• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Okami, the player takes the role of the mythical sun goddess Amaterasu, in the form of a wolf. Her task is to restore color (or 'life') to the world by destroying the monsters who have stolen it. Since Amaterasu is a diety, there are naturally people who worship her and people who don't.In Okami, the player takes the role of the mythical sun goddess Amaterasu, in the form of a wolf. Her task is to restore color (or 'life') to the world by destroying the monsters who have stolen it. Since Amaterasu is a diety, there are naturally people who worship her and people who don't. The more people who worship her (as a result of her restoring color and doing other good deeds for them), the more powerful she becomes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    100
    Overall, Ōkami HD is an experience that should not be missed. It's stylized graphics and engaging gameplay really show that this game was ahead of its time with its initial release. Old and new players alike owe it to themselves to download it and either relive the adventure, or experience it for the first time. With its updated visuals and awesome gameplay, this is one that should not be missed.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    With its new face, Okami HD has never been so close to perfection, deserving its legendary status thanks to its beautiful visuals and its amazing soundtrack. Coming back from the dead, Cover Studio's title remains thrilling, offering a good opportunity to discover Amaterasu's adventures on PS3, especially for players that never had the chance to buy it the first time.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    93
    An example of innovative interactive mastery.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    An unforgettable, beautiful experience.
  5. Despite these flaws, however, Okami is still one of our favorite games and more than worth a meager 20 bucks. [Holiday 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    90
    Okami HD is an extraordinary, artistic and epic game that will absorb you entirely.
  7. While the game's temple design is never quite as consistently expansive or ambitious as a Legend Of Zelda, Okami's art, sturdy combat and inventive noodle-teasers have aged as gracefully as Jeff Bridges distinguished chin fur.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Played this years back on the Wii and it looked great but could not play it do to the aweful Wii controlls. Now we get a HD version for thePlayed this years back on the Wii and it looked great but could not play it do to the aweful Wii controlls. Now we get a HD version for the PS3 that was well worth the wait The game is just fantastic Its alot like Zelda but i think even more fun. The game has a fantastic Art style and and just looks wonderful even today. The puzzles are well done and the combat is alot of fun. The game is very long you will clock in any where from 40-60 hours depending on side quests. The story is also pretty entertaining Every thing about this game was just done so well and only leaves me wanting more Okami games for the future and not on the DS!!! or any portable! make them for the consoles.If yo are a RPG fan and never got around to playing this or like me got turned off by the ii version and you have a PS3 then okami HD is a must buy it plays so much better ith a REAL controller. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    There is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they areThere is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they are trolling.
    Gameplay: 10 - The pacing is amazing, the combat is different then any other game and works beautifully, you gain rewards often and none of them are too powerful or underwhelming. Combat flows well, puzzles are rewarding.
    Graphics: Beautiful, different, a treat for the eyes.
    Sound: Sound effects are great and music is insanely well matched to the game.
    Entertainment levels: At maximum! The game is very fun with a lot of side quests to keep the player busy and entertained.
    Worth the money and so much more.
    Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous graphics, beautiful colors, great story, the best conversion of game to HD that I've ever seen. The fact that the dialogs are justGorgeous graphics, beautiful colors, great story, the best conversion of game to HD that I've ever seen. The fact that the dialogs are just some babbling with subtitles can be annoying sometimes, but it's just a minor detail that won't spoil an awesome gaming experience. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I missed out on the Ps2 copy of this game and boy did i miss out! One word to describe this game is that it's a " Masterpiece ". I'mI missed out on the Ps2 copy of this game and boy did i miss out! One word to describe this game is that it's a " Masterpiece ". I'm speechless of what to say about this game. The gameplay is impressive. I adore the boss fights and love the bestiary- battles that this game has to offer. You can choose to fight the demon scrolls whenever you want to so the game isn't forcibly trying to force repetitiveness down you're throat. It gives off this classical feel that you have to become stronger to progress through the game, even though you really don't unless you want to tackle the demon gates later on in this game. The game gives us different unique weapons every-time you defeat an important boss of the story and if you have enough money to dish out to buy some other unique weapons. The storyline is where you start to notice that "Hey this game is kick ass!" You take control of this canine-god Amaterasu or better known as "furball or Ammy" and embark on a journey to cleanse the lands of darkness with her celestial envoy, Issun. Throughout the journey you get "praise" to level up you're attributes such as the ink pot, health bar, astral pouch and gain money to learn new techniques to overcome puzzles, defeat monsters or just finish those darn side quests. And to top it off you can use the celestial brush to harm enemies, solve problems, create miscellaneous weather and/or earthly objects, help the citizens in certain cities and gradually make people take notice that you are a god. There's so much that i haven't gone over so my review doesn't pay respect to the game one bit. The man who created Okami was a huge legend of zelda fan, so was there any doubt that this game would be bad? I think not. This game is the kind of game i would dish out 59.99 for! It's so much better then the mediocre games that are out now and it's only 19.99! and that's a bargain for over a 30-40 hours of a pure classical Japanese tail that is Okami. Buy the game, you won't miss out on the adventure of the year. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Everything great about video games in one package; Okami truly is a game that shows the artistic potential of what the gaming medium can beEverything great about video games in one package; Okami truly is a game that shows the artistic potential of what the gaming medium can be when designers are passionate about their product and are willing to step outside the box. From the beautiful art-style, to the atmospheric music, to the fantastic Zelda-esque gameplay; everything about Okami is near-perfect. Okami HD is the definitive version of Okami, and is a must play. Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    9/10 for simple and obvious reasons. If you don't know them already, you have missed out on this gem.
    Okami used to look decent and be
    9/10 for simple and obvious reasons. If you don't know them already, you have missed out on this gem.
    Okami used to look decent and be enjoyable gameplay-wise as well as in the story, which wraps up most major eastern legends and tales into a compelling story. Used to. Reborn as Okami HD, it's also very pleasing to the eye - of course not like a new release AAA title, but notably better. Fighting monsters, doing collection-quests as well as some others, acquiring new techniques to reach new places with and do new things with, it's much like the Playstaion-Zelda. The story is well-designed and -told, revolving around eastern mythology, bringing it's characters into an interesting adventure that will last any gamer with casual time-investment for quite a while. Definitely a purchase that can't be entirely wrong - if you don't love it, you'll at least enjoy it for once.
    Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    Okami HD is Okami, but than HD. I didn't like the first game, so i didn't like this one either. I was expecting just a little more for what i spent.

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.