User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 136
  2. Negative: 61 out of 136

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    I understand that much of the complaints involving this game was lack of new content--at least for the current gen version--but I haven't played a 2K game since "NBA 2K14", and I was very impressed with this game. There are so many game modes, and so many different ways to play them, that I haven't gotten the least bit bored with it, and this is August, a little less then a year since II understand that much of the complaints involving this game was lack of new content--at least for the current gen version--but I haven't played a 2K game since "NBA 2K14", and I was very impressed with this game. There are so many game modes, and so many different ways to play them, that I haven't gotten the least bit bored with it, and this is August, a little less then a year since I bought the game. The graphics need improvements, and there is room for improvement in MyCareer and MyPlayer customization, but "NBA 2K14" doesn't fail to deliver whatsoever. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Great graphics in the game. Love the Le Bron path to fame, it is just like 2K11 Jordan Challenge mode. The my Player mode is really realistic with the GM and stuff like that. The dribble stick is difficult do master at first, but as you play it more, it becomes easier.
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    People trly don't understand how you can overlook the AI on defense. I am a hardcore 2k fan since 2k through ESPN basketball now to these! And I have to say, this is the first time, you really have to be smart on offense and play to your guys strengths, b/c korny dunks are done with (for the most part). Bad passes to the crowded interior don't happen. Dribbling through the defense isPeople trly don't understand how you can overlook the AI on defense. I am a hardcore 2k fan since 2k through ESPN basketball now to these! And I have to say, this is the first time, you really have to be smart on offense and play to your guys strengths, b/c korny dunks are done with (for the most part). Bad passes to the crowded interior don't happen. Dribbling through the defense is hopeless. Anyone who knows how the game of basketball is actually played, greatly respects this game! I think it's those people who like arcade like games and "fun" game modes that have a problem with this. If you like the actual feel of the NBA where people like Andre Iguodala DONT go off for 30 every night just because they can jump, then you love this game Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic as all others NBA 2ks...
    The only point is that it is exactly the same game as NBA 2k13 and 2k12..
    There were no many changes. I really did not see any.
    It just became a bit difficult to make dribbles and easier to steal balls...

    But it is exactly the same.

