• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Papo & Yo will take players on an emotional journey that explores the relationship between a boy and his sometimes-scary best friend. As players progress, Monster will react differently to their actions based on his current desires. If Monster is in a good mood, he will play with QuicoPapo & Yo will take players on an emotional journey that explores the relationship between a boy and his sometimes-scary best friend. As players progress, Monster will react differently to their actions based on his current desires. If Monster is in a good mood, he will play with Quico and help with tasks; if Monster is hungry, he will seek out food; if that food happens to be a poisonous frog, he’ll transform into a terrifying killing machine bent on nothing but destruction. Players will need to learn to use Monster’s emotions, both good and bad, to their advantage if they want to complete their search for a cure and save their pal. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Despite its brief tenure(less than four hours)and light mechanics, it's one of the most powerful and impactful games we've every played. [Oct 2012, p.82]
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    85
    The actual gameplay feels quite disparate from the story and Quico's journey, unfortunately. The jumping, climbing and head-scratching never seem tied to the greater challenge of dealing with the addiction of a loved one. Though they are disconnected, the actual puzzles are still inventive and add to the experience, but the platforming elements can be weak.
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    84
    It's an experience that can penetrate even the thickest of skin, and it will make you feel something. What that is, I can't exactly say, but this is an emotional journey you won't soon forget. It's a short journey, but it's packed densely enough with cool stuff to see and do that I would enthusiastically encourage you to pay the fifteen-dollar asking price.
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    76
    A deeply personal story created with love and imagination. [Nov 2012, p.105]
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Despite a few rough edges, this surreal platforming adventure is a heartfelt, emotional experience that's well worth your time.
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    70
    A few rough edges don't detract from an adventure that is as emotional as it is brain teasing, and is worth experiencing whether or not you can relate to the subject matter.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    The on-paper premise of a traumatic childhood brought to life as a playable short story is brilliant, but the wounded execution can't quite sell the emotional expression. Papo & Yo bookends a technically disastrous and wholly uninteresting adventure game with brief moments of emotional resonance.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Small snippet of my review forthcoming!! I give Papo & Yo a 10 because from the first few moments of the game and throughout I felt I wasn'tSmall snippet of my review forthcoming!! I give Papo & Yo a 10 because from the first few moments of the game and throughout I felt I wasn't just playing a game but experiencing a work of art. A lot of work, time, love and passion went into the game and it shows. I actually decided that Papo & Yo was a day one purchase for me when I read about the inspiration behind the games story. I too had to grow up dealing with an abusive alcoholic "Monster with a capital M for a reason" of my own. To say that I could relate would be an understatement. Having played the game now I'm glad I bought the game and I truly hope you will too. Papo & Yo is something you have to experience. You will not regret it, Minority Media has a hit on their hands and I for one am excited to see future games from them! Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Excellent game about a child who retreats into his mind to save his sister from child abuse while trying to reconcile with his father. ThisExcellent game about a child who retreats into his mind to save his sister from child abuse while trying to reconcile with his father. This game does well to capture the psychological aspect of one person's personal struggle with domestic violence. Although the game needs a little polishing, the puzzles and mechanics are fantastic. The world is unique and interesting, the characters are memorable, and the story is poignant. Think of Journey meets Psychonauts with a darker feeling. The music, though having little to do with the gameplay, is some of the best I've heard in a game. If you are expecting guns and mindless violence, look elsewhere, but if you want to play a game that will make you feel something, this game is certainly worth a good play-through. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This game could present some bugs. This game could start slow.
    But this game perfectly manage to tell a deep story, with a perfect pace.
    This game could present some bugs. This game could start slow.
    But this game perfectly manage to tell a deep story, with a perfect pace.

    The game design around it could be described as "incredibly creative". It is true that game mechanics don't change that much, but every time the reaction to this mechanics is different.
    Sometimes pulling a switch will trigger a scenery change, sometimes it will make an house fly.
    The level design is just amazing.

    The art direction, as the music, is perfect. The graphics are great and the visual style is amazing. Also, the game contains some of the best acoustic musics of the year.

    One last thing: the ending. The game should be played just for it.
    Thanks Minority, for this little gem!
    Collapse
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    Papo and Yo is possibly the most critically underrated game of the generation. Some critics will tell you that the graphics are only average.Papo and Yo is possibly the most critically underrated game of the generation. Some critics will tell you that the graphics are only average. That is frankly ludicrous- what are they comparing it to? The graphics are colourful, sharp and details such as the comforting, leathery, skin on the 'Monster' are very nicely done. Maybe what they mean by 'average' is that the choice of graphical style with its lens bloom effects, that kind of thing, reminds them of the last generation. But if it does what you have to bear in mind is that it would be at the very uppermost of last generation PC quality art design. They also say that there is screen tearing. Yes there is but I found it to be of no detriment at all- that kind of thing should not be regarded as a major issue in such personal, emotional, brilliantly realised games as this. If anything, it just adds to the surrealness, a reminder that the game has been crafted and is not meant to be perfectly formed. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    You have a whole evening alone or with with someone you love? You could go to the movies, bowling, shopping or leisure you like. You'reYou have a whole evening alone or with with someone you love? You could go to the movies, bowling, shopping or leisure you like. You're looking for an honest good time, for entertainment. That's where Papo & Yo comes in. A video game, sure, but it was not made only for gamers. Forget about about Fallout-style open worlds. The game is linear: it tells you right from the start with lines on the ground. You then have to grasp the basic mechanics. The game is paced so you can go to sleep at ease. The story WILL be told. And you'll be the engine that drives it all, piecing together the path to the end of the dream. So go ahead! Don't think about Doom, Diablo, the Sims, Assassin's Creed and you'll be fine. You'll even feel fine. You might even shed a tear. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    8
    If you like narrative, low impact gaming in the likes of "Ico," "Journey," or "Heavy Rain," "Papo & Yo" is about as good as they come.If you like narrative, low impact gaming in the likes of "Ico," "Journey," or "Heavy Rain," "Papo & Yo" is about as good as they come. However, don't expect a whole lot of... well, game. The puzzles are just enough to keep you interested in the beautiful world and allegorical tale of a son dealing with his father's addictions. There are some serious graphical hiccups, and the physics engine is extremely wonky. It kind of feels like a game that should've been in the PS2 era, instead of a PSN major release... which is both a good and bad thing. Games like this remind me that narrative can be strong enough to carry a simple game. Just... you know, don't expect 20 hours of intense play. "Papo & Yo" will be a love it or hate it game. I loved it, and the story is unforgettable, but I'll admit it's not as smooth a game as, say, "Journey." Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2012
    5
    It is a great game. If you have some spare time and don't know what to do, then Papo & Yo will perfectly fill the gap between afternoon andIt is a great game. If you have some spare time and don't know what to do, then Papo & Yo will perfectly fill the gap between afternoon and evening. Some fresh mechanics will bring a smile to your face, unique narrative provides nostalgia and your childhood memories with childish fantasy comes back immediately. From time to time, outstanding acoustic music is so perfect, that you just sit and listen to it very, very loud. It really is a great peace of work... but definitely it is not a good puzzle game. It's more like a mixture of platform and simple logic games. Unfortunately, you don't even have to think. Everything is clear just after you enter the new level. That's why I rated Papo & Yo 5. It has very good narrative, music and story, but, in terms of a GAME itself, it really lacks very, very much. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers