User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 132
  2. Negative: 60 out of 132

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    I cannot believe... This is exactly the same game as NBA 2k13 in every aspect. Same movement, same animations, same menu, same dunks, same passes, same replays. Only the line ups are different.. Do not waste your money on this. Probably the next gen version will be much better, and thats all that counts in this year.
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    This is 2K13 version 1.1 for an extra $60. Dont waste your money. They must have put all of the stops into the next gen version of the game because i dont see any of the stops here. It doesnt even run smoothly on the Xbox. Are they deleting reviews?
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    0
    This game is almost identical as last years version as far as looks and My Player. I was really disappointed when i got this. but maybe they are holding back for next gen. The controls are awkward and while there is some improvements on how it feels I cant get past the lack of effort on 2k's part. They obviously didnt read anyones "WISH LISTS" on My Plater. I certainly hope they improveThis game is almost identical as last years version as far as looks and My Player. I was really disappointed when i got this. but maybe they are holding back for next gen. The controls are awkward and while there is some improvements on how it feels I cant get past the lack of effort on 2k's part. They obviously didnt read anyones "WISH LISTS" on My Plater. I certainly hope they improve all of this on Next Gen, if not. Its on to NBA LIVE 14. So do yourself a favor and just save your 60 dollars and keep playing 2K13, ohh by the way all that VC you bought last year doesn't transfer. So yeah save your hard earned money. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    It looks like the exact same thing as 2k13. They haven't changed much and it's obvious that there was a tremendous lack of effort on the current generation games.
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    It seemed absolutely identical to last years NBA 2K13, until I actually played it. Defense is better than ever, much more challenging, more modes than 2K13 and the improvements they made make this game the best basketball simulation ever.
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    1
    This game is absolute garbage. First off, I am one of the highest ranked players on nba2k13 and 12. The gameplay is lackadaisical and inconsistent in this version. The career mode and franchise modes are exactly the same as last years. There is nothing new that is positive on this game. The controls are changed up and not for the better. Do not listen to the BS reviews by the paid outThis game is absolute garbage. First off, I am one of the highest ranked players on nba2k13 and 12. The gameplay is lackadaisical and inconsistent in this version. The career mode and franchise modes are exactly the same as last years. There is nothing new that is positive on this game. The controls are changed up and not for the better. Do not listen to the BS reviews by the paid out magazines and critics. If you already have NBA2k13, you will be wasting your money getting this one. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    I really blame myself on buying this franchise again, there's no drastic changes of this game, it is almost identical on the past series, i hope 2k games better off create some new modes that someone who buys it makes them hapy about, i only see the changes of the game is the minimal texture in every rosters. I think its time to switch at NBA live 14
  8. Oct 1, 2013
    0
    I learned my lesson after buying NBA 2k12, only to have ALL online features shut off the moment 2k13 was released. It's a rare thing indeed to find a game company that cares even less about the buyers than EA, but Sega apparently is one of those few. The sad thing is, the games are good, but I'm not going to give them any more of my money if that's the way they treat their customers.
  9. Nov 7, 2013
    1
    Terrible. Extremely terrible. I play this game for mycareer mode and I don't understand how the developers could make something kinda good really bad its almost impossible to score when I'm down in the 4th quarter when i try to steal or block the ball my hand goes straight through ball. This game was a big disappointment. A game full of frustration.
  10. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    Honestly this game can be a lot of fun. But has so much problems. MyCareer mode is the exact same, just they took out the celebrities. There are blocking calls left and right, when you shoot a three pointer in the corner, if it is A+ quality according to the shot feedback, it will miss. Sometimes, after you finish a game you did well on with maybe 10 minute quarters, so you've played aboutHonestly this game can be a lot of fun. But has so much problems. MyCareer mode is the exact same, just they took out the celebrities. There are blocking calls left and right, when you shoot a three pointer in the corner, if it is A+ quality according to the shot feedback, it will miss. Sometimes, after you finish a game you did well on with maybe 10 minute quarters, so you've played about 30 minutes, the 2k sports servers are down, so your game didn't happen. And you will need to replay it if its a key game. Why does an offline mode need online connection? So you can use real money to buy their virtual currency. Blacktop mode locks the best players and if you buy them and the servers go down, you can't play with them. I give it a 6 because it is fun. But so annoying. Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    First off you kids need to start being patient and realize that the console generation isn't going to blow your mind with graphics so get off that and anyways the graphics look good and clean. For all those saying its just like 2k13 are wrong Soo wrong. First game I played I was playing like 13 and messing up. And frustrated but get a few games in and you see the differences. Some of theFirst off you kids need to start being patient and realize that the console generation isn't going to blow your mind with graphics so get off that and anyways the graphics look good and clean. For all those saying its just like 2k13 are wrong Soo wrong. First game I played I was playing like 13 and messing up. And frustrated but get a few games in and you see the differences. Some of the user reviewers obviously haven't played the game just watched a you tube video because nothing is the same the animations are great. You can feel the. Weight of each player and when you got a mismatch you can exploit it is exciting. Also when you dunk on this game you feel you earned it. I've played ten or so games with the Heat and. DWade only has like two dunks sweet layups but not many dunks. And the post game don't even start this is how it should have always worked and it finally came together. The pro stick moves finally work and I feel I have control of my dribble moves similar to NBA Live 10 which used to be my fav until this beauty of a game came out. Finally the defense has seen some major improvements its like 2K listened to me personally and made the perfect bball game. I love it and I know next gen graphics will crush this game but how many years until it plays this good let's hope quick but I have my doubts. Until then though this is my all time game and I'll see you online if you're on I'm Shawnomite PSN I'd. Oh yeah almost forgot the flashy passing is great and really let's me know you trolls haven't played it they are SWEET!!! Expand
  12. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    as far as a game on its own 2k is the best out it feels fluid defense is much improved the game just feels much better my only beed is i play RPG's and with those RPG's you usually get an expansion anywhere from 10-40 dollars and there is a lot of new gratifying game enhancing content. I can't blame 2k though because they know the consumer will buy their game full price but for all ofas far as a game on its own 2k is the best out it feels fluid defense is much improved the game just feels much better my only beed is i play RPG's and with those RPG's you usually get an expansion anywhere from 10-40 dollars and there is a lot of new gratifying game enhancing content. I can't blame 2k though because they know the consumer will buy their game full price but for all of these improvements 2k14 feels like an expansion to me rather than a whole new game...with today's technology 2k could of released an expansion gave us another year of online support with rosters and charged 40 bucks and i think this game would of sold like crazy plus the next gen version is coming next month....that will be a full 60 bucks and well worth it so i feel like 2k would of made tons of money.