    Despite that I love NBA 2k series so I have to give a great score.
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Wow is 2K tite. Have you ever banged out on the blacktop? Just holler at Kriz & Kross on the court.
    P.S. don't forget to bring ur NBA tee if you're tryin to join the squad.
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    First off you kids need to start being patient and realize that the console generation isn't going to blow your mind with graphics so get off that and anyways the graphics look good and clean. For all those saying its just like 2k13 are wrong Soo wrong. First game I played I was playing like 13 and messing up. And frustrated but get a few games in and you see the differences. Some of theFirst off you kids need to start being patient and realize that the console generation isn't going to blow your mind with graphics so get off that and anyways the graphics look good and clean. For all those saying its just like 2k13 are wrong Soo wrong. First game I played I was playing like 13 and messing up. And frustrated but get a few games in and you see the differences. Some of the user reviewers obviously haven't played the game just watched a you tube video because nothing is the same the animations are great. You can feel the. Weight of each player and when you got a mismatch you can exploit it is exciting. Also when you dunk on this game you feel you earned it. I've played ten or so games with the Heat and. DWade only has like two dunks sweet layups but not many dunks. And the post game don't even start this is how it should have always worked and it finally came together. The pro stick moves finally work and I feel I have control of my dribble moves similar to NBA Live 10 which used to be my fav until this beauty of a game came out. Finally the defense has seen some major improvements its like 2K listened to me personally and made the perfect bball game. I love it and I know next gen graphics will crush this game but how many years until it plays this good let's hope quick but I have my doubts. Until then though this is my all time game and I'll see you online if you're on I'm Shawnomite PSN I'd. Oh yeah almost forgot the flashy passing is great and really let's me know you trolls haven't played it they are SWEET!!! Expand
  7. i50
    Oct 15, 2013
    10
    The most realistic NBA ever released. New moves, new gameplay, intelligene in defence. And this is NOT the same game as NBA 2K13. Just open your eyes people.
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. NBA 2K14 is a great game. It is very similar to NBA 2K13 except the game play is a lot better. In NBA 2K13 you could just dunk over anyone and it was dumb. Also you couldn't play defense. Another thing is that the online was awful for my player, way to many join your friends game errors and too much lag. Well guess what they fixed everything for that. Everyone just can't appreciate how real basketball is supposed to be played and is whining that it's the same game. If your complaining about the game just get NBA Live 14 because i'm sticking with this game. Now all they have to do is make a way to play career mode online with your friends (SPOILER). Expand
  9. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    The game is amazing. i'm a NBA gamer since early 90' and since I play NBA2k every day since 2k8. 2k14 seems to look like 2k13 but it's way more improved then the last years edition. He defense is finally really good. That was my main hope for this year. The players body model looks way better and there are a lot of new animations. MyCareer mode has not been improved in a way I was hopingThe game is amazing. i'm a NBA gamer since early 90' and since I play NBA2k every day since 2k8. 2k14 seems to look like 2k13 but it's way more improved then the last years edition. He defense is finally really good. That was my main hope for this year. The players body model looks way better and there are a lot of new animations. MyCareer mode has not been improved in a way I was hoping for but still it's good. But the PRO's play Association, right? Playing this mode is much more fun and complex by the improvements of defense and using screens. Now having Tony Allen or Iggy matters more than having Novak or another shooter on the team! Finally I can build a balanced team and not only focus on offense which was the case in 2k13. I know we all were hoping for more changes this year. If they changed the menu would that change something? Does Fifa14 has much changed since Fifa13? if you're NBa junkie like me, buy NBA2k14 it's the best sports game ever. Expand
  10. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    It seemed absolutely identical to last years NBA 2K13, until I actually played it. Defense is better than ever, much more challenging, more modes than 2K13 and the improvements they made make this game the best basketball simulation ever.
  11. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    Simply the best, Visual Concepts seems to give us a quality NBA 2k14 this year and intends to rely on it for entertainment obviously very successful, on a slightly more intuitive gameplay and the presence of European teams rather interesting. Remains to be seen what care has been given to the next-gen versions.
  12. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    as far as a game on its own 2k is the best out it feels fluid defense is much improved the game just feels much better my only beed is i play RPG's and with those RPG's you usually get an expansion anywhere from 10-40 dollars and there is a lot of new gratifying game enhancing content. I can't blame 2k though because they know the consumer will buy their game full price but for all ofas far as a game on its own 2k is the best out it feels fluid defense is much improved the game just feels much better my only beed is i play RPG's and with those RPG's you usually get an expansion anywhere from 10-40 dollars and there is a lot of new gratifying game enhancing content. I can't blame 2k though because they know the consumer will buy their game full price but for all of these improvements 2k14 feels like an expansion to me rather than a whole new game...with today's technology 2k could of released an expansion gave us another year of online support with rosters and charged 40 bucks and i think this game would of sold like crazy plus the next gen version is coming next month....that will be a full 60 bucks and well worth it so i feel like 2k would of made tons of money.

    But like i said earlier i cannot blame 2k because they know their fans will buy their game for 60 dollars and why not maximize profits from a business stand point?

    But all in all 2k14 is the best basketball game i've played i'm not a huge fan of the new stick but i might just need to get use to it i played 2k13 all the way up to 10/1 and still enjoyed so it will take time for me to not be able to hold the stick for longer crossovers and instead have to use flicks because holding results in some form of a shot....

    Summary-
    Pros- Really Fluid, improved solid defense, scoring is better also
    Cons-Looks identical to 2k13 besides menus (even though 2k13 did not look bad), feels like 2k held something back maybe they went all in for the next gen version of the game, not many new customization options for my player barely any new tattoos or accessories or haircuts(this can be fixed with patches...if any other cons including some mentioned they can be fixed with updates tho or patches so not all hope is lost

    Worth the buy especially if your not upgrading to ps4 this year because you will get tons of gaming hours just like in 2k13 so it is worth the 60 dollars in that sense on its own 2 feet but comparing it to 2k13 its too close to be worth 60...40 dollars would of been a much better price
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    NBA 2K14 introduces a deeper and more advanced steering, which is welcome for all of us who don’t manage the more tactic side of the game. Prostick is a great addition and NBA 2K14 is a game that grows the more you invest in it and the more you know about the sport.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    Outside of the new animations, it's hard to see where NBA 2K14 has really advanced ahead of last year's outing. [Issue#141, p.112]
  3. Still the best basketball franchise out there. Avoids greatness due to a smattering of visual bugbears. [December 2013, p79]