MotorStorm PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 216
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KeithL.
    Jul 6, 2007
    4
    I haven't seen a racing game this shallow since the Atari days.
  2. pwnedU
    Jul 19, 2007
    4
    More like motordrizzle.
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    The graphics are outstanding but to be truthful, there didn't seem to be any motivation to make the player want to keep going. The random races didn't hold my attention.
  4. ssss
    Jan 11, 2007
    0
    The graphics suck. They look like PS2 graphics, the dust, the physics, the car models, everyhing. And the PS3 doesn't even have rumble. I mean come on, this is an off-road racer where you're supposed to feel the off road but there's no rumble. And it looks terrible, as bad as Excite Truck on the Wii, but the PS3 is supposed to be a gazillion times more powerful. And Excite The graphics suck. They look like PS2 graphics, the dust, the physics, the car models, everyhing. And the PS3 doesn't even have rumble. I mean come on, this is an off-road racer where you're supposed to feel the off road but there's no rumble. And it looks terrible, as bad as Excite Truck on the Wii, but the PS3 is supposed to be a gazillion times more powerful. And Excite Truck at least has speed, MotorStorm is sooooooo slow it's barely playable. Expand
  5. DonksB
    Feb 15, 2008
    3
    This game could and should be so much better. It starts off really well but then the maps just become repetitive and it takes a ridiculously long time from dying to re-spawn. The AI is a big disappointment, after a while you realize that only the vehicles in front of you are racing, once you pass them the game keeps them in suspended animation directly behind you which means that when you This game could and should be so much better. It starts off really well but then the maps just become repetitive and it takes a ridiculously long time from dying to re-spawn. The AI is a big disappointment, after a while you realize that only the vehicles in front of you are racing, once you pass them the game keeps them in suspended animation directly behind you which means that when you make a mistake you go from first to last place almost instantly. This is proven by looking at the times when you finish, if you finish say 3rd then the two in front may be a few seconds in front but everyone behind you is within one second of your time. This becomes a real problem when you get to level four maps as most of the other vehicles are not actually racing, they are just trying to knock you off so others can race pass, to the extent that the games just becomes pointless and irritating. Expand
  6. NickA.
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    I imported the Japanese version of Motorstorm, and I am very disappointed with this game! The thing that really disappoints me is that the North American and European versions will not improve the graphics in any way. The backgrounds in this game almost look like a PS2 game, rather than a PS3 game. Playing an off-road racing game like this without being able to feel the games controller I imported the Japanese version of Motorstorm, and I am very disappointed with this game! The thing that really disappoints me is that the North American and European versions will not improve the graphics in any way. The backgrounds in this game almost look like a PS2 game, rather than a PS3 game. Playing an off-road racing game like this without being able to feel the games controller rumble or vibrate in your hands makes it so the whole experience is absolutely ruined! Expand
  7. TwinkieD
    Jan 27, 2007
    4
    This game DOES have extremely awesome graphics, but the pace of the game is just so EXTREMELY SLOW, it ruins the fun. It felt like I was hauling an invisible mobile home in the back. I dunno, maybe im just playing too much Excite Truck.
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    4
    this game is so boring the racing isnt fun and the graphics are bad unless you go into view mode where it shows the true potential of the ps3 with beautiful scenery the in game graphics are bad and there is nothing that seperates this from other games other then the fact that it sucks
  9. May 30, 2016
    4
    its a bit fun iguess but the game just feels unpleasant to play. Its a shame that I didnt like the game because it could of been very fun and the maps were good but the driving is poor for a racing game.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Motorstorm is pretty much the best off-road driving simulation ever to grace a console. The physics are so accurate, yet altered for arcade like effect, and feel so right that the development team must have had at least a couple Physics PhD’s on staff to pull off such a feat. [JPN Import]
  2. One of Motorstorm's big successes is that it demands of you things that other racers don't even bother to ask. You'll have to learn every nook and cranny of the terrain before you can drive around courses with confidence. [JPN Import]
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    88
    Tough, dynamic racing. A blistering thrill ride that makes good on PlayStation 3's promises. [JPN Import; Jan 2007, p.58]