User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 51
  2. Negative: 12 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dickeldeedoodoo
    Jan 13, 2010
    3
    In short, the game sucks. Sure it looks nice and that but you'll just really have to like these type of games. While the game says: Walk around freely on Skirinka and fight everywhere you really find yourself dying or mission ending when you walk a click or 2 away from the objective. It looks nice that's a fact and there's plenty of vehicles you can board. Only to find your In short, the game sucks. Sure it looks nice and that but you'll just really have to like these type of games. While the game says: Walk around freely on Skirinka and fight everywhere you really find yourself dying or mission ending when you walk a click or 2 away from the objective. It looks nice that's a fact and there's plenty of vehicles you can board. Only to find your helicopter to be shot down by light machine guns and your vast vehicles to be blasted to pieces by an anti-tank guy about a 100 miles away. Team control is good and enemy AI is good but always shoot the guy you shot about a million and one times again when you walk by. For all you know he might go zombie and shoot you with a gun from which you just took all the ammo or stab you with a knife only to find yourself looking at a guy who misses his head chasing you around with a knife stabbed about a yard away from you but it somehow manages to affect you. Expand
  2. johnnynumber5
    Oct 22, 2009
    3
    Simply put: This game is terrible. I was expecting so much based off the developers promises: open world, sandbox, no forced missions, fly helicopters, large environment, realistic, intuitive squad controls, great audio and graphics. Instead we got a complete turd of a game and in my opinion the worst game this generation on the PS3. The graphics are TERRIBLE The textures look muddy and Simply put: This game is terrible. I was expecting so much based off the developers promises: open world, sandbox, no forced missions, fly helicopters, large environment, realistic, intuitive squad controls, great audio and graphics. Instead we got a complete turd of a game and in my opinion the worst game this generation on the PS3. The graphics are TERRIBLE The textures look muddy and pixelated Framerate stutters and lags NPC AI is some of the worst ever Crippling in game bugs (freezing, glitches etc) Clunky menu interface Empty and desolate environments No helicopters as promised I could keep going on and on about this game. This game needs more than a patch - it needs to be refunded and redone from the start. Those expectinf something similar to the first Operation Flashpoint will be extremely disappointed. It's worse and has less content. The developers lied to us about the feature sets (go to the official forums for evidence) and delivered a game thats unfinished, unpolished, uninspired and completely unplayable. Good luck getting into a co-op match without getting booted within 5 minutes because the poor netcode. Don't buy this game at all ... if you areally want it I urge you to wait for the inevidtable price drop. This game is just terrible. The game deserves a complete ZERO. I'll give it a 3 to be nice but this game is one of the worst ever made and it's a sham that they sold people this mess and called it a game. I played it for an hour and turned it off ... took it back up to Gamestop the next day to trade it in for credit before it lose even more value and the guy at the store returned it as new because he also played and said he felt sorry that anyone would be stuck with that game! Go Ninja Gaiden Sigma and now all is good in the world. Expand
  3. KyleH.
    Oct 10, 2009
    8
    Not at all a run n' gun, but great in its own right. I has a few issues/bugs that need to be addressed but I've heard a patch is supposed to be released to fix this. The versus multiplayer is not my favorite thing but it's decent. Co-operative mode is amazing though if your playing with people who know what they're doing.
  4. samyb123...
    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    brought it for £25 and was worth it, wouldn't buy it for £40 needs patience, not like most games today.
  5. Amart77
    Oct 10, 2009
    8
    This game is a must buy if you like military sims as well as games where every kill feels like a small feat. the only things holding it back are a minorly complicated squad command circle which u get used to and the infrequency of checkpoints that make deaths so tedious.
  6. SteenA.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Very good realistic shooter and even though it is hard and not comparable with other shooters released in the last couple of years it is a thrill to play. Will it be a sucess? that is hard to tell since im sure it will scare a lot of people away because of it's hardcore style.
  7. Mobius
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Calling all Call Of Duty Fans, do you feel that the intense fighting and great multiplayer matches of COD are not enough, do you want more, if the answer is yes, then Operation Flashpoint (OFP) isn
  8. C.Davenport
    Oct 8, 2009
    7
    The authenticity is great. Realistic tactics, movement, engagement ranges, etc. I just wish there was some kind of tutorial. You get dropped into the first mission with minimal guidance on movement, squad mechanics, and weapons characteristic. Yes, it's awesome that rounds fired drop off at longer range, but there is no way to gauge the drop of before you fire. Different weapons have The authenticity is great. Realistic tactics, movement, engagement ranges, etc. I just wish there was some kind of tutorial. You get dropped into the first mission with minimal guidance on movement, squad mechanics, and weapons characteristic. Yes, it's awesome that rounds fired drop off at longer range, but there is no way to gauge the drop of before you fire. Different weapons have different scope and ammunition types, resulting in different adjustments and trajectories (WITH NO GUIDANCE OR EXPLANATION), so rarely expect that first shot to hit, much less kill. At least, that is, until you've put in enough hours to familiarize yourself with each weapon. This console release has gone the route of Killzone 2, and put immersion and authenticity over enjoyment. For Killzone, much of those issues, including awkward controls, were patched. That's not like to be the case with Dragon Rising. It's not a bad game by any measure. The die hard tactical shooter crowd will love every intense second of it, but that may be about it. For the casual crowd, there will be screaming. There will be swearing. There will be a great many used copies available at you local game shop. As for myself, I'll get the hang of it eventually. I figure starting over from the last checkpoint beats a real bullet any day, and I got a war to win . . . Lord hates a coward. Expand
  9. RichardP
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Real talk I am an infantry soildier and served my country USA baby and i got wounded in combat cant fight no more. by the way i loved it but this here makes me feel like im back on the line love it real gamers can enjoy. one shot one kill real life stuff enjoy.
  10. TylerB
    Oct 13, 2009
    2
    If you are getting a chance to read this, and you are galled by Flashpoint 2, then read my post while there is still a chance, because although I am not swearing... I am guessing that this post shall not be retained for long. I am a long-time fan of Bohemia Interactive's Operation Flashpoint, and a former United States Marine reservist (Co B 4th Recon Billings MT 1987 - 1994). I If you are getting a chance to read this, and you are galled by Flashpoint 2, then read my post while there is still a chance, because although I am not swearing... I am guessing that this post shall not be retained for long. I am a long-time fan of Bohemia Interactive's Operation Flashpoint, and a former United States Marine reservist (Co B 4th Recon Billings MT 1987 - 1994). I started Flashpoint with the computer version, and eventually played the Xbox (Operation Flashpoint Elite version)... which for all of it's failings, I actually still LOVE. Bohemia Interactive tilled new ground by creating a military simulation which allowed the player a multitude of commands which were truly unique and quite difficult to master, which was FINE BY ME... and the rest of the real fans of the game out there. Being able to command your squad mates individually, by group, or in self-apportioned sub-teams to do things like LAY DOWN and stay the freak down, for instance... to "Scan Horizon"... or to pick up specific gear items and then click to a graphic menu and confirm that those gear items are in that AI Squad mate's inventory... ARE TO THIS DAY in my opinion what separated Flashpoint from other shooters. This sequel fails to deliver on all of the above mentioned points and dozens more that I don't have room to itemize. This sequel -- although graphically it looks alright (but should be better for HD) and sounds beautiful -- is unfortunately for at least me, an unmitigated disappointment. As we all know by now, there is no combat editor for the console gamer AND THERE WAS ONE FOR THE "ELITE VERSION" on the Xbox's old generation console. (huh ????) That's right, Flashpoint has negatively mutated in the evolution of it's console version. This lack of a mission editor shall be a constant thorn which will jab pesteringly into the side of the console Flashpoint 2 player who created his or her own scenarios on the old-generation console Flashpoint Elite. Even if by some miracle Codemasters were to produce a downloadable scenario editor, it would be too little too late. The map is a thorough-going disappointment... as has been pointed out by other reviewers. The old map had much better contour lines and bush and tree markings and a zoom-in on those contour lines which made it easier to work with. Although the new maps overhead 3D look has some merit, the detailing is weak. One thing that I can say surprises me that not one other reviewer I know of has mentioned about Flashpoint Dragon Rising is the fact that I can be in the prone and if I wiggle into a rock (often happens wiggling sideways), I make an INVOLUNTARY stance adjustment. (I go into a crouch or stand up). (?) (Is this why it's called Dragon... RISING?) Are you kidding me. (?) I "accidentally" stand up and "skyline" myself to enemy fire WITHOUT making a conscious (button) decision to do so??? Marines are trained as early as in their boot camp field training NOT to skyline themselves. Marines that go into the prone are in the prone because they want to be in the prone. They don't get out of the prone "accidentally". Not ever. Admittedly a grenade might take a Marine out of the prone against his will, but the odds are quite overwhelming that wherever (or "wherevers") that Marine lands... he'll still end up... "laying down" in some way.. Why not just warn the player perhaps with some controller vibration and not let them go any further into the rock? Why NOT just let me stay in the prone until I make a conscious decision to crouch or stand up -- you know -- like the way it works in real life? Flabbergasting is an old word which I think adequately describes this piece of ridiculous code. It needles me to mull over the fact that this decision could only have been made "on purpose" by the developers, and I shall not condone it. I am somewhat curious to hear the specious ratiocination which issued from the "sewer" of the designer who spawned this atrociously ugly little brain-child. It's not just Marines that know this. Nobody under fire and crawling prone into a boulder -- or anything else for that matter -- ACCIDENTALLY stands up! Get that? One other thing that is annoying as Hades is the automatic magazine changes, which SHOULD NOT BE THERE; which do not belong in this game. I snap off the the thirtieth shot on a sniper rifle, and suddenly make an INVOLUNTARY magazine change which yanks me out of scope view, obliterating my suspension of disbelief... and quite unrealistically preventing me from viewing through scope whether that shot was a hit. Magazine changes in military sims ARE NOT AUTOMATIC. Get that? People under fire forget sometimes to change magazines. Not until they've dry fired a few times do they realize that, and sometimes not even then. I've checked menu and I don't even think I can turn this turd off. Once again... are you kidding me? Automatic magazine changes are for run and gun arcade games and for freckle-faced bubble-gum chewing teens. Steaming excrement here. This game does not deserve to be considered a sequel to the original Flashpoint, because this game has utterly divorced itself from the the original game. "I don't think I have enough fingers and toes to even count them..." is a grotesque understatement. Sorry, guys... the game is -- in the immortal words of the drill instructor -- unsat! I'll play through the game for the HD graphics and the sound. It is just possible that IF the multiplayer server problems are fixed this might be not to bad of a "run of the mill shooter" on system link or web with a handful of other players. It is unequivocally NOT a military simulation, hence if it can be said to be a child of it's progenitor, one must wonder if it is a child of the mail man instead... an ugly little toad of a mail-carrier I must add. It is not at all the original game. It has become unrecognizable. I shall be driven into Bohemia Interactive's deserving "ARMA", and I will be more than willing to purchase the non-console hardware needed to run it. Goodbye Flashpoint. And to think I waited all this time for this? Expand
  11. DomW.
    Oct 13, 2009
    6
    This game does not even come close to meeting its expectations. Operation flashpoint cold war crisis had bugs in its first release, sure, but the game play was brilliant and was years ahead of competitors. It had a good variety of missions and the mission editor with multiplayer ensured its shelf life. OF: Dragon rising (PC) however doesnt meet the expectations of a game released in 2009, This game does not even come close to meeting its expectations. Operation flashpoint cold war crisis had bugs in its first release, sure, but the game play was brilliant and was years ahead of competitors. It had a good variety of missions and the mission editor with multiplayer ensured its shelf life. OF: Dragon rising (PC) however doesnt meet the expectations of a game released in 2009, certainly after its numerous delays. Currently, this game is riddled with bugs, which I find detract from gameplay. What many people were looking forward to was the large scale skirmishes, this can not happen with current unit restrictions. Perhaps most dissapointing for me was the poor attempt at a multiplayer system, which doesnt even explore a fraction of the potential this game deserved. As it stands, this game fails to deliver on so many levels. Although a patch has been confirmed by Codemasters since the day of release, if the first release is anything to show for the worksmanship of what is acceptable, I will not be getting my hopes up. Although, after compleeting the campaign, I find there are some positives to draw from this title, such as detailed vehicle models and the game environment its self. One underlying problem annoys me more than anything else... I spent $40 on what feels like a pre-release beta version of the game. Sadly, this nothing like the gaming community expected for something which is by name, part of the operation flashpoint series. Given time and several patches to this game, it may turn out to provide the realistic millitary simulation that its developers have claimed it can do. My advice, hold back on those crisp money notes and wait until after christmas for the price to come down. Expand
  12. JohanO.
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    It's a soldier sim but it isn't Operation Flashpoint. No flying helicopters and driving tanks in the singelplayer. 11 short infantery missions. Sure it is cool playing as a marine, but the servers doesn't work so not much of the Co-Op part.
