Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe PlayStation 3

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 108
  2. Negative: 20 out of 108
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    I drained a good amount of time into this game. Single player arcade ladder is as you would expect. The story is okay, giving you a chance to play as most of the characters. Each character plays completely different from one another, which is great. There are a few game breaking bugs that the developers didn't fix (Superman's ground pound) The online lobby is where it's at. Most of theI drained a good amount of time into this game. Single player arcade ladder is as you would expect. The story is okay, giving you a chance to play as most of the characters. Each character plays completely different from one another, which is great. There are a few game breaking bugs that the developers didn't fix (Superman's ground pound) The online lobby is where it's at. Most of the time connection is good. MK fans like to complain about the fatalities being watered down. If all you play a fighting game for is to see gruesome fatalities, you probably shouldn't waste your money on it. All in all a good fighting game. Expand
  2. May 3, 2011
    6
    Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe is overall, under-achieved, mainly due to its imbalanced censorship and lack of innovation. However, it should still make for a damn good time amongst comic book fan boys. Pros: Fantastic visuals; best controls in a MK game; variety of MK and DC characters and moves. Cons: Imbalanced censorship, resulting with some often comical fatalities and brutalities;Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe is overall, under-achieved, mainly due to its imbalanced censorship and lack of innovation. However, it should still make for a damn good time amongst comic book fan boys. Pros: Fantastic visuals; best controls in a MK game; variety of MK and DC characters and moves. Cons: Imbalanced censorship, resulting with some often comical fatalities and brutalities; lousy story mode; lack of innovation. Expand
  3. KnightMare
    Nov 25, 2008
    6
    I am deeply saddend that this franchised has been hit with scorpions spear..... This game lacks the wow effect that should have been carried on from at least the first mortal kombat. the teen rating really kills the maturity of this game which is what mad MK, well, Mk! I can stress enough about the WOW factor and i think another voter said it best. the game is "meh" i was not very I am deeply saddend that this franchised has been hit with scorpions spear..... This game lacks the wow effect that should have been carried on from at least the first mortal kombat. the teen rating really kills the maturity of this game which is what mad MK, well, Mk! I can stress enough about the WOW factor and i think another voter said it best. the game is "meh" i was not very enthused to play this game and took it back within an hour for return to pick up something more promising. the "special" moves, or lack thereof are not so well.......special at all with the acception of a chosen few. green lantern especially. he's an awsome D.C. character but boy did they drop the ball on this one in my opinion. if you have kids but dont want them to play nothing to hardcore but entertaining, this ones for them, for all the hardcore mortal kombat fans, and even the D.C. fanboys, we might wanna wait a good while longer for something a lot more mature Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2013
    6
    The game didn't need to link itself to mortal kombat and would have been stronger if it had more DC characters. Despite its gameplay manages to fudge up with its horrible story.
  5. Feb 16, 2016
    6
    There is nothing memorable about this game. It will be easily forgotten and hasn't managed to entertain me for long enough for me to change my mind about it. I played it about 5 times and I was bored.
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    The DC universe versus one of fighting games' most popular characters was an excellent concept, which eventually lead NetherRealms to developing 2013's Injustice: Gods Among Us. But my concerns aren't for the lack of M rated content -- before 2011's reboot of the franchise came out, Mortal Kombat wasn't even taken serious beyond blood and guts -- as much as it is for the imbalancedThe DC universe versus one of fighting games' most popular characters was an excellent concept, which eventually lead NetherRealms to developing 2013's Injustice: Gods Among Us. But my concerns aren't for the lack of M rated content -- before 2011's reboot of the franchise came out, Mortal Kombat wasn't even taken serious beyond blood and guts -- as much as it is for the imbalanced handling of the ESRB content, as well as the overall dullness you feel after running through it for a week. (I previously reviewed it as KendylKlownfish in 2011, I'm reviewing it again just because, well, I always want to restate my thoughts on a game, old or now -- and I have no social life, ahem).

    Pros? Although I once called it "lousy", it has an overall engaging story mode in spite of some cheesiness in the character's dialogue and execution, NetherRealms obviously cherishes canon details over Capcom, who usually focus on arcade mode and, well, that's it; great graphics; kombatants versing against DC legends is a comic geek and gamer's wet dream. Cons? The imbalanced handling of content, which ends up making fatalities (and um, "heroic" brutalities, *snickers*) look unintentionally comical; core gameplay hasn't reduced the clunkiness of the PS2 games; not much variety for fighters seeking out challenge; an overall dull experience.
    Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2015
    7
    The premise is original and interesting but,there is no blood and the fatalities are not that good.The DC characters story was pretty good but the fights and the game itself were ruined by the fact that there was no blood.
  8. Mar 19, 2016
    7
    Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe in my opinion is a good , but somewhat flawed game.

    STORY: MK vs DC does something pretty unique in the fighting game genre. Instead of having one straightforward story, there's 2 different viewpoints on how the story progress. There's the MK side and the DC side, each one having a different vision on the events, but both tell the same story. Both sides
    Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe in my opinion is a good , but somewhat flawed game.

    STORY: MK vs DC does something pretty unique in the fighting game genre. Instead of having one straightforward story, there's 2 different viewpoints on how the story progress. There's the MK side and the DC side, each one having a different vision on the events, but both tell the same story.

    Both sides start the same way. Superman and Raiden are just finishing off the main villains of their respective universes, Shao Kahn and Darkseid, and somehow both raiden and superman synchronize themselves to "eliminate" both Shao Kahn and Darkseid, while both of them are standing in a portal which somehow fuses both of them to create 1 single being...Dark Kahn...haha. When this happens a force called rage starts taking over the villains and the heroes of each universe and this causes for both universes to slowly but surely...fuse. Ok there are obviously a lot of conveniences in this plot and while this may annoy some players...meh i personally don't mind, but this story is not strong by any means.

    PRESENTATION: In terms of presentation MK vs DC looks pretty decent for a 7th gen 2008 game and it actually did some things that would later be reused for MK9. For example, the character clothing will break while the battle is progressing. This is a really cool detail and when you are playing the game it looks very nice. The backgrounds are well done, same goes for the character models, the 60 fps are there, the music is good, overall is a really solid presentation..., but (and this is a big one) one of the key defining things that MK is known for is the violence, but in this game the use of blood is severely reduced and they did something to the fatalities that i really didn't like, but aside from that the presentation is very good.

    GAMEPLAY: MK vs DC set some of the basics that MK9 would improve upon, like the speed, which is very well balanced, but i feel like the characters feel a little floaty.

    One of the main mechanics is the rage mechanic, by dealing and taking damage a bar will fill up and when is full you can go into a super rage mode where you take little damage and your strength is increased for a short period of time. Another cool thing are what i call "Attack and Defend moments". Like the name suggest, in some moments of the fight you will have to do 1 of 3 things usually involved with attacking and defending. One of them is "Close Kombat", when this happens both fighters will have to press buttons and when the attacking player picks a different button than the other fighter, he will do damage, but if both fighters pick the same button, the defending player will counter attack, this is a really cool feature. Another one is "Falling Kombat", in certain stages you will be able to knock your opponent out of the stage and start a freefall kombat, this follows the same rules of "Close Kombat", but here instead of counterattacking, the places of the attacking player and the defending players will be switched and on top of that, there's a meter that will fill up the more you punch the other fighter and when it's full the attacking player can do a special move to brutally send the other fighter to the ground, this is a really awesome addition. And the 3rd one is what i call "Wall attack", the attacker will take the other fighter and smack him into some walls, whether or not you deal damage depends on which fighter mashes the buttons faster, this one is not as cool as the other ones, but it is satisfying.

    You obviously have the typical modes like: Arcade, Story, challenges, training, online, extras and so on and so forward (tho it would be nice to get a few more modes because this game is really lacking in content). The special and normal moves are there, there's 22 characters to play with and the Fatalities...uuugh...are pathetic, for one thing only the dc villians and the mk characters will have fatalities, while the heroes will have heroic brutalities (which totally sucks!!) and on top of that the actual fatalities are a complete joke, barely any of them have blood and the gore and violence have been incredibly reduced, only one fatality comes to mind when discussing violence in this game (that would actually be reused in MK9), the joker's fatality.

    In the end Mortal Kombat vs DC universe is a good game with decent graphics, good music, well thought mechanics, censored violence, convenient story, great characters and more, but i feel like it's crushed in so many ways by MK9 and MKX that the only reason to buy it, is if you are a hardcore Mortal Kombat fan, but it did come up with some ideas that would later be reused in MK9 so i'll give it that. So with that said i'll give Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe a 7/10.
    Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2016
    6
    Mais uma vez vemos um titulo com muito potencial não ser aproveitado da melhor forma,não gostei da jogabilidade e o gráfico bem mediano,nada de inovador...esperava mais.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 75
    Casual players will punch through the storyline before burning out after getting stumped by one or two Kombo Challenges, while Mortal Kombat fans will have trouble accepting the toned down Fatalities and somewhat slower gameplay. In short, this game's fun, but its legs probably can't carry it beyond the whole "Wow, Batman's fighting Superman" first impression.
  2. The game is not a failure by any means, but you will find yourself asking for more or wanting to play other more fleshed out fighting games. The visuals were also a big letdown, especially the backgrounds, mainly because we've been spoiled by other visually appealing fighting games.
  3. 84
    The combat is solid, the story mode is substantial and if you are a fan of either universe there is something here to enjoy. The lackluster finishing moves and lack of extras really hurt the overall experience, but if you are indeed looking for a game that pits two franchises full of beloved characters there is a lot to love here.