGS4 but guys this game is worth even the $85+ for the collectors edition.

    it has all you need in a game full of action and espionage.
    that 90 minute scene crap is all nothing but flamebait.
    If you are an early MGS fan you wont be disappointed
  2. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game follows the greate path of the rest of the MGS games. The controls, grapichs, and story is just plaine awsome. This game will emerge you deep into the world of Solid Snake for hours and hours and you wont get bored. This is truly a must have game, because you will have missed one of the gaming worlds Brighest pearls if you dont. 10/10, and i would rate it higher if possible:)
  3. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably enjoy watching them. Amazing game, the #1 game on PS3, and the #1 game of all time {along with the entire series of course}. Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Truly an epic game in it's presentation and execution. Obviously, it can be seen as a little fishy for a game to have only (at most) 10 hours gameplay through the story and probably twice that length of time in cut-scenes, but that's what this game is all about. The game has a near perfect consistent quality of it's ideas and invention. There is certainly more of a focus on the challengeTruly an epic game in it's presentation and execution. Obviously, it can be seen as a little fishy for a game to have only (at most) 10 hours gameplay through the story and probably twice that length of time in cut-scenes, but that's what this game is all about. The game has a near perfect consistent quality of it's ideas and invention. There is certainly more of a focus on the challenge and an engrossing story, which a lot of gamers don't appreciate as being fun, but the gameplay itself is relatively flawless for it's genre. Problems with gameplay do occur when playing on the hardest difficulty - where luck is as necessary as skill in certain chapters, so this is only advised for the hardcore fans. Most can over-look the flaws throughout the game, making this a staple for any PS3 owner and any fans of the series. Expand
  5. It'sme,Mario!
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    The game is excelent in every way. Graphic, sound, gameplay, history... The game makes you play for hours and hours with a very good amount of fun.
    See those comments under here? The people who gave it a 5 just dont know what they say. The game is briliant, and if you dont like the cutscenes, you can just skip it.
  6. DavidP.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    It's an interactive movie, nuff said.
  7. Seth
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best and most epic games I will ever remember! MGS4 = Mind blowing gameplay, challenging boss fights, emotional and laugh out loud cut scenes! People who say this game is garbage, dont have the attention spand to watch and pay attention to the genius cut scenes! Thats one of the elements that that makes it beautiful!! Both thumbs up!
  8. RoryB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    A tour-de-force for the franchise. Compelling story and cinematography, so-good-I-can't-believe-it's-not-real graphics, a musical score that combines the best of Metal Gears past and present. Kojima should be incredibly proud.
  9. RichardB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game doesn't do anything half way; anything it does, it does well. In addition to the phenomenal story and action, the game is OVERFLOWING with small nicknack's and secrets and inside jokes that make it feel REAL. From your octocamo, that I messed with for about a half hour, to a small coke-drinking monkey with an arms dealer, this game is everything a MGS fan could want, and something a non fan would be pulled in by. Expand
  10. MK
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to cutscenes. However, it all depends out how you play the game. You can play in easy setting and go all out Rambo-style and be done with a level within minutes. On the other hand, you can play in harder difficulties and sneak with out hurting anyone. Harder difficulties make Rambo-style near impossible due to various limitations, like increased damage. I found NORMAL difficulty for MGS4 much easier than previous MGS games. Thus, I was taking action/all out approach more often than previous MGS games. Almost all cutscenes have some sort of interactivity imbedded in them, similar to MGS3. You can often see what Snake is actually seeing or trigger flashbacks. Talk abut flash backs, Kojima plays with your nostalgia. It often makes funs of itself and previous MGS games to toy with your memories. Remember Psycho Mantis from MGS1? Remember how you defeated him? Try it on one of the bosses. People have been praising MGS4's visual fidelity. Yeah, it's amazing. It's given for MGS series to leap beyond any games in visual department. Actually, the sound in this game is the most impressive part to me. As a result of using Skywalker Ranch (used for movies) to do sound recordings, the game's 5.1 mix is superior to many feature films. With truely amazing sound and AAA film-like angles on cutscenes and gameplay, it make the experience much better than previous ones. Most reviews won't tell you that you need to install for 8 minutes initially, and for 3 minutes in between ACTS. Loading is lot more frequent than expected due to real-time cutscenes. Some cutscenes load after another. Little things, but they weren't too annoying. If you are a FAN or feel like take a role in an epic 15 hour interactive art film, be my guest and play it! THIS IS THE REASON TO OWN PS3. Expand
  11. EvanB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing! I was amazed at how the cut scenes and the game play were seamless! I have never seen that before in a video game! This is the game of the year, over GTA IV by a long shot! I agree with IGN...if this game could get an "11", it would! BUY it!
  12. ThomasC.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable, I waited a long time for this game and it definitely made the wait worth it. The graphics are amazing, the story is well told as you play, and the stealth component is a lot of fun. This game contains a lot of 'wow' moments too. Certainty a must for your collection.
  13. PaulM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I'm a fan of Metal Gear Solid since the first one came out for PS1. They all took my breath away and made me laugh for joy like no other game. This one is no exception, in fact, it's a lot more than I expected. Metal Gear Solid 4 is more than a game. It's like the best novel, with the greatest storyline, the best movie, and the best game, all-in-one.
  14. sigma
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    By far the best out of the entire series. Hideo and his clan put together one of the most inspirational games ever made. So much detail, beautiful animations, compelling script and story telling. I am overwhelmed by the amount of content in this game. 11 out of 10!
  15. GeorgeH.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    The game of all games, one of the best games ever created. Actually it is more than just a game, it is an immersing journey for both solid snake and the player. Salute
  16. JulianV.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time (especially towards the end of the game). That said I am looking forward to playing it through again on a harder difficulty and trying to complete all the unlockable stuff. The fact that levels can be completed a multitude of different ways and that no two battles between the PMC's and the militants are the same should ensure that the game has good replay value. Expand
  17. KevinH
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    A modern day masterpiece! And the first "Killer App" for the PS3!
  18. MgsForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played the previous games, otherwise you won't understand much of the story). Expand
  19. JasonH
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game but you do own a PlayStation 3, then go directly to a retailer and make the purchase. Expand
  20. AndrewLittle
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Loved it, thought the gameplay, graphics and gameplay were awesome, the story line was good as well except the fact that Snake was around 60 and yet able to run around shooting... i know it kinda explains it in the story but i dont think that was a good move by Hideo Kojima !
  21. DarrnK.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    I have to say this is one of the finest games ever made. Kojima really outdid himself with this game, I mean all the customizations are noticable in the in-game cutscenes and even those are just using in-game graphics. This game also comes packed with an Online mode which only increases the value, this game is a must have.
  22. SteveM.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersive, emotional and downright brilliant game the PS3 has seen.
  23. PhilY.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This game is virtually flawless, its so well polished and detailed its unbelievable. This game truly beckons next gen gaming.
  24. GordonR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. It is.... words can't describe. It's so far beyond anything else out there that there is nothing to compare it to. Just play it.
  25. TysonB
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just isn't possible. The Cell can handle way more than what PS3s graphics card can. Anyways, besides all of that, this game is insane, in a very good way. Graphically it's beautiful and stunning. Story wise it is truly something else, it lives up to expectations that many were wanting. Game play it's different and makes you keep wanting to play. Yes, it does have long cut-scenes but it does not off set it from the true colors. Replay is definitely a 10/10 on it's own, since skipping the cut-scenes opens up a lot of game play. Yes, the game could have been better in Kojima's eyes. All great minds end up not liking there work, it's a fact. It's just that way, can't fault the game because it is very perfect. Expand
  26. BenWalker
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    I did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cutI did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cut scenes and just "play the game". Expand
  27. JohnG.
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    OK so after reading all of the MGS4 reviews I was excited to pick up this game. Having never played any of the games in this series I really didn't know what to expect. I am currently midway through act II and the game is just OK. The graphics are pretty good, not outstanding. The story line is good but there are way way too many cut scenes and for stupid things too. IE it will OK so after reading all of the MGS4 reviews I was excited to pick up this game. Having never played any of the games in this series I really didn't know what to expect. I am currently midway through act II and the game is just OK. The graphics are pretty good, not outstanding. The story line is good but there are way way too many cut scenes and for stupid things too. IE it will return from one cut scene and give you control again, but after taking 10 steps forward it will go back to another cut scene. Is this really necessary? However, my biggest complaint is the fact that you could play this entire (except when you fight the boss') without firing a gun. This seems sssooo lame. I want to play a game with a lot of action and cool weapons. Which this game does have but it's really set up for you to be as sneaky as possible and not really for killing or taking advantage of the cool weapons. What this equates to is a cool game but definitely not a game I couldn't live without. I will finish the game and then return it. I don't think I would play this game again after I beat it. Expand
  28. PM
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    Fans of the MGS series will be moved and mostly satisfied with MGS4. Sure, it's mostly cutscenes - I finished it in 15 hours, with probably 9-10 of those being non-interactive - but what cutscenes! More than ever before, MGS4 is less a game and more an interactive story, and while I don't often subscribe to that philosophy, everything here works. The scale, the over-the-top Fans of the MGS series will be moved and mostly satisfied with MGS4. Sure, it's mostly cutscenes - I finished it in 15 hours, with probably 9-10 of those being non-interactive - but what cutscenes! More than ever before, MGS4 is less a game and more an interactive story, and while I don't often subscribe to that philosophy, everything here works. The scale, the over-the-top operatic emotion, the game mechanical innovations, the setpieces, and every tiny detail meld together to make for a truly epic conclusion. On the other hand, if you are not a fan of the MGS series, do not bother. You will be lost and bored. Expand
  29. GabrielN.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, smart, elaborate and so incredibly poignant, think the end of MGS3 and multiply it by 5, that there are scenes where you litterally feel all your senses soaring. It is a moving and deeply profound experience, unlike any other. The gameplay, graphics, sound, music, everything is pretty much as good as it gets. This one is, without a doubt, for the history books. Expand
  30. AlexC
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Unless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettableUnless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettable boss battles, NINJAS, giant robot battles, NINJAS, classic secret agent action (or a frantic Gears' style shooter if stealth isn't your thing) and NINJAS! Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.