Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    100
    Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is as much a triumph of curation as it is a technical showcase; Ghibli and Level 5 have cherry-picked the very best elements from their own past and combined them with the best that the genre has to offer.
  2. 100
    This game gave me the same feeling as the first time I saw the original Star Wars trilogy.
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    100
    With an engaging and touching story, beautiful graphics and a cast of charming characters, this is one of the best game experiences this year. You'll be whisked away to a wonderful world that's hard to tear yourself away from.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    98
    To put it lightly, Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is one of the best games I have played in years. From the moving story and characters to the amazing visual style and game design, there is little to complain about here.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    96
    Ni No Kuni easily stands with the best Japanese RPGs of this generation, and I believe it will stand the test of time to become one of the beloved adventures that people remember for years to come. This is the game for everyone who wishes they made RPGs like they did "back then," but who also loves the advancements we've seen in graphics, sound, and gameplay systems over the years.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    95
    Ni No Kuni knows what it is and it never betrays that fact. It’s a JRPG, and in my book, it’s an instant classic.
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    95
    Ni no Kuni gets so much right, and is an amazing and timeless game.
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    95
    I cannot stress how much enjoyment Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch has delivered. From the compelling narrative to the incredible visual design to the incredibly deep, and well-paced mechanics, this is a game with which every JRPG fan will likely fall in love. Even if you are a casual fan of the genre, this would be one I would recommend checking out if you have a PS3.
  9. Jan 17, 2013
    95
    Ni No Kuni is a serenade, a love poem dedicated to all JRPGs. Level 5's latest epic is a brilliantly-crafted game that has the ability to totally capture the player and mesmerize him with its splendid visuals.
  10. Jan 17, 2013
    95
    It's hard to find weaknesses in this game. If you don't like it probably it's just because you'd rather play something else. But Ni No Kuni is way more than just pretty graphics or a nice story: it's one of the best RPGs on PlayStation 3.
  11. Jan 14, 2013
    95
    The perfect storm of adventure, challenge and emotion. A lesson in what being a JRPG means. [Feb 2013, p.80]
  12. Jan 18, 2013
    94
    A magical, unforgettable voyage awaits us in Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. This title brings back the essence of the JPRG genre, featuring great audiovisual beauty and a complex classic-flavored battle-system.
  13. Jan 15, 2013
    94
    One of the best RPGs I've played in years...a beautiful mixture of the traditional makings of a JRPG combined with gorgeous graphics, a wonderful story, a great cast of characters and thoughtful gameplay.
  14. Mar 21, 2013
    93
    Ni no Kuni is almost a perfect video game adaptation of a Studio Ghibli's movie with only minor problems. Level-5 excels in crafting experiences and Wrath of the White Witch is no exception, from beginning to end exudes geniality. The story is an emotional travel through a fantastic world filled with charismatic characters. The gameplay offers a wide arrange of personalization thanks to an almost endless collection of creatures to capture. In an era in which JRPGs are dying, Ni no Kuni might be the savior that could take things to the next level.
  15. 93
    Ni No Kuni is a miracle. Doused in character and constructed with depth, its first half hour is awe-inspiring yet the challenge can carry beyond the hundred hour mark.
  16. Jan 19, 2013
    93
    If you have any sort of appreciation for a great RPG, look no further than Ni no Kuni.
  17. Jan 16, 2013
    93
    Ni no Kuni is a visual masterpiece and a testament for the once great JRPG genre, everything is so well executed that you simply cannot miss the opportunity to play this game.
  18. Apr 11, 2013
    92
    The entertaining battles and the resolutions of plot threads as the game progressed toward the final credits were worth paying the cost of a slow start to the gameplay. This is a game that we'll be talking about for years to come, and I'm happy to have played it.
  19. Feb 11, 2013
    92
    Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is a special game and a rare beast in the current console generation. A traditional Japanese RPG with a deep and rewarding gameplay experience with a level of polish reserved for the biggest of franchises. Even if level grinding and monster catching is outside your comfort level, this game is worth checking out. Once you spend a few hours with Oliver, Mr. Drippy and his friends you will not be able to put Ni No Kuni down.
  20. 92
    It’s not perfect of course, and may not turn heads amongst the most eccentric of JRPG lovers, but what Level – 5 and Studio Ghibli have produced is an entrancing trip through an alluring, original adventure that’s surprisingly touching despite it’s simplicity, and easily rivals some of the best games I’ve played to date.
  21. Jan 22, 2013
    91
    There are few JRPGs out there with the same level of perfection found in this Level 5 production. A top notch adventure with plenty of magical moments and fun characters.
  22. Jan 17, 2013
    91
    Charming characters, stunning visuals, a vast world worth exploring, tons of cool things to do and a heartwarming story - these are only some of the reasons, why Ni No Kuni: Curse of the White Witch is a must-have title in 2013. Level-5 and Studio Ghibli have created a fantastic adventure reminiscent of JRPG-classics like Dragonquest VIII or the 32-Bit-Final Fantasys. For me this is clearly the best Japanese roleplaying game this console generation has seen so far.
  23. Mar 12, 2013
    90
    Level 5's highly anticipated collaboration with Studio Ghibli is just as great as it looks. And it looks great. The art style is exactly what you'd expect from Studio Ghibli, and the same goes for the music. Battles are fought with familiars, that you collect and train throughout the game. It's not a revolution, but it does almost everything right.
  24. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Wrath of the White Witch combines the innocence of an anime feature film with a well-known “get up and try again” attitude. The game is light-handed with its morals, and not overly melodramatic in its story. It exists as a perfect balance between two drastically different forms of storytelling: a film and role-playing game.
  25. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    With hundreds of hours of gameplay in a world that you’ll never want to leave, Ni No Kuni is not only a brilliant game to start 2013 but also one of the best games in years.
  26. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Nu No Kuni is a role-playing game as we have not seen in years. It's a delightful title: in the gameplay mechanics, in the narrative structure and in all the features.
  27. Feb 13, 2013
    90
    It has been a long time since I finished a game and felt goosebumps and had to wipe away a singular tear that escaped before I noticed.
  28. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni is the old classic Japanese kolossal updated to our days. If the industry turned its back to the Japanese RPG genre as a whole and the relevance of Japanese games seems to fade away more and more each day... then the work of Level 5 and Studio Ghibli is to be considered a touching love letter to the land of the rising sun and its videogames culture.
  29. Feb 8, 2013
    90
    If all you ever dreamt of is to starr in a Ghibli movie – to be cartoonified and just be able to control whatever happens – you shouldn’t miss out on Ni No Kuni. It features extensive gameplay amidst an atmospheric world topped with a compelling story. It has everything a modern RPG needs to satisfy a gamer’s every need.
  30. Feb 4, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is a masterpiece, lovingly crafted by both teams at Level-5 and Studio Ghibli. It's bursting with so much character, humour, strength, and sorrow that it's impossible to put down. The lively animation and whimsical design is flawless, with memorable characters that will stay with you throughout your entire gaming career. The narrative may not seem particularly groundbreaking at first, but this is an adventure that's unlike any other.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 817 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 206
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I picked this up at midnight and I was amazed by nearly every aspect of the game so far. The story is beautiful and heartbreaking so far. I am really enjoying something that square enix forgot about and that is EXPLORATION!!!!!!!!! New gen RPGS are just hallways or sandbox games. This really brings back memories of psone style RPGS when you can explore a world map. I have 100s of games across psone, ps2, ps3, psp, dreamcast, saturn and wii. And even though I've only played Ni No Kuni for a few hours. It is by far the best jrpg NO best of any rpg this gen for sure. Doesn't matter how it ends I've had more fun with the first few hours of this game then 100s of hours spent on others. This game needs to be a best seller so game designers will stop making every game with guns. Don't get me wrong I love killzone but FPS is getting OLD!!!! I hope this brings new life into the game industry that has been costing on crap for too long. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I must say it is a wonderful storytelling with a nice gameplay never seen in a J-RPG from playstation 3, it makes rememeber the golden era of the J-RPG from psone. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I just want to say than you Studio Ghibli & Level 5 thanks for give us this masterpiece !!!
    The colors, the music, the battles, what a
    wonderful day am having..... Full Review »