Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    94
    One of the best RPGs I've played in years...a beautiful mixture of the traditional makings of a JRPG combined with gorgeous graphics, a wonderful story, a great cast of characters and thoughtful gameplay.
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    The impact of the fantastic soundtrack cannot be overstated.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    96
    Ni No Kuni easily stands with the best Japanese RPGs of this generation, and I believe it will stand the test of time to become one of the beloved adventures that people remember for years to come. This is the game for everyone who wishes they made RPGs like they did "back then," but who also loves the advancements we've seen in graphics, sound, and gameplay systems over the years.
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    70
    The journey can be fun; I liked collecting and growing familiars and watching the breathtaking world before me, but Ni No Kuni doesn't come without frustration. Enter for the beauty, but know it comes with a price. [Feb 2013, p.90]
  5. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    It's a world where pretty fantasy archetypes clothe heartfelt domestic drama, and where outlandish cartoon creations sit at the heart of an engrossing game, infusing it with their exotic charm. Ni no Kuni wears its Studio Ghibli inheritance as lightly as Oliver does his little red magician's cloak, transporting us from one universe to another with the wave of a wand.
  6. Feb 12, 2013
    77
    Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is a breathtaking place with the wistful charm of Studio Ghibli's works. With a long roster of side-quests, an open word filled with secrets, clever puzzles, and some of the best-looking credits in any game, you can almost overlook the sharp edges and lackluster AI by focusing on the cel-shaded glow of the magic around one of the rarest, and most spectacular, team-ups anywhere.
  7. Feb 11, 2013
    75
    Mechanically it could be a better game, sure, but it’s still definitely a game worth playing.
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Not only a fantastic JRPG in its own right, Ni No Kuni: The Wrath of the White Witch is perfect for anyone who has ever wished to live inside a Studio Ghibli film.
  9. Jan 14, 2013
    95
    The perfect storm of adventure, challenge and emotion. A lesson in what being a JRPG means. [Feb 2013, p.80]
  10. Jan 16, 2013
    93
    Ni no Kuni is a visual masterpiece and a testament for the once great JRPG genre, everything is so well executed that you simply cannot miss the opportunity to play this game.
  11. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Stunning, gripping, and touching in all the right ways.
  12. Jan 17, 2013
    95
    It's hard to find weaknesses in this game. If you don't like it probably it's just because you'd rather play something else. But Ni No Kuni is way more than just pretty graphics or a nice story: it's one of the best RPGs on PlayStation 3.
  13. Jan 18, 2013
    80
    Level-5 and Studio Ghibli's contributions are harmonious. As a game, Ni No Kuni builds upon classic JRPG foundations, eschewing the evolutions of Xenoblade Chronicles and Final Fantasy XII. But the assured flair with which Level-5 has implemented each of the game's classic components combines with Ghibli's masterful storytelling to deliver a JRPG that's quite unlike any other.
  14. Jan 22, 2013
    95
    I cannot stress how much enjoyment Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch has delivered. From the compelling narrative to the incredible visual design to the incredibly deep, and well-paced mechanics, this is a game with which every JRPG fan will likely fall in love. Even if you are a casual fan of the genre, this would be one I would recommend checking out if you have a PS3.
  15. Jan 16, 2013
    80
    It's impossible not to want more, though. It's delicious. Coming as it does from two creative teams at the top of their respective fields, we expect nothing less. And it's expectations such as these that harm Ni No Kuni most of all – were it not for the near impeccable track records that cut through gloriously in the game's opening hours, the rest of it would shine far brighter than it does when eclipsed by that initial exciting explosion of potential.
  16. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    But with one massive, graceful, Welsh-tinged sweep, the combined might of Level-5 and Studio Ghibli has reinstated credibility to a flagging area of gaming. It's taken years of craft and - likely - a hell of a lot of money, but Ni No Kuni is a wonderful, wondrous experience and will keep you captivated and enchanted for dozens of hours.
  17. Jan 22, 2013
    91
    There are few JRPGs out there with the same level of perfection found in this Level 5 production. A top notch adventure with plenty of magical moments and fun characters.
