Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    90
    Keeps the Show legacy alive with excellent aesthetics and immersive baseball simulations. [Issue#245, p.68]
  2. May 14, 2014
    90
    With much better balance in gameplay and deep Road to the Show and Franchise modes, MLB 14: The Show continues to stand as the leader in baseball titles.
  3. Apr 24, 2014
    90
    Once again The Show stands out as a must own for sports fans looking to dive in at home or on the go.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    89
    Still the best sports simulation out there, until the PS4 version.
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    85
    The Show 14 is another pennant-winning effort for Sony San Diego that showcases improvements both on and off the field, and opens avenues of play to people looking to digest baseball in different ways.
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    85
    A giant in the sports gaming world, MLB 14: The Show continues it’s namesake’s quality tradition as it transitions from the old to the new, but doesn’t offer anything new and fixes little.
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    85
    The Show 14 still exhibits the kind of structural improvement that makes all preceding versions obsolete — a critical expectation of an iterative sports series that so many titles, good ones even, fail to accomplish.
  8. Apr 29, 2014
    82
    MLB 14 The Sow fuses American baseball's show with stunning visuals, and many options to configure. Do you love baseball? Then this is your game.
  9. Apr 22, 2014
    82
    Showing some age, but still a solid home run.
  10. Apr 5, 2014
    82
    MLB 14 The Show doesn’t feel the need to reinvent a formula that has worked for the series over the last few years, but it does show some innovation and trust by allowing user-driven content to lead the way through new online modes like Community Challenges. Even if it didn’t have this user-driven content, MLB The Show is still the best baseball series out there in the sports gaming world.
  11. 82
    All in all, I’d recommend a purchase of MLB 14: The Show, if only to get in on the ground floor of Year to Year saves. However, you might want to wait for the PS4 version of the game to come out, just so you can have the definitive baseball experience. Other than that, I had a good time with the game, and I certainly crammed a lot more baseball into that time than I had with past releases.
  12. Apr 4, 2014
    81
    This is, yet again, a stellar baseball simulation that’s packed with enough quality game modes to occupy and entertain me for the entire season, but there are few exciting new features, and online is currently a very laggy experience.
  13. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    It's not a huge step forward from the previous episode, but it does deliver everything a baseball fan could ask for. Plenty of options, loads of content and many hours of fun.
  14. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    MLB 14 might have its rough edges, but it lives up to the term "simulation" in the truest sense, offering players the means to realistically succeed any way they choose.
  15. Apr 10, 2014
    80
    Community Challenges add a new wrinkle if you want a mildly acrade-y experience where you can wager in-game points and try to meet player-arranged situations.
  16. Apr 9, 2014
    80
    On PS3, MLB 14: The Show is an excellent game; it’s just not much of an improvement over last year’s entry
  17. Apr 7, 2014
    80
    Even with MLB 14: The Show not adding a ton it still remains one of the best sports games on the market today.
  18. Apr 7, 2014
    80
    MLB 14: The Show is another excellent entry in the series from Sony San Diego, with enough "new" to make it feel fresh. Online isn't quite where it should be just yet, but what's here will keep you swinging for the fences regardless. The PS3 version is excellent, and establishes a solid base for the PS4 version coming next month.
  19. 80
    MLB 14: the Show brings with it some welcome changes and the game save advancement on to 2015 alone is enough to warrant a step into the 2014 edition and the new RTTS features enhance that mode to a new level of realism.
  20. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    MLB 14: The Show continues to set the gold standard for console baseball, with an excellent single-player experience. Here's hoping that one day Sony will figure out how to get its online modes working.
  21. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    No-hitters seem like impossibilities in MLB 14 The Show, unless you turn on automatic fielding and let the others in your squad help out. America's game has always been about teamwork and that’s the only thing I feel is missing when sitting alone on my couch, playing the game.
  22. Apr 3, 2014
    80
    A fantastic representation of baseball, capturing the thrill and grand scale of the national pastime.
  23. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    The new additions have helped streamline the experience, and the "Stubs" system has directly addressed fan criticism of micro-transactions. However it's unfortunate that its ambitious element, Online Franchise, is severely marred by technical difficulties. Hopefully the situation can be remedied in a future patch, and if not, well at least we have the PlayStation 4 version to hope for.
  24. May 4, 2014
    70
    MLB 14: The Show is the best experience for the fans of this sport. This version is similar to previous episodes, but will seduce fans with its beautiful graphics and its impressive content.
  25. Apr 17, 2014
    70
    Alas, Sony’s signature baseball simulation has always prided itself on playing a great game of ball, and while this falls short in a few areas, it should still make a nice clean connection with fans of the sport.
  26. Apr 20, 2014
    50
    While I do feel MLB is above average in most areas, I feel it is let down entirely by boring gameplay, which completely ruins the general mood and feel. Great modes, decent graphics, the licenses – although they are all there, playing MLB 14 feels like going through the motions over and over again.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Way to go San Diego Studios! The added features of the quick count and player lock is what I have been looking for without knowing I was looking for it. I can bounce around and play entire seasons with my favorite players and teams in the league. Knowing that I can carry my progress to the next rendition of the game is HUGE; why haven't developers thought of this feature before? I will tell you why: because they are afraid to raise the bar high enough to encourage players to buy a new version of the game. While the game is very similar to last year's game, the two aforementioned features fully-substantiates my purchase. I would like a little more control over player lock and quick count though. i.e. Player Lock the pitcher and turn off quick count and Player Lock a fielder strictly for batting. To anyone who is on the fence about this game: get off the fence and jump on to the field. Full Review »
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    This game is good maybe better then last years but still maybe the best game San Diego has done. The option to carry your progress to MLB 15 is huge! First game to do it! Also love the new RTTS and how they start it. Taking a page out of NBA 2Ks book. Even if it may still look like last years its better. I also have to admit that it kinda feels like a money grab they used on ps3 owners but atleast they think about the ones who still dont have the ps4 so they still give them something to play. Anyways 9/10.. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    You can send your saves to the Plus Cloud, then transfer to the PS4 in May. You can continue your characters into 2015 and beyond now and some retailers are offering a "turn in" program once the PS4 version becomes available. Now you get to play from day one and then get some love in May without spending $130! The game? I'm not sure I believe Sony about the "ticket stub" system making micro transactions cheaper than past games, but I do like the system itself and how easy it is to work with. The coaches demands on how to spend your training points seems to have gone away in RTTS mode. Only 24hrs into it all and the game seems to be fantastic once again. Full Review »