User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 450 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 450

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it has a story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review. the strory is good it has funny and comedic rivalries and overall is a good singleplayer mode. next let me start off with the unlockables that are just amazng and will keep gamers coming back for more. i wont go into details becase some the unlockable are just too awesome. I woud also like to talk about online and offline mutlplayer, now the multplayer is where the game really shines i would even say it beats smash bros its just that amzing with 20 charactrs and 2 dlc characters that are free , i know this game is gonna be a success so if you want a fun brawler by all means go out and get this game, this game is a 10/10 Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Well I'm a Sony fanboy since my childhood and I just can't hate on this game. Some would say that I'm leniant but in the end is it really that bad? No. It's a very fun game. Flawed with several issues but really entertaining especially with friends. It's not a Smash Bros. clone at all. Similar of course but it differs really much in the core and it has a lot of ambition within its innovations. It eventually fails to live up to our expectations but oh well as long as you have fun with it you are just fine. Add some personal favs with a bunch of great characters and you get a really good game after all. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    i know im gonna get smashed. i think this game is better than SSB with more mature characters and a lot of unlockebls you'll be playing this game non stop if you can get through the fanboy CRAP!!!.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    For a blatant smash bros clone, i wasn't expecting much, but after e3, tgs, and other previews i was actually pretty excited, and i thought it would be on par with melee, at least. However, the balance feels not that great, with especially Kratos feeling very op, and the physics feel very floaty and unbalanced. Also, i do not like the only supers KO thing, which again, makes it lack balance. Single player is too short. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    very fun and addicting, this is no Smash Brothers clone at all. anyone who loves party brawlers and loves the Playstation Franchise should not miss the chance to pick this up
  8. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For readers, ignore the terrible reviews by the fanboys who cried for Spyro or Crash, or just the ones claiming this game is a clone of SSBB when it's not. All-Stars Battle Royale is unique in it's own way with it's combat system and it's mix of games to form one stage. All 20 (and DLC) characters have bonus costumes (not switched color palettes like SSBB) and each one has their own minions, challenge modes, and story mode. The story for each character is short but there's nothing wrong with that, it's a fighting game, since when did fighting games focus on story? All-Stars Battle Royale truly shines on online when you're competing against others. The game can be a bit unfair and some characters are a bit over powered but there's nothing a good ol' patch can't fix. People who love brawlers should pick this up, or if you're a Sony fanboy and you just want to watch your favorite Sony characters fight to the death then go on ahead and get it. All-Stars Battle Royale is worth the money and time since it truly can compete with other brawlers. And to the Nintendo fanboys bashing this game, news flash, the Super Smash Bros. series isn't the first brawler, the game itself is a clone of classic fighting games. All-Stars Battle Royale just branched off the idea and made itself unique. Expand
  9. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Why do people feel the need to sabotage the user review system? Just because you do not like certain aspects of the game, it does not mean the game deserves a 0. Similarly, I'm sure you may think the game is good, but that does not automatically make it worthy of a 10. You're all taking away from the credibility of the score.
    Anyway, I've been enjoying the game thoroughly so far. While at
    first I assumed you could just button mash your way to victory, I couldn't have been more wrong. The more you experiment with the game, the more you discover of the gameplay mechanics. There really is a hidden depth to it all.
    I do agree that the menus are a little bland, but I don't plan on spending a huge amount of time here, and they are very easy to navigate so I can't complain too much here. It is also a shame that there aren't all that many game modes, but I would likely be focusing most of my time on the multiplayer free for all and team deathmatch anyway, and I'm glad to say these are an absolute blast! Great game, and I expect I'll be spending countless hours with it to come, so well worth the investment in my personal opinion.
    Collapse
  10. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    At first I was a little hesitant to purchase this game, but after getting a few hours into the game I really enjoyed it! It was a definite surprise at first. It has a great cast of characters and that's probably what drew my attention. Fun single player mode (Nice whacky story with original voice actors!), tons of unlockable content, very enjoyable multiplayer mode and an overall decent game.
    It's fun, easy and a lot of replay value. Also, a teaser for Raiden! (A taste of what's coming for his upcoming game)
    Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Man you can't help but feel sorry for these losers that try to make people believe that this game is a 0/10 lol they must think we're just dumb as them. Wait for the critics don't listen to the trolls just look at there other reviews 80% of them this is there first review so they're trolls other 20% are nintendo fanboys just look at how they rate nintendo games 10/10 and ps games 0/10 lol pathetic. Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    SO let me get this straight, will be fast: Smash Bros on Wii DVD = 40 characters, long story mode, no DLC crap. All Stars on Bluray Disc = only 20 characters, will sell the missing ones via DLC. $ONY just doesn't give a sh*t anymore...PLEASE don't support this rip-off. If CAPCOM did this Smash Bros clone, and made a small roster to sell DLC, you would have killed them. So WHY THE HELL would you support such a rip-off and distribute perfect 10's??? The '1' is for Nariko. Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    LETS ALL HATE NINTENDO FANBOYS AND GIVE THIS GAME A 10 ALTHOUGH WE DIDN'T EVEN PLAY IT OURSELF! LETS UPVOTE ALL THE 10's RATINGS BY SONY FANBOYS BECAUSE THATS NOT BAD AT ALL COMPARED TO NINTENDO FANS RATING A 1! You Sony Zombies are not a bit better than Nintendo zombies by rating this game a 10 and upvote all the 10. I hate the internet, seriously.
  14. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Every bit as good as we were hoping it would be. All Stars truly does step out of the shadows of SSB and become a game totally it's own. The specials system is excellent, and the combat is incredibly deep. Anyone who says you can just mash buttons to victory clearly has not been playing against anyone but easy bots and no one online. The variety of modes is excellent and there's more content than you'll ever have time for. It's the ultimate local multiplayer game as well, I got 3 of my friends to come over on launch day and we played for hours never running out of things to do. It's simply a joy to play. The characters all feel unique and play drastically different, and there are no reskins like in SSB. Each character has a larger moves list than in Smash Bros which ends up letting you create a play style totally unique to you. I'm loving this game and I think it's probably my GotY for fighting games. Expand
  15. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    its one of the best brawlers of all time. i love the minions charecters the online the characters sly cooper specially he feels great and superbot have relay captured the essence of these charecters
  16. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    I own probably half of this game's cast in my PS3 collection, but that doesn't that make this game fun to play. Once you get knocked around, you can get beat up without recovering; very different from how Brawl allows characters to roll back when they hit floor. Every character has 30 moves, but the only one you'll feel like using is the extreme long range so you can hard knockdown and beat up the other guy when they can't move. Matches of camping and over-powered fighters ruin the balance of this game. Once you get knocked down, the other players will already have an advantage over you. It's a pain in the d!ck. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved playing as nathan drake fighting sly cooper. The design is close to supersmash but it is still a great game none the less. You must buy dis game
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    People who haven't played this game brush it off as a Smash clone, which obviously it is influenced a lot by Smash, but in reality is a lot more that merely a clone. Gameplay and overall strategy is very different from Smash, and is possibly even deeper and more competitive. Is it a better game than Smash Brothers Brawl? No. Is it a good game? For sure.
  19. Nov 20, 2012
    3
    Good:
    +Level design +The final boss

    Bad:
    -Only 20 characters? Are you kidding me?
    -No Crash Bandicoot
    -No Spyro
    -Gay Dante? (from DmC)
    -Graphics is just horrible
    -Gameplay system is too complicated
    -Horrifying soundtrack
    -Slow paced
  20. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    After playing this game, it should be in the range of a 8.0 to 9.5 for most people who play it (I put 10 to help counter the rampant Nintendo fanboys that hit hard here). I'd highly suggest giving the game a chance. Most people I know find it incredibly fun, including myself.
  21. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Cons:Story mode is awful Roster is pretty bad Not many game modes A lot of really cheap characters
    Plus:Multiplayer is just fun really its mindless fun Online plays well not much lag Lots of achieveables Free DLC Vita version included with the ps3 version
  22. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Its hard to give score for fun game, which could be so much better.

