• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 173

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    a very acrade feeling racing game . you will feel like you should pump qaurters into your ps3 to play. its a fun game with a nice variry of different types of vehicles but realistically you only have 5 types of vehicles and the other variations of the vehicles are the same besides new skins on it. the physiscs can be strange at time and wierd things will happen when you are racing it can feel abit off the wall. theres not alot of track variation . you will basically be racing in canyon and sand on every track. its a fun game online and playing it on my 100" HD projector makes it look even more insane . its a good racing game but its no gran turismo. Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2010
    6
    I have owned this game forever. When I first got a PS3 and this game, I thought it had the most amazing graphics and gameplay ever. Now a couple years later.....................that has all changed. This game has awesome gameplay and that is about it. The graphics are still good, but the framerate is absolutely horrible. The framerate is about 15-21 fps while racing and because the PS3 can't put out the power to play this game decently, they did not add split screen, which was a huge disappointment for me. Overall it is an ok game with a now dead mulitplayer (15 players max online), great graphics, but a horrible framerate game that's motion blur makes it seem ok. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    Motorstorm is really one of the more funny arcade racing game. The online modality is so fun, cause the "recovery" helps the last drivers to gains positions. So the race is ever so exciting. The Festival isn't so long and not even so various, but the possibility of use car, motor bike, pick up and tir is a guarantee. You're are advised!
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    This single-handedly justified my early PS3 purchased. So many nights of moving through those awesome menus and into races so intense (and perhaps a little too difficult), that is was an entirely new experience.
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    i like this game quite a bit because it has pretty good graphics, awsome music that works with a raceing game, the maps are well thought out and have lots of detail and finally it is only on PS3. what this game is lacking though is a story mode of some kind and the ability to buy the cars not just have them gifted to you once you reach a certain amount of points but besides those this game is top notch and is a must have Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    Great racing game of 2007, and it's still fun now. I remember when the online servers were still up, I would have a blast online. Shame the servers are gone now, (hence the 7). But the singleplayer is still worth your time. It's quite lengthy too. Buy this game it's really cheap now. Plus, you still have tracks as DLC which are still on the PS Store, and for a low price.
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    The graphics are outstanding but to be truthful, there didn't seem to be any motivation to make the player want to keep going. The random races didn't hold my attention.
  8. Dec 13, 2011
    5
    Very much hyped, the PS3 racing title. This was my first game on playstation but considering the standards I disagree with the hype and some high ratings. Graphics are very good even todays standards. And the races have some nice shortcuts. But after that this isn't so good. Few reasons. 1) laggy menus 2) NO split-screen?? 3) dull single-player campaign. Online was OK but there was only like 1-2 players in 2010 so don't buy this as your online racing anymore. The best fact about this game is maybe that it's very cheap, so if you are low on money, it isn't total garbage. Expand
  9. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    It looks great and seems fun, but there's not much fun to be had. This kind of racing game would benefit a lot if there could be damage to the cars like in flatout but there's none off that. Becaue of all the different kind off cars there's not much interactivitivy with other players, which is a pity for a game like this.
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    4
    this game is so boring the racing isnt fun and the graphics are bad unless you go into view mode where it shows the true potential of the ps3 with beautiful scenery the in game graphics are bad and there is nothing that seperates this from other games other then the fact that it sucks
  11. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    Granted this was one of the first games for PS3, but I still found it pretty overrated.

    The Good: The graphics are absolutely stunning. The overall idea of different surfaces and different vehicles and taking the right path is pretty different. The levels aren't just a straight linear path like pretty much all other racing games I've played.

    The Bad: I found the heavier vehicles to
    be considerably better. The bike and other lightweights are just all over the place. The game's overall design is pretty old school. The different class of vehicles handle drastically different but the vehicles within the class are the same; you are just picking for the looks. Professional reviews say that they love the handling. I did not. I could not get used to the learning curve even after two hours. There are only a few levels. There is no sense of accomplishment like upgrades or anything. This game feels like an arcade game you'd find in a restaurant. Not even a patch for trophies which would provide a little bit of accomplishment. It's fun for a few hours, but then gets boring and repetitive pretty quickly. You can pick this game up used for $2 at Gamestop. For that price, there is no reason not to get it if you are relatively into racing/atv/rally type games. Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Motorstorm is a beautiful game that performs just as well. Taking place through the course of one crazy son of a **** racing event. While its a bit annoying that you are forced into certain vehicles for certain races force you in some of the worse of the vehicles it overall is a great game.
  13. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    7-Presentation; Average menu's and no story.
    10-Graphics; Excellent
    10-Sound; Excellent
    10-Game play; Excellent levels, mechanics, controls, and AI.
    6-Lasting value; Limited maps and vehicles.
    Overall-8.5/10
  14. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    This game offers some very stunning visuals along with an awesome soundtrack and realistic physics and sound effects, but beyond that I found it didn't have much to offer. The game is sorely lacking in customizations and upgrades to your vehicles, the variety of tracks is rather limited, and the campaign is a tedious repetition of the same few tracks over and over. Also noticeably absent is the option for local multiplayer. Expand
  15. Jan 14, 2014
    7
    Motorstorm: Monument Valley. Truly the world's most brutal off-road racing game, and possibly one of the best off-road racing games of our generation.

    Graphics are not the strong point of this game, but gameplay is. All vehicles are well designed as-well as the tracks.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Motorstorm is pretty much the best off-road driving simulation ever to grace a console. The physics are so accurate, yet altered for arcade like effect, and feel so right that the development team must have had at least a couple Physics PhD’s on staff to pull off such a feat. [JPN Import]
  2. One of Motorstorm's big successes is that it demands of you things that other racers don't even bother to ask. You'll have to learn every nook and cranny of the terrain before you can drive around courses with confidence. [JPN Import]
  3. Tough, dynamic racing. A blistering thrill ride that makes good on PlayStation 3's promises. [JPN Import; Jan 2007, p.58]