MLB 12: The Show PlayStation 3

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 74
  2. Negative: 12 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    MLB 12 the show is HARD....the new ball physics make hitting the ball quite difficult, while this makes for closer games with the cpu it can be severely frustrating, to the point where you wanna throw something! Even putting the sliders up to almost full (ie contact, power, solid hits sliders) still results in plenty of choppers and foul balls way to many for a game!..ok i know its tryingMLB 12 the show is HARD....the new ball physics make hitting the ball quite difficult, while this makes for closer games with the cpu it can be severely frustrating, to the point where you wanna throw something! Even putting the sliders up to almost full (ie contact, power, solid hits sliders) still results in plenty of choppers and foul balls way to many for a game!..ok i know its trying to be realistic and they've done a great job..looks very real..but its a game at the end of the day , something thats supposed to be fun, not make you wanna throw your controller!

    That aside there are plenty of the usual game modes with the new dynasty mode, not tried that , but online problems still persist so cant see the point of it,..new animations new cut scenes , new lines of dialogue ..but freaking hard game play. Im going back to 11.
    Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    5
    If you have always wanted to feel like "wild thing" from major league this is the game for you! It doesn't matter which pitcher your using or where you place the icon for where you would like the pitch to go because 90% of the time its nowhere near where you placed it. It is by far the most frustrating aspect of the game. I have it on rookie for pitching and hitting after owning the twoIf you have always wanted to feel like "wild thing" from major league this is the game for you! It doesn't matter which pitcher your using or where you place the icon for where you would like the pitch to go because 90% of the time its nowhere near where you placed it. It is by far the most frustrating aspect of the game. I have it on rookie for pitching and hitting after owning the two previous titles and playing on all star. The computer routinely makes 9th inning 2 out comebacks to beat you. The hitting also is a joke most times, unless you enjoy watching over half your hits no matter your timing or location fly foul. I have never seen so many foul ball in any game. I hate to see a game take a big leap back, but this game is so cheap on the above mentioned problems it really just kills the fun for me. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    6
    I wanted so desperately to like this game, but, once again, it is just too damn hard. Hitting is infuriating because you'll swing and miss 100 times, then finally make contact and it slowly rolls to the shortstop. Pitching is better, but intensely frustrating because you have so little control over where the ball actually ends up. I suppose I'll get better the more I play, but seriously, II wanted so desperately to like this game, but, once again, it is just too damn hard. Hitting is infuriating because you'll swing and miss 100 times, then finally make contact and it slowly rolls to the shortstop. Pitching is better, but intensely frustrating because you have so little control over where the ball actually ends up. I suppose I'll get better the more I play, but seriously, I love baseball more than anything, and I have no interest in playing this darn game right now. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    On the fence with this one. It's by no means a bad baseball game, however, I had issues with some of the controls on it. And while I appreciate tough games, the controls shouldn't be method through which difficulty is conferred. All in all, another baseball sim title, however I'd like to recommend that these baseball games change by telling the story of some of the most famous ballOn the fence with this one. It's by no means a bad baseball game, however, I had issues with some of the controls on it. And while I appreciate tough games, the controls shouldn't be method through which difficulty is conferred. All in all, another baseball sim title, however I'd like to recommend that these baseball games change by telling the story of some of the most famous ball players, and then re-enacting their careers in a semi-RPG style affair, right up to their position on their current ball club. Every year you could do a ball player from a different team for the same effect. Moreover, you could still have the season mode and create a player features incorporated. Someone needs to revolutionize the sports game genre, and this time around, it wasn't san diego studios. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    Still better than that other baseball game which will not be named, but ultimately disappointing, just like it is every year. A lot was made of this year's overhaul of the physics engine, which supposedly created a more realistic baseball experience. While the physics and gravity have improved while the ball is in play, a batter can still swing early to pull the ball, make contact, andStill better than that other baseball game which will not be named, but ultimately disappointing, just like it is every year. A lot was made of this year's overhaul of the physics engine, which supposedly created a more realistic baseball experience. While the physics and gravity have improved while the ball is in play, a batter can still swing early to pull the ball, make contact, and hit it to the opposite field. Look at a replay from a top down view of the batter to see for yourself. The timing and the angle of the bat often don't make sense. The pitching system, while I like the idea of the pulse control, can be quite frustrating. Your location and timing can be perfect, yet the ball can still end up out of the zone, which wouldn't be that bad, except that the cpu will very rarely swing at a ball that is even an inch off the plate. So far I've played about 20 games and I've seen an opposing batter chase a curveball below the knees maybe 2 or 3 times. Their plate discipline is way too good, and adjusting the CPU contact slider doesn't seem to help. The character models are pretty good for the most part. They've captured individual batting stances quite well, although every player is the same height, which is just sloppy. Another frustrating aspect of this game is that your cpu opponent's "big innings" feel predestined. Again, your timing and pitch location can be flawless, but if your opponent is due to score that inning, they will. Every ball will find a hole. Baseball is all about timing and physics, and this game has problems with both. The only game(s) that came close to perfecting it was MVP 04 and 05. I'm tough on this game because I feel like, with some tweaking, it could be great. The fact that it is close is very frustrating for someone like me, who takes baseball waaay too seriously. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Up-'til-3am immersive. [May 2012, p.108]
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    81
    MLB 12: The Show is once again the king of the hill of baseball games, but I'm starting to wonder if the developers might be taking the series for granted slightly. They aren't taking risks or dramatically improving the mechanics to any significant degree. This is all well and good seeing as how they are miles ahead of the competition.
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    Last year I said that MLB 11 wasn't a monumental step forward. I would say that MLB 12 is only a half-step forward for the series. Sure the competition within the genre is weak but that is still no excuse to leave much unchanged from last year's version. MLB 12: The Show is a fantastic game of baseball there just isn't enough new to make it an outright purchase recommendation.