Mirror's Edge PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 377 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 377
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    Bought recently for 15 dollars and, for that price point, it's excellent (especially if you spend almost all of your time playing triple-A FPS games and need something to cleanse the palette.) An original effort, if shows the world that Dice's superb Frostbite engine does more than just shooters. If you liked Portal, you should look at this one. The original critical reviews seemedBought recently for 15 dollars and, for that price point, it's excellent (especially if you spend almost all of your time playing triple-A FPS games and need something to cleanse the palette.) An original effort, if shows the world that Dice's superb Frostbite engine does more than just shooters. If you liked Portal, you should look at this one. The original critical reviews seemed mixed partly on account of some bugginess, but I've not encountered anything serious or something that would require a game reload. A couple of things; 1) the main character and her story isn't a good fit - it's unbelievable that a small character like Faith can take on a SWAT. 2) This is not a shooter, but there are situations when you can use a gun and the controls in those situations are awkward and don't really work. Nonetheless, at under 20 bucks, this is a great addition to your library. Expand
  2. AL
    Jul 25, 2009
    7
    It's nice to see a game with such originality nowadays and I found the game to be very enjoyable at first. The graphics are probably some of the best on the PS3. However, frustration on one particular section got the better of me and I haven't played it since. I don't mind a game that is a challenge, but relaying teh same section for the 15th time, whilst on a time-limit is It's nice to see a game with such originality nowadays and I found the game to be very enjoyable at first. The graphics are probably some of the best on the PS3. However, frustration on one particular section got the better of me and I haven't played it since. I don't mind a game that is a challenge, but relaying teh same section for the 15th time, whilst on a time-limit is VERY annoying. Expand
  3. SteveAllen
    Nov 13, 2008
    6
    Great looking game, cool player movement, but this game will have you dying over, and over, and over again until you get a single sequence correct. Teaching the player by cratering them repeatedly is a pathetic designer's crutch. You immediately lose all feelings of being a great free running bad-a** the moment you've groundhog's day'd a level up to 30 times just toGreat looking game, cool player movement, but this game will have you dying over, and over, and over again until you get a single sequence correct. Teaching the player by cratering them repeatedly is a pathetic designer's crutch. You immediately lose all feelings of being a great free running bad-a** the moment you've groundhog's day'd a level up to 30 times just to make it to the next area.

    There are moments that feel good when you're running away from the cops, but the game lacks a critical sense of direction throughout the entire thing, and the moment you do one thing the designer intended, you're dead, and you're starting the sequence over again. Shame on you DICE.
    Expand
  4. LukeP
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    This game was amazing. It eas really fun;especially for the PS3. It had amazing graphichs and was one of the best games i have ever played.
  5. ChrizC
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    this is what i believe i share with alot of gamers out there. one of the most amazing and beautifull game ever made. the graphics,gameplay even the storyline are nothing but fantastic! the first time i heard about this game i wasnt really in to it i thought it would just be another game to the FPS genre. boy was a suprised i havent beated this game yet cause of lack of time but one day i this is what i believe i share with alot of gamers out there. one of the most amazing and beautifull game ever made. the graphics,gameplay even the storyline are nothing but fantastic! the first time i heard about this game i wasnt really in to it i thought it would just be another game to the FPS genre. boy was a suprised i havent beated this game yet cause of lack of time but one day i will finish it cause this. is a game that doesnt deserve any lesser. then 10 stars great game.. Expand
  6. JanM
    Dec 28, 2009
    7
    Music is great, visuals are stunning, but the gameplay itself is too dependent on trial and error. You will find yourself dying, then restarting, then dying again, and constantly learning from each and every one of your mistakes until you reach the next checkpoint. Combat is the weakest facet of this game, its seems like it was added on as an afterthought, and that's exactly how it Music is great, visuals are stunning, but the gameplay itself is too dependent on trial and error. You will find yourself dying, then restarting, then dying again, and constantly learning from each and every one of your mistakes until you reach the next checkpoint. Combat is the weakest facet of this game, its seems like it was added on as an afterthought, and that's exactly how it feels. Overall its a new and fresh experience, but has too many flaws that really hold it back and make the player feel frustrated rather than exhilarated. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    There is no greater rush than jumping from one skyscraper to another in Mirror's Edge. Not only that but being chased by guards and helicopters. The idea for the game was a great new innovative idea for a FPS but did lack in many areas. One would be definitely have to be the controls while using a weapon. It was extremely hard to hit anything and not only that the guns were incrediblyThere is no greater rush than jumping from one skyscraper to another in Mirror's Edge. Not only that but being chased by guards and helicopters. The idea for the game was a great new innovative idea for a FPS but did lack in many areas. One would be definitely have to be the controls while using a weapon. It was extremely hard to hit anything and not only that the guns were incredibly weak. It can get really aggravating after a while The game tends to feel like Prince of Persia in first person.You will find yourself using the guess and check method trying to reach your goal. (Basically saying you'll make some mistakes believe me) All in all, a game that is definitely worth trying because it is one of the first of it's kind. Who knows, maybe it will open up a new style of gameplay for other first person games out there. Expand
  8. Jul 18, 2011
    6
    Potential to be a great game but drops the ball in many areas which leads to distinctly average and extremely frustrating at time game. You're a runner and you essentially run around, on paper it sounds like a pretty boring game but to my surprise it was actually pretty fun when you got to RUN. The game forces you into confined areas, which wouldn't be so bad the problem arises is thatPotential to be a great game but drops the ball in many areas which leads to distinctly average and extremely frustrating at time game. You're a runner and you essentially run around, on paper it sounds like a pretty boring game but to my surprise it was actually pretty fun when you got to RUN. The game forces you into confined areas, which wouldn't be so bad the problem arises is that you can't run. These sequences inside turn into some of the most boring moments I've ever experienced in my life, simply because there's no sense of speed which seems to be the game's major concept. Another problem is how draconian the detection system is when interacting with objects, if you're off by a hair. You're dead. This becomes extremely frustrating when you're doing actions correctly time and time again only you didn't orient yourself properly during a jump or before the jump and you end up falling to your death. Another problem is some objects aren't interactable at times in the game. This tends to be very frustrating early on until you realize what can and can't be grabbed onto. The combat system is horrendous and coming from DICE that's a disgrace. For some reason they decided to include a aim assist while that works with gun, it's not so good when you're two or three feet from an enemy and are try to fight multiple enemies at one time. The combat is one of the game's biggest failings and make dealing with enemies one of the most painful portions of the game.

    The graphics/art direction are just horrendous. Whoever decided that making the color white a dominant feature throughout the game whilst turning bloom on full blast should be shot. It at times making lining up jumps difficult because you can't see what you're doing this coupled with the detection system can be troublesome at times. This is one the only game where I felt like putting on sunglasses just to dim the bloom.

    The sound is... pretty much not there. There's nothing really remarkable about it and the only time I realize there was music was during the elevator sessions. The game to me can essentially be summed up pretty simply as this, run around, get lost, get blinded from bloom and get crammed in an elevator. Rinse and repeat, the story is awful, there's not much variety in locales and other then the awful detection system the game has an interesting concept it just really doesn't do much to support it.

    And whoever designed the elevator sequences/loading screens should be fired. There's nothing to do but listen to muzak and read tiny newspaper articles and sit confined for 15-30 seconds while it loads.
    Expand
  9. JohnH.
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    I can't believe some of these negative reviews - this game was simply awesome! I've played it through THREE times already trying to earn all the trophies and I'm still not sick of it. Definitely belongs in the permanent collection for it's uniqueness.
  10. driver101z
    Jul 1, 2009
    9
    I give this a 9 for its realization of more immersion in the first-person genre. Playing through it is a fun experience, however it can be frustrating and you'll probably have to restart at checkpoints a bunch of times. One complaint is aliasing - I've seen other PS3 games that do a better job of antialiasing, the jagged edges of buildings here seems to stick out more to me. If I give this a 9 for its realization of more immersion in the first-person genre. Playing through it is a fun experience, however it can be frustrating and you'll probably have to restart at checkpoints a bunch of times. One complaint is aliasing - I've seen other PS3 games that do a better job of antialiasing, the jagged edges of buildings here seems to stick out more to me. If you enjoy acquiring trophies - I think it has a replay value of 2-3 times through the story to get the story trophies, and the time trial trophies can be a fun challenge. Expand
  11. Chris
    Aug 20, 2009
    7
    It's amazing how a game can be brilliant on the one hand, but on the other do all the little things wrong. The game concept itself is brilliant, but everything about it's execution is horrible. The best moment is when you are chasing that guy down. THAT is how the game should have been for the entirety. That said, when it works it works. I bought it used (under $20) so it is a It's amazing how a game can be brilliant on the one hand, but on the other do all the little things wrong. The game concept itself is brilliant, but everything about it's execution is horrible. The best moment is when you are chasing that guy down. THAT is how the game should have been for the entirety. That said, when it works it works. I bought it used (under $20) so it is a good deal. They tried to be too cute with this game. Just jumping from platform to platform and running and wall running is great and fun. They take all the greatness out of this game whenever they splice in mixes of action and platforming (where movement is more slow). The story was laughably horrible. Just turn it into an urban racing game. I would easily boost it a point on it's face. And another if you actually did it well. Expand
  12. NigelS.
    Aug 30, 2009
    7
    This game has a cool premise, great graphics and a fun pace of play, but it's one fatal flaw is its "touchiness", for lack of a better word. When you aim to jump at things, and you are even slightly off, you will undoubtedly miss (and die), therefore the game can become extremely frustrating. Definitely worth a rent though (it's a very short game).
  13. JimmehH
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    I love this game, it looks great (although sometimes the lighting could be annoying) and the acrobatics are fun. The only reason I didn't give a 10 was how short the game is, and that sometimes it takes way to many tries to get past one part later in the game.
  14. GeorgeM
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    Mirro's Edge is one of those games that comes along and has you thinking "WTF is this???" because its one of the more "different" games out there and thats what makes it interesting and annoying at the same time. Graphically it looks great sporting some nice looking textures and slick looking buildings and roof-tops but after a while...it gets a bit old...visually speaking. The Mirro's Edge is one of those games that comes along and has you thinking "WTF is this???" because its one of the more "different" games out there and thats what makes it interesting and annoying at the same time. Graphically it looks great sporting some nice looking textures and slick looking buildings and roof-tops but after a while...it gets a bit old...visually speaking. The gameplay consists of you being chased over roof-tops and that usually means alot of leaping, ledge-grabbing, and full sprint running. The gameplay kinda reminds me of The Matrix...being chased by the "Agents" and doing whatever to escape and defend yourself. The controls will take some time to master but if you stick with it and learn everthing up and down its absolutely amazing what you can do and seeing it string together, running, jumping, and clearing obsticles is amazing and very fluid if done correctly....but as i mentioned, it will take time to master. Overall, Mirror's Edge is a good game....its not necessarily great because it seems to lack substance and its awfully short....chances are you'll feel a bit unfulfilled at the end of it all. This is a perfect rental and a certain buy for those wanting something "different".....just don't expect the world of it. Expand
  15. EduardoF.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Simply awesome. I don't understand the 6's & 7's. Story is great,controls great, graphics are awesome (specially check the textures), the pace is also thrilling since you'll have cops shooting at you all the time. The biggest mistake (and reason why people isn't liking this game) is because this game is not a shooter. Yes, you have to fight, but you must avoid it Simply awesome. I don't understand the 6's & 7's. Story is great,controls great, graphics are awesome (specially check the textures), the pace is also thrilling since you'll have cops shooting at you all the time. The biggest mistake (and reason why people isn't liking this game) is because this game is not a shooter. Yes, you have to fight, but you must avoid it at all costs since they have weapons and you don't (duh). And yes, u r going to die a lot, but that's because you made a mistake so, tough luck, try again. Expand
  16. V
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    I find it interesting that this has a lovely user rating of 3.0 and the 360 version has 6.6. Even though neither one is out yet.
    Hey fanboys how about this, go fuck off, play your console of choice whilist jerking on your small dick and leave the internet alone, we don't need idiots like you around.
  17. CoryG.
    Jan 2, 2009
    9
    This game has been so much fun for me. the concept of the game just has so much potential, and it truely a great experience. it is very refeshing to have a variety of colors in the game, which has been lacking recently. unfortunately, its overcolorful at times, and even after messing with my tv's contrast, the colors are just so bright you cant make out any details on them, and they This game has been so much fun for me. the concept of the game just has so much potential, and it truely a great experience. it is very refeshing to have a variety of colors in the game, which has been lacking recently. unfortunately, its overcolorful at times, and even after messing with my tv's contrast, the colors are just so bright you cant make out any details on them, and they look like smooth blocks, and not walls and pavement. another thing i though was lacking was the combat. it just feels rather weak at times, because if im having troubles at a spot, i can just take out every enemy by isolating them and punching them to death. storyline is a rather varied thing. i know many people have said that its just confusing and there are too many plots taking place, but so far(about half way through the game), im still able to follow it decently. ill probably need to play it through again to understand it fully, though. the time trials are a lot of fun, and very addictive. its nice to have the option of watching/racing the top 100 runners for any given map, and very helpful. the downloadable content coming soon also looks simply amazing. Expand
  18. AaroSyrjäläinen
    Nov 14, 2008
    8
    A great game with good story, good gameplay, fantastic graphics and sound. If you think that this game looks cool, you shoulb buy it.

