NIER Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 200 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected withNothing is as it seems in Square Enix's latest action adventure game, set in a crumbling world plagued by disease and dark, unrecognizable creatures. Players assume the role of the unyielding protagonist, NIER, resolute in his quest to discover a cure for his daughter, who is infected with the Black Scrawl virus. With powerful allies and a mysterious book, NIER encounters things that will confound even the mightiest of warriors. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 58
  2. Negative: 3 out of 58
  1. Nier is an awesome game which brings a great story, lots of gameplay variation, interesting characters and a very good soundtrack. It is the surprise of this year!
  2. A great combination of action games like Bayonetta and RPG games like Last Remnant. Everything from bosses to the epic music deserves praise.
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Nier won't wow players with its basic mechanics, but in the story it tells, the characters it develops, and the themes present throughout play, it will easily win over anyone seeking something emotionally exploratory and well off the beaten path.
  4. 70
    The ideas that Nier was built on are extremely solid -- the execution just falls short.
  5. Provided you can make it through the disappointing introduction and swallow your outrage every time Kaine makes a show of bending over, Nier is a classic action RPG with some refreshing elements and a reminder that streamlined gameplay need not mean a restrictive experience due to its minimal but innovative weapon and ability upgrade system.
  6. Thanks to a strong narrative and a relatively good concept, Nier is to be considered a decent addition to the PS3's and 360's RPG catalog. Although its visuals aren't surely breathtaking and its gameplay doesn't excel in terms of depth, the game will in fact manage to guarantee a likable experience to any fan of the genre.
  7. As far as being an actioner that's worthy of your time, this is not up to the standard we'd expect. In fact, it's nowhere Nier. [June 2010, p.105]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and
    (SPOILER FREE!!!)

    Wow what can I say! This game really is one of the best games of 2010. The story and characters are really great and touching. The graphical art style is fantastic.

    The combat is very fun.

    There are lots of optional sidequests throughout the game and there all different.

    The game probably has one of the most amazing beautiful ost's ever.
    Expand
  2. May 5, 2015
    10
    This game has a great story and great characters.
    Very fun combat and lot's of things to do.
    One of my favorite games for 2010 ! This game
    This game has a great story and great characters.
    Very fun combat and lot's of things to do.
    One of my favorite games for 2010 !
    This game is also very innovative and addicting.
    Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    For those seeking a game with an engaging story, interesting characters search no more, you have found it. The story and game atmosphere areFor those seeking a game with an engaging story, interesting characters search no more, you have found it. The story and game atmosphere are for me, the games biggest strengths. If I would to compare this game to another it would be to Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver, because of how the game is story-driven, of how it pulls you in, surprises and influences you. This game can bring out manly tears, and unless you weren't paying any attention at all to the game it won't leave you indifferent to the characters. This is possible because of the characters, the dialog (level of a good novel), great voice acting, and fantastic music (which you will likely want to listen to a bit even outside of the game). It is also a game worth playing more than once, as the narrative changes a little on your next walkthrough.

    The gameplay (fighting mechanics etc.) itself is OK, but no more than that. The same can be said about the graphics.

    For me, this was a hidden gem, an experience that won't be forgotten for a long time. For those that like story-driven games, and accept good (not great) gameplay mechanics this is a must have.
    Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. A hidden gem of its times, greatly under appreciated by many. One of the best game I have ever played in my entire life, while combat may be clunky and repetitive, NIER makes up for every single bit of it with the immensely good story and lovable characters and the whole feel of the post apocalyptic world. (SPOILER) The dialogues of all the bosses you encounter on your second play through brings tears to your eyes, never before I was torn between sympathizing more with the main character or the bosses, never (SPOILER) Collapse
  5. May 2, 2013
    9
    Nier...what a beautiful game you are.
    You don't need a game of ''OMGWTFASDGDFYJE'' graphics to amaze a true gamer.
    Nier has got one of the
    Nier...what a beautiful game you are.
    You don't need a game of ''OMGWTFASDGDFYJE'' graphics to amaze a true gamer.
    Nier has got one of the most touching, dark and melancholic story this gen.( It's written by Yoko Taro, so duh? A soundtrack that's at least worth a place in The Top 3 Best OSTs of All Time.
    You really feel connected with the main character and his friends/allies and the game presents a father daughter relationship like no other game has done before, even after.
    Side missions don't feel like a big burden and some even have a touching story with them *sniff* poor doggy *sniff* ).
    And another thing that Nier does differently than the rest...Endings.
    All four endings of Nier delivered.
    And as you expect from Yoko Taro, be prepared for NG+.
    The more you play and you slowly start to unlock the other endings, it starts to get more depressing and more and more and more... I've never ever felt such an empty feeling in my chest ever unlocking every ending. You'll get warped back at the beginning of Act 2 when doing NG+, so you don't start all the way at the beginning).
    But there were only one and a half things that bugged the hell out of me: The lack of more locations and some lack of polish and detail of the existing levels.
    Nier is a gem in every way. From the changing gameplay to the OST.
    If you can forgive it's technical shortcomings and you want a story with an explosive climax or a change of scenery in the JRPG scene, then please try this game out.
    You can only imagine what Cavia could've done with a bigger budget and a little bit more time.
    Mos def a 9/10: EPIC!!!
    ( Forgive me if my English sucks. I'm still learning
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    NIER is a great game, I can't put it down. The reason I only give it a score of 8 is for 2 reasons: the graphics is mediocre, and worst ofNIER is a great game, I can't put it down. The reason I only give it a score of 8 is for 2 reasons: the graphics is mediocre, and worst of all, the load times are awful.
    But aside of this, I have almost nothing but praise for the game, it starts maybe a little slow, but opens up after a couple of hours in, I like the non-nonsense combination of magic and non-magic combat, which are upgradable, and you are paired with 2 very interesting, member, a book and a - well, you'll see. The soundtrack is great and the voice acting works well. There are a lot of nods to other games, most noticeably Zelda. At times the game is very goofy and does not take itself seriously. The mix of different genres within this game works incredibly well, while it's first and foremost an action RPG, there are also more puzzle-focused and action-centric sections. The player has to do a lot of (story and side) quests, which work very well, but require some running, between possibly far apart locations. After a while you get mounts, but it still takes some time between locations. The load times when you switch between areas are unfortunately really long, sometimes a couple of minutes, which which is a pity.
    The cut scenes look great, the in-game graphics are only average and for some reason it only a little better than PS2 quality, probably because the texture detail is not very high, the polygon count itself looks fine to me. After a while, the graphics become less of an issue as you get more and more immersed into the world of NIER.

    If you enjoy games by designers that take risks to go non-conventional ways to stride off the mainstream, give this game a try,
    Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    1
    bought this game free along with the sims 3 ps3 any ways i played thru first 10 min it was so boring now it same like final fantasy but finalbought this game free along with the sims 3 ps3 any ways i played thru first 10 min it was so boring now it same like final fantasy but final fantasy series way better


    this game i got it collecting dust now
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews