User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 67
  2. Negative: 23 out of 67

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SnakeDoctorRaidenDoctor
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    I have bought every FUCKING nfs title since underground came out.There is only one thing to say.IT SUCKS!Seriously.Don't you have anything else to do with your time.Thank god I borrowed it from a friend of mine(John you suck!) and didn't have to pay 60 FUCKING euros for this piece of shit.Where is the nfs experience from Most Wanted!?Where are the beautiful graphics.And I say theI have bought every FUCKING nfs title since underground came out.There is only one thing to say.IT SUCKS!Seriously.Don't you have anything else to do with your time.Thank god I borrowed it from a friend of mine(John you suck!) and didn't have to pay 60 FUCKING euros for this piece of shit.Where is the nfs experience from Most Wanted!?Where are the beautiful graphics.And I say the framerate sucks.It is like you play online with tons and tons of lag!Seriously stay away from it.STAY AWAY FROM THIS FUCKING GAME!Or...you could buy it and then burn it,hit it with a hammer and through it to the neighbours yard.I'm sure he wont like that. Expand
  2. timmeho
    Mar 13, 2009
    3
    I'm so happy i rented this game, i played for 20 minutes, the frame rate was that bad it gave me a headache the cars looked shit drove like shit, the city also looked shit i almost thought it was the ps2 version the graphics where that bad. i honestly cant understand how they can release this game with such a poor frame rate, The game play and story also where no better i would not I'm so happy i rented this game, i played for 20 minutes, the frame rate was that bad it gave me a headache the cars looked shit drove like shit, the city also looked shit i almost thought it was the ps2 version the graphics where that bad. i honestly cant understand how they can release this game with such a poor frame rate, The game play and story also where no better i would not even recomend renting. i didn't have time to "give the game a chance" because i have so many other much better games need for speed has gone down hill since nfs: most wanted, which despite some graphical flaws was quiet fun, nfs carbon was a disaster nfs pro street was different but got boring very quick and now nfs undercover, thats strike three no more nfs games for me. Collapse
  3. FxDr
    Sep 14, 2009
    5
    You'd think with the money and manpower that went into this game, EA:BB would have been able to pump out something that didn't play like a PowerPoint presentation. The 30 minutes I played of this crap was more than enough to help me remember why the NFS franchise has been spiraling down the toilet.
  4. Sep 3, 2010
    3
    This is the only game in my collection that I did not finish due to bugs in the software. The game itself is not that bad at all, it is at times rather enjoyable. But the rather enjoyable is overshadowed by the many many bugs and gameflaws. The things that occur frequently: * Wen returning from menu to game the game crashes and the console has to be restarted
    * every minute or so the
    This is the only game in my collection that I did not finish due to bugs in the software. The game itself is not that bad at all, it is at times rather enjoyable. But the rather enjoyable is overshadowed by the many many bugs and gameflaws. The things that occur frequently: * Wen returning from menu to game the game crashes and the console has to be restarted
    * every minute or so the frame rate drops and it "hangs" for a second. Very convenient while stearing at high speed.
    * Halfway a song the music suddenly stops for a few seconds and continues * NPC cars drive through barriers and buildings
    * You drive suddenly into a void of nothingness, the car starts to blink and it returns you to someplace on the track ... Do NOT touch this if you are looking for a serious game.
    Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2010
    4
    Simply put, NFS Undercover is a broken game, the game was supposed to be an open world racer, yet you choose race events from menus. There are a host of visual and technical problems and the hollywood flavour is awful and absolutely nonsensical to the gameplay. To sum this up, this is perhaps the worst racer I've played on PS3 yet.
  6. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    Need for Speed: Undercover is a nice racing game. It isn't the best in the NFS series but it isn't the worst. The plot is interesting because rather play as a wannabe street racer, but (as the video game title suggests) as a cop. There is a nice selection of cars such as the mighty Bugatti Veyron and a nice selection of challenges such as police pursuits and bringing certain cars to yourNeed for Speed: Undercover is a nice racing game. It isn't the best in the NFS series but it isn't the worst. The plot is interesting because rather play as a wannabe street racer, but (as the video game title suggests) as a cop. There is a nice selection of cars such as the mighty Bugatti Veyron and a nice selection of challenges such as police pursuits and bringing certain cars to your hideout for money. The graphics are nice and the car models look lovely but the game can feel too easy at times and the game feels like it was rushed in development. Some textures can take longer to load that it can slow the game down and some pop in occurs as well in the game. The gameplay is however, good. Resembles the likes of past NFS titles like Most Wanted and Carbon. Need for Speed: Undercover isn't as bad as everyone say's it is. It's a nice NFS for any NFS fan. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    This game is quite old but i still play it sometimes but once i used be addicted to it. what i love about it is the selection of cars on it especially the Bugatti Veyron and other sport cars and the muscle cars the graphics needed improvement the controls of it was ok but they could be a better a bit better. I just hope there will be more of the nfs series they are really good but need toThis game is quite old but i still play it sometimes but once i used be addicted to it. what i love about it is the selection of cars on it especially the Bugatti Veyron and other sport cars and the muscle cars the graphics needed improvement the controls of it was ok but they could be a better a bit better. I just hope there will be more of the nfs series they are really good but need to improve on the graphics. Expand
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Underground is from the bad times of Need for Speed saga, but is the best before the new Hot Pursuit, the beginning is repeatedly and too slow, too easy to play but throughout the game that changes, the races become more difficult and more fun. But still have that bad thing from that Need for Speed games before Hot Pursuit.
  9. WayneK.
    Jan 12, 2009
    1
    Over the years the need for speed franchise has been known for its high speed, high thrill game style of buying a pretty average car and modifying the pants off of it until its a miniature super car. That was until the latest version of need for speed arrived. Need for speed undercover. Well to put it simply, imagine bringing home a perfectly good looking girl, funny, good personality, Over the years the need for speed franchise has been known for its high speed, high thrill game style of buying a pretty average car and modifying the pants off of it until its a miniature super car. That was until the latest version of need for speed arrived. Need for speed undercover. Well to put it simply, imagine bringing home a perfectly good looking girl, funny, good personality, and yet when you turn the lights on, she is your nan. YOUR FUCKING NAN!! Let me start you off with a little tale of mine. My good friend Ben Dover recently purchased this calamity of a game and threw it out of the window the very next day! Now to the game! Graphics: pacman stlye Gameplay: I have seen more from a horses arse. Online: Mostly fat Americans douch bags and the occasional jappy chappy. Lasting appeal: Frankly, i get more of a lasting appeal from doing your nan doggy style! To conclude if you have £40 to blow on a game like this, you may as well visit your local brothel. Expand
  10. Jeremy
    Dec 30, 2008
    8
    This game was awesome just loading it up. It had great graphics and effects, and setting up the plot with a police chase was cool. My only problem with it was the twitchy camera at intense parts of the gameplay. But besides that this is game I could see myself playing it in the next year or so. The best new feature this year is the driving engine. In Most Wanted and Carbon, accelerating This game was awesome just loading it up. It had great graphics and effects, and setting up the plot with a police chase was cool. My only problem with it was the twitchy camera at intense parts of the gameplay. But besides that this is game I could see myself playing it in the next year or so. The best new feature this year is the driving engine. In Most Wanted and Carbon, accelerating your car from a low speed felt like scraping a shovel across concrete. With undercover, they fixed that and made the physics so much better that it actually feels like your driving in a car chase thriller movie like Transporter or the Fast and the Furious. Burnout Paradise is a great game too... for car crashes, and Midnight Club: LA is great... for fast paced races, but Undercover has that feeling that your actually driving a high-powered beast and not some crazily over-exagerated space ship on wheels. Overall , Undercover is a great reminder of what a good racing game should be. Undercover has more driving passion. Expand
  11. therealdealdude
    Jun 3, 2009
    7
    I'll admit it if i didn't feel bored that i bought it and didt even try to give it another chance i would be pissed that i bought it so first when i bought it i started the cddidt expect much but when i saw the heli i got mad and closed it so then i tryed again in 3 months its awesome even though i think there trying to rip u off if u dont dominate u can just buy it he online i I'll admit it if i didn't feel bored that i bought it and didt even try to give it another chance i would be pissed that i bought it so first when i bought it i started the cddidt expect much but when i saw the heli i got mad and closed it so then i tryed again in 3 months its awesome even though i think there trying to rip u off if u dont dominate u can just buy it he online i liked but i would of been more fun is lots of people were online i tryed online nobody waas barely on i got to pla 2 on 2 cops only 5 times but i haven't tryedit online again but the story is very short i tryed again and now am 87 % in less than p[laying in than 2 days i took another break because its isnt addactive like craboon with the teammates but it isnt bad just like ign said it isnt the bestgame out there but we arent telling u not to buy were just telling there are better ones out there it is true there are better but i would rather buy this one because unless u wanna buy everything from the #1 car racing game (free world roaming only)(burnout pardise) but i would say need for speed is the maybe the 3rd or even 4th best racing game out there but 2nd in free roaming burnout being the best but they wont give us nothin free wtf is wrong with EA we earned something free. Expand
  12. needspeed
    Aug 25, 2009
    7
    This game really puts the 'need' in the name. Through a bit of bad coloring and way too much actionshock action, I tried to enjoy myself without the cops, it kinda worked sometimes, but not others, as sometimes they game full-on chase and lasted 5+minutes, and other were only a minute or 2... it needs a bigger map, too
  13. Apr 1, 2013
    2
    The game is bad and Black Box should feel bad. There is seriously nothing good to say about this game except for the fact that it has Maggie Q in it. Other then that: the graphics are horrible (considering Burnout Paradise is a year older, they definitely could have done a much better job), the cars drive like and the catch up mechanics in this game are ridiculous. Most of the times theThe game is bad and Black Box should feel bad. There is seriously nothing good to say about this game except for the fact that it has Maggie Q in it. Other then that: the graphics are horrible (considering Burnout Paradise is a year older, they definitely could have done a much better job), the cars drive like and the catch up mechanics in this game are ridiculous. Most of the times the random filler racers are actually harder then the "boss races" which tend to be a walkover mostly. BUT the most annoying part about this game is the engine... it is just so bad I have no words for it: massive FPS drops all over the place and worst of all sometimes you just reach the end of the road and you have to wait 5 seconds for the game to load the rest of the circuit (Yes, I'm dead serious).

    Terrible game, I picked this up for €6. A part of me would say, fine for some easy trophy's but please: do yourself a favor and save yourself the frustration... it's not worth it.
    Expand
  14. Jan 20, 2014
    0
    I bought this game when it's came out and it sucks! worst control, unstability cam! and too much bugs! this is worst series! even than The run! it's **** WORTHLESS! don't even take this game if it is free! donnot! you have been warned!
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. 50
    It's clear that the Need For Speed series is in need of a GPS unit so it can get back on track.
  2. The game modes are not particularly intense, and the vehicles, although very detailed, fail to offer the feeling from the best of the series.
  3. 40
    Need for Speed Undercover is a poor game with a ton of problems, both technically and in terms of design. The open world design is completely lost as you can't actually drive to any event, many races are closed off which means no cross traffic, and it's incredibly easy.