    But like i said earlier i cannot blame 2k because they know their fans will buy their game for 60 dollars and why not maximize profits from a business stand point?

    But all in all 2k14 is the best basketball game i've played i'm not a huge fan of the new stick but i might just need to get use to it i played 2k13 all the way up to 10/1 and still enjoyed so it will take time for me to not be able to hold the stick for longer crossovers and instead have to use flicks because holding results in some form of a shot....

    Summary-
    Pros- Really Fluid, improved solid defense, scoring is better also
    Cons-Looks identical to 2k13 besides menus (even though 2k13 did not look bad), feels like 2k held something back maybe they went all in for the next gen version of the game, not many new customization options for my player barely any new tattoos or accessories or haircuts(this can be fixed with patches...if any other cons including some mentioned they can be fixed with updates tho or patches so not all hope is lost

    Worth the buy especially if your not upgrading to ps4 this year because you will get tons of gaming hours just like in 2k13 so it is worth the 60 dollars in that sense on its own 2 feet but comparing it to 2k13 its too close to be worth 60...40 dollars would of been a much better price
    Expand
  13. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    The game is amazing. i'm a NBA gamer since early 90' and since I play NBA2k every day since 2k8. 2k14 seems to look like 2k13 but it's way more improved then the last years edition. He defense is finally really good. That was my main hope for this year. The players body model looks way better and there are a lot of new animations. MyCareer mode has not been improved in a way I was hopingThe game is amazing. i'm a NBA gamer since early 90' and since I play NBA2k every day since 2k8. 2k14 seems to look like 2k13 but it's way more improved then the last years edition. He defense is finally really good. That was my main hope for this year. The players body model looks way better and there are a lot of new animations. MyCareer mode has not been improved in a way I was hoping for but still it's good. But the PRO's play Association, right? Playing this mode is much more fun and complex by the improvements of defense and using screens. Now having Tony Allen or Iggy matters more than having Novak or another shooter on the team! Finally I can build a balanced team and not only focus on offense which was the case in 2k13. I know we all were hoping for more changes this year. If they changed the menu would that change something? Does Fifa14 has much changed since Fifa13? if you're NBa junkie like me, buy NBA2k14 it's the best sports game ever. Expand
  14. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    Simply the best, Visual Concepts seems to give us a quality NBA 2k14 this year and intends to rely on it for entertainment obviously very successful, on a slightly more intuitive gameplay and the presence of European teams rather interesting. Remains to be seen what care has been given to the next-gen versions.
  15. Oct 12, 2013
    3
    I wanted to believe this game wasn't going to turn out like 2k13 but with a few tweaks, thats what i WANTED to believe, but thats all it is 2k13 2.0 dont buy unless this is your first 2k game since 2k12
  16. Oct 23, 2013
    2
    I Have always loved the nba 2k games but i have to say this years installment was a complete disappointment. my favorite mode is career and they ruined it with awful AI for your team and crazy limitations on your players stats. The controls are different and although shooting layups on fast breaks is easier and dunks are now block able ever other feature has gotten worse in the game play.I Have always loved the nba 2k games but i have to say this years installment was a complete disappointment. my favorite mode is career and they ruined it with awful AI for your team and crazy limitations on your players stats. The controls are different and although shooting layups on fast breaks is easier and dunks are now block able ever other feature has gotten worse in the game play. overall i wasted my money on this game when last years installment was one of my favorite sports games ever this one did not live up to my hopes Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Keep in mind this review is written by one of the biggest 2k13 fans out there. That being said 2k really F'd this game up, its obviously rushed. They destroyed the shot stick by putting in that pro pass stick. all of the graphics are literally almost identical besides LeBrons face. And they don't have team USA or the Dream Team. Don't waste your time buying this game.
