User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 70
  2. Negative: 15 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I had the pleasure of playing Payday at Gamescom 2011 and I have to say it rocks! It's a very fun 4-player co-op experience with lots of action. In order to succeed in the game, you need to coordinate your efforts well with the other players. You are playing against the clock with more and more cops and FBI agents showing up, trying to stop you and your crew of bank robbers. And yes, you are the bad guys in this game. The graphics also deserve special mention as they look gorgeous. I'm very much looking forward to playing the final game. Expand
  2. Bas
    Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Payday: The Heist is just awesome. If you're looking for one of those just, pure fun games that are coop, this is one of the best. Payday falls short of a 10 because of reasons like there's no tutorials for anything, nothing explains how you level up, etc. The gunplay is somewhat not smooth, but you will easily get used to it and won't even notice when you're really in the game. Almost everything else about the game is awesome. It is very frantic, strategic, and has a fast pace. There are multiple ways to do a mission and because of this, and the fact that enemies are always in different places and attacking you differently, the game has an amazing replayability even though there are only 6 missions (at launch). Payday: The Heist is without a doubt one of the best downloadable games this year, is only $20, and an absolute must buy if you like coop shooters. 9/10. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    When I saw the user score on metacritic and the critics score, I was a bit sceptical if this is a good game. At the end I bought it, because a friend had it and he said it was a good game. OH MY GOD, after I played it an hour I realised how awesome this game is. The idea of doing heists is just a very good idea for a game. Fortunately, there is an AI-Director like in l4d2, that means that everytime, the situation will be different (for example the bank manager will be at another place etc.) Also, if you kill civilians, more cops will come (and stronger types of cops, such as SWAT or special units). That means that the heists will never get boring. The gameplay is exactly what you want from a FPS, the weapons feel great and the controls are precise. There are also level ups (you can unlock weapons, perks etc), some kind of perks (you can choose between ammo bag or health bag or you can choose between having more ammo or being stronger for example). This class thing is also important, since you really need to work together and have a good plan. The game is quite challenging, so coop teamwork is essential. Because you have to work together its very fun and tactical, especially if you play with friends. The best thing is, that it only costs 20 bucks. The only contra thing I have is, that the upgrade stuff isnt explain very good (you have to press tab while in the game, and choose the class you want to upgrade in the next level up). The graphics arent exactly crysis, but they look good (in my opinion). Finally I can only say, if you are tired of all these military FPS or just want to experience something unique in FPS or love movies like heat or the town or just want to play a great game, then go and buy payday. I give it a ten since some morrons give it a 0 (normally I would give a 9). PS: sorry for bad english^^ Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    I tried the trial to this game before buying, and finally caved in and bought it; for a reason. This game is fantastic for a PSN title. I didn't expect much, as a lot of First Person Shooters aren't very good (Such as Modern Combat 2: Domination, with bad graphics, clunky aiming and bad controls), but I've gotta say Payday stands out. It's graphics are decent for a PSN game. It's controls are well mapped, the different heists are dynamic, yet the only two things that stop me from giving this game a 10 is the bad team mate AI and it's poor aiming controls. It can jerk you around when in your iron sights and it can spin you in a 180 degree direction when you only meant to turn a corner. This game is like Left 4 Dead and Kane and Lynch 2's multiplayer got real close and had a baby. It's co-op works so well in a hi-octane environment, it makes a very cinematic, frantic feeling to it's gameplay. But besides it's shortcomings that I cannot submit this review without saying this game is a must-have for people who actively buy PSN games, because this is another example of a game better than a lot of retail games. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    Brilliant shooter action, just the kind of game I've been waiting for, specially since Rage was such a huge let down, this came right down my alley! Intense combat, nice maps and great music, however I could have wished for more guns to go along with it. PC version is better. Builder out.
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    This game is a nice little game to play when your bored of all your other games. And for only $20 its a very good purchase. It has a good amount of detail in the missions, and they never seem to get old for me. The leveling up system is great, makes you want to go and play it even more to get everything unlocked. The only real problem i had with it, is the tazer people who will taze you till your down, which really gets in the way. They seem a little to overpowered. But besides that, DEFIANTLY get this game. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    Payday: The Heist is actually a thrilling and fun game. The difficulty for it is ridiculously hard but that's the key as it makes you work to achieve and finish a heist. As you work hard to survive and wait for your objectives to finish, you really feel like your one of the robbers which is an amazing experience.
  8. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    Payday the Heist is a very fun 4-player co-operative game. It has a few flaws, for example the average graphics and poor ally AI, although the enemy AI is quite good. The game is very hard to play on single-player(due to poor allies AI), but if you can find a good match in multiplayer, it is fairly easy. The game´s 6 heists may not seem like much, but have great variety and replayabilty, due to the 149 reputation levels. The game also has TONS of unlocks. There are lots of different enemies, from simple bank guards to massive juggernauts. Expand
  9. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    This game is TERRIBLY UNDERRATED! Personally, It is one of the best games I've ever played! I couldn't stand looking at this low score it doesn't even deserve. 6 heists 2 DLC heists that you don't even have to pay for to play them is an amazing deal! Very good level design and long in lenght with a lot of replayability. This game shouldn't be judged on the Singleplayer experience that you're not even supposed to play! The game is difficult and requires strategy and teamwork in order to make it out alive, which makes for an extremely intense and enjoyable experience.

    Little rant: Why the hell does Payday 2 have a slightly bigger score despite being bug filled, easier, and overall a worse game.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    If you have a small group of friends with whom you usually buddy up to play shooters, PayDay is definitely worth looking into. Despite only having six playable missions, there's a ton of depth when you consider the titanic ranking system and numerous difficulty settings. On the flipside, if you're the sort who likes to ruck up with AI partners then caution is advised; going solo is considerably more time-consuming and almost impossible if playing on Overkill difficulty.
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    88
    A solid FPS that requires canny planning and teamwork to succeed. [Issue#213, p.96]
  3. First you are confronted by regular police agents, then SWAT-teams and in the end even the FBI gets involved. To survive the constant stream of enemies teamwork is key. Even more so because you have a long list of objectives to fulfill. [December 2011, p.104]