    BTW, I had to choose between this and LittleBigPlanet, but I chose Mirror's Edge :)! The Goods + GRAPHICS! + Sound is fantastic + Parkour is fun in this game and in real life + Good level design + Great speedrun and time-attack modes.
    A great game with good story, good gameplay, fantastic graphics and sound. If you think that this game looks cool, you shoulb buy it.

    BTW, I had to choose between this and LittleBigPlanet, but I chose Mirror's Edge :)!

    The Goods

    + GRAPHICS!
    + Sound is fantastic
    + Parkour is fun in this game and in real life
    + Good level design
    + Great speedrun and time-attack modes.

    Neutral (good and bad at the same time):

    * 5-7 hours long
    * the environment
    * 30-60 frames per second (usually)
    * Shooting is hard

    Bad's

    - Too much fighting!
    - Sometimes you really have to use a gun
    - The ending
    Expand
  19. KarenC.
    Nov 26, 2008
    7
    This game held alot of promise for me and Iove the visuals and storyline. There is really only a couple of things that make it a 7.5 for me instead of a 9.5. Having little to no defense when the helicopter and SWAT teams are shooting at you is hard to take. Having to take a weapon from a SWAT team member or police is not my favorite thing. However, the biggest thing for me is the This game held alot of promise for me and Iove the visuals and storyline. There is really only a couple of things that make it a 7.5 for me instead of a 9.5. Having little to no defense when the helicopter and SWAT teams are shooting at you is hard to take. Having to take a weapon from a SWAT team member or police is not my favorite thing. However, the biggest thing for me is the checkpoints. They are too far in between each other and a real source of frustration. If just this was improved, I could live with all the other little idiosyncrasies. Other than that, I'm having fun with this game. Expand
  20. matt
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    This game is the portal of 2008, it was different in a good way. it was puzzling, and thats what made it fun. the first person view made it seem a lot better to me since all the near misses seemed that much more dramatic. my biggest problem with the game was combat. the games not really meant to be a shooter, and the second you start shooting enemies instead of fighting them or disarmingThis game is the portal of 2008, it was different in a good way. it was puzzling, and thats what made it fun. the first person view made it seem a lot better to me since all the near misses seemed that much more dramatic. my biggest problem with the game was combat. the games not really meant to be a shooter, and the second you start shooting enemies instead of fighting them or disarming them the game becomes far too easy, but faith doesn't really know how to fight, so not using guns makes it really difficult. either way it was the most fun story mode of 08 to me and i still play it this far into 09. its really short but lots of fun to play through again. Expand
  21. SamD.
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    You've just got to go with the flow, and this game rewards you every step of the way. I personally think the hand-to-hand combat and first-person view makes it more immersing than any other game out there, but it isnt for your standard gun-toting FPS player.
  22. AndrewB
    Nov 14, 2009
    8
    Mirror's Edge is a classic example of a great idea poorly executed. A real aspect of innovation supports this game although there's lots of issues to why you'd let go. Being too short, fiddly and sometimes rather tiresome just to name a few. However, if you can brace yourself for this then it's truely a game experience worth trying out and trust me, it'll be a first. 83%
  23. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    Slightly underwhelming gameplay born out of repetition but more than makes up for it with originality. The sense of tranquillity exuded by the heavenly-bright colour scheme and, particularly, the soundtrack is tempered with the need of interminable vigilance to create a positively unique atmosphere. 8.1/10
  24. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    Even a couple of months after I got this game, it still holds up pretty well. The one way to describe this game is taking the 1st person perspective of Call of Duty and mixing it with the parkour element of Assassin's Creed and you have Mirror's Edge. This is what makes the game unique, along with its cool story and graphics. The only con is how the gameplay can check get pretty hard laterEven a couple of months after I got this game, it still holds up pretty well. The one way to describe this game is taking the 1st person perspective of Call of Duty and mixing it with the parkour element of Assassin's Creed and you have Mirror's Edge. This is what makes the game unique, along with its cool story and graphics. The only con is how the gameplay can check get pretty hard later on with taking out an enemy and making a precise jump. But, this game is still great and worth a play. Expand
  25. Oct 20, 2011
    7
    The game looks beautiful and the controls work most of the time, but it doesn't reach its full potential. First of all the game is too short: an hour or 8 and you're through it. The most annoying thing is how you sometimes have no idea what to do: during my playthrough I've had 2 or 3 moments where I just got stuck without a single clue: highly frustrating. Apart from that it's anThe game looks beautiful and the controls work most of the time, but it doesn't reach its full potential. First of all the game is too short: an hour or 8 and you're through it. The most annoying thing is how you sometimes have no idea what to do: during my playthrough I've had 2 or 3 moments where I just got stuck without a single clue: highly frustrating. Apart from that it's an enjoyable game. Recommended if you can pick it up for $15 or less (which shouldn't be too hard nowadays). Expand
  26. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    This is easily one of my all time favourite games. Mirror's Edge is truly a breath taking experience that you have to play. I can't comment on if the story is any good, as stories in a games aren't for me so I generally just skip them, but the gameplay, visuals and atmosphere are outstanding. If you're easily frustrated and give up on games that are too difficult like most people whoThis is easily one of my all time favourite games. Mirror's Edge is truly a breath taking experience that you have to play. I can't comment on if the story is any good, as stories in a games aren't for me so I generally just skip them, but the gameplay, visuals and atmosphere are outstanding. If you're easily frustrated and give up on games that are too difficult like most people who gave this a low review, then this isn't the game for you. A lot of complaints are that the shooting parts aren't great, if you're good at this game then there aren't any shooting parts, if you find there are then I suggest you try playing the game on an easier difficulty. The game can be frustrating when you consistently miss jumps and wall runs, but once you get good enough you won't be doing this. Expand
  27. Jun 5, 2012
    5
    When I first played the game, I loved the parkour, the challenge and the action-y scenes in every level of the game. However, as I went through the near end of the game, I realised that the levels had a lot of repetition when it comes to appearance and the enemies; another thing I don't like about this game is that the armed combat is a quite clumsy, but despite the clumsy gun gameplay, IWhen I first played the game, I loved the parkour, the challenge and the action-y scenes in every level of the game. However, as I went through the near end of the game, I realised that the levels had a lot of repetition when it comes to appearance and the enemies; another thing I don't like about this game is that the armed combat is a quite clumsy, but despite the clumsy gun gameplay, I still appreciate the fist combat and the main plot of the game. Overall, I was attracted to the game's graphics but I got disappointed at the gameplay. Remember, gamers: Graphics don't matter but gameplay does. Expand
  28. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    Best game I have played for ages, if not ever. Beautiful, pleasing graphics, excellent movement and a cinematic storyline. Having learned Parkour in real life, I feel as if I am the one outrunning cops or leaping from buildings because the movements are so coherent and realistic- although Faith's abilities are extremely exaggerated. Definitely a first game of this unique genre, and still,Best game I have played for ages, if not ever. Beautiful, pleasing graphics, excellent movement and a cinematic storyline. Having learned Parkour in real life, I feel as if I am the one outrunning cops or leaping from buildings because the movements are so coherent and realistic- although Faith's abilities are extremely exaggerated. Definitely a first game of this unique genre, and still, in 2012, the only one, it is innovation at it's finest. Combat scenes really add to the game. The violence is enough to keep you intrigued but mild enough to distinguish itself from mindless shooters and FPS s. Mirror's Edge is truly amazing. Expand