    + Fighting system is fun and unique

    - Poorly done story mode
    - Poorly done customisation
    - Lack of some most iconic characters
    - Missing online modes.
    - Need more stages
  23. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Copy/paste from my VITA review, with minor edits: Very solid game, in fact the game I'm enjoying the most right now. I should first admit I didn't expect anything out of it. I wasn't even a Smash Bros fan to begin with (even if I played the hell of the "Subspace Emissary" mode, back in the day). I found something really 'fresh' in PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale, not sure how to explain. The stages are beautiful, clever and inventive, the characters have a LOT of moves, and it's a totally different experience than Smash Bros if you go past the interface and look of things. For starters, it's not about throwing your opponents off a stage, but try to stack as much kills as possible before the timer runs out. I haven't been frustrated a single time. This game is just plain fun, in fact I can't even think of a single annoying thing. I really didn't expect a lot of it, and ended up being surprised because I expected a Smash Bros clone, but found something totally original and fun. PS: you get the VITA version for 'free' with this, what an awesome deal - I can't believe the VITA version actually runs & feels as good as the PS3 version. SuperBot outdone themselves on this one... Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I would give it a 9, but I see everybody else pushing those 1's pretty hard for no reason. The game is a great franchise fighter for Sony, people who are hating on it cause they have no life and hate that Sony their own fighter now, and it's not a rip off of SSB.
  25. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Big fan of the Super Smash series but this one requires more thinking in setups/mixups. I found it more enjoyable and would love to see this series continue with a better Story/Arcade and more characters. Other then that this game is a blast to play!!!
  26. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Two words: Mind. Blown. Wow, I must admit, my expectations and excitement for this game was very low throughout the year. I saw footage, wasn't blown away. Heard the character roster, wasn't blown away. Then, I played the beta. Only four characters, but I still started to get a feel for the game and what exactly Superbot was trying to accomplish. It slowly started to make sense. Sounds weird I know, especially with a game that appears on the surface to be rather shallow. Build meter. Super. Rinse and repeat right? When you first pick up the sticks, understanding what exactly you're supposed to do may feel a little foreign if you haven't done this kind of thing before. But MY OH MY once sink your teeth into it, once you figure out the little nuances and the variations of playstyles depending on the character you pick (characters you're fighting against) AND the level you're fighting in (trust me, it matters) what you discover is a game of mighty depth. A game with gameplay so addictive I have not stop playing for one minute since last night at midnight. It's incredibly fun. Incredibly addictive. Incredibly nuanced. Superbot has pulled off the impossible. They actually made a GREAT FIGHTING GAME combined with a great social experience. Four on Four chaos is how this game was meant to be enjoyed. Even if it's just you, or you and a friend playing, add two AI characters into the mix because when it's four on four the fun factor quadruples to astronomical heights. Ok, whew, now back to the action. Oh, and thank you Superbot. Thank you. Expand
  27. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I don't get the extreme polarization between critics and their reviews sometimes. Usually when so many love a franchise and so many despise it, one group is full of it. Whether it's blind nostalgia people are holding onto, or maybe it's a feeling of having to defend their favorite franchise against over saturation or even a legitimate rival of the genre their game falls into, etc.... people for some reason feel the need to take their reviews scores to the extreme ends of the scoring spectrum to make their point. Hating on a game because it borrows another's game's base formula is immature; this has happened and will continue to happen forever with all popular genres. I've seen a few on here commenting on the PASBR's interface, or saying the fun factor just isn't there (which could be a more specific), are legitimate/more appropriate reasons or opinions to review a game badly, but giving it a zero is saying it's complete and utter garbage based off it it not being as good as something else, or call it a budget title just sounds like blind rage to me perpetrated by insecure fans of something else. I have a load of respect for the smash bother's games, as well as for all stars battle royale (after the beta, watching the loads of behind the scenes videos online, and playing this morning) a can say the quality and attention to detail, especially for the fans of either are great. I was very pleased with they've accomplished with these titles on both the Nintendo & PS consoles and hope one day, after xbox decides to jump on this successful band wagon with their awesome entry into this genre, that a cross over between all 3 happens. I haven't played through completely but SO far - (Awesome/Great/Good/OK/Bad) Character art: Awesome, Environment Art: between Great/Good, Gameplay: Great, Sound design/ Music: Good, Animations: Great/good, Packaging (U.I Interface): Good/OK, Fan service: Awesome. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I love this game! I had a little expectation for it, but bought it and wow was i blown away, so much content too! Everybody has their own story or "arcade" mode like a normal fighter, it may look like smash at first but it is really different.
  29. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Ok ok it's not a 10, but the very low scores are really trols. Easy to see because all those are telling it's not as good as SSBB. It's easy to tell if these are trolls because if they would have played the demo they would already have seen the gameplay is different, the graphics are 10000% better and if they are really enjoying SSB, they should enjoy this game because it's better then SSB. The only bad thing is that there are not as much characters (but be honest, which characters did you all played at SSBB, for certain you concentrated on only one and not all) and not much stages. But for the rest it's really a much better game. This doesn't mean that SSBB is a lot of fun, but why troll when you haven't really played the game or when you are offended that there is a game which is a bit like SSBB!! All games are inspired by other games and also SSBB. Expand
  30. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Don't judge a book by it's cover. That's the mindset that anyone should have when playing PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale. The comparisons to Super Smash Bros are obvious but All-Stars is a completely different game. A great selection of characters, deep combat system, awesome stages and great graphics on top. Sup-Par presentation and somewhat a lack of game modes aren't enough to bring down an otherwise fantastic game. Definitely a must have game for any PlayStation or fighting game fan. Expand
  31. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    So after playing this game since it's release I must say I'm impressed at what they got. the gameplay is smooth, simple and fun, the graphics are rich for both PS3 and Vita and you got yourself a good selection of fighters with more to come later.

    I'm not going over what this game is, you probably know anyway so let's get to the point. battle Royal is like Brawls but with it's own
    style. The more you take on enemies the more you charge up the bar down below fr a special. When that's charged you can kill your enemy if you hit them. There's three different versions of your super attack and each takes time to charge.

