User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 67
  2. Negative: 19 out of 67

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    5
    I play this game for HUT because I enjoy hockey but this game is terribly broken. The whole idea of fantasy hockey is based on stats and if they left it at that this mode would be fabulous. The game is ruined by three major factors.....a) momentum engine.....an artificial way to make your players behave outside your control for dramatic effect and simulation. Taking away control from aI play this game for HUT because I enjoy hockey but this game is terribly broken. The whole idea of fantasy hockey is based on stats and if they left it at that this mode would be fabulous. The game is ruined by three major factors.....a) momentum engine.....an artificial way to make your players behave outside your control for dramatic effect and simulation. Taking away control from a player is just dumb in an online mode type game and allows players to take advantage of certain software and AI tracking shortfalls. b) constant online tuners....because of the momentum engine everything gets out of balance especially when EA offers promotions there are lots of skilling up going on and to make it fair an artificial adjustment to keep momentum presumably fair among all players. c) momentum adjustments and multipliers....so you can play a lower overall team and have their characteristics boosted to make matchups fair...or more fair......but for me all these compensation factors make me wonder why even bother, the fun of the game should be based on building a team based on stats and than going with it, but all that planning is thrown out the minute you add any deviation such as the three things I just pointed out. Its a fun game and needlessly frustrating. A good simulation, but a bad choice for playing according to your wishlist style without encountering adjustment roadblocks of all kinds....so pretty much everyones teams behave the same and one day checking is overpowered, one day its defense, one day your players slop around, one day they don't. The game is just so random for simulation presentation its annoying. There are about 3 types of goals players rely on scoring all of which entail AI tracking manipulation and everyone in the community thinks they are hot stuff. Decide if you are into this or not. Beware. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    5
    I swear EA pays magazines and game sites to give high grades, or they don't actually play the game just look at the graphics, or they know zero about hockey. This game looks fabulous. It ends there though unfortunately. The goalies are awful even when the AI is all maxed out. One minute they make 3 awesome saves up close, but then they let in a backhander from 30 feet with zero traffic inI swear EA pays magazines and game sites to give high grades, or they don't actually play the game just look at the graphics, or they know zero about hockey. This game looks fabulous. It ends there though unfortunately. The goalies are awful even when the AI is all maxed out. One minute they make 3 awesome saves up close, but then they let in a backhander from 30 feet with zero traffic in front. When you lift the puck for a dump in, the puck literally bounces about your players head everytime. Ever seen that happen in a real hockey game? I sure haven't and have been watching for 25+ years and played it for 8. The computer will poke the hell out of you when you have the puck with zero calls, but if you at anytime poke them and catch their leg once, penalty 100% of the time. If you watch point shots on instant replay on computer goals, the puck will literally go through players' bodies to get to the net. So much potential, but this is a seriously unrealistic and frustrating game. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    4
    There is so much wrong with this game. Lets start off by saying that Gary Thorne and Bill Clement NEED to be replaced! This series is repetitive and is put on the bottom of the list in sports games for EA. And I love hockey, don't get me wrong. The game got some minor improvements such as the fights, skating (again), collision fixes, and a "new" deking system. This update should be made inThere is so much wrong with this game. Lets start off by saying that Gary Thorne and Bill Clement NEED to be replaced! This series is repetitive and is put on the bottom of the list in sports games for EA. And I love hockey, don't get me wrong. The game got some minor improvements such as the fights, skating (again), collision fixes, and a "new" deking system. This update should be made in every game, yet, NHL 14 looks the exact same NHL 13 and NHL 13 looks the same as NHL 12! C'mon EA you can do better than that! In NHL 13, they completely dropped the ball. The hits were so stupid it was funny, players would go flying into the seats, goalies could be hit out of the net and be scored on. EA definitely deserved the worst company award, hands down. The truth is NHL games come last on EA's list, and we are all being pulled into a circle of buying this game every year. It's sad really. FIFA and the NFL series always get the biggest updates and praise they deserve, because they're actually really good games. Most of the modes are still here and are exactly the same as NHL 13, and the only reason I am giving this game a 1/10 is because of NHL '94 mode which was a really good NHL game for its time. The new modes feel and play the same as NHL 13, sadly. I really wish there was more to this game and that it'd be improved over NHL 13, but it really hasn't. Same voice actors saying the same things over and over again, things that they said in NHL 13! It's time for them to be replaced. The new checking engine is better and I am glad to see improvement in that area. But why aren't these "updates" coming with every new game? NHL 14 is basically just a bandage for the scars that NHL 13 gave to the series. I am warning you, if you are a hardcore NHL fan do not buy this game. If you're new to the sport, wait 'till next year, please. Maybe EA will open their eyes to the atrocity NHL 13/14 is? By the way I am not a troll, I am a serious gamer and write serious reviews! I am glad if you take my advice, if not, that's ok also! I respect both decisions. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    I like this game, I'd say better than previous games. All of the new features really help the game have a lasting appeal. So many people don't like the new fighting mechanic, but I don't know what the problem with it is, I am still able to win more than half of my fights. But the game isn't perfect and could use a decent polishing.
