Metal Gear Solid HD Collection PlayStation 3

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 415
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    this is a real piece of art a grat chance for new players play a fantastic collection , metal gear have a nice balance of gameplay, history , and graphics
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Every single game in this collection is worth 10/10 score and now it's on one disc, in HD, in 60 fps and in the best possible edition. If you never played Metal Gear games before, you should buy it.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    A gift from Kojima. I've finished Snake Eater ten minutes ago, and despite the weird gameplay I'm amazed by this masterpiece! The story brings together cold war history, conspiracy theory, profound drama, 'overthetop' action scenes, war hero tragedy, and so on. I'm about to begin Peace Walker, which is the only one of the MGS saga I haven't already played. For what I saw of the threeA gift from Kojima. I've finished Snake Eater ten minutes ago, and despite the weird gameplay I'm amazed by this masterpiece! The story brings together cold war history, conspiracy theory, profound drama, 'overthetop' action scenes, war hero tragedy, and so on. I'm about to begin Peace Walker, which is the only one of the MGS saga I haven't already played. For what I saw of the three games, the HD treatment gives us the masterpieces as they should have been since the beginnings. The sounds and graphics are the best and have nothing to envy from some of the games of the last year! You surely have noted that I'm not objective in this short review.. so be it. Long live, Kijoma! Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    How do you sum up the Metal Gear Solid games? Divisive, pretentious and frustating yet the Metal Gear series is also the most innovative, inventive and influential action game series of all time. One things for sure, ther's simply nothing else quite like Metal Gear Solid and even though this doesn't include the best game in the series Metal Gear Solid 1 (yes it is) it's great value and aHow do you sum up the Metal Gear Solid games? Divisive, pretentious and frustating yet the Metal Gear series is also the most innovative, inventive and influential action game series of all time. One things for sure, ther's simply nothing else quite like Metal Gear Solid and even though this doesn't include the best game in the series Metal Gear Solid 1 (yes it is) it's great value and a must buy if you consider yourself a real gamer. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    In terms of a gaming package it doesn't really get any better than this, particularly for MGS fans. Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is a reminder of just how epic this stealth-em-up franchise is. It contains MGS2: Sons of Liberty, MGS3: Snake Eater and MGS: Peace Walker, the latter of which is a PSP import rather than a PS2 one. Having experienced all MGS outings on the PS3's predecessor IIn terms of a gaming package it doesn't really get any better than this, particularly for MGS fans. Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is a reminder of just how epic this stealth-em-up franchise is. It contains MGS2: Sons of Liberty, MGS3: Snake Eater and MGS: Peace Walker, the latter of which is a PSP import rather than a PS2 one. Having experienced all MGS outings on the PS3's predecessor I was psyched not only to get the opportunity to see them again in all their glory but also to see how stunning they would look in HD. Then, to add it all off you get Peace Walker. All i can tell you is that these game have stood the test of time and remain the classics that they have always been, they are just generally unforgettable games which have been updated and polished to be played to death all over again. Snake Eater is without doubt the best game of the 3. Infact, Snake Eater is arguably the greatest game ever made. I will never forget the experience that Hideo Kojima delivered with this epic masterpiece. Playing as Snake in a Soviet jungle brings endless hours of fun, intrigue, joy, sneaking and an element of frustration but you will never tire. It's truly one of a kind and as immersive as hell and has a storyline that will have you in awe with all the twists and turns throughout. MGS3 was a landmark moment on PS2 and reborn on PS3 it once again delivers an exhilarating experience, it provides some memorable boss battles along the way with The End, The Fury, The Sorrow among those whose pass you'll cross before embarking on an epic finale with The Boss. Oh and there's also that torturous 10 minute ladder climbing scene to enjoy. And then you can sample MGS2: Sons of Liberty. Not a match for Snake Eater but a great game nonetheless. The plot is somewhat complex to say the least and can be hard to follow but its all worthwhile in the end. The biggest issue with Sons of Liberty for many is the fact you don't play as Snake! Plain and simple, you play as Raiden. And as any true MGS fan would tell you thats criminal! Snake is MGS, however the main problem is Raiden lacks to appeal and is unconventional. Those gripes aside, because you have to to enjoy the game, MGS2 does provide some awesome gaming. Their are some missions that even now are sheer brilliance. The final piece of the jigsaw is Peace Walker. This was refreshing for me as I hadn't played it on PS3 and it was an excellent experience. Set 10 years after Snake Eater, Snake has broken off from The Patriots and formed his own mercenary unit. In Costa Rica the Peace Sentinels, a mysterious group equipped with all the latest weapons, have risen and their presence threatens to endanger the balance of power between the East and West. It's not vintage MGS but it has its moments throughout and is more than a worthy addition to the franchise providing plenty game time. Furthermore, there's an added bonus you can play Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2. In the end this is a collection you simply cannot afford to miss out on, it contains the pinnacle of stealth games and delivers an unforgettable trilogy of epic gaming, the controls are really the only thing that hinder the experience as they are dated and remain in the PS2 era however that doesn't prevent you enjoying each epic outing Kojima has provided. Snake Eater alone is worth your money but the fact Sons of Liberty and Peace Walker are included only enhance what I can only describe as an epic and unmissable set of amazing games. Absolute genius! Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    If you weren't able to play MGS3 and MGS2 back in the PS2 era this is the excellent chance to play those masterpieces . Now in HD, the quality is top-notch and beautifully clear image. Also Peace Walker comes in the collection to satisfy those that weren't able to play it . It's a bummer that MGS 1 it's not in the package but overall if you have online (PSN) you can find it. I'mIf you weren't able to play MGS3 and MGS2 back in the PS2 era this is the excellent chance to play those masterpieces . Now in HD, the quality is top-notch and beautifully clear image. Also Peace Walker comes in the collection to satisfy those that weren't able to play it . It's a bummer that MGS 1 it's not in the package but overall if you have online (PSN) you can find it. I'm re-replaying this all over again but now I'm more happier with the trophies . Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Each and every Metal Gear Solid game was a masterpiece. The story, characters, humour, environment it was all so captivating that you would want to play more. You really do feel drawn into the game and what is going on and do get your emotions tugged at during certain portions of the game. If there are some series that deserves to be fully remade this is probably one of them.

    The game
    Each and every Metal Gear Solid game was a masterpiece. The story, characters, humour, environment it was all so captivating that you would want to play more. You really do feel drawn into the game and what is going on and do get your emotions tugged at during certain portions of the game. If there are some series that deserves to be fully remade this is probably one of them.

    The game keeps to its roots with this. They are using the subsistence version of the games so it allows you to tweak certain things such the camera angle. Over all I say if you haven't played it previously this is a must buy. Even if you have and you don't have a copy that you can play like if your ps2 is gone then you should buy it.
    Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fan-freaking-tastic. MGS4 was the first mgs game I ever bought, back when it first came out. Ever since, I fell in love with the metal gear characters and story. However, I never did get around to buying earlier installments until much later, when I bought MGS1 on the psn a while back. Right after doing so I bought mgs2 and 3 on a gamefly trial, and after speed playing them IAbsolutely fan-freaking-tastic. MGS4 was the first mgs game I ever bought, back when it first came out. Ever since, I fell in love with the metal gear characters and story. However, I never did get around to buying earlier installments until much later, when I bought MGS1 on the psn a while back. Right after doing so I bought mgs2 and 3 on a gamefly trial, and after speed playing them I felt really dissatisfied, I wanted to own them. So I considered buying them used on amazon, until i caught wind of the MGSHD collection. I decided to wait over half a year for it's release, and I am not disappointed. If you already have the games and just want to play them in HD, I don't think it would be wise. MGS2 still looks a lot like a ps2 game, only it doesn't distort or granulate when played on big expensive tv's. MGS3, however, looks extremely close to a ps3 game, but the added kicks is that it's the subsidence version so it has a bunch of added features and a controllable camera, making gameplay a whole lot less awkward. I have yet to play peace walker, but I have heard that it is the main selling point with it has much better controls and ps3-esque graphics. It also has a new, addictive multiplayer. So if you own MGS2 Substance, MGS3 subsidence, and peace walker, then you should skip this. But if you don't and love metal gear, or just want to give this game series a try, then I can't recommend this game enough. Expand
  9. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid Collection HD is the best by far the greatest game i played, brings me back memories when i had the PS2, all the collection is in HD, makes the picture clear and fun to play, I'm always a big fan of the game, i want everyone to get it.
  10. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    The greatest HD collection out there. Metal Gear Solid needs no introduction. You get 5 games in total(MGS3,MGS PW, MGS 2, MG and MG2SS) and a lot of extra content. There is no thinking about buying this, it's a must buy.
  11. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    i was worried about how much i would really enjoy playing these games again, so i was hesitant on picking it up but my lord this is the best hd collection made to date!! better than the shadow of colossus /ico collection and both god of war collections if you are remotely a mgs fan buy this now! stop reading and buy it
  12. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is the perfect collection 5 great games of one of the best series in the histori of gamming dont waste your time in MW3 or BF3 get a real work of art
  13. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    It's just absolutely unbelievable how above par the MGS series stands not only as a video game but as a work of art. Even knowing all of even the smallest details, playing through these just blows me away. Makes the early Bond films seem not only vapid but dull in comparison, not to mention putting Elder Scrolls/ Uncharted/ Batman/ et al "game of the year" titles to shame.
  14. ZeV
    Dec 7, 2011
    10
    This collection in glorious HD is a masterpiece on PS3 ! All fans of MetalGear series have to buy this remastered collection ! In my opinion,Metal Gear Solid Collection HD is the best HD compilation ever made ! It's a masterpiece and really awesome.
  15. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The biggest seller in my God honest opinion would have to be Peacewalker. I know how much frustration I had when your trying to adjust the camera angle whenever your trying to get that S rank on vehicle battles without being alerted. The HD feeling in all three games is just....wow. The Transfarring feature in my opinion seems.... a little weird in my opinion. I know that your one of many that probably has over two hundred hours worth of gameplay on to your PSP and is mad that those trophies didn't ring if you transfarred. I'm not disappointed by this, actually I don't mind having to redo the game over again just to get the trophies and utilize the second analog stick to my advantage. MGS2 and MGS3 in HD is awesome in my opinion. the Trophies added to the two games makes my adventures alot challenging and interesting. The End battle is like always a very....big challenge if you want to challenge yourself in a sniper to sniper battle. As far as MGS2 words can't sum up how good the game is.

    Overall, I'd like to say thank you so much Mr. Kojima, you haven't let all your fans down when you released the HD collection here. This is highly recommended for both Casual and Hardcore MGS fans and the coming generation looking for an interesting Stealth game.
    Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    As A Metal Gear Solid fan this is possibly the best HD remastered game I could ask for. I more or less grew up playing Metal Gear solid 2 so it was nostalgic to be able to play it again, but in HD this time. Seeing all of the textures updated in this format does show it's age I'd admit but in a lot of cases the game looks best. Metal Gear Solid 3 to my surprise looks the most impressive inAs A Metal Gear Solid fan this is possibly the best HD remastered game I could ask for. I more or less grew up playing Metal Gear solid 2 so it was nostalgic to be able to play it again, but in HD this time. Seeing all of the textures updated in this format does show it's age I'd admit but in a lot of cases the game looks best. Metal Gear Solid 3 to my surprise looks the most impressive in HD. Apparently Hideo Kojima and his creative team put the PS2 to it's full potential because it does shine in HD and more or less passes off as an early PS3 game in some areas.The game is also much much different the MGS 1 and 2 by adding a jungle environment throughout half the game and relying on camo patterned clothing and face paint by blending into the environment. Very different but also yet much more enjoyable and challenging too.

    Disappointingly Peace Walker does not hold up well on this set. Being a PSP game this does show it was meant for that format by showing off the limited textures in a lot of the environments and characters. It also dumbs down the stealth element and it does take time getting used to the RPG and customization gameplay aspect.Once getting used to all of this the game can be quite fun and enjoyable at the same time.

    Saying that I think this set is truly worth getting because not only do you get MGS 2, 3 and Peace Walker remastered in HD but you also get Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 as well. Only downside is that Metal Gear Solid Twin Snakes isn't included in this and it is a shame because that is the first chapter to this series and really would've made this set more worth it entirely.
    Expand
  17. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    While I write this review I remember the memorable experiences and fun that I had going through each of the Metal Gear Solid titles, and there are many. Since I only played MGS 1 and MGS 4 prior to this, I have always wondered what happened and what happened, asking many questions like what happened to Liquid and who is this Raiden. I do however have a small minor problems with Metal GearWhile I write this review I remember the memorable experiences and fun that I had going through each of the Metal Gear Solid titles, and there are many. Since I only played MGS 1 and MGS 4 prior to this, I have always wondered what happened and what happened, asking many questions like what happened to Liquid and who is this Raiden. I do however have a small minor problems with Metal Gear Solid 2 and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, which are the fact you play has Raiden in the 2nd game. Not knowing this when I started I was expecting Solid Snake to come back for the entire length of the game instead of a few hours at the beginning of the game. Of course the game plays like that of Metal Gear Solid but since you are not Snake there will be some disappointment when you find out you will be controlling Raiden for the rest of the game. In terms of Peace Walker, I found the selecting missions and carrying them out sort of boring and finding myself going back to Metal Gear Solid 3 (the jewel of the collection, absolutely fantastic) instead. Overall though I did enjoy my run through of both MGS2 and MGS3 and probably will complete MG1, MG2 and peace walker when I have free time. I only wish they remastered MGS1 and added to the collection to make this the ultimate Metal Gear Solid pack. Well done Kojima at creating a fantastic franchise of video games, that I enjoyed playing through. Expand
  18. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Um presente da Konami para os fãs da quinta e sexta geração de consoles. O que realmente faltou foi o primeiro Metal Gear Solid, mas nada que comprometa a nostalgia.
  19. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Well that's an easy game to mark, three unchallenged masterpiece brought back to life better looking that ever. Each of this game has a great story and more importantly a great gameplay with tons of little perks that ends up being one of the most critically acclaimed (and it's well deserved) saga of modern video games. I don't want spoil anything (even concerning the gameplay) so I won'tWell that's an easy game to mark, three unchallenged masterpiece brought back to life better looking that ever. Each of this game has a great story and more importantly a great gameplay with tons of little perks that ends up being one of the most critically acclaimed (and it's well deserved) saga of modern video games. I don't want spoil anything (even concerning the gameplay) so I won't say more, just if you never played those games before, go run and buy this collection.
    PS: What a loss for Konami to fire Hideo Kojima, a true genius of video games.
    Expand
  20. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Now this is a true HD make over.

    There is so much content on 1 disc that it's almost a dream come true,since many of these mgs titles are some of the best in the epic series.mgs hd collection looks great in hd,and runs at a steady 60fps with no hick-ups from what I've seen so far.plus let's not forget that you also get metal gear and metal gear 2 solid snake as an added bonus,so those new
    Now this is a true HD make over.

    There is so much content on 1 disc that it's almost a dream come true,since many of these mgs titles are some of the best in the epic series.mgs hd collection looks great in hd,and runs at a steady 60fps with no hick-ups from what I've seen so far.plus let's not forget that you also get metal gear and metal gear 2 solid snake as an added bonus,so those new to the metal gear series will get to see it all on 1 disc.best polished games ever made period.
    Expand
  21. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This is one of those things you have a hard time complaining about. MGS3 is in this collection, that instantly makes it great. I played every game on this collection before on PS2 and peace walker on PSP so I'll start out by saying they were all great before, and playing them again, they are all still great. I think the most improved out of all of them is peace walker, it's amazing at howThis is one of those things you have a hard time complaining about. MGS3 is in this collection, that instantly makes it great. I played every game on this collection before on PS2 and peace walker on PSP so I'll start out by saying they were all great before, and playing them again, they are all still great. I think the most improved out of all of them is peace walker, it's amazing at how much better it feels playing MG Peace walker with a dual shock as opposed to the not so fluent PSP controls. MGS3 is probably the only game I've ever found myself being able to play 10 times from start to finish in a row just because it was so awesome. MGS2 is my least favorite in the series but it's still a very good game. Peace walker was originally psp so the graphics aren't as nice as the other two, regardless it's still got good gameplay. Now. I know I might make someone angry with this comment. The only thing I can complain about is the controls for MGS2 and 3 feel incredibly outdated, it would have been nice if they added an updated control scheme. Overall this is the best collection released to date. Hands down. Worth every penny. Do not pass up. Expand
  22. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This is the best collection released to date. Sons of Liberty and Snake Eater are two of the best Playstation 2 games ever made, and Peace Walker holds it own. With trophies added and remastered graphics, the experience is greatly enhanced. A must have for sure.
  23. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    MGS3 is one of the best games ever. MGS2 is one of the best PS2 games ever, and Peace Walker is one of the best PSP games ever. This collection is a real piece of art.
  24. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    Pros:

    HD remastering is very well done, and all three games look crisp and crystal clear. Bonus content includes most of MGS2's Substance edition, the improved third person camera for MGS3, and both MSX Metal Gear games ("Metal Gear" and "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake") Cons: Games might feel a little dated to some unfamiliar with the PS2 originals. No Secret Theater. ???
    Pros:

    HD remastering is very well done, and all three games look crisp and crystal clear.

    Bonus content includes most of MGS2's Substance edition, the improved third person camera for MGS3, and both MSX Metal Gear games ("Metal Gear" and "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake")

    Cons:

    Games might feel a little dated to some unfamiliar with the PS2 originals.

    No Secret Theater.

    ???

    Worth owning for MGS3 alone.
    Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Just finished silent hill HD collection on hard action/hard puzzle mode & needed a few days off so my brain could Recuperate lol great games!!! Now its metal gear solid HD turn so lets start with the good:the graphics are at there best in snake eater(my opinion) everything looks great but when it comes to grass or leaves you can see the Pixels clearly! I thought peace walker would have theJust finished silent hill HD collection on hard action/hard puzzle mode & needed a few days off so my brain could Recuperate lol great games!!! Now its metal gear solid HD turn so lets start with the good:the graphics are at there best in snake eater(my opinion) everything looks great but when it comes to grass or leaves you can see the Pixels clearly! I thought peace walker would have the better graphics but oddly enough it seems like there's a bit more brightness to the colors used in peace walker than snake eater! Controls & gameplay:snake eater handles perfectly as I played this One on the ps2 so I hopped right in without any difficulty when dealing with controls but newcomers to snake eater, peace walker & mgs 2 might find it awkward & confusing! gameplay has always been great in mgs games so veterans like myself will find it well implemented,easy to use while remaining challenging.but once again the new generation of gamers(I.E. cod players gow players) will have to get used to its Uniqueness & Complexity but once you do you will be pulled into a very enjoyable action/stealth experience! Story:probably the best aspect of these games is the story as its told by interesting characters whether good or bad!! I just love how naked snake assumes or should I say unwantedly assumes the title of big boss in snake eater as well as peace walkers story as snake I mean big boss only takes the missions to truly see if the boss is alive!! Mgs 2 story is good but I prefer to play as snake all the way through not just certain parts as raiden is the main character but all three games are excellently written & paced,the voice acting is perfect and the characters are just believable as you make your way through these rare masterpieces by hideo kojima!! you just can't find great storytelling in games these days anymore as game developers focus more on style then substance with is sad! now the bad:new generation gamers acceptance of these classics as these great games do not follow your typical 3rd person shooter these days so if the new generation keep an open mind to the length(which these games are long)substance(actually gives you a rewarding & entertaining story) last generation control scheme(but easy to learn) then there's basically nothing wrong here! oh & if you hate ling cutscenes just skip them your not forced to watch them ya know.....10/10 Expand
  26. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Sensational games all on one disc in glorious HD, the up conversion is brilliant here. This is how remake should be done. 10/10 the stories remain as intense and gripping as ever and gameplay shows no signs of age.
  27. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    The wait is over. I remember about 3 years ago that i wanted to play mgs 2 so so badly but i couldn't cause i didn't have a ps2 or an xbox, just my ol good 360. 3 years after here i am with not only mgs 2 but with mgs3, whic is even better and mgspw (altough i would liked it to be mgs: twin snakes) a promising game i haven't start playing yet. If you have never played any mgs game this isThe wait is over. I remember about 3 years ago that i wanted to play mgs 2 so so badly but i couldn't cause i didn't have a ps2 or an xbox, just my ol good 360. 3 years after here i am with not only mgs 2 but with mgs3, whic is even better and mgspw (altough i would liked it to be mgs: twin snakes) a promising game i haven't start playing yet. If you have never played any mgs game this is the game you should buy without a DOUBT Expand
  28. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    definatly one of the must have collection packs out there the only drawback is where is the hd copy of twin snakes or did nintendo block that good thing i still have a copy of the original metal gear so now i have a pretty close complete set
  29. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    I wished the HD collection bring trophies to MGS4, but honestly, the collection is great, now i have all Metal Geear Solid games for my PS3 and PSP and i can play when i want. This is the collection of masterpieces great!!!!!!!
  30. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is christmas come early for me!. A chance to play some of my favorite games of all time in HD was too good too miss. I was never really a big fan of Sons of Liberty too be honest, thought the storyline was too confusing and the less said about the character Raiden the better!. Playing it again in this HD collection made me realise what a good game it is tho. Defiantly gone up in myThis is christmas come early for me!. A chance to play some of my favorite games of all time in HD was too good too miss. I was never really a big fan of Sons of Liberty too be honest, thought the storyline was too confusing and the less said about the character Raiden the better!. Playing it again in this HD collection made me realise what a good game it is tho. Defiantly gone up in my estimation. As for Snake Eater...probably one of my best games of all time. The storyline, characters and gameplay are a thing of beauty, and playing it in HD made me drool!. Not had a chance to play Peace Walker yet but Ive heard good things about it and even without playing that i am able to give this a 10/10. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    In the Metal Gear Solid – HD Collection fans and newbies alike will find an almost perfect adaption of the classic games.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 13, 2012
    92
    Features three different Metal Gear Solid games that have been improved graphically quite a bit. However, the basic gameplay remains unchanged, so there aren't any new changes to the old formula. This is only a good thing if you like the series' stealth action style of play but a very bad thing if you just hate sneaking around and prefer shooting your enemies. Nevertheless, even without any big changes this is still a great collection of some really good games for fans of the series. [March 2012]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    89
    Kojima-san spent most of his childhood in front of the television and always wanted to be a movie director. Even though he might not have made it to Hollywood, his genius and cinematic talent are what made this series and its characters so iconic. [March 2012, p.90]