Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime spree. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that major PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    83
    Pulling off a frictionless heist is the exception to the rule in Payday 2, but the tension is still palpable as you try to orchestrate a robbery without getting caught, and the adrenaline flows steadily as you inevitably repel the barrage of police waves while trying to make your getaway. The overly expensive upgrade system and lackluster AI could use some work, but the minute-to-minute action is thrilling enough to overcome these complaints.
  2. 80
    Payday 2 is a step in the right direction for co-op action still throttled by lame single-player and an annoying unlock system.
  3. Coupled with a stronger focus on the sound and feel of gunplay, gamers are granted the chance to pull off memorable robberies worthy of Ocean’s Eleven, with shoot-outs as intense as Three Kings, unfortunately minus the Clooney. [October 2013, p82]
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    A far less significant improvement on the original than many will have hoped for, but still an enjoyable co-op shooter with a largely unique setting.
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    70
    Payday 2 brings crime to life with an alluring intensity that entertains in spite of some rough edges.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    70
    If you have a friends list full of like-minded and degenerate buddies, you really can’t beat the co-op experience for the price. But, by yourself, if you think you are going to be able to accomplish anything within this game beyond the simplest of heists, you’ve got another thing coming.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    58
    Payday 2 is a game that I really enjoy when it’s working right, which is definitely more often than not at this point.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    I love this game. Been playing since launch,,but stRted playing it everyday again..I give it a 10 because it's soooo easy to play 1 quick 20 minute session whenever I don't have POWER-GAMING TIME...
    I haven't tried multiplayer,, but I'd rather play with bots then strangers..
    Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    If you have online access, it's a must buy. If not, you may have to decide how much you really want it, because the AI aren't very impressive. Also, factor in that it is 40 bucks! That saves you 20 bucks off of usual new games. I would buy this if it was 60, too. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Crazy cool game!! Game sounds crazy good and the rattle of a rifle when the robbery goes to hell makes me feel like I was in the final scene in the movie Heat. Buy it and discover just how fantastic a video game can be. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    Sadly, there are many technical issues that mar an otherwise great game- framerate drops, bad textures, and poor enemy AI rear their ugly heads more often than you'd think. However, these aren't enough to make a big dent in the experience, especially if you have friends to play with instead of searching for randoms. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    This game is just a mess. I mean it's fun when you are playing online with people, but some of the rounds just last forever and never amount to any real fun. The level design is atrocious. The outside of buildings look so nice and similar to left 4 dead, but the second you go inside them it's just terrible. I mean really there are some rooms that have nothing in them, in the mall level especially, and the walls just look like a low-res picture of "white" someone got off of google. It feels like they worried to much about the amount of content and forgot about how to make the gameplay fun and the maps realistic. The AI is atrocious and will be looking at you and not even shooting most of the time.

    The best part is all the guns, upgradable **** and your own hideout. I suppose there is a good variety of missions too, even if most of them are ****e. If you can get this game for dirt cheap and wanna play it with some friends one weekend then go ahead, but do not spend more than 15$ on this or you are just getting conned. The online for the first kane and lynch game does this whole game better, and thats just a simple online.
    Expand
  6. May 11, 2014
    5
    There's a great idea at the core of the game. Pulling off a heist and holding off the cops with your buddies in a video game sounds great, but unfortunately the game is a disappointment. With it's dated graphics, simple AI, and lackluster shooting, the whole experience feels subpar.

    There's a certain level of brainless fun to be had here. There's a certain thrill to pulling off a successful heist and pulling in the money with others, and the game's best moments are when you are looting stores or loading up acquired cash in the back of a van while dodging gunfire, but ultimately it's the stuff between these sections that bring the game down. The moments when you're waiting to do something like drill into a safe or wait for your ride are overly long and are basically just you and your buddies fending off wave after wave of dull enemies. These waits make up the majority of the experience and just aren't much fun at all.

    Allow me make something abundantly clear, this is not one you want to play by yourself at all. While there is some fun to be had with your friends, or even with strangers for that matter, it is hard to find any enjoyment with the experience at all on your own. With all of the better cooperative multiplayer games out there I find it hard to recommend this one at all. I have to say that I enjoyed the idea at work here. Maybe the developer will get it right with a Payday 3, because despite the all around subpar nature of it, there's the potential for a good game inside. As it stands now, there's really not much of a reason for me to recommend this one at all.
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    1
    Make no mistake, this is a multiplayer game. Playing it offline without an internet connection is next to impossible due to the bafflingly stupid AI. Add PS2-level graphics, slow loading times, texture pop-in issues and you will see why this isn't worth your time. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews