• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 294

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    the best driving arcade game of the gaming history. It is wild and frenetic, you can feel the motor and gasoline running in your blood to and you can fly the heavier metal. Its simply the best
  2. JoshK
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    In my opinion this is a very top notch racing game and it has amazing eye poping jaw droping gaphics. Please thoose of you reading the user review please dont listen to stupid Xbox fanboys who have nothing better to do but to rate down a awesome game that they are unable to play on their system im just upset that people like to say they are on their insert # here PS3 because PS3 has the In my opinion this is a very top notch racing game and it has amazing eye poping jaw droping gaphics. Please thoose of you reading the user review please dont listen to stupid Xbox fanboys who have nothing better to do but to rate down a awesome game that they are unable to play on their system im just upset that people like to say they are on their insert # here PS3 because PS3 has the lowest console failure rate of all systems its a fact that most people who own a xbox and play it a lot will xperience at least one Red Ring of Death which causes the console to fail. But back on topic This is a awesome exclusive game for the PS3. Expand
  3. MM
    Apr 20, 2009
    10
    Best arcade racer you will find on any console. Amazing graphics and the cars all handle well. Each vehicle handles differently, but there is vehicle better than the rest, resulting in a very balanced game. The PS3 handles it perfectly with no slow down, no matter what chaos is going on around, with great use of the Havok physics engine. Each level has many ways around them. I've Best arcade racer you will find on any console. Amazing graphics and the cars all handle well. Each vehicle handles differently, but there is vehicle better than the rest, resulting in a very balanced game. The PS3 handles it perfectly with no slow down, no matter what chaos is going on around, with great use of the Havok physics engine. Each level has many ways around them. I've been playing for over 10 hours and am still finding new paths for different vehicles. Any review saying the game suffers from slow down or bad grapahics (Frank B.) clearly has not played the game, not to mention the ludacrious claim of the PS3 breaking down all the time. If you doubt the graphics, just find some screen shots. It really is a great game. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    I have given it a 9 because after a while it gets boring, however it will never get boring if you constantly have a friend round round who's motorstorm mad. In festival it is hard so you need to be very skilled to get to rank 8. I think if it would have had better online and more variety in cars and tracks so then i would have given it a 10. I think that in motorstorm apocalypse it willI have given it a 9 because after a while it gets boring, however it will never get boring if you constantly have a friend round round who's motorstorm mad. In festival it is hard so you need to be very skilled to get to rank 8. I think if it would have had better online and more variety in cars and tracks so then i would have given it a 10. I think that in motorstorm apocalypse it will have better online and more variety so when i get that and review that i think I'll give it a 10. I think pacific rift is worth buying and i think it will be worth getting apocalypse in the future Expand
  5. Mike
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    Great game. Everything is improved from the 1st game. More tracks, vehicles, music and MONSTER TRUCKS!! Single player is great. 2 player split screen is also brilliant. I've tried 3 player too but even on a 40" screen it gets a bit awkward to see where you're going. Still a laugh though. I actually enjoyed it when I got flattened by a monster truck during one of the single Great game. Everything is improved from the 1st game. More tracks, vehicles, music and MONSTER TRUCKS!! Single player is great. 2 player split screen is also brilliant. I've tried 3 player too but even on a 40" screen it gets a bit awkward to see where you're going. Still a laugh though. I actually enjoyed it when I got flattened by a monster truck during one of the single player races! It was hilarious! Expand
  6. LloydMcknight
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    The first time i saw a PS3 was at a friends house and had on motorstorm, sent me out to buy one, and luv'd it, now with P.R. the excitment is just as the first day i got my PS3,
    OH as for you xbox fans, you'll just have to suffer, PS3 ROCKES!!!!!
  7. kegs11
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Mint racing game that really gives you a challenge, none of that "hit the perfect apex" stuff. every lap feels like a brawl. MSPR is the automotive equivalent of a cage fight, which is probably why most fans of racing sims arent raving about it. It just needs a few months of development and fresh DLC to be perfect. To sum i think this is the greatest arcade racer since burnout 2
  8. P.Keith
    May 6, 2009
    9
    The first Motorstorm had a great sense of pure, no-rules, get-to-the-finish-first-no-matter-what-it-takes style chaos. Vehicles running over each other, ramming, boosting, exploding, all while tearing through some of the best off-road tracks designed. Pacific Rift keeps that feeling of off-road war with more to add. The addition of the attack buttons and monster trucks vamps it up even The first Motorstorm had a great sense of pure, no-rules, get-to-the-finish-first-no-matter-what-it-takes style chaos. Vehicles running over each other, ramming, boosting, exploding, all while tearing through some of the best off-road tracks designed. Pacific Rift keeps that feeling of off-road war with more to add. The addition of the attack buttons and monster trucks vamps it up even more. More tracks, more songs, crazier gameplay and even better graphics makes Motorstorm Pacific Rift a perfect example of what a sequel SHOULD be. The single player mode is very well-done with new game modes and a rank system that make it easier to keep track of your progress and unlock vehicles. As in the previous game, the multiplayer is well made and enjoyable. There is one major problem with Pacific Rift. The singleplayer mode, used to unlock vehicles and of course trophies, can be insanely frustrating. A single crash can set you back all the way to last place, and since the majority of the single player races are only two laps, it can be very stressful trying to claw your way back up to the front of the pack only to snag 3rd and receive only 50 rank points. The chaos is awesome, but when you've got your heart set on 1st place, it can get in the way of your goal, and the AI opponents aren't afraid of using their attack buttons, either. Overall, a beautiful game with some truly pulse-pounding gameplay, online and off, though the offline mode can be quite frustrating at times. Expand
  9. AndrewS
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    All it needs is a little guy with a red hat strapped to the hood of my truck. Motorstorm: Pacific Rift can be placed proudly alongside Grid & Wipeout HD. Course design is incredible. Graphics are Great. Gameplay is intense. I'm surprised it's not getting higher reviews. Maybe it's because not everyone likes to play rough.
  10. scottv.
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    This is the best off road racing game available, if you liked the first motorstorm then you are sure to like Pacific drift, it plays much like the original but with several multi-player improvements, new vehicles, excellent graphics and an amazing selection of new tracks. The beach and jungle tracks are really cool and offer multiple paths to the finish. I'm a big fan of road racing This is the best off road racing game available, if you liked the first motorstorm then you are sure to like Pacific drift, it plays much like the original but with several multi-player improvements, new vehicles, excellent graphics and an amazing selection of new tracks. The beach and jungle tracks are really cool and offer multiple paths to the finish. I'm a big fan of road racing games but nothing is funner than going online and flying off of a cliff in a racing truck and then landing on some poor sap riding a motorcycle, Ouch! Ignore "Frank B." and his review below, he has never played this game nor owned 1 PS3 (let alone 5), he also gave a zero score to "Little Big Planet" saying that it's a poor rpg thats too difficult to level up, It is not an rpg and you don't level up either so its clear he is just a Sony hater and not a player. I raced online my first night with 11 other people and the racing was smooth, flawless, and total mayhem, just the way I like it! Expand
  11. PeterJames
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    I couldn't put this game down. I own the first game and it was pretty good, but the sequel is even better. And it is not easy at all. The first couple of tracks were, but now each race is grueling and feels awesome when you finally win. And I love the Hawaii theme as well.
  12. MikeD
    Dec 16, 2008
    10
    This game is just balls-out, adrenaline-pumping mayhem -- arcade racing at its finest. I was bitterly disappointed in the new Burnout (don't get me started) and was looking for a game that would give me that special Burnout feeling. You know, driving at insane speeds, flying through the air, teetering on the edge of losing control, jaw clenched, aggressively looking to take out your This game is just balls-out, adrenaline-pumping mayhem -- arcade racing at its finest. I was bitterly disappointed in the new Burnout (don't get me started) and was looking for a game that would give me that special Burnout feeling. You know, driving at insane speeds, flying through the air, teetering on the edge of losing control, jaw clenched, aggressively looking to take out your rivals, etc. Boy, does Motorstorm Pacific Rift deliver. I simply adore this game. Highly recommended to anyone who loves fast, furious and most of all FUN arcade-style racing. Collapse
  13. MarkC
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Frank B obviously doesn't own a PS3 and neither do his friends (if he has any). This game is a great follow up to the first game. The gameplay has improved, but the only problem is it doesn't add many more features from the last game apart from the monster trucks and considerable amount of tracks added. I would highly recommend this game to anyone and I hope that they will Frank B obviously doesn't own a PS3 and neither do his friends (if he has any). This game is a great follow up to the first game. The gameplay has improved, but the only problem is it doesn't add many more features from the last game apart from the monster trucks and considerable amount of tracks added. I would highly recommend this game to anyone and I hope that they will improve it further with items you can purchase from PSN. Expand
  14. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Maxxed out in 3D (@720p), MotorStorm 3D Rift includes 10 tracks from the full MotorStorm Pacific Rift game. All tracks can be played in 3D (you'll need a 3D capable TV and a high-speed HDMI cable) or 2D. A very cheap buy from the PSN store but disappointing that you have to pay for it if you already have Pacific Rift (unlike a couple of other games that have free 3D patches/updates). TheMaxxed out in 3D (@720p), MotorStorm 3D Rift includes 10 tracks from the full MotorStorm Pacific Rift game. All tracks can be played in 3D (you'll need a 3D capable TV and a high-speed HDMI cable) or 2D. A very cheap buy from the PSN store but disappointing that you have to pay for it if you already have Pacific Rift (unlike a couple of other games that have free 3D patches/updates). The jumps, corners and crashes are simply amazing in 3D (The Edge track is superb) and it's the best 3D game out now (Super Stardust HD is a close second). If you have a 3D TV it's a MUST BUY! Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Great game online and off, shame it gets too damn difficult towards the end, which is the same niggle the last one had. but still cant wait for the next installment.
  16. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    I accidentally overrated blur as a 10 in a previous review, this recieving a 9 would suggest it's worse, indeed its not at all. It's a fantastic game. Fluid and beautiful. I honestly think it's maybe the most delicious racer ever seen. Beats MS1 in my book as the former was full of idiotic turns that relied on trial and error to overcome. Exillarating and atmospheric. Ok now the gripes :I accidentally overrated blur as a 10 in a previous review, this recieving a 9 would suggest it's worse, indeed its not at all. It's a fantastic game. Fluid and beautiful. I honestly think it's maybe the most delicious racer ever seen. Beats MS1 in my book as the former was full of idiotic turns that relied on trial and error to overcome. Exillarating and atmospheric. Ok now the gripes : It's too hard to be honest , it relies on the gamer to play a lot to get up to standard, I put it down for a week and when I got back on I couldn't win a race. Lastly I love the little ATV's they are my favourite and I used them a lot, but they are rubbish at handling and get nailed on any level except for the first. This forces the user to end up choosing between maybe one or two categories of car ( leaving the other redundant) . Overall superb though, grab some mates and have a festival of your own, this game and beer are meant for each other. Expand
  17. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Owned this game for 3 months now.. Awesome game. Great graphics, Good control. Custom soundtracks. Photo mode. Looking forward to the next one..........
  18. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    After awhile all games get boring. Onine is fun and fast and having played it afew nights ago against a friend in 2 player splitscreen and then 4 player splitscreen lastnight this game is the most satisfying racer ive played on any console so far.
    Its fully deserving of a ten but i could'nt get the notch above the panel to hit the ten mark stupid website.
    10/10.
    Now to go an buy Apocalypse!
  19. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    Im way late on this game, but I LOVE it. I think the racing is great, graphics are wonderful, music is good, online play is a blast, and overall the whole game is excellent. I'm not sure why there are the negative reviews about graphics. To me the game has MANY hours of play before it becomes boring in the least. It isn't focused about immersing the player into car make-up etc, ratherIm way late on this game, but I LOVE it. I think the racing is great, graphics are wonderful, music is good, online play is a blast, and overall the whole game is excellent. I'm not sure why there are the negative reviews about graphics. To me the game has MANY hours of play before it becomes boring in the least. It isn't focused about immersing the player into car make-up etc, rather it's focus is putting you on a rig and racing. simple enough. Really enjoy the game and wish there were more that were similar to it. Expand
  20. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    MotorStorm: Pacific Rift is a very fun, challenging and badass arcade racer from Evolution Studios. It improves on pretty much everything from the original. The best in the series.
  21. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    i am not much of a story mode guy (in this case its called a festival), so i dont really like it. but the free play is just awesome. if u're really angry, u take a bike or an ATV put up a bunch more as opponents, and punch them. this game rocks
  22. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    I played Pacific Rift after finishing M Apocalypse, and to my surprise I am enjoying over Pacific!
    Pacific Rift is far more beautiful graphically that apocalypse, the scenery is beautiful, the vehicles seem to be much more detailed than those of m Apocalypse, the gameplay is also more natural and fun conclusion: Pacific Rift, despite being older, is much better than Motorstorm Apocalypse
  23. Jan 19, 2015
    9
    Best racing game ever!!! Nice cars and beautiful tracks! You feel really cool when u win a race and it is very competitive when u play with friends.The graphics are awesome too
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. 83
    A worthy follow-up to one of the PS3's early must-have titles. It fixes a lot of the outstanding issues from last time out, including offering many more tracks, and the course designs are fantastic. The vehicle mixes are sweet, and there are a ton of events to take on.
  2. 88
    It's the multiplayer that perhaps been given the most love since the last game.
  3. The core racing experience makes the misstep of celebrating failure rather than making the actual winning of races definable fun. [Dec 2008, p.90]