  18. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    Despite the delayed journey to the West, Ni No Kuni is definitely a title you should at least give a chance. There is a demo up on PSN that you can go ahead and download, and once you get used to the combat system and mechanics of the game, you’ll be treated to an adventure like no other.
  19. Feb 22, 2013
    88
    Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is the textbook example of a Japanese role-playing game that includes all of the required features such as a turn-based combat system and lengthy narrative.
  20. Mar 5, 2013
    85
    It isn’t for everyone, and it’s definitely not the game that will convince you to pick up a JRPG if you’ve been avoiding them for this long. Even so, I find myself entirely entranced by Ni no Kuni, and I’m willing to look past its flaws as I return to its magical, whimsical world.
  21. Jan 17, 2013
    95
    Ni No Kuni is a serenade, a love poem dedicated to all JRPGs. Level 5's latest epic is a brilliantly-crafted game that has the ability to totally capture the player and mesmerize him with its splendid visuals.
  22. Feb 5, 2013
    95
    Ni no Kuni gets so much right, and is an amazing and timeless game.
  23. Jan 21, 2013
    90
    If you're a lover of games that require you to put in before you get out, and you recall the glory days of the Eastern RPG, where experience points were the lifeblood and the grind was king, you have literally no decent excuse for not finding a way to play Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. A classic of the modern age, built entirely from classics of the past, it's advised you get comfortable, cancel all your plans, and prepare to enjoy a game that will dominate your life for the next few months.
  24. Jan 18, 2013
    90
    Studio Ghibli and LEVEL 5 combined their knowledge and the result is awesome. Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch captivates everybody with a great anime atmosphere, a deep story and approved gameplay mechanisms. By now Ni No Kuni is a candidate for a game of the year award.
  25. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    A stunningly beautiful and bittersweet adventure about love and loss, burning brightly with the magic of Studio Ghibli, hampered only by a repetitive combat system lacking tactical elements. [Jan 2013]
  26. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Nu No Kuni is a role-playing game as we have not seen in years. It's a delightful title: in the gameplay mechanics, in the narrative structure and in all the features.
  27. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni is a fantastic journey into good, old, japanese RPGs. The incredible design and the rich gameplay are enough to entertain both young and experienced players. If you have a PlayStation 3, you can't miss this awesome experience.
  28. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    If Ghibli would ever produce a game… it'd be over in two hours. Luckily the animation-studio started working on their game with Level-5. The result is an immensely expansive and typical Japanese RPG, with all of its negative and positive consequences. Above all, Ni No Kuni is a magical journey that'll make you feel like a kid again, in a surprisingly adult wizards-world.
  29. Jan 17, 2013
    80
    One of the best Japanese role-players of the generation and a gloriously beautiful game by any standard, both visually and emotionally.
  30. Jan 19, 2013
    93
    If you have any sort of appreciation for a great RPG, look no further than Ni no Kuni.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 823 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 207
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I picked this up at midnight and I was amazed by nearly every aspect of the game so far. The story is beautiful and heartbreaking so far. I am really enjoying something that square enix forgot about and that is EXPLORATION!!!!!!!!! New gen RPGS are just hallways or sandbox games. This really brings back memories of psone style RPGS when you can explore a world map. I have 100s of games across psone, ps2, ps3, psp, dreamcast, saturn and wii. And even though I've only played Ni No Kuni for a few hours. It is by far the best jrpg NO best of any rpg this gen for sure. Doesn't matter how it ends I've had more fun with the first few hours of this game then 100s of hours spent on others. This game needs to be a best seller so game designers will stop making every game with guns. Don't get me wrong I love killzone but FPS is getting OLD!!!! I hope this brings new life into the game industry that has been costing on crap for too long. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I must say it is a wonderful storytelling with a nice gameplay never seen in a J-RPG from playstation 3, it makes rememeber the golden era of the J-RPG from psone. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I just want to say than you Studio Ghibli & Level 5 thanks for give us this masterpiece !!!
    The colors, the music, the battles, what a
    wonderful day am having..... Full Review »