• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 1, 2011
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2012
    2
    The first game was easy, but great. I guess they took the first part of that very seriously, because no one could call this one easy. I like bullet hell shooters, and masochistic games like The Impossible Game, La-Mulana, Trials HD and so on... but this takes the cake. One or two levels into the game, I'm running into learn-by-dying boobie traps like lethal powerup dispensers, walls thatThe first game was easy, but great. I guess they took the first part of that very seriously, because no one could call this one easy. I like bullet hell shooters, and masochistic games like The Impossible Game, La-Mulana, Trials HD and so on... but this takes the cake. One or two levels into the game, I'm running into learn-by-dying boobie traps like lethal powerup dispensers, walls that grab you, and worst of all, infinitely growing green jelly you have to shoot 10 times a second just to tunnel through it. There is no rapid fire. Thanks, guys - you've made a game that cripples my wrists with RSI, and I can't even access over 90% of the game because it's literally unplayable. I thought Eden and Shooter are brilliant, but now I'm staying away from Sidescroller, etc because it's not worth the risk. Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    For the price of the game alone and the amount of hours of fun you will have playing it, it's well worth it! The adventure mode (single player) part expands on the original game. It's simple, yet fun to play and can be considerably more challenging than the first game in places. The addition of online battle (versus mode) is a magnificent bonus. Matching is solid, usually according toFor the price of the game alone and the amount of hours of fun you will have playing it, it's well worth it! The adventure mode (single player) part expands on the original game. It's simple, yet fun to play and can be considerably more challenging than the first game in places. The addition of online battle (versus mode) is a magnificent bonus. Matching is solid, usually according to opponents with a similar skill level. When paired with opponents with a higher skill level than yourself, you get bonus currency (unlock points) should you manage to win. There are a large number of unlockable items available, which can give you the opportunity to vary your playing style and strategy. This additional depth creates a satisfying experience when you pull off a win by more than the usual online fare of "shoot anything that moves" which is the cliche of modern online multiplayer games today. To summarise : great fun and great value for money. I'd pre-order PixelJunk Shooter 3 if I could! Expand
  3. May 13, 2011
    9
    Really liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did not see coming the first couple times), and online battles. The dark stages are a lot of fun. There isn't much room for error for the last boss, but nothing too difficult, I think they struck a good balance. The co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy, tooReally liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did not see coming the first couple times), and online battles. The dark stages are a lot of fun. There isn't much room for error for the last boss, but nothing too difficult, I think they struck a good balance. The co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy, too (killing them with the lave suit is hilarious!) My only problem with is that I wish it was longer. Expand
  4. May 2, 2011
    4
    This sequel expands on the first game, taking you deeper down the planet,
    The level setup is expanded and there are more materials to play around with.
    Graphics are equally basic and crisp as the first game.

    But, this all doesn't matter actually, because compared to part one it's much too diffucult to possibly enjoy. i gave up after the first three levels.
  5. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    I loved the first game, although it was a little bit easy. The sequel, however, is absurdly difficult. I gave up midway in the second level of the first world. Already the game is a lot more difficult than the most difficult level in the first game. I like a challenge, but this game is just frustrating.
  6. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire, water... a few more tricks and treats i won't... good sequel ...or expansion pack whichever you prefer... in any case... it has renewed my interest in the first pixel junk shooter i'm playing it now.. again ... that to me is the mark of a good sequel
  7. Mar 10, 2011
    0
    ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire, water... a few more tricks and treats i won't... good sequel ...or expansion pack whichever you prefer... in any case... it has renewed my interest in the first pixel junk shooter i'm playing it now.. again ... that to me is the mark of a good sequel
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    75
    The new elements and levels produced for PixelJunk Shooter 2 are nice, but they don't feel like enough to justify another full-priced game. The engine is still the exact same, so while the visuals and art are still high-quality, the imprecise and sloppy controls have also returned.
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    85
    PixelJunk Shooter 2 is a very nice puzzle shooter, packed with stylish graphics and sounds. The game can be very frustrating at times, but also very rewarding.
  3. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    PixelJunk Shooter 2 once again proves that creative minds have all the space they need on the current generation of consoles. The mixing of different elements (like water, lava, gas and oil) is innovative, works extremely well and is expertly executed. What makes this interesting from start to finish are the different elements each level brings with it.