    Single player.....well, your not getting much. you get a short intro (slide show anyway.) you fight, get a animated scene with your random opponent then boss fight. To be honest, once you find your fighter for the game you can pretty much beat the arcade mode in a breeze even on the hardest difficulty but it's the online that makes the game fun. Going up against real players is what makes this game shine, it's fun, fast and you'll be quickly addicted to it right away. My only flaw with this game is different game modes since you only get either free for all or team death match. It would have been a little interesting to see more game modes like one with health or a collecting game where you collect the orbs and see who has the most at the end but who knows, maybe they might release something special for it down the road.

    In the end what you get is a great game for you and your friends to play and hey, if you purchase the PS3 version online you get a free Vita copy along with it. How cool is that?
    Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Pues a mi me parece un gran juego, estaba claro que se iba a llevar miles de 0 por culpa de los fanboys de Nintendo.
    A parte los jugadores de consolas Sony, estábamos esperando un juego de este tipo durante mucho tiempo, y por fin se ha hecho realidad.
  33. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Take your time. I'm serious; just take a few hours to get use to the system. I know it is similar to a classic game like Smash (which I loved) but it is also different in exciting ways if you gave it a chance. The combo system is great, the characters play enjoyably unique, and it's just another reason to beat up 3 of your friends on a couch! Yes.. the only super killing seems weird at first but it gave my little sister a fighting chance as long as she had one meter, which made it equally exciting for her! Instead of percentages like the great game Smash, it's all about meter. And when they have meter for a SUPER.. YOUR HEART WILL BE PUMPING!! Especially if you play with lives instead of timer; which i prefer. Oh yeah, it's true... the single-player isn't so great , but that shouldn't stop you from playing this balanced 4 player fighter! (Kratos is cheap.. but you can be cheap with all characters!) Expand
  34. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I knew this game was going to be spectacular just because of the Beta. All-Stars is clearly similar to Smash Bros, but it is its own game, and it even happens to do some things better than what inspired it.

    I know it'll be hard for some skeptics to believe, but PlayStation All-Stars is an absolute blast to play especially with friends on the couch or online. It can be a lot of
    chaotic fun because of the great combat, great characters, great ko system, and the interactive stages.

    It has lots of content and great variety in the characters. I know some people would like to have more characters, or other character like Spyro and Crash; but as how the game currently is; it is AWESOME!!! And also you can bet that there will be in the future DLC features those 2 characters mentioned most probably.
    Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great, great combat, great characters, great ko system. It lacks presentation tho, which im fine with tbh. I think that this games downfall will be nintendo fans tearing the game apart. It's sad to see a great game being dismissed because nintendo fans cant handle competition in the genre. I say good luck and thank you Superbot Entertainment. Hopefully we'll see a sequel someday
  36. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game plays real slick. It fits somewhere between the house that Super Smash built and the more traditional fighting games. This doesn't mean hooey if you are playing this as it was meant to be played: as a party game. The game is easy to learn with a few matches and the depth is really there for someone who want to become the resident expert. It is chock full of content, has great gameplay variety and has the potential to spice up Thanksgiving post-dinner for those of you in the United States. Pros:
    Pick up and play
    A lot of modes
    4 player with quick matches
    Interesting characters and stages
    20 Characters
    Good character customization
    Working online play
    Great visuals and audio is top notch

    Cons:
    A few big Sony mascots are missing due to copyright issues
    20 Characters
    Can take a little longer to learn than other Brawlers on the market
    Expand
  37. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been a fan of all three franchises since 2002 so when I first saw this I was really excited then I saw footage and played it, I know no one asked for my review but as video game developers I thought that you would like to know a life long fan of these great video game characters thoughts on this game. GAME PLAY: what I was hopping for was game play like from the originals (for the dual shock 3 as well as PS move) if you remember all three franchises are under the category of "platform game" while you cant even jump in this game. a few weapons are fun to use like some of the guns and the melee weapons, while there other weapons work okay sometime but there not really as fun as the others, yeah its fun at first but then it gets boring and repetitive. in short its a "sports champions", but less accurate. *little spoiler* STORY:it starts out okay.....then it just does not make sense. How did gleeber and lunk control all those villians? with the crystals? why did gleeber and lunk want to go to sly,ratchet and jak's home worlds? What would they do there, takeover their worlds, the only reason they were able to takeover "gleepbertopia" is that the aliens that lived there were weaker and smaller then they were, and if not, but instead to be the heroes of there worlds, why? In short the story isn't even half as good as the story line's from the original games. I really want to like it but I cant and yes, I know it was probably made to just make money and show what the move can do but they should have also thought of the life long fans. in short Jak, Ratchet and Sly deserve better. Expand
  38. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Fun game and I look forward to seeing more from this series in the future. Most of the other reviews that give this game a bad rating describe things that are just not true such as being a quick time event and a rehashing of the same game each year. For one their are no annoying quick time events and this is the first entry in the PS allstars series. Also it is not a blatant Smash Bros. copy it is more complex than smash and closer to traditional fighters while still being fun and easy to jump into. The system of wining by kills which is different from other games may seem strange at first but it just works out in the end and will give matches a more entertaining feel and weight to them. Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I do not deal for that so many 0, it is a great game that I inspire of a great game. For nothing it is a copy, is more ... it seems more to street fighter that to smash bross... But clear, there can not do to him a game similar to other one, and that could enjoy it in other consoles, for which they are exclusive in others ... bad people ¬¬.
  40. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I'm the biggest Smash brother fan, and I gotta say this game is 10000000000% better than Smash Brother. Nothing in that game can beat this one. It's just so amazing! Supers check, amazing characters check, awesome stages check. It's the whole package.
  41. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    It's a weird game. It's a brawler that focuses on the chaos so that everyone has a chance, but technical enough that visiting friends won't be able to just pick up and play. The roster has several familiar faces, but lots of odd choices and several ex-exclusive characters's multiplatform renditions. The game all together shows a high level of technical competency, but lacks the the vision (and legal department) to make it a really solid title. Expand
  42. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I seriously cannot get enough of this game! Even the single-player is well thought out, charming in its writing, and fun to run through with any character. The balancing is perfect, as promised. ;) The multi-player both online and offline is smooth and addicting.
  43. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Just by playing the beta theirs no way this game is a 1 let alone a 0. Tired of fanboys dragging score down cuz their mad siny hit this one outta the park! looks grt plays grt tons of fun. Just seeing a rating of a 0 tells people with any common sense their trolling no game is wirth a 0.
  44. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Dá hadouken Ryu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  45. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I've been playing the beta for hours, and this game for 2 days now : no need to hide the truth (and no need to create accounts just to give bad reviews, Nintendo fans) > this game is truly GREAT.
    Just like you can read it on Destructoid, it's far from a "clone" of SSB, it's a new beast ! I've been playing this not stop with friends since I bought it, we all are having a lot of fun, and
    the game is a lot more technical than Smash : 3 attack buttons, air evade, different supers, a lot of variety among the character movelists, etc.
    Sony bumped the overall genre into a new level ! THE game to purchase this month if you have a few friends to play with, offline OR online (yeah it's not ZombiU all over again with its offline mode lol)
    Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Just another rehash of a tired old franchise to cash in while they wait for the next cash-in this time next year. The fact that they can release the same game every year for the past 4 years and still get money is a slap in the face to any real developer that takes time to craft a good game. The campaign is dull and overscripted, the online is cheesy and full of 12 year olds screaming in the mic, and the game is still full of cheaters. Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    great game, the gampelay is solid, the modes and story are time consuming and overall great game. The neg user reviews are no less then idiotic and biased
  48. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game, while certainly inspired by Smash bros. the game is it's own entity. The game plays highly differently to Nintendo's franchise and after picking up the game, it's easy to tell the difference. A setback is that the story mode/single player modes get highly repetitive. That being said, the game is extremely fun and definitely a game any playstation fan should pick up. there is something for everyone in there. Characters span all 3 eras of playstation and stages provide representation of even more franchises. Plus the developers are giving DLC support as well as continual patching for balancing issues. The game has some minor flaws, but the overall experience and enjoyability of the game is what shines. 9/10 Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This game **** on Smash, that's all you need to know. Well, not really, but all Nintendo fanboy expected it to totally suck and we ended with a fine opponent. DEAL WITH IT!
  50. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Easily one of the best games this year. Sure it has its flaws(like no 1V1 and a bit unbalanced) but it has proven itself not to be the Smash Brothers clone people assumed it was.

    The game has a learning curve so if you don't like learning curves the game is not right for you. You can play as some of your favorite characters like Kratos, Ratchet, Dante(albeit in his reboot form), Cole,
    Raiden and Sir Daniel Fortesque.

    Every new copy of the game also comes with a free Vita version so if you own a Playstation Vita you have another game added to your collection.

    There is already DLC announced for the game. Kat from Gravity Rush and Emmett Graves from Starhawk are due to be Downloadable Content sometime in Early 2013 which shows that the game will have tons of support for a while now.

    Pro:

    + Fast paced.
    + A good roster for the first game.
    + Fun gameplay.
    + Good online.
    + Each character is varied and there are no clones(Yes even the two Coles play differently)
    + Hours upon hours of unlockables.
    + DLC already announced(may or may not be a good thing but to me it is.)
    +Awesome Soundtrack
    + Great graphics

    Cons: -Unbalanced most of the time.
    - Story mode is lacking.
    - Some questionable missing characters.

    Questionable: ?- Learning Curve(May or may not be your cup of tea)
    ?- Certain characters in the roster( I like everyone but I know some people who are pissed about Big Daddy and Raiden in the game.)

    Rent or Buy? I would say Rent it first and if you have fun with it then buy it. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  51. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    A fun beat-em-up with 4 players, but as a fighting game it's horrendously flawed.

    If you're reading this you probably already know the premise of PlayStation All-Stars; A 4 play beat-em-up featuring (mostly) Sony characters.

    PSABR's combat system, which makes super moves the only method to get kills it both it's greatest strength and most crippling weakness. In a 4 player match, you
    can beat on other players gain super meter very quickly and strategize on which super would be best for their situation, leading to some genuinely fun moments in gameplay. 4 player (and 2v2 variants) fighting is unfortunately where the fun ends with this game. In a 1v1 setting it's horribly paced and fundamentally broken. When fighting against one person, super meter builds more slowly, often causing matches to drag on. This would not be a problem if match setting could be modified to include time as well as stock, but currently you can only choose one or the other. 1v1 character balance is also very poor. Characters like Raiden, Dante and Kratos have attacks with quick start up, long reach and a lot of active frames. This leads to getting hit when you thought an attack animation ended and getting hit when you thought an attack would miss. Many character also have easier ways to hit confirm into a LVL1 super than others. For example, Dante can combo, cancel, and then go into super for a guaranteed kill. Considering that LVL1 builds faster than any other super, his combos can build a full meter, and not many other characters can do this, this gives him a significant advantage, and that's barely scratching the surface of problems. I have played many competitive fighters and this game is in no way, shape or form a competitive fighter.

    The graphics for the game make the game look like a downloadable or budget title. The sound is fairly good. Most of the the themes come straight from their respective games. The slight remixes and music mash ups are entertaining.

    In terms of gametypes the game is very barebones with just the standard variations of supers-only-kill modes. The unlockable extras for each character are a welcome feature, but it ultimately feels....insubstantial. Especially considering the price of the game.

    (This small chunk of my review is opinionated and has little to do with the overall quality of the game): The roster for this game is also sorely lacking. I know fans of this game have their own camps, each asking for their third party character to make the roster for whatever reason, but what about Sony's first parties? Where are Level 5's character's? What about Team ICO? No Wipeout, No Wild Arms, No Legend of Dragoon, War of the Monsters, Frequency, Folklore, Mark of Kri, The list goes on. The creation of this game seems less about celebration of PlayStation throughout it's history and more about advertising their most currently relevant franchises, which would more than explain the incarnations of characters from unreleased games (at the time of this post).