  18. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    I'm a hardcore 500 plus game NBA 2K13 player, loved it.
    This game is a disgrace, unfinished looking graphics, terrible glitches, mind glowingly awful AI. It looks like the graphics are from 2K10
    MyCareer (mode I play) has been destroyed. If you want to watch Durant miss 5 10-foot jumpers in a row because the computer decides it cannot be beaten in the 4th, while CPU bench schrubs drain
    I'm a hardcore 500 plus game NBA 2K13 player, loved it.
    This game is a disgrace, unfinished looking graphics, terrible glitches, mind glowingly awful AI. It looks like the graphics are from 2K10
    MyCareer (mode I play) has been destroyed. If you want to watch Durant miss 5 10-foot jumpers in a row because the computer decides it cannot be beaten in the 4th, while CPU bench schrubs drain 40ft 3s at will, every other possession be a shooting foul and like 20+Goal tends a game. Spend your money
    Never been so angry or felt so ripped off by a game. 2K should be ashamed of doing this to their fans.
    Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    So glad I didn't buy this game. I rented it once from RedBox instantly knew I hated it. To many blocking fouls, goaltendings, and missed wide open jumpshots. Its nearly impossible to dribble towards the basket without losing the ball. Shooting sucks and I dont like how theres no drop step or freestyle dribble stick. Free throws also suck. They basically ruined shooting in my opinion theySo glad I didn't buy this game. I rented it once from RedBox instantly knew I hated it. To many blocking fouls, goaltendings, and missed wide open jumpshots. Its nearly impossible to dribble towards the basket without losing the ball. Shooting sucks and I dont like how theres no drop step or freestyle dribble stick. Free throws also suck. They basically ruined shooting in my opinion they made it harder. Shot IQ is pointless. I CANT even count on 2 hands how many wide open "Excellent A+" dont make it. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS HORRIBLE GAME... Drake- Started from the bottom is the best part of the game Expand
  20. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    This game is trash the controls have changed for The worse I prefer using square and circle, the amount of reaching your allowed to do is ridiculous, obvious fouls are not called and some players are very overrated.,
  21. Feb 25, 2014
    1
    I could just copy and paste my review from 2K13 since not much has changed. Those of you who defend the game for it's realism may want to explain the seemingly endless alley-oops and tipped passes that ALWAYS end up being grabbed by the opposing team. Try to guard a player off the ball and suddenly a magical force field pushes you out of the way and you're getting threes rained down onI could just copy and paste my review from 2K13 since not much has changed. Those of you who defend the game for it's realism may want to explain the seemingly endless alley-oops and tipped passes that ALWAYS end up being grabbed by the opposing team. Try to guard a player off the ball and suddenly a magical force field pushes you out of the way and you're getting threes rained down on your head. Playing hard D is NEVER rewarded in this game. If your player happens to roller-skate his way into passing lane (despite having maxed stats), you can get a steal. There is a lot to like here (better passing, presentation) and I can overlook a lot of this stuff if I had any inkling that 2K cared about the PS3 version. Looking in the forums and all the attention that next gen has gotten and it's pretty easy to see that this is now abandonware. Expand
  22. Oct 24, 2013
    1
    Broken online mode. 3 points is killing 1v1 matches. This game is Call of Duty in Sport Sims. All money spend on ADs. Game dont have any changes in this year too.
    (Обзор gamerstv.ru)
  23. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    This game is basically an upgrade to 2k13.

    Introducing.... NBA 2k13s Really, there aren't many changes between these two series at all. The noticeable changes are: - Music (considerably better) - Graphics (much better) - Menu theme (pointless) - LeBron James mode (It's so stupid, I forgot how it's actually called) - New Roster - Bug Fixes I'm not disappointed, but I
    This game is basically an upgrade to 2k13.

    Introducing.... NBA 2k13s

    Really, there aren't many changes between these two series at all.

    The noticeable changes are:
    - Music (considerably better)
    - Graphics (much better)
    - Menu theme (pointless)
    - LeBron James mode (It's so stupid, I forgot how it's actually called)
    - New Roster
    - Bug Fixes

    I'm not disappointed, but I wanted better.
    Expand
  24. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. NBA 2K14 is a great game. It is very similar to NBA 2K13 except the game play is a lot better. In NBA 2K13 you could just dunk over anyone and it was dumb. Also you couldn't play defense. Another thing is that the online was awful for my player, way to many join your friends game errors and too much lag. Well guess what they fixed everything for that. Everyone just can't appreciate how real basketball is supposed to be played and is whining that it's the same game. If your complaining about the game just get NBA Live 14 because i'm sticking with this game. Now all they have to do is make a way to play career mode online with your friends (SPOILER). Expand
  25. i50
    Oct 15, 2013
    10
    The most realistic NBA ever released. New moves, new gameplay, intelligene in defence. And this is NOT the same game as NBA 2K13. Just open your eyes people.
  26. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    yes the game looks like 2k13, and yes the menus and my player mode look almost identical. even tho lebron is great this whole game is to revolved around him. i would like my player to be more like 2k10 or 2k11(best 2k ever) in terms of being drafted based on multiple games instead of one game at the garden which doesnt even nake sense, even tho i got drafted 5th overall this time.

    in
    yes the game looks like 2k13, and yes the menus and my player mode look almost identical. even tho lebron is great this whole game is to revolved around him. i would like my player to be more like 2k10 or 2k11(best 2k ever) in terms of being drafted based on multiple games instead of one game at the garden which doesnt even nake sense, even tho i got drafted 5th overall this time.

    in terms of gameplay im on da fence. the game is smooth, no lag, no choppyness, very free flowing. however i thought the creators would of learned from 2k12(worst 2k ever) that you can not make a game so real to the point were if the ball hits off of anyone's body part you loose it. many of times im playing 2k14, and someone feels the need to turn it into a football match at the line of scrimmage, ive had the basketball kneed, elbowed, headbutted and even butt fumbled away from me at least 12 times a game.

    the pro stick is a good idea but i dont think there was anything wrong with 2k13.s controls. stepback jumpshots and certain crossovers seem like your putting in a cheat code to attempt it. but the flashy passer is a dope idea i like the fact that you cant cheese with the spin layup like 2k13. only one way to to dunks with the computer choosing which dunks they want to do for you is no bueno, example blake griffin back a two hand dunk and places the ball on his back in the half court offense can be knocked out of his hands by anybody

    they put shot blocking in the game which is a great plus, dont kno why they ever took it out. but my biggest problem with 2k14 is the fact that AI does not respect perimeter players with out the ball. any and all perimeters player go unguarded on the perimeter for some strange reason. which is a big no-no because ive dropped 30+ with players like jason terry, kevin martin, derrick williams, vince carter, ben gordon, and even gerald green because off ball players have enough room to catch and shoot uncontested. and just like how i do it opponents do it as well even if you play the comp on hall of fame they dont gaurd you even if the person gets hot.
    Expand
  27. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    Pretty much the weakest 2k ever! Y'all should slap the out yourselves and do better next time! Worst game ever I will never buy a 2k game again!!!!!!!!
  28. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    My biggest pet peeve with Nba 2k14 is the fact that the game penalizes those of us who use the button to shoot. I have missed more shots than I have made... Until I tried using the shot stick. SMH
  29. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    I really appreciate you guys changing the alley hoop from the 2k13 configuration but I wish you guys would have left the circle as the hop step and spin dunk other than that 2k have been running it when it comes to basketball. P.S WHAT HAPPEN TO 2K COLLEGE HOOPS PLEASE BRING IT BACK
  30. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Wow is 2K tite. Have you ever banged out on the blacktop? Just holler at Kriz & Kross on the court.
    P.S. don't forget to bring ur NBA tee if you're tryin to join the squad.
  31. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Ii haven't reallly been able to get into the gam fully, but NBA 2k14 seems like a great game with many features. I might think its better since I recently upadted from a Wii to a PS3, but almost every time I've played the game, I've had a great time. i would defiantly recommend buying his game.
  32. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    Honestly, I'm not the most enthusiastic sports game fan. I've rarely owned the current year's basketball game and don't rarely play them for hours on end. That being said, I really liked this game. It has the right balance of challenge and ease with the game hardly being too easy or too hard at the right difficulty. There's a lot of depth for players who are willing to really dig deep intoHonestly, I'm not the most enthusiastic sports game fan. I've rarely owned the current year's basketball game and don't rarely play them for hours on end. That being said, I really liked this game. It has the right balance of challenge and ease with the game hardly being too easy or too hard at the right difficulty. There's a lot of depth for players who are willing to really dig deep into all the analog usage (if you thought 2k14 had tried to force the use of the right analog in previous NBA 2k games, wait 'til you play this game). My favorite game mode was association as you get to control the whole team and are able to tweak it to your liking off court. I LOVE the ability to give and take away minutes from players in order to give the players you want just the right amount of minutes without keeping your bench from having some minutes. Anyways, there were some cons to the game. I felt that the MyCareer mode could have been made a tiny bit easier. I mean, it's great that it's realistically difficult but due to the fact that you don't have control over the other players, it can be tough to rack up points or stats of any sort some times. That may just be me. All in all, it's an amazing game! I'd definitely recommend buying it. Expand
  33. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic as all others NBA 2ks...
    The only point is that it is exactly the same game as NBA 2k13 and 2k12..
    There were no many changes. I really did not see any.
    It just became a bit difficult to make dribbles and easier to steal balls...

