User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3621 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeteW.
    Aug 14, 2008
    8
    First off: outstanding gameplay, as usual for the series. There's nothing quite like sneaking through the middle of a firefight, or slipping up behind a guard and cutting his throat before he even knows you're there. And the boss battles are lots of fun as always. Also, the graphics were simply some of the best ever in a game, and the music, while not the best in the series, was First off: outstanding gameplay, as usual for the series. There's nothing quite like sneaking through the middle of a firefight, or slipping up behind a guard and cutting his throat before he even knows you're there. And the boss battles are lots of fun as always. Also, the graphics were simply some of the best ever in a game, and the music, while not the best in the series, was duly cinematic and epic. Now, The Cutscenes. I have one gripe with them, and one alone. I don't mind that they represent easily half of the total play time. I don't mind that some of the best action sequences in the game are things you just sit back and watch. But what I DO mind is when the plot of the game is hammered into my skull by having characters repeat the same few points over, and over, and over, and over. Kojima could easily have cut at least 1/3rd of the running time without losing any substance. Also, while I give the series credit for trying to have a more involved story than games usually do, let's not pretend that this is any deeper than a Tom Clancy novel, people. I get that war is bad, that the military-industrial complex is a threat, that genetic engineering is potentially dangerous, and all the rest. I wish the creators could have avoided pretending like this stuff is pivotal social commentary and kept things a bit snappier. Overall I'd still say that MGS3: Subsistence is the best in the series, but this is certainly a worthy new entry and good for a couple dozen hours of high-grade entertainment. Expand
  2. ToddK
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Most excellent game. Graphics are spectacular, my one and only gripe is the final battle with Liquid where it is all CQC.
  3. MattC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    Ignore low scores, the Xbox Fanboys (Xbots) can't get this game and this is the best videogame ever made. So if people complain because they sucked with a Xbox 360.
  4. ClaytonC.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    This is the first Metal Gear game I have played. I was a little unsure about buying it, but it turns out it was one of the best decisions i have ever made. The gameplay is smooth, the cutscenes are top-notch, and it's one of the few games that i could feel emotion from. The story is complicated, but amazing. It raises the bar for story-telling in games because it didn't get This is the first Metal Gear game I have played. I was a little unsure about buying it, but it turns out it was one of the best decisions i have ever made. The gameplay is smooth, the cutscenes are top-notch, and it's one of the few games that i could feel emotion from. The story is complicated, but amazing. It raises the bar for story-telling in games because it didn't get dumbed down because some people wouldn't like it, it went all out and it worked beautifully. Definitly one of the greatest games of all time. Expand
  5. CMP.
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    This game has raised the bar so high that all games pale by comparison. It is like playing the greatest movie I've ever seen in my life. Masterpiece doesn't do it justice.
  6. YeahRight
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Beats halo, beats Gears of war. Mgs4 was really a beautiful game. Shame its the last one.
  7. AndrewM
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    A amazing experience that blow away most games on the market today, including the less stellar Halo 3 and with graphics better than Gears of War, its the reason to own a PS3. Don't listen to the negative reviews, those are just jealous 360 owners.
  8. Sheikh
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    A timeless classic. Has a few minor issues but all in all a near perfect game. Epic story,Stylish gameplay ,breathe taking audio-video presentation and tons of replay value. Also Ships with metal gear online.
  9. FireSoul
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    With every game of metal gear 1 , 2 , 3 you just keep saying there can't be better than this well , heido kojima keeps on surprising any human who hold a video game controller Yeah once again i said it ... MGS4 a game can't be better than this ( sill waiting heido kojima answer in MGS5 ) ... a master is a master and he is the master of games creation 10/10 for onr of the best With every game of metal gear 1 , 2 , 3 you just keep saying there can't be better than this well , heido kojima keeps on surprising any human who hold a video game controller Yeah once again i said it ... MGS4 a game can't be better than this ( sill waiting heido kojima answer in MGS5 ) ... a master is a master and he is the master of games creation 10/10 for onr of the best games in the best saga of all time. Expand
  10. AaronB.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Story wise, this game is perfect. Graphic wise, this game is perfect. Gameplay wise, this game is perfect. Replayability wise, this game is perfect. I don't know how else to put it, but it got me hooked from the moment I picked up the controller. I bought a ps3 for this, and am not disappointed!
  11. ClemetW.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    10 years after MGS1, MGS4 comes along and pulls it off again. The best graphics seen on a console game this far, very improved gampeplay, and a story that makes up the perfect closure for one of the best series in gaming. Metal Gear Solid 4 will move any MGS fan!
  12. DanielR.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Superb, beyond reproach.
  13. JCS
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Being a hardcore MGS fan since its origins, it didn't take a second's hesitation for me to purchase this fourth and final chapter as soon as I got my PS3. I knew it would get mixed reviews, especially from users, because MGS4 closes what is surely the video-game series with the most intricate story-line ever created. Kojima definitely didn't have an easy task on his Being a hardcore MGS fan since its origins, it didn't take a second's hesitation for me to purchase this fourth and final chapter as soon as I got my PS3. I knew it would get mixed reviews, especially from users, because MGS4 closes what is surely the video-game series with the most intricate story-line ever created. Kojima definitely didn't have an easy task on his hands... He needed to tie together everything that had occurred over the past 3 games (including the mess he left behind in MGS2's ending that left everyone puzzled), and miraculously make it all work. OBVIOUS consequence: 20-minute cutscenes here and there, and between them, classic MGS gameplay (i.e. perfect for the real MGS fans). The people that aren't happy with this formula, the length of the cutscenes, and the story-line (which is and always has been the core of all MGS games) are simply not enjoying the game for what it is. The transition from MGS1 to MGS2 was a let-down for many, as I'm sure this one will be too. For me personally, it worked fine. You either accept it or you don't, it's as simple as that. Everything else, from graphics to OST to gameplay is outstanding. So, maybe it's not the best MGS ever, but it does its job. Expand
  14. DavidS.
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This is the pinnacle of video game storytelling. A good plot full of twists and turns, well developed characters, great action sequences and more than one tear jerking moments make MGS4 my favorite game this generations. If you don't mind long cutscenes check it out, it'll keep you glued to your screen from beginning to end.
  15. JS
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    I am a hardcore gamer, I play all sorts. At this point I try and only play games I really want to play just so I have time for a life. I have always wanted games to become truly deep on every level, its like from 1990-2000 there has been more GAMEPLAY innovation (think about it) than from 2000-2009. This game shatters all my requests for a deeper game. It is the highest quality game I I am a hardcore gamer, I play all sorts. At this point I try and only play games I really want to play just so I have time for a life. I have always wanted games to become truly deep on every level, its like from 1990-2000 there has been more GAMEPLAY innovation (think about it) than from 2000-2009. This game shatters all my requests for a deeper game. It is the highest quality game I have ever played, it is an extremely rewarding experience, its only fault is its brevity and lack of choice, however these things could simply not be any other way given the nature of the game. It is as close to perfect as a subjective experience can be. For anyone that likes depth, MGS, great games, great stories and amazing experiences play this game. If you cant be bothered figuring out the nuanced control system (which is tricky but very rewarding and has less limits) and would rather just moving aiming and shooting, or anyone who doesnt want to see a great deal of the best cutscenes ever made in gaming history (COME ON!!! lots of the best ever made! WHAT ARE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT!!!!!! You can skip you know!) and also if you just dont like violence (the most forgivable reason for not wanting this game, and I would point out it is quite eloquently anti-war) you probably should not get this game. Bottom line is the reasons you would rather play some rubbish shooter than this are the same sort of reasons somebody would watch Freddie VS Jason rather than Shawshank or 12 angry men (watch them if you havent) anyway, to anyone who like video games and isnt an idiot this game will more likely than not instantly become your favourite game ever. Only memories of my first adventures in Morrowind compare, but thats just me. Expand
  16. anthonyL
    May 26, 2009
    10
    A truly epic masterpiece that wraps up the saga nicely. Kojima outdid himself this time with a very wide range of gameplay from the classic stealth, to the motorbike sequence, to the metal gear rex segment. MGS4 also includes one of the most memorable and climatic boss battles I have ever experienced from an action game. Although the story may be a little hard to digest fro newcomers to A truly epic masterpiece that wraps up the saga nicely. Kojima outdid himself this time with a very wide range of gameplay from the classic stealth, to the motorbike sequence, to the metal gear rex segment. MGS4 also includes one of the most memorable and climatic boss battles I have ever experienced from an action game. Although the story may be a little hard to digest fro newcomers to the series, it was well executed with well done cutscenes. Expand
  17. DeepF
    May 27, 2009
    9
    I'm not going to oppose you guys Dave N and Voodoo, this game may not as funny as the original one for a MGS FAN like us. But, as far as I know, there are really less gamers who can afford such difficult in MGS1. Kojima have accepted that he have given the most of freedom he can ever provided to the players. In this way, many people around me use the SUPER STUPID WAY finished their I'm not going to oppose you guys Dave N and Voodoo, this game may not as funny as the original one for a MGS FAN like us. But, as far as I know, there are really less gamers who can afford such difficult in MGS1. Kojima have accepted that he have given the most of freedom he can ever provided to the players. In this way, many people around me use the SUPER STUPID WAY finished their game and get a Pig Rank 8). Just as what we thought, they've never played the MGS. But for us, we can set a challenge for ourselves, this may looks stupid, but that incredible complexy rank system have told us what Kojima-san want this game looks like. In this way, everyone can enjoyed game right? About the cut scene, as a game developer myself, I can imagine how brave he is that can have tryed to change people's mind towards a game. Just like the film, as an entertainment product, it may not only bing funny but also soul-searching or something like that to us. Expand
  18. AhsenA.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    First note, it's pretty obvious that Dave N and JW has not played MGS4. Dave goes on to exaggerate grossly to an extent that totally disrepects the game and is very misleading. And you know where JW goes wrong when he says that the graphics are great and 5 minutes of gameplay is followed by 20 min of cutscenes. And if the game was so bad, why did you play it all the way through? Now First note, it's pretty obvious that Dave N and JW has not played MGS4. Dave goes on to exaggerate grossly to an extent that totally disrepects the game and is very misleading. And you know where JW goes wrong when he says that the graphics are great and 5 minutes of gameplay is followed by 20 min of cutscenes. And if the game was so bad, why did you play it all the way through? Now to explain why MGS4 is so awesome. A game which gets 10/10 from both IGN AND Gamespot, which has only been accomplished by 4 other games in history, cannot be described by mere words. If you have not played any MGS game, do so now. You will become addicted. MGS4 carries the beautiful emotion, the greatest choreographed cutscenes of any game, and gameplay and controls that always surprise me with their outstanding tightness. The graphics have been chosen by an overwhelming majority of media outlets as the best of 2008. It's story and music have been praised to the sky. Just count the number of 100s on this page itself and you will be amazed. The game has also placed itself as the best selling game of the PS3. This game is just that awesome. Expand
  19. JoseC
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    I'll write it in spanish, translate it if you want:

    Es un gran juego, la calidad de graficos es impresionante, hace mucho qe no vei un juego qe te absorviera tanto en la trama, si hay cosas qe lo hacen un muy tedioso juego, como las escenas, 40 minutos no esta bien, pero sigue siendo un gran juego para todo aqellos qe sepan criticar, cada uno tiene un punto de vista diferente, pero
    I'll write it in spanish, translate it if you want:

    Es un gran juego, la calidad de graficos es impresionante, hace mucho qe no vei un juego qe te absorviera tanto en la trama, si hay cosas qe lo hacen un muy tedioso juego, como las escenas, 40 minutos no esta bien, pero sigue siendo un gran juego para todo aqellos qe sepan criticar, cada uno tiene un punto de vista diferente, pero se tiene qe admitir qe esos idiotas qe le ponen 1 o 2 o 3 son unos idiotas completamente y qe no saben de juegos y creen qe el Ocarina es lo peor, eso es todo.
    Expand
  20. MattiM.
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    CS:S Rocks.
  21. MarkB.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This was the next installment in the genre-defining game, Metal Gear Solid, that began to showcase the possibilities of the Playstation 3. With amazing graphics, a gripping, cinematic storyline, and satisfying gameplay, Metal Gear Solid 4 has proven to be a must-have for PS3 owners.
  22. James
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    This is simply the greatest game I have never played, and also the best MGS game IMO, fantastic gameplay with brand new elements such as the octacamo, breathtaking graphics, easily the best looking PS3 game, brilliant cinematic experiences, the cutscenes are nothing less then epic, and a the exellent addition of Metal Gear Online in the box, what more could you ask for? Remember though, This is simply the greatest game I have never played, and also the best MGS game IMO, fantastic gameplay with brand new elements such as the octacamo, breathtaking graphics, easily the best looking PS3 game, brilliant cinematic experiences, the cutscenes are nothing less then epic, and a the exellent addition of Metal Gear Online in the box, what more could you ask for? Remember though, this is mainly a game for the MGS fans, a present from Kojima if you will, so if you ain't an MGS fan, you probably wont enjoy it as much, but who knows? :D Expand
  23. BD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. The gameplay, the graphics, the story... everything oozes quality. My only gripe is the amount and length of cutscenes at the end. It could definitely used some better editing.
  24. JHolmes
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Best of the best. This game is a thing of beauty.
  25. RaulF.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    An absolute masterpiece! It's everything you would want in a game.
  26. MauriceK.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is by far the best game I have ever played in my life! This will be the Defining videogame of this generation!
  27. [anonymous]
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    All those losers who give MGS4 less than a ten or a nine have seriously something big up their arse! Possibly the best game ever made and don't forget that! This is the PERFECT game with beautiful graphics and spendid gameplay to complete the unforgettable story of Solid Snake. And to all you people who complain about long cutscenes,if you don't like them, you are playing the All those losers who give MGS4 less than a ten or a nine have seriously something big up their arse! Possibly the best game ever made and don't forget that! This is the PERFECT game with beautiful graphics and spendid gameplay to complete the unforgettable story of Solid Snake. And to all you people who complain about long cutscenes,if you don't like them, you are playing the wrong game! The cutscenes are what makes this game famous so never ever dis them! Expand
  28. FariedM.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable! Easily the best game I have ever played. Epic from start to finish.
  29. IOWNanXBOXtoo
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    This just might be the best game ever! Besides for the terrible shadows the game looks to be the best visuals I have ever seen. I always like a deep story and this sure delivers that!
  30. AnthonyE.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing is probably the best word to describe the masterpiece that is Metal Gear Solid 4. I have never really played a Metal Gear / Solid game in my life, and still, this game never ceases to amaze me. Kojima is now my new hero.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.