  29. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    The game is good, graphics are nice, but the real let-down is the"trail and error" bit of the game. The controls and sometimes event the environment itself can work against you. However, it depends how good a gamer you are. Some can whiz through this without making any mistakes, most, I have observed, cannot. I also don't recommend to those who get queasy easily. Overall, decent game, butThe game is good, graphics are nice, but the real let-down is the"trail and error" bit of the game. The controls and sometimes event the environment itself can work against you. However, it depends how good a gamer you are. Some can whiz through this without making any mistakes, most, I have observed, cannot. I also don't recommend to those who get queasy easily. Overall, decent game, but wouldn't pay any more than the $13 I paid for it and it doesn't seem 100% polished. Expand
  30. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    An awsome trial n error game that when you learn to get the flow is an amazing travel trough an stylish action game.
    Amazing grafics and level design!
  31. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    A quite unique game that falls slightly short of expectations. The best parts are when you're free running and racing across the rooftops, if only it could've added the multiplayer for a better experience. The combat is difficult and unrewarding and the story is horrible, although the set up is promising it just falls short. Graphics and sound are excellent, the art is amazing and theA quite unique game that falls slightly short of expectations. The best parts are when you're free running and racing across the rooftops, if only it could've added the multiplayer for a better experience. The combat is difficult and unrewarding and the story is horrible, although the set up is promising it just falls short. Graphics and sound are excellent, the art is amazing and the character models are ok. The music is beautiful with a bit of techno. Ultimately I enjoyed ME so I'm hoping for a sequel to improve its flaws. 7/10. Expand
  32. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    EA (A company hated for different reasons in the game community for really no reason) has done gamers proud this console generation with several good franchises including many new ones like Dead Space. But Mirror's Edge is not only their best new IP. It is one of their best games period.
    The story is OK. You are a carrier named Faith who needs to figure out why her sister is framed.
    EA (A company hated for different reasons in the game community for really no reason) has done gamers proud this console generation with several good franchises including many new ones like Dead Space. But Mirror's Edge is not only their best new IP. It is one of their best games period.
    The story is OK. You are a carrier named Faith who needs to figure out why her sister is framed. Lot's of small twist in the story to keep things fresh. For instance why is Faith and her sister o the wrong side of the law? It is all explained.
    They way the story is explained however is irritating. It is done in a cartoon like story clip that really does not match the rest of the game. It really is not even a comic book look either. Just flat cartoon. So much more could of been done.
    The in game graphics though are flat out unbelievable. To this day it is still one of the most stunning videogames to look at. Lots of white dot the landscaped including the bloom of the light. The sky is blue of course and most of the other environment elements are yellow and red with a few colors here and there. Yes. It sounds plain but the look has a purpose. Everything red is your map sort of speak and you use the red to objects to navigate the landscape. But all of the objects in the game are beautifully textured with pipes that sweat, walls with different types of mapping. IT IS HARD TO APPRECIATE IT TILL YOU SEE IT! This is done at a good frame rate with very few graphical glitches.
    The sound is great and I expect nothing less from EA although some of the voice work is a little meh! The song in the opening is one of the best tracks I have heard in a game for the way it sets the mood and setting.
    Controls are completely original as well and the only other game you can compare it to is the old XBOX game breakdown and in some ways Condemned and Riddick. You can run, slide, fist fight, use weapons, and navigate but it is all done in first person. The shooting mechanics are solid but ammo is hard to find so running is the best option. You have several moves to take weapons from enemies and after a while it actually feels natural. The navigating however can get sticky sometimes but seeing as this is a completely new way to play a game and the fact it is done a lot better than you would expect I am not gonna complain.
    There is not a multiplayer option but you have yellow backpacks to collect and speed trials you can do and after you beat the game a Hardcore option opens. The game is a long game by today's standards and unique boss fights and environments (Not in look but design) keeps the game fresh.
    Hopefully a sequel comes because a lot can be done with this franchise. Completely unique, gorgeous to look at, and interesting enough for multiple play through's. One of the few must plays this generation and it is a shame it did not get the recognition from fans it deserved.
    Expand
  33. Aug 26, 2011
    7
    picked this up for $10 at my local pawn shop and was intrested to see if it was any good. well it is abit differnt which isnt a bad thing . its basically a FPS platformer for the most part... well actaully thats all that it is really with some minor shooting elements if you want it to be. it is kinda fun racing off the roof tops evading cops at break neck running speed. the controls are okpicked this up for $10 at my local pawn shop and was intrested to see if it was any good. well it is abit differnt which isnt a bad thing . its basically a FPS platformer for the most part... well actaully thats all that it is really with some minor shooting elements if you want it to be. it is kinda fun racing off the roof tops evading cops at break neck running speed. the controls are ok i found them to be abit unresponsive some times especially with the wall walking and jumping. the story is eh ... didnt really care or intrest me . the voice acting is solid though . the game is very very short though and only thing thats gona make it long is the trial and error of the platforming. its a ok game but im glad i waited on it and didnt drop $60 on it. its worth a rental if you want some thing to play thats abit differnt or buying it if you can get it dirt cheap. Expand
  34. JuanC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    Although the game did disappoint a bit, the game is still great and worth playing. The concept of Mirror's Edge is interesting and also innovative. Dice has came up with new ideas on the level design: making you jump from platform to platform and do a little solving to progress to the next chapter. Sure the story was not so great and sure the story mode is short, but you'll Although the game did disappoint a bit, the game is still great and worth playing. The concept of Mirror's Edge is interesting and also innovative. Dice has came up with new ideas on the level design: making you jump from platform to platform and do a little solving to progress to the next chapter. Sure the story was not so great and sure the story mode is short, but you'll still be happy once play the game. If you're done with the story, you can always play online and play beat the clock to get stars or beat other user's record time. Overall, I expected Mirror's Edge to be better, but either way, the game is worth renting. Expand
  35. JP
    Mar 28, 2009
    4
    A big disappointment. The concept of the game is so unique, but the execution is a big letdown. I gave up out of sheer frustration. The game wants to encourage "flow" and rhythm but in actuality it requires you to play small sections over and over and over again. At one point, during an appallingly bad combat scene, I died thirty or forty times. I simply gave up.
  36. ScottT
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    Mirror's Edge is not for everyone. If you're a clumsy player who relies on regenerating health, detailed maps, and a helping hand, this isn't for you. Mirror's Edge is an extremely successful blend of first-person perspective and the puzzle genre. You won't find other reviewers noting the puzzle connection, but there is a best path through each level, and Mirror's Edge is not for everyone. If you're a clumsy player who relies on regenerating health, detailed maps, and a helping hand, this isn't for you. Mirror's Edge is an extremely successful blend of first-person perspective and the puzzle genre. You won't find other reviewers noting the puzzle connection, but there is a best path through each level, and they're found through trial & error, and quick thinking. Game combat is a continual puzzle with multiple answers. You can disarm the first enemy in slow-mo, take their weapon, and kill the rest, or you vault yourself over the first enemy, run past the second, disarm the third, and launch yourself over the fourth and just keep running. It's up to you. Reviewers who complain about the repetitive gameplay are used to being babied by developers who offer them too much fluff to make their games "fun." There is no hand-holding, or shoulder patting here. Make the jump, or watch Faith careen to her death. It's your fault she died, don't blame the game when it doesn't correct your mistakes. The checkpoint system is extremely liberal, you generally get put back about 30 seconds If you're still skeptical, rent it. That's what I did. I bought it three days later. Expand
  37. Dec 10, 2014
    7
    This first-person, parkour platformer offers one of the most unique and original experiences out there even after all these years. Compelling gameplay keeps things enjoyable even if some inconsistencies get in the way.