    In the end, this game is quite fun as a 4 player mash up. Just don't expect it to be fun as anything else.
    Expand
  52. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    A look at this game and you instantly think. "Oh look, trying to cash in on Super Smash Bros." I can see why people would say that, and I thought it myself. After playing this, I found it wasn't a complete clone of SSB. The gameplay is simple. Attack the enemy until they die. Each character is from a PlayStation title (Uncharted Littlebigplanet etc.) and they all have different unique attacks which I like. Like I said in my Far Cry 3 review, graphics don't make a game but I still mention them. The graphics are average, not bad, not good but you can deal with it. Gameplay, is a rather mixed bag. Can be fun, can be bad, glitches ruining the flow, some characters annoying and some voice actors haven't got their original actors. Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale is a mixed bag, unless its at a price of about 25 bucks, then I recommend a rent. I reward this game a 6/10, 6/10 doesn't mean sh**, it means *Meh*. Buy this game if its 30 bucks or less. Expand
  53. Dec 2, 2012
    6
    On the outside PS All-Stars Battle Royale appeares to have the making of a huge brawling epic. The concept of all our PS All-Stars scrapping in imaginitive and fantastically crafted environments is a fabulous concept. For what All-Stars Battle Royale visually presents to the player, it doesn't disappoint. But when you play it, some of the magic starts to unravel and repetition starts sticking in. Each fight can simply be finished with mindless button spamming and the game never encourages different play styles. Sure this problem is similar with most fighters, but All Stars Battle Royale is likely to gain criticism for this. The prologue and epilogue cutscenes are lazy alternatives for full blown cutscenes and the final boss encounter is a total pushover of button spamming. Sure, this makes the game very accessible for Playstation fans and casual gamers, but there isn't a significant challenge, even on the legend setting. The best part about ASBR is that it has glimpses of brilliant rival potential. Seeing Drake and Sly or Ratchet/Clank and Jak/Daxter talking trash to each other are truly great snippets. Also that salivating Madeon backing intro shows the potential that All Stars Battle Royale has. It's a decent enough distraction for massive playstation fans, but is a real disappointment considering the monolithic potential it had combining the personalities of all these characters together. Expand
  54. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I freaking love this game. I haven't been this addicted to a video game in such a long time. If you've been on the fence on this game, I suggests that you get it.
  55. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    Let's be frank here. Those voting 10 are just as in the wrong as those voting 0. This game is not perfect. This game isn't even great. This game is fun, but it doesn't really extend any further than that. Another thing that we need to get straight is that this is NOTHING like Smash Bros. Anyone who's played both games enough will tell you they feel nothing alike. That's like saying Tekken Tag and Marvel 1 are similar due to them being tag team games. They have very different mechanics and objectives. However, unlike the aforementioned case it still does make sense to draw a couple of comparisons with them. First I'll start with the positives of the game: As I said, it's fun. It's pretty fun to mess about it and the online component is very good. Even in the demo it was pretty much lagless and it feels even better in the actual game. There are also a good unique stage ideas and the items are actually pretty well implemented. There's also a pretty good amount of content in the game and the rival interactions are a nice touch to the story. Unfortunately, that's where the positives end. Character roster is a mixed bag. It's great to see some classics like PaRapper and Sir Dan in the game. On the other hand, are Fat Princess, Gothic Dante and Evil Cole all that necessary? Though when it comes to character it's really down to preference (unless delving into balance). There are many issues I have with the fight system. First is the camera. In 1 on 1 bouts it's not to bad, but in free-for-alls it becomes extremely hard to keep track of your character because of how zoomed the camera is and how small they are in relation to the screen. It just does a poor job in general with keeping up with the action. Second is the combat mechanics. I'm not going to bash them for being different to Smash, that would be unfair. I will bash them however, for simply being unintuitive with the main culprit being in the achieving supers. Since supers are the only way to kill a foe, the system comes off as rather gimmicky and even worse, limiting. In 1 on 1 fights this is a real issue. Lvl 2 and lvl 3 supers in 1 on 1 take too long to achieve and are far too impractical, so you're limited to just lvl 1s and as a result are pinned to a single killing option. In addition to this, the combat feels very stilted. Too many moves from characters last for ages and knock you miles away. This on its own isn't too big of an issue if it weren't for the fact that lots of these moves have a massive recovery and quick startup and there's no way for the characters to move quickly to the foe to chase them down for more hits. Consequently, gameplay feels extremely stop-start. You get knocked by a big hit, you're waiting a good 6 or 7 seconds until either of you can do anything again (which for a fighting game is actually a LONG time). I shan't comment on the character balance though, it's far too early to tell. The metagame may develop and characters presumed to be good may be easily exploitable and vice versa. However, the game doesn't feel like it has much depth or pace to be considered a proper fighter. On the other hand though, the controls are quite unorthodox. They don't have Smash's wonderful simplicity. There's a lot of different attacks (which can be a good thing), but it makes it a little complex and unorthodox for brand new, casual players to ease into the game effectively. Onto presentational things, they're pretty shoddy. The interface is hideous. Bland, lifeless and devoid of any personality. It just looks cheap if anything. The soundtrack is alright. It's nice to hear some familiar tracks, but doesn't quite offer the same grand spectacle as, say, Brawl's soundtrack. It's simple and gets the job done. Graphics are pretty nice and the game runs at a stable solid frame-rate though the art direction seems rather inconsistent. Characters in particular look like they clash a little too much and don't really look like they could blend in the same universe all that well. Though it's not too big of a deal in the grand scheme of things. Overall, despite my lengthy list of cons I did have some decent fun with this game. With a couple of friends (particularly the ones that know a thing or two about Sony) it's good for a few laughs, but it doesn't really extend much further than that. Expand
  56. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Mixed reviews is good to show to everybody that they are just personal opinions and not the truth. This game will please anyone, like me, that loves tha Playstation brand. Amazing game. 10/10
  57. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    very cheap and unoriginal copy of smash bros. Lol and that zombie1531 seriosuly better than smash bros? I think ur just fanboy. I played this and got bored in 5 minutes true story. Controls suck. Music sucks and characters are boring
  58. Jan 29, 2013
    2
    Very poor gameplay. I bought this in a sale regret it, it has a poor selection of characters and even fewer likeable ones. The multiplayer is broken you'll be pitted against people a much higher level than you and most people just use the overpowered characters. for a game that tries so hard to be like smash bros it falls short at every mark. waste of money and time. 2/10
  59. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    A fantastic game for a number of reasons. You could really tell that Superbot entertainment (the makers of this game) really cared about all the Playstation franchises involved in this game. I smiled sooo many times while playing this game simply because of the great references to all of the Playtstation games involved i all stars. The main reason this game keeps you coming back though is just because of how freaking fun it is. This game is all about strategy and you need to utilize the supers that you gain from beating up on your opponents in creative ways in order to get the max amount of points possible. The online in this game is a heck of a lot of fun and very accessible. Highly recommend picking this game up if your a fan of playstation and even if your not! Can't wait for the sequel! Expand
  60. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game is fluid, concise and beautiful. It's so memorable and so fun. All of the characters are a blast to use and the music is just goosebump-inducing, it really is. What a great game.
  61. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    First off I never knew this game was coming out and when I did hear about it I didn't even know what kind of game it was but it is pretty damn good. I've had every game system known to man since 1985 and I don't get why people hate this game because it is a PS character game WOW!!!! That is dumb. Are nintendo fanboys that jealous that the only halfway mature game they get is smash brothers and try to talk like its all that it isn't. Also lots of people are talking about the graphics being worse than a Wii game seriously??? You must be playing it on that same **** tv you play your Wii on because the graphics are great. Stuff gets a little small but still good and it runs smooth which is most important to me. As far as the fun factor it is definitely there always fun with every character. It is easy enough to pick up and play but deep enough to learn an array of combos if wanted. Stop hatin play it and have fun oh yeah and the online is like video game CRACK!!!! Expand
  62. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    Arcade=Fun and Funny. Great time playing
    Online-If it wasnt for the OverlySpammable nature of players playing online this game would get at least a 9.5. Been playing online with a friend since it came out and all we have seen is spam...spam...spam...spam...spam...spam...kratos....spam....raiden....spam...spam...spam. Thats how it is. its rediculous. And i thought Brawl had alot of
    spammers NOPE!!!! All Stars promotes spamming. Its not a bad game its just the players that play it have no concept of the game or how to use the characters correctly. You can tell whos played brawl and who hasnt its sad.
    Offline wise-9.5/10
    Online-6.3/10
    Expand
  63. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Smash Bros except for Sony. The gameplay just doesn't have that fun moment like Smash Bros. Only a few characters are worthing playing, everyone else seems kinda boring to play. Game feels if they were trying to copy Smash Bros. Stages and items all feel the same. Atleast try to be original, it would be hard but having a original idea always leads to a awesome game and this game is not.
  64. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Well, this game is complete garbage. Wish I didn't preorder... This is a disgrace to fighting games. If you played one, you've played them all. Same thing. I had high expectations and was completely disappointed
  65. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    It is a great game, new paragraph is very enterteining. It is impossible not to compare it with smash bross ... but clear, if we compare all the shooters that exist, they would be quite copies. What it has obtained superbot, is to inspire of a game, without being really a copy ... he enjoys own style.
  66. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Easy to pick up and play with tons of fun characters. Tons of unlocks and online mode is smooth. If your not a fan of party games this may not be the game for you.
  67. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game is far from perfection but I´m optimist with this. We already have 2 new characters FREE next year, if the Dev company continue the support this game will be HUGE. With a LOT of new characters, stages and new features. If you buy this game please continue the support buying the DLCs.
  68. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Although I'm a PlayStation fan, this game didn't get me so thrilled. It suffers a clear lack of content, and how could Smash Bros Brawl look better while it's on the Wii ?! Also, DLC characters are nice, but not when you got so little characters from basis.
    However, from what I've seen so far, the online is quite good, you quickly get used to the controls and it's actually just as fun as
    Smash Bros Brawl on multiplayer. A nice alternative for those who don't own the Wii. But if you do own one, please feel free to ignore this game and play Super Smash Bros Brawl. Expand
  69. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Perfect 10 where it matters most, the online vs other players. The presentation is excellent, the graphics are beautiful, all the characters are vastly different, online is lag free. It is so different from smash its ridiculous for anybody to even say that. There are free DLC characters coming to. Free. Buy this game, you will not regret it.
  70. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Nothing short of fun and enjoyment exceeding that of the demo. The exclusion of characters is understandable given the negotiations between activision ( for spyro and crash) and Square Enix ( for sora and cloud) I'd probably a **** process. Given that superbot is already at work at future DLC is more than enough reason to pick this up. A great game!
  71. Jan 16, 2013
    2
    To be frank we all knew when Sony released All Stars that it was going to try to be their answer to the Smash Bros. series but, in typical Sony style the failed to reach expectations. By no means is this a horrible game, far from it. But it lacks refinement in almost every area. To start with, the story. As per the norm with most brawlers it doesn
  72. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    A perfect balance between party fighter & actual fighting game. This game has actual combos. I laugh @ people that write it off as a smash clone when it has far superior fighting mechanics, a more varied roster, & far better online play. I wish this game much success & hope for many dlc characters leading up to a sequel. Also buying the Ps3 version gives you a downloadable code for the vita version. That's real value! Expand
  73. dz9
    Nov 30, 2012
    6
    Right off the bat, it is obvious that PS All Stars Battle Royale borrows inspiration from Super Smash Bros, but the similarities soon die there, but not for the better. Let's start with the good, PS All Stars has managed to integrate many different elements from various Playstation universes into one brawl successfully. The Playstation fan will be in awe after seeing how each character controls how they do in their actual titles, such as Nathan Drake's cover system attacks and Daunte's ability to chain Ebony and Ivory... such fan service should be applauded. But that's where the good ends, the gameplay itself is stale, sluggish, and bland. The main problem is that it's not dynamic like SSB, even with it's complex fighting mechanic (love it or hate it), the attacks never seem to be that rewarding. Which could contribute to the fact that there is no health system of any kind, leaving defense almost useless save for a few instances. The Good: Great artstyle, great integration of characters, amazing fan service, addicting online. The Bad: Stale unrewarding gameplay, bland and short campaign. Expand
  74. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    Its not a great game, the characters are quite uninteresting and the art sucks, but if you have friends at your home.. the 4 player mode is a blast!!!
  75. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    That was huge waste of time and potential game.