  5. Mar 9, 2014
    0
    this game will make u want to grab your ps3. Chuck it out the window, light it in on fire, throw in the toilet. Take a poop on it and attempt to flush it down the toilet. Why? It SUCKS. IT SUCKS. it is really unfair
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    Hockey is the red-headed step child of the EA Sports gaming catalog. Despite the fact that it is always at the forefront of accolades for sports gaming, it is still relegated to yearly updates that make Madden updates look positively groundbreaking. Despite this NHL 14 is better than its' predecessor and I am not at all sorry that I purchase my copy. Hitting is thankfully overhauled andHockey is the red-headed step child of the EA Sports gaming catalog. Despite the fact that it is always at the forefront of accolades for sports gaming, it is still relegated to yearly updates that make Madden updates look positively groundbreaking. Despite this NHL 14 is better than its' predecessor and I am not at all sorry that I purchase my copy. Hitting is thankfully overhauled and made much more asthetically pleasing as is overall flow of skating. But, scoring is even easier than last year and at times hitting is comically easy (Brad Marchand lighting up Tyler Meyers on the regular? C'mon!). My belief is that EA was trying to make this game more accesible and user friendly for people who haven't gotten into hockey games yet before they made the jump to next-gen consoles. If it works then great, hardcore hockey fans looking for a real-time simulation should probably skip this edition though as the ability to nitpick mechanics is easy pickins'. If you enjoy hockey or the series you shouldn't be too terribly dissapointed in the lack of a graphics upgrade or the fact that the commentary is basically just a stale retread and with a few exceptions the soundtrack has gotten back to being good again so all in all I think the game is worth a look. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    This game actually kind of impressed me, I came into it thinking I wouldn't see much of a difference from this to my prior NHL game (NHL 12) but I was pleasantly surprised. Most aspects of it have very much improved, ranging from the physics to the menu screen, it feels more comfortable and real. That being said its not perfect, the fighting can be overdone, its like EA is rubbing it inThis game actually kind of impressed me, I came into it thinking I wouldn't see much of a difference from this to my prior NHL game (NHL 12) but I was pleasantly surprised. Most aspects of it have very much improved, ranging from the physics to the menu screen, it feels more comfortable and real. That being said its not perfect, the fighting can be overdone, its like EA is rubbing it in that they have a new fighting system, its 50% fighting and 50% hockey (exaggeration). Overall, i thought that NHL 14 is a pretty good game, adding many features that are actually noticeable from its priors, the fighting can be overdone, but overall I give this game an 8.3 (rounded down to 8). Expand
  8. Dec 7, 2013
    8
    The game is very good looking, and there's plenty to sink your teeth, from ultimate team to a very well done career mode. The animations when slowed done can look ugly, and the commentary can be a step behind, and is very, very generic. The new fighting is excellent, and can help make or break your chances of winning a game. NHL 94 anniversary mode is fun, and an excellent way for peopleThe game is very good looking, and there's plenty to sink your teeth, from ultimate team to a very well done career mode. The animations when slowed done can look ugly, and the commentary can be a step behind, and is very, very generic. The new fighting is excellent, and can help make or break your chances of winning a game. NHL 94 anniversary mode is fun, and an excellent way for people unfamiliar with hockey to dive in and have fun. The creation modes are kind of half-assed, but it is still there for inquiring minds, just don't expect anything incredibly deep. Finally, the game lacks proper tutorials for deking, faceoffs, and goalie mode. Particularly when I tried to learn goalie mode, I spent many hours pulling my hair out over trying to figure the mode out. Overall, very good if you like hockey, and there is still some stuff here for more casual fans. Expand
  9. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    Much better than last years iteration. NHL 13 was easily the worst EA Sports hockey game I've played on this generation of consoles. Safe to say that NHL 14 does a lot of fine tuning. Animations are still very robotic looking. To all my fellow Canadians and hockey fans go pick this up.
  10. Sep 23, 2013
    8
    This game was fun to play. The fighting in the game is pretty good. And the hitting in this game is so satisfying. I don't have much to say about the dekes. The shooting and passing feel smooth and I only the occasional bug while shooting. And it is a refreshing comeback from a not so good hockey game last year.
  11. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    Nhl 14 was by far the best hockey video game !ve played. I love the hitting system and the fighting as those are my two favorite things to do in hockey video games.
  12. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    EA Sports redeems itself for the lacking NHL 13 with the most realistic, fun, and deep NHL game ever made. NHL 14 is improves all the core mechanics of the game and adds two game defining mechanics. The fighting is actually fun in NHL 14. Improving ten fold from the horrible first person fighting that plagued the previous NHL games, the third person fighting is extremely fun but with stillEA Sports redeems itself for the lacking NHL 13 with the most realistic, fun, and deep NHL game ever made. NHL 14 is improves all the core mechanics of the game and adds two game defining mechanics. The fighting is actually fun in NHL 14. Improving ten fold from the horrible first person fighting that plagued the previous NHL games, the third person fighting is extremely fun but with still ample room for improvement. The other mechanic greatly improved is hitting. No NHL game allows for such satisfying hitting as '14. The Live the Life and HUT online are incredibly fun game modes that will keep players entertained for hours. The NHL '94 Anniversary Mode is fun too, though hardly necessary. Overall, NHL 14 is the best hockey game there's ever been and is a significant improvement over '13. Expand
  13. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    Best hockey video game in the whole wide room.

    The less time you spend with NHL 14 the better the experience is. The bugs and quirks gradually work their way into the foreground and some of them are familiar as they are retained from previous years. The online experience is inconsistent in performance at best and degraded by exploits at worst. The expansion of "Be a Pro" mode to
    Best hockey video game in the whole wide room.

    The less time you spend with NHL 14 the better the experience is. The bugs and quirks gradually work their way into the foreground and some of them are familiar as they are retained from previous years. The online experience is inconsistent in performance at best and degraded by exploits at worst. The expansion of "Be a Pro" mode to "Live the Life" is actually a marginal change and the "Live the Life" aspects often seem quite silly; multiple choice questions to determine your player's personality feels like a desperate attempt to make the game mode different. There's as much fun to be had as any previous year, but don't expect anything overly impressive unless you haven't played an NHL game in several years.

    It's a good game, but for as much potential as it shows it can ill-afford to be anything but a great game. This is a trend with the NHL franchise as each year it markets itself well and makes a reasonably good impression but then gradually reveals itself as an underachiever.
    Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    I have been a fan of the series ever since NHL 99, that was the game that got me into sports games. This year there are three big new features. The first of which is NHL Collision Physics. What this does is makes the hits harder, more satisfying and more realistic. Gone are the days where you would skate full speed into someone and nothing would happen. In this one if you line someone up,I have been a fan of the series ever since NHL 99, that was the game that got me into sports games. This year there are three big new features. The first of which is NHL Collision Physics. What this does is makes the hits harder, more satisfying and more realistic. Gone are the days where you would skate full speed into someone and nothing would happen. In this one if you line someone up, it looks freaking awesome. They also completely overhauled the fighting, getting rid of the first-person minigame and putting in a third person camera angle. The fights also happen organically now, so for example if i take a cheap shot at a star like Crosby, a enforcer will come and fight me. They also added these things called One Touch Dekes, so now if you hold L1 or LB and push the left stick in a direction, your person will make a sick deke. Expand
  15. Dec 5, 2013
    1
    I am a huge fan of all EA sports and NHL series games. I have really enjoyed the Online Team Play of the past few years playing as player and goalie. There was huge progress made from the 12 to 13, however 14 falls short in a bad way. There was very little done in 14, they adjusted the fighting and hitting but the rest was almost unchanged. The "enforcer" engine is unrealistic to realI am a huge fan of all EA sports and NHL series games. I have really enjoyed the Online Team Play of the past few years playing as player and goalie. There was huge progress made from the 12 to 13, however 14 falls short in a bad way. There was very little done in 14, they adjusted the fighting and hitting but the rest was almost unchanged. The "enforcer" engine is unrealistic to real life NHL hockey, because there would be an "instigator" call each time. The have completely ruined the AI interface of goalies as there can be beat with the same deke every time, and some weak wrist shots even bounce past them from far out. They do not allow human goalies the same opportunity as previous years, even when you are in postion now, they can still pick the corners. If a player on your team passes the puck towards the goalie, they will have little chance to stop it now matter how slow of a pass it might be. The 'one-touch' dekes have made it so any player can simply hold the L1 button and be nearly untouchable. The skating has got worse and players can still move in circles and avoid being hit or pokechecked. The painful thing about this series has become that those who enjoy the online play must buy the new version each year to play it otherwise there is nobody to play with. The game lags and glitches out worse than previous years. This was by far the worst installment in the past 5 years. They did not change the intro to game start, the goal celebrations, the cup celebrations, and the question period in the "live the life" mode is a joke and a waste of time. I love playing NHL games, I play it more than anything for the past few years, this year however myself and many friends have been getting frustrated and most have lost all interest in the game. EA sports really needs to step up next year, fix the issue, and create some new commentary, intros, celebrations, ect. They have been using the same video for 5 years now and it gets stupid when most of their sales are to people who have played they previous years, and recognize their poor effort to creating something new and exciting. Expand
  16. Dec 8, 2013
    3
    Ok folks let's get the obvious out of the way There really isn't much going on here The game feels like hockey for people with ADD You know the people who say hockey is too slow The people who fox developed the Fox trax puck Now I'm sure some people complained As a result this is what you get When people complained saying we want more arcade like hockey The response should of beenOk folks let's get the obvious out of the way There really isn't much going on here The game feels like hockey for people with ADD You know the people who say hockey is too slow The people who fox developed the Fox trax puck Now I'm sure some people complained As a result this is what you get When people complained saying we want more arcade like hockey The response should of been we have that it's called NHL 3 on 3 arcade .

    I found myself thinking do these developers ever even watch a hockey game Apparently in Vancouver they think the Blackhawks still play in Chicago stadium This is no small feat considering that venue is gone It's been rubble for over 20 years The commentary is redundant and in many cases recycled from nhl 13 Nothing says effort quite like that .

    The gameplay is terrible as well Everybody pretty much is a big hitter now It's that whole dumbing things down aspect I mentioned earlier Ridiculous things will happen It's unnecessarily difficult to win a face off now Even with slider adjustments the game doesn't feel right It feels as if EA is cramming the style of "hockey they want you to play down your throat Rosters are inaccurate sliders are pretty much ineffective .
    Now let's talk about the elephant in the room here The biggest problem is there is no competition EA knows nobody else makes hockey games So they are content giving us the same nonsense every year Slapping a new face on the box but shipping the same game as last year I for one am sick of this In other industries such things would be called a monopoly not so in the gaming industry Hopefully with a new generation of hardware a little friendly competition will emerge I dream that one day a hockey game will be made Made by people who are as passionate about the sport as we are I give this game a 3 If you own NHl 13 don't buy this Play until they shut the servers down and save your money You aren't missing much it's the same game as last year
    Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    Alright let me just start off by saying this game is absolutely awful. Sure this game is fun for one game every other month but if you plan on playing it anymore than that then you will quickly find that you want to throw you PS3 out a window and punch the closest person to you in the face. There are so many stupid mistakes made in this game that I could probably write a 3-part series onAlright let me just start off by saying this game is absolutely awful. Sure this game is fun for one game every other month but if you plan on playing it anymore than that then you will quickly find that you want to throw you PS3 out a window and punch the closest person to you in the face. There are so many stupid mistakes made in this game that I could probably write a 3-part series on them. If you go into the third period with a lead don't plan on keeping it because of the comeback system. You'll quickly find that your opponent can do just about anything and score no matter what you do. The fighting system is terrible and makes no sense. If you're reading this and still haven't got the game, don't. I don't know why it surprised me that EA came out with another game. I guess I was expecting something that was at least decent but no, this game is awful. Expand
  18. Dec 28, 2013
    5
    The new collision system is great and all but, in game be a pro mode goal tending is terrible the only thing you control with your goalie is whether he is in butterfly or standing up, and moving side to side. Your team gives you no support when it comes to cross crease passes, intercepting them or taking out the player receiving the pass. without being able to control your goalie theThe new collision system is great and all but, in game be a pro mode goal tending is terrible the only thing you control with your goalie is whether he is in butterfly or standing up, and moving side to side. Your team gives you no support when it comes to cross crease passes, intercepting them or taking out the player receiving the pass. without being able to control your goalie the system fails to save most of the slot passes whether in position or not. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2014
    2
    By far the worst NHL game so far, and I've owned every game since '08. For skilled NHL players like me, the game is just horrible to play offline. Playing on the highest difficulty the computer will rig the game just so it can win, making it a challenge for skilled players to win a simple game on Superstar, the hardest difficulty. Your computer teammates will take countless penalties,By far the worst NHL game so far, and I've owned every game since '08. For skilled NHL players like me, the game is just horrible to play offline. Playing on the highest difficulty the computer will rig the game just so it can win, making it a challenge for skilled players to win a simple game on Superstar, the hardest difficulty. Your computer teammates will take countless penalties, keeping you on the penalty kill for the majority of the game. You could hold the computer to 5 shots the entire game and still lose 4-3. They score on the best goalies with the worst shots, and make their goalies impossible to score on. My goalie was Carey Price, one of the best goalies in the game and his save percentage per game I played was probably only 50%. They barely made any improvements to NHL 13, and the new fighting is absolutely ridiculous. NHL 94 mode is complete garbage and you can't even play it online. I'm expecting much more in NHL 15, because this game was a huge letdown. Not to mention the countless glitches. Expand
  20. Feb 2, 2014
    5
    Disappointed with NHL 14. One of my biggest beefs is the passing in the game which is horrible and results in frequent missed passes and icing. If you press the pass button and aim in the general direction it should go to your teammate, not to open ice as often as it does. Also, your own AI teammates throw you offside all the time, or won't pick up loose pucks automatically, which is notDisappointed with NHL 14. One of my biggest beefs is the passing in the game which is horrible and results in frequent missed passes and icing. If you press the pass button and aim in the general direction it should go to your teammate, not to open ice as often as it does. Also, your own AI teammates throw you offside all the time, or won't pick up loose pucks automatically, which is not realistic. There is also a glitch where offsides is not called sometimes despite the puck clearly coming out over the blue line and back in and touched by offense. WAAAAY too many penalties are called, charging? boarding? its a video game, lets not get carried away and take the fun out of the game by trying to be too realistic and calling everything. Passing needs to be improved, less penalties should be called especially for charging/boarding, and your own teammates should stop throwing you offsides all the time. Expand
  21. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    For new players, this will be a breathe of fresh air and a fun game to explore. But for veteran players, this will be just another disappointment. Slight good changes from last year for too much money. The only really good thing this game gives you is the extension of your own competitiveness and matching it with other players either in Online Versus Play (1v1) or EASHL (6v6) to be rankedFor new players, this will be a breathe of fresh air and a fun game to explore. But for veteran players, this will be just another disappointment. Slight good changes from last year for too much money. The only really good thing this game gives you is the extension of your own competitiveness and matching it with other players either in Online Versus Play (1v1) or EASHL (6v6) to be ranked among the best on the leaderboards.

    That being said, you'll realize glitch goals are even more present than in its predecessor. Skate in diagonal, pull a wrist shot and it's in the net. You don't need to pull off a leg kick and simulate a real shot anymore.

    Despite all of that, the fight and physical engine is great. Building an enforcer D-man, maximizing your strength and body checking will be worth a lot of hilarious moments.

    The offline modes suck, too. Try to be as immersive as you can, but you'll face an extremely repetitive in-game on-ice experience. Regardless of the league you're in (whether it's the OHL/AHL/NHL) or how good or bad your own team is, it doesn't really matter. The AI acts the same, and acts badly most of the time.

    I still recommend this game for the competitivity, but don't expect much outside of that.
    Expand
  22. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    Although sports games don't change very much from year to year, I still thought that NHL 14 was a very good game. The new hits are awesome and the new fighting is a very good addition to the game. The graphics are still great, as well as the gameplay. The only problems I have were you had to adjust the game speed slider a little to make the game a little more real. The A.I of yourAlthough sports games don't change very much from year to year, I still thought that NHL 14 was a very good game. The new hits are awesome and the new fighting is a very good addition to the game. The graphics are still great, as well as the gameplay. The only problems I have were you had to adjust the game speed slider a little to make the game a little more real. The A.I of your computer players is not always the best either, and you still get some stupid goals scored on you. However all that said the game is still a lot of fun, and I was very pleased that they cut down on the time it takes to do anything in the game period. All the load times are shorter as well as when you simulate, everything goes much faster. Overall a great game if you liked the last few NHL games you will like this one as well. Expand
  23. Jun 15, 2014
    3
    This games graphics lag the hell out! And the movement of the players are hard to turn. Just trying to score is hard enough because the deike sucks! I think nhl 11 is way better than this piece of crap
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. One very welcome addition is NHL 94 Anniversary mode. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    NHL 14 doesn't exactly reinvent the wheel, but then again... it doesn't need to. Deep controls that are both challenging and accessible make for an excellent hockey simulation, strengthened by a large variety of game modes, state-of-the-art visuals and top-notch commentary tracks. If you're into hockey, you owe it to yourself to give NHL 14 a shot.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    90
    With the benefit of some great training tutorials, before long anyone can be carrying out line changes, deking with the best of them and carrying out a brilliant selection of slapshots, pivots and, of course, brutal punches to the face.