NBA 2K12 PlayStation 3

NBA 2K12 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The NBA 2k Franchise is back with NBA 2K12.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 29, 2011
    100
    Beyond its highly polished gameplay, the sheer breadth and depth of what 2K12 offers will keep basketball fans happily playing for hundreds of hours. [Dec 2011, p.72]
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    95
    2K Sports has done it again. The 2011-2012 version of the best basketball franchise in the industry is a must have for every fan of the sport.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    93
    The gigantic NBA stadiums are a delight to behold. It's an amazing feeling when you finish a fastbreak with a devastating slam dunk. The crowd goes absolutely wild, even the players on the bench have a little party. [Nov 2011, p.78]
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    It's simply the best basket sim out there, better and better every year.
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    90
    On the whole, NBA 2K12 not only improves on last year's game with tighter controls and other incremental improvements, but 2K Sports has also delivered enhancements and revisions that matter.
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    89
    Despite online idiots, NBA 2K12 is a very big win. The players, game modes, gameplay, and incredible attention to detail make sure of that. It's complex and very tough to learn, but in a good way.
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    80
    Developer Visual Concepts chose to focus on minor tweaks and adjustments, resulting in the best basketball simulation on the market.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 48
  2. Negative: 16 out of 48
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    The best basketball game of all time just got a billion times better. And that's a remarkable feat because NBA 2K11 was a frickin' masterpieceThe best basketball game of all time just got a billion times better. And that's a remarkable feat because NBA 2K11 was a frickin' masterpiece of sports gaming. NBA 2K12 is a beautiful love letter to the game of basketball and a dream come true to it's fans. Fans of the both the real and virtual world versions of the sport. Simply put: this game is INCREDIBLE. Prepare to be floored when you jump back in time and play as Bill Russell and the weathered black and white screen and filtered audio make you feel like you just time traveled back into the world of TV's Mad Men. Be wowed when you see how incredibly smooth and fluid animations. It's so photorealistic and lifelike that you will forget you're controlling a video game and think you've actually got the real life versions of Dirk, Lebron, and Kobe on Pinocchio strings making them perform miraculous moves and nailing incredible shots. The accessibility of this year's game is greatly improved as well. Just tap triangle to engage in the post to open a plethora of new moves. I swear the number of moves in this game and the amount possibilities when factoring in the game's brilliant physics engine is STAGGERING. It's virtually endless in its gameplay possibilities. You'll see a new animation nearly every play. In final, 2K Sports has become legendary. Greatness and 2K are now synonymous. It's baffling that the company could great something so incredibly better than it's predecessor when it's predecessor was arguably the greatest sports game ever made. Well chaps, there is NO ARGUMENT to be had this year:

    NBA 2K12 is HANDS DOWN.....THE GREATEST SPORTS GAME IN GAMING HISTORY.

    Get it NOW!
    Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Even with the lock out going on this game is loads of fun, the new mechanics gives u more options on wat u want to do post up wise and evenEven with the lock out going on this game is loads of fun, the new mechanics gives u more options on wat u want to do post up wise and even dribbling it feels as if u have more control and they even added more signature shots now when lebron shoots it actually looks like its his jump shot not that in the past it didnt but they made it even more realistic. 2k sports continue what your doing because its working and Thank you for finally fixing the my player mode now i actually look forward and have fun playing now that i feel i can finally reach my player to an all star. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    In light of the ongoing NBA lockout and the absence of competing hoops sims, it's really fortunate that 2K12 is the greatest basketball titleIn light of the ongoing NBA lockout and the absence of competing hoops sims, it's really fortunate that 2K12 is the greatest basketball title ever made. I've stuck with this series since the Dreamcast titles and I've never been disappointed. Feature-rich, deep and rewarding gameplay, amazing animation... the only game that can top this is next year's 2K13. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    It has a lot of bugs, glitches and annoying features, but still I'm sitting at the tv thinking "just one more game"... It has reminded me ofIt has a lot of bugs, glitches and annoying features, but still I'm sitting at the tv thinking "just one more game"... It has reminded me of my old love of NBA. Oh and My Player mode owns. Collapse
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    It would be an amazing game if not for all the bugs, glitches and online problems. 2K has had server problems for at least 4 years now. EveryIt would be an amazing game if not for all the bugs, glitches and online problems. 2K has had server problems for at least 4 years now. Every year it's the same thing. Dropped games, long wait times, and server downtime are all common. 2K should have fixed their servers by now, there is no excuse for it to be this bad year after year. Then you have to wait months for a patch to fix things up. The NBA2k site that was suppose to be up for this years game still has the Coming Soon signs over a month after release. As far as gameplay goes, it's not too bad. 3s, steals and blocks in the paint were all way too excessive until they recently released a small patch. If your planning on playing this game mostly offline, there's not a better basketball game. Online play is another story. The presentation is great and the game modes are all there. If only 2k could get better servers and limit the amount of bugs, this would be the perfect basketball game. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    Perhaps the best game of basketball.
    but a great blunder, so removing the 2K11's online ... only 1 years ago.
    So I can not put more note. this
    Perhaps the best game of basketball.
    but a great blunder, so removing the 2K11's online ... only 1 years ago.
    So I can not put more note. this is a joke.
    Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    Huge step back, the AI is psychic, they removed the ability to run a simple pick and roll play. Just avoid this game under any circumstance.Huge step back, the AI is psychic, they removed the ability to run a simple pick and roll play. Just avoid this game under any circumstance. 2K have completely taken advantage of the fact that EA's NBA Live doesn't have a release this year. I am a huge 2K fan, every release has been better than the last, except for this one. This is the least fun I've ever had with a NBA 2K game. It's just unbalanced garbage, plain and simple. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews