NBA Jam Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring gameplay that is true to the original, NBA Jam will have players spinning with ankle breaking moves to the basket and on the way to high-flying, backboard-smashing dunks. In addition to the classic experience, EA Sports NBA Jam will also introduce new game modes, characters and gameplay depth. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    85
    Though this game is a visceral and grand experience, I can't get away from the fact that it was supposed to be a free pack-in, and instead they've slapped a $50 price tag on it. It would've surely been the best pack-in of all time. As a stand-alone retail game, I can still recommend it, but only for fans of the NBA Jam series.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    EA Sports NBA Jam is a great revival of a classic franchise. If you were a fan then there is no reason to pass up on this offering as it brings just enough to the table to make it worth your while.
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    76
    NBA Jam is a good remake on the PlayStation 3 that is easy to learn and really entertaining.
  4. Nov 30, 2010
    70
    Just the same game we already played on Wii with the addition of online multiplayer. Maybe it would've been one of the greatest downloadable games of the last 4 years, but as a retail title, it's a little bit disappointing.
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    NBA Jam meets most of its expectations.The game is very entertaining however it must be said that this should have been a downloadable game. The game just doesn't feel like a full retail game but remains amusing nonetheless.
  6. Dec 29, 2010
    68
    Occasionally thrilling, and lovingly reproduced. [Issue#200, p.92]
  7. Jan 13, 2011
    51
    At 10 quid, this'd probably score in the mid 70s. Shame. [Jan 2011, p.96]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    8
    Being a fan of the old SNES one I knew what I was getting into. Obviously its not as intense of a basketball game you might want but its not a basketball simulator its an Arcade game. Its fun for what it is. Some of your favorite players to choose from a bunch of different modes. The AI is a little cheap if you're beating them badly they really turn up the heat in the 4th quarter. The online mode is alright if you get teamed up with someone good or matched against someone bad :P I can see where people are complaining about the price a full 50 would be a bit outrageous but it has gone down in price by now only like 30-40 dollars which its definitely worth it. Plus EA announced future roster updates and a DLC coming in October so something to look forward to. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    Boomshakalaka!
    The game is set in the comic-realistic world of the NBA. You are given an option to choose from two different versions. The
    retro version which is basically that of the older NBA jam games and a brand new remixed version of the older games modes including some exciting power ups such as Strength, Agility and much more these power-up's can really make or break the game. My idea of the remixed mode is that you can have very mixed opinions on this because of the computer being easily able to attain the power-up's due to its precise movements.

    Does it live up to its hype you may say?...What hype. Because of games like 'Call Of Duty', games like 'NBA jam' are very under-looked even if it does have a legion of fans following it.

    The game is simplistic at its best and is easy for any one to pick up and play. The controls vary from that of buttons to the mish-mash of analogue sticks and the analogue stick controls can take some time getting used to, so it was good that they included tutorials using stick men as the overall figure which i find quite original and unusual.

    The game-play is some of the finest to this date, from the fluidity of the characters movements to the over-the-top dunks and slams, to the wacky variety of characters including politicians from the democratic side and the republican side, The feeling of accomplishment when finally managing to get a goal streak 3 exceeds your expectations because then your basketball ignites and this is when the ball gets rolling...after five or more-so shots the flames are extinguished and that feeling of anguish will hit you like a fire ball (pardon the pun) but there is always an upside to that because of yourself having the ability to extinguish your opponents flames and it is so much better if your opponent is sat right next to you in the same room.

    The graphic's can be visually compared to rag-doll kung fu due to that having the same quirkiness yet cartoony look. It is pretty damn great how much they have perfected the visuals from the old predecessor's. It basically looks like a whole new game even holding the same mechanics as the first one.

    The soundtrack is brilliant and can still hold a candle to the old retro 16 bit popcorn tracks. One thing i miss is the old distortion in the soundtrack and the commentators voice it just gave me that old retro feel again and i wish that they could of made an option to include both the new and improved sounds and the original retro sounds.

    The character roster in this game is built up of that of dreams such legends as 'Magic Johnson and Larry Bird' join the new and phenomenal crowd of characters. Even the Beastie Boy's make a return as well as some new teams like the stickmen and the sprite team; just to name a new.

    The multiplayer and the easy to access Online modes are a great addition as well as some new modes such as '21, elimination and domination'; It's a shame the online is sparsely populated.

    To conclude this review i would say that this game is the best arcade basketball game to date and could even hold its own with the said 'NBA 2k' series. If you're a newcomer or even an experienced gamer, i would highly recommend you to pick up this title, You won't regret it.
    Collapse
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    7
    Easily a game anyone would like to try if they've played the arcade version back in the 90s. Only drawback is that NBA Jam slaps us with a 50$ charge for a minimum amount of extra content. NBA Jam does its job by providing fun and laughter though and should be played with a minimum of two players on either offline or online; excluding the AI. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    Great game. Fun for parties, and captures the charm of the arcade title. This game is well worth the price of admission for anyone that wants to have a good time with their friends. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2010
    6
    NBA Jam. The old Akklaim lizard on the loading screen. BOOMSHAKALAKA like Wainy said. DON'T LET MY 6 out of 10 FOOL YOU. I AM A TOUGH REVIEWER. Anyway, I was at my local Fry's and saw NBA Jam had come out by EA (I have 2k11 and NBA Live 10, though I prefer 2k11 for sim basketball), but EA has done a GREAT JOB with putting NBA JAM on a next gen console without changing ANYTHING........ and I mean anything.....

    The cool 3d touch-up graphics are cool, but when I played this game, I felt ripped off. Not because the game is bad, but because it's literally the identical NBA JAM we played at the arcaded and on SNES or whatever systems. The Heat (Lebron + Wade ... or Bosh ) is easily the best team. While i enjoyed the game, I couldn't help but realize they literally ported NBA JAM T.E. from SNES or something. The game is fun online or multiplayer. Single player gets boring in my opinion. The replayability can be pretty solid if you are an addict of NBA Jam or get great 2 on 2 online games always....... the small things they added are so "stupid" in a sense that it's not worth noting. I hate having to be so cruel about NBA Jam (I instantly traded it on Ebay and got 43 bucks so only 7 bucks lost, haha).

    1-NBA JAM on PS3 = NBA JAM (any other oldskool version + 3d)
    2-Online play makes it a bunch of fun...

    I do want to warn: don't buy it out of nostalgic memory. I love the NBA and basketball, and have clocked 1,000's of hours on NBA Jam, NBA Jam T.E., NBA Hangtime (n64's version), though I was from the ages of 5 to about 14. I'm not saying adults won't love this, because they do. But if you are like me and have slowly become a huge fan of simulation type games such as NBA 2k11 (play 12 minute quarters and the games score is 110-102 like real life time/scoring)... well, NBA Jam, is better left as that great nostalgic memory.

    For $49.99 I just think it's insane. I downloaded this Tecmo Arcade Unrivaled or something on the PS3 store for 5 or 10 bucks and I enjoy it more than NBA Jam............ that's my complaint.

    IT BELONGS ON THE PS3 STORE FOR 10-20 BUCKS. Originally the game was supposed to come FREE WITH "NBA ELITE 11". Seeing how that game was just awful (has potential but is a raw, new engine, and its good they didnt release a bad version). FREE with Elite....... I sure guess EA figured out how to try and make some money by making this free $10-$20 buck add-on game a full fledged "PS3 Game" for $49.99. Did I mention NBA 2k11 is like 40 bucks now? NBA Live 10 (EA / still has new rosters) I picked up used at GS for 15 or 20 bucks. I just think the price is a joke.

    BUT, the game is EXACTLY what you should expect I guess. A 2 button basketball game with turbo and dunks....... Online 2 on 2 is fantastic..... I'd find it used for cheap or wait, it's gotta lower in price soon... there's no way it sold more than 50,000 units....... OR EA IS ONE SMART COOKIE!
    Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    1
    The games catch up mode is horrible. The npc cheat like mad. When you get 10 points infront the npc gains a level, when you get 20 points infront they gain 2 levels and then they just become unbeatable. It ruins the game. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    0
    i loved the online but playing the computer even on easy was annoying save yourself some money and by a good game. this feels like the controls are from the early 90's **** YOU EA Expand