    Jumping from rooftop to rooftop is a thrilling experience. In the clear pristine, white world you'll see areas splashed with color. It makes for a surprisingly pretty
    This first-person, parkour platformer offers one of the most unique and original experiences out there even after all these years. Compelling gameplay keeps things enjoyable even if some inconsistencies get in the way.

    Jumping from rooftop to rooftop is a thrilling experience. In the clear pristine, white world you'll see areas splashed with color. It makes for a surprisingly pretty looking world, as well as a unique way to help you find your path. Screen-tearing is occurs throughout, but doesn't affect gameplay.

    When the game is at it's finest there's a sense of speed and fluid motion that you are not going to find anywhere else. At it's worse the occasionally awkward controls can send you plummeting to you death. Still no matter what the platforming is always thrilling. The combat is where the frustration mostly lies.

    Your surprisingly mortal character is often at odds with quite a few enemies at one time. Usually you can just breeze past them, however there are times when you are going to have to fight. One or two enemies isn't really a problem. Quickly disarming or pummeling them isn't all that tough is small confrontations. However later in the game when multiple tougher enemies block your path multiple deaths and frustration follows. Even more so if you try to go for the trophy where you can't shoot anyone.

    There are issues to be found here that can lead to cheap deaths and anger. However that never stops it from being a fun game. Even better is that it's one with a cool story, unique gameplay, and the promise of more to come.

    Mirror's Edge can be a blast. Things like time trials are there to keep you coming back after you've beat the campaign. Overall if you're looking for something new or just a fun video game I recommend you give this one a shot. My total score for it is a 7.9/10.
    Expand
  38. Jun 18, 2011
    5
    I want to like this game. I really do. It has a lot of good ideas. They are just so poorly executed that it sometimes feels like a smack in the face. That they would publish a game that lacks this much polish is insulting.

    The reason I like it is because of the free running. It has some great moments where you run around on rooftops, getting chased around and it has a great feel to it.
    I want to like this game. I really do. It has a lot of good ideas. They are just so poorly executed that it sometimes feels like a smack in the face. That they would publish a game that lacks this much polish is insulting.

    The reason I like it is because of the free running. It has some great moments where you run around on rooftops, getting chased around and it has a great feel to it. The problem with it is that it feels constraint, which is kind of a paradox when you think about it. When I think of free running I think of openness and the ability to use everything around me to get from one point to another. But in Mirror's Edge, there's usually only one way, which makes it very linear, and if you take a wrong turn, you have to stop the running and the momentum you've build up and go back. IT just takes all the fun out of it.

    What I hate about this game(with a passion!!) is the shooter and fighting parts. I don't just hate them because they are bad. I hate them because I think they could have made this game truly great, if the developers would just have made them work properly, and not stop at something that makes it feels like they stopped the development process halfway trough. The AI is a joke, and it just feel like dummies that run after you. After a predetermined amount of time you are in their line of fire, they will start hitting you, and that's that. The fighting system is an even bigger joke, because it's not really fighting. Sure you can make some moves, and if you press a button at the right moment you disarm your opponent and make a cool "kill move". But besides that it just feel weird. It doesn't take any real skills, you just run up to an opponent and start hitting a button until he's down. Then the single time you're actually supposed to fight an opponent for real, you are destined to lose because every time you go for a hit, you get blocked and beat to **** When you land punches and kicks, it doesn't feel like you're connecting or that you are hitting anything. The timing is way of. It's pathetic.

    And then there is the story.....This almost makes me sad. It's just filled with clichés with enemies becoming friends and friends becoming enemies. "Oh no you'r friend betrayed you?!! Wauw didn't see that coming". The plot doesn't really make that much sense, and the different parts of it feels disconnected.

    This could have been a game as great as Portal 2, if they had paced it right, and handled the underdeveloped parts. Instead you get a game that almost mocks you for buying a product that isn't even finished. I know a lot of people hopes for a sequel, but I say that the world is a more beautiful place without it, unless they are committed to do it right next time.
    Expand
  39. Aug 25, 2011
    5
    Pretty big disappointment. The whole parkour idea seemed cool in concept but kinda lame in execution. The artstyle gets boring so fast and the storing isn't really gripping. Didn't finish.
  40. PhilihpB.
    Dec 1, 2008
    2
    Another game to add to the list of games that were released before they were finished in order to meet a deadline. With only 9 missions, and a storyline more shallow than the kiddie pool, this game leaves you wanting your $60 back. If you have a thing for asians, go rent it.
  41. DonnyDarko
    Nov 15, 2008
    2
    Some of the reviews of this game are just incredibly unfair, considering that FarCry2 which is possibly one of the worst fps games of all time has a higher metacritic rating. This game is ten times better than Far Cry 2 and ten times as entertaining. It has flaws but nowhere near those of Far Cry 2. And some "proffessionals" dare to give it a rating of 50 just because they die frequently?Some of the reviews of this game are just incredibly unfair, considering that FarCry2 which is possibly one of the worst fps games of all time has a higher metacritic rating. This game is ten times better than Far Cry 2 and ten times as entertaining. It has flaws but nowhere near those of Far Cry 2. And some "proffessionals" dare to give it a rating of 50 just because they die frequently? That's just insane, do those guys lack opposable thumbs or something? Expand
  42. MGSFan
    Jan 13, 2009
    0
    Possibly the Worst Platformer Ever. Well i have nothing much to say about this game. You are a japanese girl in this game. This game is a straight RIP OFF from Prince Of Persia. Mirror's Edge is nothing but Prince Of Persia in First Person. If you feel sissy or want to change your sex from male to Female, this game is a MUST BUY. Terrible Game. Highly OVERRATED.
  43. cybersquid
    Nov 26, 2008
    2
    The most beautiful game I hate.
    I tried so hard to like it. I wanted to badly to like it.
    Fall and die. Try to find the exit while 10 cops shoot you.
    Run and feel free and enjoy a few minutes, then fall and die and retry and fall and die and retry and fall and die and retry and fall and die and retry and give up.
    It goes back to Gamestop.
  44. Oct 19, 2010
    3
    This game sucked! It has great graphics and a great game concept but the mechanics and controls are TERRIBLE. If you like to replay 10-20 minutes of a game over and over and over and over and ... then this is the game for you. Could have been a great game but seems to me that it needed ALOT more play testing before release. Story - 9 : Graphics - 9 : Controls - 3 : Gameplay - 1
  45. Apr 6, 2011
    6
    I found this game disappointing, only because I was unable to play it at all due to feeling motion sick every time I did. Which was a shame as I really wanted to play it! The person I gave it to enjoyed it but felt it was rather lacking in length, but given that I picked it up on sale for a pittance I can't really complain about that either.
  46. May 12, 2015
    6
    Great graphics for a game released in 2008 !
    This being said :
    - This is one the only game where I felt like putting on sunglasses just to dim the bloom. - It feels like a cheap version of Assassins Creed in First Person because you spend all the game jumping from one building to another or trying to climp a building - Another problem is how draconian the detection system is when
    Great graphics for a game released in 2008 !
    This being said :
    - This is one the only game where I felt like putting on sunglasses just to dim the bloom.
    - It feels like a cheap version of Assassins Creed in First Person because you spend all the game jumping from one building to another or trying to climp a building
    - Another problem is how draconian the detection system is when interacting with objects, if you're off by a hair. You're dead.
    - Bad control scheme : they should have used what most games use : X to jump, O to crouch, etc.
    Expand
  47. Mar 26, 2013
    6
    This game was a great idea and concept done horribly.

    The whole parkour idea is a great idea, the world is beautiful, and just the overall aesthetics in this game are incredible. However, when put into practice there are a lot of problems. First off, just getting used to a first person game that is almost entirely a platformer is not too easy. After an hour or so I was able to get used
    This game was a great idea and concept done horribly.

    The whole parkour idea is a great idea, the world is beautiful, and just the overall aesthetics in this game are incredible. However, when put into practice there are a lot of problems. First off, just getting used to a first person game that is almost entirely a platformer is not too easy. After an hour or so I was able to get used to it though.

    The problem after that was just that the controls were poorly done. Sometimes doing certain moves that were required to make it past certain places were a complete crap shoot as to if it would actually work. I actually paid close attention at one point doing the exact same thing twice and having it work once and not work the next time. On top of that, the story of the game was very bland and just didn't feel like there was a lot to it. It wasn't terrible, but just didn't bring much either, just very generic.

    This is one of those games that can possibly be done very well as a sequel, but there's a lot of things for them to iron out. Still, with a concept like this it's a game that as a whole was a positive, but was frustrating enough to not be a whole lot of one.
    Expand
  48. Jan 25, 2014
    5
    A game that while as some exciting moments with the unique game play for me failed to draw me and is quite linear while trying to give the perception of freedom as most parts can only be completed one way.
  49. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    I love this game its in my top 5 favourite games ever. the concept is so unique and Still alive is also my favourite song ever, The gameplay is so unique and smooth and the controls are great and i enjoyed getting every last trophy in my 30+hours of gameplay before getting everything and getting 3 world records in the time trails. Simply beautiful graphics too. Sadly the game is so shortI love this game its in my top 5 favourite games ever. the concept is so unique and Still alive is also my favourite song ever, The gameplay is so unique and smooth and the controls are great and i enjoyed getting every last trophy in my 30+hours of gameplay before getting everything and getting 3 world records in the time trails. Simply beautiful graphics too. Sadly the game is so short and acually fighting enemys just sucks but other than that this game is perfect. something for everyone. 9.8 Expand
  50. Dec 25, 2015
    7
    This Game has a very short Story and a few small Bugs. Other then that, this Game is a fun mix between Parkour and Action. Mirror's Edge may not make everyone happy but if you love adrenaline pumping Action, this Game is for you. I got pretty pissed off some Times because of the Difficult parkour, but I suck so it might as well be just me.
  51. ThemisB
    Jan 7, 2009
    7
    Hmmm. The story mode is unbelievably short - it can easily be finished in one sitting and, at times, it forces you to "fight", which is easily the weakest aspect of the game. It also contains little in the way of variety, and a LOT of trial and error. Mirror's Edge will live or die by its time trial mode and, if you have the patience and skill, thankfully there is something quite Hmmm. The story mode is unbelievably short - it can easily be finished in one sitting and, at times, it forces you to "fight", which is easily the weakest aspect of the game. It also contains little in the way of variety, and a LOT of trial and error. Mirror's Edge will live or die by its time trial mode and, if you have the patience and skill, thankfully there is something quite special about putting together a perfect run, or finding a new shortcut and shaving seconds off your personal best. It is still in question, however, as to whether what is essentially a platformer works in first-person. DICE has done a decent job of it, but I do feel that there is a long way to go before this genre can flourish in this perspective. Not worth £40, but at £20 it is worth giving a shot if you liked the demo. Expand
  52. Jul 12, 2015
    7
    A really original game, but far from perfect. I personally didn't get the use of weapons - why bother when the game had set itself apart from all of the other FPS titles out there? The best side to the game is when you're sprinting past a series of obstacles, not having to stop to carefully pick out an enemy from distance with a gun. It's also infuriating to the point of insanity - youA really original game, but far from perfect. I personally didn't get the use of weapons - why bother when the game had set itself apart from all of the other FPS titles out there? The best side to the game is when you're sprinting past a series of obstacles, not having to stop to carefully pick out an enemy from distance with a gun. It's also infuriating to the point of insanity - you frequently get into a run-jump-miss-die-repeat loop that will have you shaking the controller violently whilst screaming at the TV like a demented baboon. Having said all that, it (largely) plays well, looks great, and it dares to be different. Bring on the sequel. Expand
  53. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    Just one of those games that are great yet got crucified by reviewers. I feel that people didn't appreciate the game for what it was. EA released this for free on the PS Store last year, so it was finally my chance to play it. I wish I forked out some money for it because you can see a lot of love was put into the game. First the graphics, they were ahead of their time. It's on par withJust one of those games that are great yet got crucified by reviewers. I feel that people didn't appreciate the game for what it was. EA released this for free on the PS Store last year, so it was finally my chance to play it. I wish I forked out some money for it because you can see a lot of love was put into the game. First the graphics, they were ahead of their time. It's on par with Battlefield 3. And the gameplay, you feel like a real Runner, and disarming enemies is so awesome. However, I suggest you turn Runner Vision off, it holds your hand too much. And the soundtrack, wow, so surreal. There weren't many reused soundtracks, each chapter has its own. And the parts that reused soundtracks were fitting. My two main criticisms are that it's short and the story didn't make much sense to me. If only the story made sense, then I wouldn't criticize the game for it's shortness. But overall, this game deserved to be played. You can't be a gamer and have not played this game at least once. Expand
  54. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    This game has it's flaws, the controls are very finicky resulting in numerous pitfall deaths which can lead to frustration, however, if you stick with it and take the time to learn each level you will find a thrilling, rewarding and unique experience. The story mode is very short and the plot itself is pretty bland but the main appeal is its parkour style platforming and the game reallyThis game has it's flaws, the controls are very finicky resulting in numerous pitfall deaths which can lead to frustration, however, if you stick with it and take the time to learn each level you will find a thrilling, rewarding and unique experience. The story mode is very short and the plot itself is pretty bland but the main appeal is its parkour style platforming and the game really shines when you are skilled enough to zoom through each section gracefully. After the story mode is completed there are several time trials to unlock. The time trials have you racing through the same sections as the story mode but force you to find new paths which shakes things up just enough to make them interesting and challenging. Overall, I think this is a great game with plenty of content but I think its high learning curve and level of frustration makes it difficult to recommend to others. So if you tend to give up easy, think twice about picking this one up. Expand
  55. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    Mirror's Edge is at it's best in it's native element: a graphically astounding marvel featuring a tried, but interesting, story, with realistic freerunning influences. Unfortunately, a crumby combat system drags down the game all but too uncommonly, and the short length seems to cut everything off a little too short. That said, Mirror's Edge is an experience unprecedented in gaming today.Mirror's Edge is at it's best in it's native element: a graphically astounding marvel featuring a tried, but interesting, story, with realistic freerunning influences. Unfortunately, a crumby combat system drags down the game all but too uncommonly, and the short length seems to cut everything off a little too short. That said, Mirror's Edge is an experience unprecedented in gaming today. You play as Faith Connors, a "runner" in a dystopian city where she finds herself caught up in a sinister plot. The story is mildly fascinating and the characters stick with you, but honestly there's nothing new here. What you're playing for is the gameplay. You run, jump, slide, and zip through gorgeous environments. It's up to you to keep your momentum moving to make smoother tricks, making for a fluid experience. It's a lot of fun most of the time, but in some situations it's difficult to figure out just what you're supposed to do. This makes it quite a bit more frustrating. Of course, the absolute worst part of the game is the unfriendly combat system. You can't carry a gun unless you take it off someone or pick it from their corpse. It's a stiff mechanic that isn't helped by the relentless difficulty. If you're hit twice with the gun, you're dead. Having to retry action sequences over and over again is painstaking and honestly unfun. But, as a FPS Platformer, Mirror's Edge truly performs. It's visually pleasing, delectably smooth and backed by a pretty good story. It's a short game, but in its entirety, save for the combat and "puzzle" scenes, is a beautiful piece of art - that's also fun to play. Expand
  56. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    Gameplay - 9/10. Graphics - 8/10. Sound - 8/10. Overall - 8.3/10. This was a great game. It
  57. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    Due to the nature of this relatively new concept this game seems to have mixed reviews across the board. Some people hate this game and some people like it, both being in a subjective way. While I generally liked this game, it still has some flaws but that doesn't it stop from being one of the funnest games I've ever played. The responsiveness of the controls seems to be a bit of aDue to the nature of this relatively new concept this game seems to have mixed reviews across the board. Some people hate this game and some people like it, both being in a subjective way. While I generally liked this game, it still has some flaws but that doesn't it stop from being one of the funnest games I've ever played. The responsiveness of the controls seems to be a bit of a problem, to get through certain trials the tricks you have to pull have to be so specific it's more luck-based than skill. The story isn't going to blow you away either, it's your typical "Ah, people in government positions have gone corrupt and you have to fix that." Yeah, I just couldn't care for it and you'll get detached from the story pretty early on. Overall, I liked the innovative first person-camera that made you feel like you were a real-person manoeuvring around buildings, which for the most part works well. I liked this kind of style that sets it apart from other games, it makes for some adrenaline-induced gameplay in terms of running. The speedruns were a nice addition, which focused on the Parkour elements of the game and made you think of how to reach your destination. The time trials for the levels I feel they should of just added in the main missions and made them as an additional objective. The combat though really slows the game down and makes the game feel clunky. Seriously, less of that and places in the game where you have to stop, more jumping around and finding ways to go through levels. What's dissapointing is that you can't race with other friends online. They had a missed opportunity there, with a game that focused some much on the mechanics of free-running it would of been better to share that experience with friends. The paths you used can sometimes be a bit too constricting, I feel they could of added a few more paths on how to go about doing things, instead of going down the same route. The collectables are nothing note-worthy and the game does get a little repetitive at the end but overall, it's a good game despite its flaws. Expand
  58. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    THE-BEST-GAME-EVER. Finally one "FPS" where for you is actually better NOT Shoot and RUN! Total freedom of movement! Not a game that everyone would like, but definitely a game that whoever felt the need of something really new and fresh will absolutely LOVE. Please, DO NOT BUY IT if you are expecting a lot of shooting and parkour united.
  59. May 23, 2013
    9
    I personally find that the game seemed to have an original idea. It really made me feel that i was running. Graphics are stunning controls are easy to get used to. The story was awesome because it was simple yet thrilling. Music for this game was amazing. The only problem is that it gets boring after playing a few times. I would definitely recommend it. Well done game
  60. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Mirrors Edge has a really unique art style. The parkour in this game is really fun, jumping from rooftop to rooftop can really get your blood pumping. The story is kind of cliche, it dosint make sense why you do certain tasks. It combines a first person view with platforming and free-running. It is a really fun game, just dont expect an amazing story.
  61. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    I've completed this game 100% and have played regularly since '08. It's the only game I get chills to even just listening to the music. Gameplay is amazing, storyline keeps you wondering. Graphics are fantastic and the environments are stunning.
  62. May 4, 2015
    8
    Only picked it up recently and I have to say, as a relatively old 7th gen game, it still holds up well today. Enjoyable and innovative and can't wait for the sequel to come out.
  63. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    This is an amazing game. Mirror's edge has a unique visual style and that makes me feel deep in the world. A white city filled with office buildings that I had to run through to progress the story. The story is solid but really just a reason to be putting together different runs through each level. In some ways it's the opposite of the Uncharted games. In Uncharted you beat levels to getThis is an amazing game. Mirror's edge has a unique visual style and that makes me feel deep in the world. A white city filled with office buildings that I had to run through to progress the story. The story is solid but really just a reason to be putting together different runs through each level. In some ways it's the opposite of the Uncharted games. In Uncharted you beat levels to get to the next cut-scene, in Mirror's Edge you finish cut-scenes to get to the next level. The Art style and story are well put together and the cut-scenes aren't so long that you lose interest.
    The other way that the story stays involved is through your earpiece. My different Handlers through out the game are giving me information while I run to remind me why I'm doing what I'm doing. This doesn't feel invasive or take away from the level at all. Checkpoints are close enough together that I didn't have to hear the handlers say the same thing over and over again.
    Where Mirror's edge shines is it's gameplay. Today FPS twitch shooters have all moved to a super mobile atmosphere (titanfall, CoD, halo 5 beta) and they owe a lot of that movement to Mirror's Edge. It's a first person, no Heads Up Display, runner that gives you a ton of options to move around the world. This game is 6 years old and still holds it's own among other first person action games. The game never has a QTE, it never tells me I have to push X or start flashing giant arrows with where to go. Instead areas that might be interacted with are highlighted on red in the easier difficulty settings.
    The game isn't very long but it constantly pushed me to go faster and to avoid looking for secrets. It begs for a second play through on hard without the visual helps and a chance to find the different traveler bags.
    The enemy elements of the game steadily increase over the course of the game. Earlier in the game I was able to outrun almost all the bad guys, but in the server room level you have to confront the multiple bad guys. While this level doesn't grade your run through their are trophies that will force a more specific style of playthrough to unlock.
    All in all this is a great game that doesn't take that long to beat. If you haven't had a chance to play it now is as good a time as any to give it a run.
    Expand
  64. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    This game was phenomenal. This game is closing in on 7 years and the graphics still look beautiful. The free running is near perfection and the single-player was incredible. Only downside is no multi-player race's.
    Still an amazing game and will take you hours on end to finish it all!
  65. Jun 5, 2015
    9
    I remember when this game was released back in 2008, and I remember people talking about it very well. A few months ago I had the opportunity to play and finish it, and it was really a good game as they said.

    I liked very much the plot and themes of Mirror's Edge: the rise of a dictatorship (still possible today) that with the excuse to make a city, or a country, a better place deprives
    I remember when this game was released back in 2008, and I remember people talking about it very well. A few months ago I had the opportunity to play and finish it, and it was really a good game as they said.

    I liked very much the plot and themes of Mirror's Edge: the rise of a dictatorship (still possible today) that with the excuse to make a city, or a country, a better place deprives citizens of their freedom makes them believe that the path chosen is correct, deceiving them with cold, clean and white walls of the city as if everything is beautiful and perfect. In a delicate context, I found the story very beautiful, and twists exploited intelligently. Very beautiful and almost poetic is the vision that the runners have for the danger, the city, the world, and freedom.

    The gameplay in Mirror's Edge is great but unclassifiable: too advanced for its time, and certainly a future inspiration for future games. The way they are structured movements is really well made and the interaction with the environment is quite high: climbing, hang on, run up walls, slide in running, stand balanced on a beam. Everything is very realistic, even if maybe could be a little better. The gameplay can assume chaotic rhythms, uncontrollable, and it really has the idea of ​​living literally a life in perpetual race. The melee combat is beautiful, fun and the feedback is pretty good. The use of weapons is present, and a lot realistic, in fact, for example, it is impossible to know how many ammunitions remain in the magazine when you shoot. Among other things, the HUD of the game is virtually absent. All the gameplay aims at providing a real vision of the world, as in reality.

    Graphically, Mirror's Edge, is extraordinary: a clean graphics, clear and detailed, just as is the city of the game. I really liked in fact the choice of style of the color white as predominant in the city, and I found pretty nice also the style in which the animated cutscene are made. Congratulations for the soundtrack, that is beautiful and immersive.

    Mirror's Edge is not a game for everyone, but succeeds where many games fail: originality. A great game to live a different experience but still fantastic.
    Expand
  66. May 10, 2016
    8
    Great game with graphics that still hold up, a pretty original formula combining first person with adventure, and a strong protagonist. However, the game has flaws, the story is a little generic and the missions are repetitive. Still a fun game.
  67. Jan 4, 2017
    7
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 66/100
    Mein User Score = 7/10
    Expand
  68. Jun 26, 2017
    8
    Mirror's Edge is a good game, but I also think that it tends to be overrated. Its best aspect is probably the system of jumping and moving across the settings; it was quite innovative and original in this sense. However, I feel that it lacks a bit of more action, and it may even end up boring the player if you do not fully connect with the way of playing.
  69. Jun 23, 2017
    7
    A great game with great visuals. Although lacking a compelling story, the gameplay encourages multiple playthroughs and improving player momentum.

    7/10
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 66
  2. Negative: 1 out of 66
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    You've never played anything like Mirror's Edge. It's a genuine original. When it's good - like when you're soaring between two rooftop cranes, pigeons scattering and traffic thrumming below, or dashing between roaming sniper laser sights, breaking into an enormous needle-shaped skyscraper - it's a total rush. And even when it's not quite so good, when you can't work out how to get through a particularly tricky section, the compulsion to keep trying remains strong. [Dec 2008, p.84]
  2. Not your average gaming experience - Mirror's Edge takes the FPS format and flips it on its head. A brilliant and unique experience, even if the small shooting parts aren't quite up to scratch.
  3. First-person platforming is certainly nothing new, but an entire game built around it is. It works and comes across as a new beast, just don't expect a lot of play time from it unless you're obsessive compulsive. There's still room for refinement, but anyone who's curious, jump in.