    But it is exactly the same.

    Despite that I love NBA 2k series so I have to give a great score.
  34. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    This game is great. Exactly realistic like they promised, unlike 2k 13. In 2k 13, making 3 pointers is the easiest thing to do and win in the game. Although the game looks the same as 2k 13, 2k 14 created realistic features. Its not as easy to make 3s. You can block the ball handler more effectively rather then flying all over the place with your hand up. Your basketball team will be aThis game is great. Exactly realistic like they promised, unlike 2k 13. In 2k 13, making 3 pointers is the easiest thing to do and win in the game. Although the game looks the same as 2k 13, 2k 14 created realistic features. Its not as easy to make 3s. You can block the ball handler more effectively rather then flying all over the place with your hand up. Your basketball team will be a basketball team. This game changed alot Expand
  35. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    People trly don't understand how you can overlook the AI on defense. I am a hardcore 2k fan since 2k through ESPN basketball now to these! And I have to say, this is the first time, you really have to be smart on offense and play to your guys strengths, b/c korny dunks are done with (for the most part). Bad passes to the crowded interior don't happen. Dribbling through the defense isPeople trly don't understand how you can overlook the AI on defense. I am a hardcore 2k fan since 2k through ESPN basketball now to these! And I have to say, this is the first time, you really have to be smart on offense and play to your guys strengths, b/c korny dunks are done with (for the most part). Bad passes to the crowded interior don't happen. Dribbling through the defense is hopeless. Anyone who knows how the game of basketball is actually played, greatly respects this game! I think it's those people who like arcade like games and "fun" game modes that have a problem with this. If you like the actual feel of the NBA where people like Andre Iguodala DONT go off for 30 every night just because they can jump, then you love this game Expand
  36. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    This game is another version of 2k13, the graphics are horrible and the glitches can get annoying. I wouldnt waste more than 10 dollars on this game on the current gen system (ps3/xbox360)
  37. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    This has got to be the most broken game i've ever played. Everything is screwed up. From the players movement, no kind of defense, stupid uncalled fouls that don't even happen, and butter fingers. Whenever I play My Player everything goes downhill from here. The player acts super slow, the movement is ugly, the user A.I. acts stupid, throws the ball and no one catches it, the CPU slapsThis has got to be the most broken game i've ever played. Everything is screwed up. From the players movement, no kind of defense, stupid uncalled fouls that don't even happen, and butter fingers. Whenever I play My Player everything goes downhill from here. The player acts super slow, the movement is ugly, the user A.I. acts stupid, throws the ball and no one catches it, the CPU slaps the ball out your hand without any moves, the CPU acts more superior than the user, the CPU shoots more better then the user from outside, the CPU grabs more rebounds then the user and while......yeah. 2K has found a lot of ways to make some cheesy tactics to make the CPU a lot more better and it isn't fair at all. 2K didn't even care about the current to at least try to buff it up a lil, but instead turned it into a boot camp game. I was angry, disgusted, outraged, and blowed that this game turned into a headache. NBA 2K13 was and is the better game, because I had more fun with it and the animation isn't all horrible. DAMN, DAMN DAMN!!!!!!! Collapse
  38. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Great graphics in the game. Love the Le Bron path to fame, it is just like 2K11 Jordan Challenge mode. The my Player mode is really realistic with the GM and stuff like that. The dribble stick is difficult do master at first, but as you play it more, it becomes easier.
  39. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    2K's biggest disappointment yet. If you're wondering why, let me elaborate.
    Gameplay: 3/10
    The gameplay is nearly a carbon copy of 2K13. The difference? Shooting has become very difficult; you can get "Excellent A+" and still miss. If you are dominating a match early, expect to lose. The game allows the computer to make rediculously impossible buckets, including half-court shots, double
    2K's biggest disappointment yet. If you're wondering why, let me elaborate.
    Gameplay: 3/10
    The gameplay is nearly a carbon copy of 2K13. The difference? Shooting has become very difficult; you can get "Excellent A+" and still miss. If you are dominating a match early, expect to lose. The game allows the computer to make rediculously impossible buckets, including half-court shots, double team shots, and so on. This makes the game very difficult to play.
    MyCareer: 0/10
    No changes were made whatsoever. It is the exact same thing as last year. For this, MyCareer gets a zero.
    Music: 4/10
    Some music choices for this game are a little odd. Why did LeBron put "In the Air Tonight" on here? Another note: Whenever you create your MyPlayer, turn the volume down. Drake's "Started From thr Bottom" plays continuously on an endless loop until you are finished. Ugh.
    Overall: 0/10
    Why didn't they change anything about the game? This is the result of 2K's change to next gen consoles, I understand. But copying last years game and just adding a new presentation? That's just sorry. 0/10.
    Expand
  40. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    I love this game, I've logged at least 20+ hours on this game. It's also a great game to play with your friends. However, if you have 2k13 you may not be the biggest fan of this game, because there is not much of an improvement other than the AI, the shot stick, and new moves and roster. But if you don't have 2k13 than this is a must buy.
  41. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    absolute **** as first time nba 2k player this game has not made easy for me. I struggle to win on **** rookie. The my career is ridiculously hard you can only use the 3 highest difficulty level.
  42. May 7, 2014
    4
    The point of a new game is to improve on the last one, 2K really screwed this one up. I would rather play 2k13, all of the shooting changes are frustrating. And I'm not a lebron fan so please get off of he ass and go back to the legends!
  43. Jun 12, 2014
    4
    I really tried liking this, putting down atleast 10+ hours of game play, thinking things would become better. Well they didnt. First of this game is hard. And no, im not a guy that runs from a game as soon as it seems a little hard, but it's just ridicules when players in the game, who are supose to be "pro-ballas" can't even net from inside the paint without a real struggle. Wanna scoreI really tried liking this, putting down atleast 10+ hours of game play, thinking things would become better. Well they didnt. First of this game is hard. And no, im not a guy that runs from a game as soon as it seems a little hard, but it's just ridicules when players in the game, who are supose to be "pro-ballas" can't even net from inside the paint without a real struggle. Wanna score from the 3 point line? Pff, forget about it. Want to do absolutley insane good looking dunks? Well you might, but they will be as rare as Haleys comet, and pretty much only occur if you're free with the basket and don't have any defenders blocking your path.

    Now the game does have quiet good graphics, and 2K is trying to set the standard for the comming generation of sports games, one can just hope that they will fix the gameplay for the next NBA title, as of right now the ball has it's own life, and you will hit the rim ALOT more then the net.
    Expand
  44. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    The game was repetitive, boring, has mediocre graphics, bad character creation, no value in making the game any more difficult, and nothing new is ever added to the table In terms of gameplay. So in my opinion NBA 2K 14 is a dud of all the great games that came out in 2013 showing the lack of respect that 2K sports shows it's fans.
  45. Jul 9, 2014
    6
    2K should have spent less time creating the annoying Lebron mode and more time fixing obvious bugs: Teammates standing out of bounds for no reason or dribbling out of bounds for no reason. Teammates switch on picks without needing too and the game provides no way to see this coming or prevent it. The social media feed will get off a few days and you'll be heckled for failing challenges2K should have spent less time creating the annoying Lebron mode and more time fixing obvious bugs: Teammates standing out of bounds for no reason or dribbling out of bounds for no reason. Teammates switch on picks without needing too and the game provides no way to see this coming or prevent it. The social media feed will get off a few days and you'll be heckled for failing challenges that are in games you haven't played yet. You can only have one name and face for all of your created players and the game does not warn you of this, ever. There is no point in equipping a shoe because there is only a 20% chance your player will be wearing them in the next game. Lastly, non-shooting fouls that occur from shot block attempts are ALWAYS followed by commentary about not being in position for the charge.
    This game got so many things right but a couple of big things really wrong.
    Expand
  46. Aug 8, 2014
    5
    This game is really fun, mycareer was done well. But, honestly, a single player campaign should not hurt my controller that much. Because the game play was coded so badly that it makes me rage. That's something that multiplayer games like CoD should do, not single player campaigns. Seriously, one time the ball went in the hoop and the ingame refs called it out of bounds! Or I grabbedThis game is really fun, mycareer was done well. But, honestly, a single player campaign should not hurt my controller that much. Because the game play was coded so badly that it makes me rage. That's something that multiplayer games like CoD should do, not single player campaigns. Seriously, one time the ball went in the hoop and the ingame refs called it out of bounds! Or I grabbed the defensive rebound ~5 feet away from the hoop and they called goaltending. Also, the rebounding is really awful. Sometimes I go for the rebound (I have maxed out rebounding skill) and I'll jump up for it and then don't grab it, and instead just fall back down and then the ball bounces off of my face and somebody else grabs it. Sometimes the ball bounces back off the rim with more force than it had on the original shot, too. Fun game, don't get me wrong, but the programmers are awful, especially the ones that programmed the refs. Expand
  47. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    I understand that much of the complaints involving this game was lack of new content--at least for the current gen version--but I haven't played a 2K game since "NBA 2K14", and I was very impressed with this game. There are so many game modes, and so many different ways to play them, that I haven't gotten the least bit bored with it, and this is August, a little less then a year since II understand that much of the complaints involving this game was lack of new content--at least for the current gen version--but I haven't played a 2K game since "NBA 2K14", and I was very impressed with this game. There are so many game modes, and so many different ways to play them, that I haven't gotten the least bit bored with it, and this is August, a little less then a year since I bought the game. The graphics need improvements, and there is room for improvement in MyCareer and MyPlayer customization, but "NBA 2K14" doesn't fail to deliver whatsoever. Expand
  48. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    This has got to be the most broken game i've ever played. Everything is screwed up. From the players movement, no kind of defense, stupid uncalled fouls that don't even happen, and butter fingers. Whenever I play My Player everything goes downhill from here. The player acts super slow, the movement is ugly, the user A.I. acts stupid, throws the ball and no one catches it, the CPU slapsThis has got to be the most broken game i've ever played. Everything is screwed up. From the players movement, no kind of defense, stupid uncalled fouls that don't even happen, and butter fingers. Whenever I play My Player everything goes downhill from here. The player acts super slow, the movement is ugly, the user A.I. acts stupid, throws the ball and no one catches it, the CPU slaps the ball out your hand without any moves, the CPU acts more superior than the user, the CPU shoots more better then the user from outside, the CPU grabs more rebounds then the user and while......yeah. 2K has found a lot of ways to make some cheesy tactics to make the CPU a lot more better and it isn't fair at all. 2K didn't even care about the current to at least try to buff it up a lil, but instead turned it into a boot camp game. I was angry, disgusted, outraged, and blowed that this game turned into a headache. NBA 2K13 was and is the better game, because I had more fun with it and the animation isn't all horrible. DAMN, DAMN DAMN!!!!!!! Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    NBA 2K14 introduces a deeper and more advanced steering, which is welcome for all of us who don’t manage the more tactic side of the game. Prostick is a great addition and NBA 2K14 is a game that grows the more you invest in it and the more you know about the sport.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    Outside of the new animations, it's hard to see where NBA 2K14 has really advanced ahead of last year's outing. [Issue#141, p.112]
  3. Still the best basketball franchise out there. Avoids greatness due to a smattering of visual bugbears. [December 2013, p79]