  13. NikoW
    Oct 14, 2009
    7
    Game is below-standard on several fronts (graphics, physics and AI are all sketchy), but still brings something fresh to the table with its deliberate pacing and emphasis on approach and strategy. Overall I am quite pleased, but then I had no expectations and basically purchased on a whim. For someone who was looking forward to this game for weeks, months, or more, I can understand where Game is below-standard on several fronts (graphics, physics and AI are all sketchy), but still brings something fresh to the table with its deliberate pacing and emphasis on approach and strategy. Overall I am quite pleased, but then I had no expectations and basically purchased on a whim. For someone who was looking forward to this game for weeks, months, or more, I can understand where they'd be disappointed. But for a change-of-pace and a "hardcore" FPS experience (I've only played on Hardcore mode, which has no checkpoints and no HUD), I think this game delivers. 7/10 is a fair score. Don't expect too much, accept it for what it is, and you'll enjoy yourself I believe. Expand
  14. Elwenil
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    Overall I am happy with Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. The gameplay is challenging without being a complete pain in the butt and the AO is varied enough so that even though many missions are "go here, blow this up" sort of deal, there are many enemy patrols and outposts that you will come across and have to deal with in your own way to get to your objective. The weapons are varied, Overall I am happy with Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. The gameplay is challenging without being a complete pain in the butt and the AO is varied enough so that even though many missions are "go here, blow this up" sort of deal, there are many enemy patrols and outposts that you will come across and have to deal with in your own way to get to your objective. The weapons are varied, though standard fare for the USMC. Many of the reviews give the impression that you cannot use anything other than standard weapons but you can pick up anything dropped on the battlefield from A/T and A/A weapons to sniper rifles and other small arms. You will frequently find your self running low on ammunition for your primary weapon and have to pick up a Chinese assault rifle to stay in the fight if you assault many of the enemies you run into in the field. In the end I am pretty pleased with the game, though the "newness" hasn't worn off yet. It won't win any awards for graphics or innovation but for a tactical mil-sim game on a console, I think it comes through with flying colors. With any luck it will have some success and maybe we can expect more titles like this one on consoles. Expand
  15. RajdadajR
    Oct 11, 2009
    1
    Just bought and tried to play the PS3 version - IT SUCKS. I really wanted a warsim and I suppose I got it, but the graphics are the worst I've seen in years!!! It's laggy as hell (~10-30 fps) and the shaders look like crap! It's so ugly I must say that I really hate this game! Don't buy the PS3 version. Go for the PC version if you really want it.
  16. GwynbleiddD.
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    Fairly put, this game is awesome. Those who like it hard and love to work hard for every efforts they commit, this game is awesome. although it has glitches and sadly AI is not too good, and I did not like the fact that I'm restricted to modify my weapon mods and have to pick whatever games thrown at me, still the game is an excellent presentation of how a real battle looks like.
  17. mikeh
    Nov 27, 2009
    1
    This is by far the worst game i've played on ps3 so far. The game is supposed to be a very accurate war simulator which needs patience and tactical approach. But it's just plain frustrating and funless. In most battles you will be fighting from medium to long range, which means you will be trying to pick out opponents from 50+ meters. This would be okay if the sniping system This is by far the worst game i've played on ps3 so far. The game is supposed to be a very accurate war simulator which needs patience and tactical approach. But it's just plain frustrating and funless. In most battles you will be fighting from medium to long range, which means you will be trying to pick out opponents from 50+ meters. This would be okay if the sniping system worked and your teammates did' t die every 10 seconds. The friendly AI is very poor and they pretty much always find a way to die leaving you all alone against 30 angry chinese soldiers. The controls are poorly assigned (for example R2 is fire instead of R1, which is used to open the "give orders" menu, which has 2-3 more submenus that you have to navigate through using the d-pad ) and you cannot reassign the buttons the way you want from the main menu. The ONLY thing you can customize in this game is if you want a radar that shows direction of spotted enemies, so no choice of difficulty levels either. Some missions are timed, which means you will not be able to take your time and plan your attack. I have sincerely, 100% regretted my decision to buy this game and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Collapse
  18. RobButler
    Oct 14, 2009
    2
    Absolute crap, worst FPS since BIA:HH. I have been looking forward to a realistic, proper tactical game for ages, but this isn't it. Multiplayer is beyond laughable. The vehicle handling is rediculous and from a company that produced Dirt 2. This game is seriously "amature hour" DON'T GO NEAR IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  19. krisr
    Oct 16, 2009
    2
    Terrible AI, no custom load outs (Ghost recon and las vegas had it), not worth paying for on PS3, steam is selling it for forty what a joke. Buy uncharted instead.
  20. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    A realistic game doesn't necessarily mean a fun one. The strategic FPS Operation Flashpoint is a poster child for that statement. Graphically, it's descent with nice long draw distances, but gameplay wise, it's an over-complicated mess that's as fun as a knitting class. Definitely not one for the COD / Battlefield posse, then. That said, if you have a ton of patience and a masochist'sA realistic game doesn't necessarily mean a fun one. The strategic FPS Operation Flashpoint is a poster child for that statement. Graphically, it's descent with nice long draw distances, but gameplay wise, it's an over-complicated mess that's as fun as a knitting class. Definitely not one for the COD / Battlefield posse, then. That said, if you have a ton of patience and a masochist's desire for punishment, Dragon Rising might float your boat. Unfortunately, it pretty much sinks mine. Expand
  21. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    Dragon Rising is an extremely challenging and REALISTIC game that requires you to use your brain a lot. So realistic that you can die in one shot! Because of this, people look down to this game. Look, this isn't some run-and-gun game. This is real war and it shows you that it isn't a joke. Multiplayer is great. It's like Battlefield but more realistic. However, there aren't many peopleDragon Rising is an extremely challenging and REALISTIC game that requires you to use your brain a lot. So realistic that you can die in one shot! Because of this, people look down to this game. Look, this isn't some run-and-gun game. This is real war and it shows you that it isn't a joke. Multiplayer is great. It's like Battlefield but more realistic. However, there aren't many people online. Also, when you compare this game to its PC counterpart, you realize that the consoles are missing out the map editor. If you have a powerful PC, you're better with the PC version. But even if you could buy the PC version, there is a much better game out there, ArmA 2. But then again, ArmA 2 requires a more powerful machine to run. So Dragon Rising is recommended if you have a weaker system. Still, Dragon Rising is a good game, but I recommend that you get it when the price drops. Expand
  22. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    While I liked the fairly simple control scheme and the fact that for the most part you can get away with just having your squad follow you, I didn't really enjoy it that much.

    The graphics are pretty dated and too brown I can live with that, gameplay is what matters. The problem is that gameplay isn't great, it's tedious and boring in that you don't feel much like tactics matter the
    While I liked the fairly simple control scheme and the fact that for the most part you can get away with just having your squad follow you, I didn't really enjoy it that much.

    The graphics are pretty dated and too brown I can live with that, gameplay is what matters. The problem is that gameplay isn't great, it's tedious and boring in that you don't feel much like tactics matter the second you fire your first round it's the same battle as if you planned some kind of strategy. The voices are terrible, though I don't mind that too much either. But by far the biggest thing that killed this game for me was that it didn't even have realistic bullet physics, and without that I might as well be playing Call of Duty. The AI aimbot is slightly annoying too, though I didn't die it bugged me that I could be seen by a guy with no scope on his rifle from half way across the map while I was hidden in the scrub.

    In short this is not a military simulator, it's a tactical shooter that doesn't really do the tactical part very well. Don't get me wrong it isn't a bad game, it just feels older than it is.

    Give me ARMA II without all the squad commanding and I'll be happy, unfortunately the closest thing to that is Sniper Elite and it has terrible AI...
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. The authenticity and attention to detail in Dragon Rising is to be applauded.
  2. It's definitely a brilliantly accurate recreation of real army life, but that's not always best for a great night's entertainment. [Nov 2009, p.106]
  3. 81
    If you like playing co-op, or you don't mind trading moments of frustration for a smarter, slower war experience, this is recommended.