    I played the Demo not long ago, I think I never played a fighting game as horrible as this one... And I thought Street Fighter IV would be the game that would disgust me from fighting games ! Nah, this one takes the cake. I really, ugly version of Super Smash Bros.It just felt like a waste of time and potential game for PS brand.
    These games have nothing to offer for PS brand SHM guys. Expand
  76. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    As someone who has been waiting for this game sense before it was announced, I will say that this is possibly one of the funnest unique fighting games I have ever played next to Smash Bros.The reason that I say that is because all 20 characters feel different than the last & the level mash ups are amazing,gorgeous and innovative.This is also the first fighting game I actually have alot of fun playing by myself or with other.Usually, fighting games are either to repetitive or too complicated but Ps allstars is just right.any one of these characters could have easily been transported into 2-d side scrolling games and would feel awesome to play as.They also all feel like they would from their respected properties which is pretty awesome.Other than that, the game has hundreds of unlockables for each character and tons of content to keep you busy until they add more levels and characters via dlc.Dont even pay attention to any bad reviews because they are all b.s.Give this game a try for both ps vita & ps3. Expand
  77. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    This game is not the smash bros clone everyone claimed it would be (or wanted it to be). It does not have the same unlocking depth as brawl or the fighting mechanic of melee, but the rooster is interesting and the gameplay is simple and fun. Don't play this alone. Go online or grab some friends, because multiplayer is where the game shines.
  78. Nov 21, 2012
    1
    This game is a shameless ripoff. With that said, I played I played this game expecting I can still have some fun with it. I was dead wrong. It doesn't have anywhere near the perfect controls Smash Bros has, and the roster is very lacking. The game only comes with 20 characters, with a lot more being held back for paid DLC. Although Sony has some decent characters and franchises, they really don't mesh well together at all. Something just felt.. off the whole time I was playing. After only 1 hour of playing I got very bored with it, and very upset I wasted money on it. The only reason I'm not giving it a 0, is because the game is at least playable. Not recommended. Expand
  79. May 23, 2013
    9
    I find it very amusing that people will gladly play the same street fighter variant over and over but when another fighting game like brawl has a variant come out they get all pissy. This game is different to brawl in it's main mechanic of how you get kills and I actually prefer the mechanic. You build up killing moves by hitting people which is awesome because it means you can't just sit somewhere and not play to win. There isn't a single character I think isn't fun to play or irredeemably bad and sure some characters like kratos are OP when you start but he's just really easy to pick up other characters are better when you master them. I find it ridiculous that people expect to be able to just go online and win against other people without having actually learned how to play the game. Are you really so spoon fed that you expect to just win games when you haven't practiced playing them? Expand
  80. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I just can't express my disappointment enough with this game! So here is my review: GRAPHICS: For a PS3 game that has some of the most iconic characters in gaming history, it also has some of the most bland, simplistic, and uninspiring visuals I have seen in a long time. Anyone would think that a game of this caliber would show off what the PS3 is capable of doing...but is this truly a PS3 title? or more like a Vita mediocre game ported to the PS3!?
    AUDIO: Well no matter how bad a game can be, the sound is pretty hard to mess up. With that said the sound is proper but not memorable.
    GAMEPLAY: This is where I have to say DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY...although this is NO CLONE to MASH BROTHERS, you will wish it was. This game is plagued by so many under developed gameplay ideas not to mention how badly UNBALANCED this title is...it will irritate you to no end....is it me or these characters have a "floating motion" every time you jump or get hit.!? BOTTOM LINE: With Uninspiring visuals and lack of character detail, an OK audio, and Under developed gameplay ideas I have to say I do regret my purchase....this game needs a day 1 patch right away, but I doubt the graphics can be redone to make them worth of the title "ALL STARS".
    Expand
  81. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    This game needs more girls. Throw in some Dead or Alive chicks, Lara Croft, Tifa Lockhart, Big Sister, Anna/Nina (Tekken) or anyone that doesn't look ugly. To have a cast of 20 and only 2 girls, where one is a fat princess and the other is facesmashed, that doesn't make this game appealing for the female part of the population (or the perverts for that matter).
  82. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    An superb take on the brawler genre! Whilst it does have its problems including character balancing issues (Kratos in particular is still a bit of a nuisance.) and at times it feels as if all the skills you've learned in the trial modes don't quite pay off online, as a whole its a great games. Now there are obvious comparisons to SSB but I suggest that's where you stop with artistic concept. The gameplay mechanisms are so different that to go into this expecting SSB is a big mistake. Unlike the team Sora's title this game tries to find a middle ground between party brawler and serious fighter, which leads to its distinctiveness but also it's downfalls. As stated above learning a full set of moves and how to implement combos might work out effectively for the most part, especially in 1 V 1 but not so much with 4 brawlers on the screen, which is disappointing but not the end of the world as they will still come in handy when your not pelted to the other side of the screen. Finally to get my last to 'bad' points out of the way, the presentation of the game defiately lacks finesse. Bare menus, often WTF VO's for the intro and a slapdash approach to many of the rival battles is slightly disapointing and is a low note. The 'Last boss' is also very disappointing, fair enough I didn't want a boss as hard as Seth or Shao Khan but I did want a boss which wasn't just a collection of fighter from the game it is quite underwhelming and I belive it might have been better to take the Seth approach in having a single boss with the move set of a few of the characters from the game, it just seems like a missed opportunity. With all of this said the game really shines with its seamless cross play functionality and cross save functionality which run flawlessly (albeit without cross trophy support currently). Also some of the deeper depth is great and whilst I moaned a bit about it earlier its certainly nice to have some deeper skill under the hood the the mechanics. The roster is nice and varied and actually I find the close ranged characters better despite many complaining about the long rangers. But most of all its great fun especially in MP, and if you have a whole group of your friends in a party on Vita and PS3 it is an absolute blast to play. Presentation: 7
    Gameplay:8.5
    Graphics: 8
    Longevity: 9.5
    Overall: 8.5
    Expand
  83. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    the game has most of the elements of a Nintendo "you know what" game but makes changes significant enough to be a game of its own. Its Single player or 1 on 1 matches are probably its weakest points with poor story telling (as expected for a fighter) using still images and narrative and little variety in combat. The roster feels a little on the slim side spanning around 20 characters from different franchises within the Playstation legacy. Also, some people may be put off by the choice made to make super moves the only method of killing your opponent. Those are the problems i generally have with the game.

    Now that's out of the way, i feel the game is terrific in a party setting, if you can get 3 other people in the game your in for a hell of a good time. Though the roster is fairly small for this type of game, they are very well balanced and diverse(besides good/evil cole). Replacing the Ring outs with super only kills wasn't exactly the greatest idea for the game but i feel that it does it in a way where it requires you to plan and manage yourself in a match. you have 3 supers stages you can do and in order to charge up those supers you have to deal damage with your normal attacks so you don't take damage but if you don't land hits you cant do any supers. Despite what some reviewers say the emphasis in normal attacks are definitely there. Also each stage of super dictates how difficult it will be to actually land it on someone. If you use level 1 supers you will learn that they are not easy to land, so you need to be smart about how you use them unless you don't mind charging that gauge to do it a bunch of times. 2nd level is more persistent but can still be avoided while the 3rd usually guarantees 1-2 kills just keep in mind it takes much longer to get to level 2 and 3 so be ready to dodge a lot of 1st levels if you choose to take either of those routes.

    The stages were nicely done as well, the obstacles they throw at you can greatly affect the way you approach someone as sometimes the stage can knock your super gauge down and turn the tides with or against your favor. The mixes made between franchise themes made in each stage is also weird but funny at the same time. Fans of the Sony Franchise are likely to appreciate them, especially the Buzz trivia level where your knowledge of their history will determine how well you do in the level. Overall as i say it is a fantastic game with friends, the added value of getting the Vita version of the game for free (the game is literally identical to this version!)is a bigger plus. This is a game i can definitely recommend to anyone who is into this type of fighter.
    Expand
  84. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Seriously dont read the negative reviews, I honestly believe they were playing a different game because this game is amazing. Me and my girlfriend love it and we are both SSB fans, ive bought and played all of them. It's different yes. But it is also unique in how it does things, just give it a try and i can guarantee you will love it, its got alot of replayability and great for playin with friends. Oh and their is so much to unlock its crazy Expand
  85. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    First of all, I NEVER played smash bros,so there is no fanboy bias here

    1.Game looks beautiful,fighting mechanic is complex which I love it,too bad the roster is not that impressive though,online is freakin smooth,this coming from a gamer that live in a developing country,online has some bugs,but not game breaking and can easily be fixed by patches anyway,game has quite an amount of unlocks too
  86. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    I am very surprise with this game , Ps All Star is a master piece and a must buy game and a collectors item to the playstation fans. Great game with a excellent combat system. Good graphics with brillant colors and sound. The voice chat runs perfect. The online is working good so far in both version ps3 and ps vita. All the characters are well done and mantaing his own personality. I would like to see more more game modes but is cool.
    The interface can be improve to make a futurystic or modern view.
    Definitely is the Smashbrother killer.
    I would like to see. A lots of dlc about avatars, dynamic themes , characters like Crash , Journey character ,Batman, Etzio, Ryu,Scorpion,Cloud and Zephirot and all of them with his own maps Sony can sell separate for all of that that are looking for specific map or character also they can do bundles
    I would like to see a dlc of a story mode itsn have to be too long .
    Superbot and Sony also can add funny characters like kaz hiray and jack tretton with funny skills and specials moves
    Definitely this game needs a sequel with a few improvements like story mode a little bit customization . Sony can sold items like hats, t shirts, shoes , weapons ,sounds ,intro ,specials moves The bad:
    The final boss sucks looks cheap and did not match with the game.
    Expand
  87. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    So people are complaining about All-Stars, *sigh*. Lets look at the first super smash bro's it has a maximum of 12 characters much less the 20 offered in all stars, Melee has 25 characters only, which all- stars will pass with the future DLC. Brawl is the THIRD games in the series, All stars is the first. Nintendo has had since 1999 to get all the aspects right, and don't get me wrong Brawl is an amazing brawler but its had a lot of history to get where it is. I go agree the story mode is a little short but who plays fighters for their AMAZING stories ? . The gameplay is fluid and addictive, and to people that are saying it takes no skill, you clearly haven't spent an extended time with all stars, as all of the level 1 powers can be dodges as well as the majority of the level 2. Agreed some of the characters are over powered (cough *kratos* cough) but a patch will easily fix that problem, the majority of games released need patching so stop complaining . All stars isn't perfect by far but its a great game an is worth your time an money Expand
  88. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This game is AMAZING!!!! At first, I didn't fully appreciate the game for it's depth; as will most people, but I promise that the more you play, the more you will enjoy it. The game plays nothing like smash (sorry, had to mention it). Besides for the similar button lay-out and 2-D gameplay. Besides that, they are completely different games. The story isn't too strong, but the multiplayer is where it shines. The game plays on a "super" system which is a blast to play around with and has deep combo systems. The characters are really balanced and each feel wholly unique (even with cole and evil cole). Don't judge a book by it's cover and overlook it as just another smash rip-off. This game is fun and the more you play it, THE MORE FUN IT GETS. Expand
  89. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game has fully lived up to my expectations (AND MORE!) I found the story mode (while not ABSOLUTELY PERFECT) pretty cool since each characters cutscenes felt like that is how it would be like in each of their respective games. With tons of modes for you to get into and really learn the ins and outs of this game as well as be able to practice with your favourite characters (That are all very unique and balanced, those who say otherwise just need to practice more and develop strategies in order to combat a character dubbed "OP") and truly be able to use them effectively. But the real fun is in the multiplayer! both online AND offline, it is super fun, deep and addictive and the more I play, the more I enjoy this game! There are MANY MANY moments within this game that get so intense and I'm like "DAMN, you got me there, but I'm gonna get you next time!". The multiplayer is really amazing with each character having their own distinct playstyles to them which is truly spectacular (ESP in 2v2 where you can combine 2 characters playstyles and use it to your advantage to take out the competition). But that's not all boys and girls (I'm REALLY loving Sweet Tooth in this game), as this game has ALOT of unlockables that will keep you busy for months and months to come! and this games customization features are really good as well! being able to customize my profile so that people recognize who they are dealing with online every time they see my profile card is just great! I absolutely love this game and can't wait to get the DLC that they will release for it! there is literally nothing that I DON'T like about this game! (sure it has its bugs here and there, but I know Superbot will fix them, plus they don't really bother me that much, so it doesn't hinder my experience at all)...YOU HAVE GOT TO GET THIS GAME! Expand
  90. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    I love this game, the gameplay is great, graphics are good for what it is and levelling up is addictive. The issue with it is, is that the game is so unbalanced. Cratos is rediculasly overpowered and I can't stress over powered enough and sir Daniel is near useless. I just found out that an update is coming to make only sack boy less powerful and he is one of the weaker characters! Another complaint is that the supposed "story mode" has pretty much no story. A positive though is cross buy and cross play with the vita works absolutely perfectly. If you have a vita and ps3 this is a great feature, being able to carry on your games progress from the ps3 on the go with the vita is something that is amazing to actually do. Overall it's a good game with addictive elements and seamless cross play but some frustrating issues holds it back from being any where near the standerd of its rival super smash bros. Expand
  91. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    Is a very nice game overall, very addictive and fun.
    The cons of the game are the following: The rooster is poor (quality) for what it could be and makes you feel "incomplete" and with a lot of economical problems for having it good, makes you think that Dante for example maybe wouldn't be there if it weren't for his new game.
    Smaller roster, they could have added more characters of the
    same game like they have done with Infamous.
    feeling that the game is "incomplete", they could have more costumes, the character screens contains holes obviosly for futher characters that probably make it if the 3rd party wants, but thats the feeling a "they could have...".
    The best:
    Feeling of using each character extremely well done, when i use Drake for example i feel his hit and run style like if i were playing Uncharted, same as Dante and his combo cancels.
    Cool stages with lots of details.
    Very fun and addictive multiplayer.
    Expand
  92. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    weel there isn't enuf guns and bulletz and the little purlbpe girl gived me a boner so i caunlt play in frant of mom so i plaid cratos and noothin drak because sony has deep charactrs like "Kill all blood gore!" and "Explore kill all!"
  93. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I give this game a 9 but I'm getting tired of the comments that rate this game 0. This game is really fun and stop comparing it to SSB, SSB has many games out and this is the first game of PlayStation All Stars so of course it's not going be the best. POSITIVES: -Fun game play -Final boss is awesome -It can actually find players (Unlike SSB) -Lots of DLC -A wide arrange of characters
    -Easy trophies (For those who really want trophies)
    -PlayStation exclusive (Common Xbox, PlayStation rules!)
    -Amazing backgrounds
    -Great fighting styles
    -A way to show off things you've unlocked

    NEGATIVES:
    -Players spam moves online
    -Story mode gets very boring and is kinda short
    -There isn't that much players who play online, so you might meet up with the same people
    Expand
  94. May 16, 2013
    7
    its a alright game its really fun with friends but its something we have seen before but its only 40 bucks so just get it and try it out i have like 10 hours in the game and its alright
  95. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    I have no problems with this game i dont know why people are complaining. The arcade mode is actually fun and the online is just great. I have no problem with the game and just give it a chance.
  96. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    So when a company tries to copy a game at least they try to make it good but this game just made me cry,
    the new kill system was worthless half the time all you were doing was button mashing just to get your meter up so you could finally kill someone. Then it comes to only 20 character, are you serious, i mean at least 30 but no 20 instead and then not just that but if you want more then
    you have to pay for them. this game just made me feel bad. Its not even selling well that just proves my point even more. The thing that affected the most was turning on the game and finding out that crash and spyro are not in the game.
    i would not recommend this game to anyone unless you just have a brother who will play anything no matter how bad it is
    Expand
  97. Dec 18, 2012
    7
    I wish I could claim that this brought all my PS fantasies to life. But NO. I think it's just as good as SS in many ways but it just does feel big enough. Do you know what I mean?
  98. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    It's good but it lacks not only characters and content but a health bar.... this is the worst decision to do this, because the game has become a choice of basically 3 characters with OP abilities that can kill you better. Not skill just, R2.
  99. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    I'll start this review saying that I'm a huge fan of the Super Smash Brothers franchise and have played all of them almost to infinity. Except Brawl. With that said, I have to say that this game is extremely enjoyable and...fun! Finally a fun and simple game to play with, without bothering super realistic mechanics of graphics (which are good), and just focuses on smacking enemies all around the arena. Just like Super Smash Brothers. Even if it's considered a "rip-off", I'll be honestly fair:: it does somethings differently, enough that it could be considered totally different; for instance, you don't throw your enemies away, but you actually have to kill them with a special skill: that changes some characters' mechanics and skills. The roster also is rather fun and has some nice choices (and some BAD choices too), although some characters aren't exactly fun to play with and are very hard to use...which is good! It gives some depth for some characters, in order to be used properly. Although, a lot of characters have too many ranged attacks, but since you have to use a skill, which is different per character (either range and speed etc), I honestly haven't seen that much unbalance like it should. It has also challenges that, even if silly and kinda uninteresting, they actually are good for training more your character in using the skills he has, so I can't say it's totally useless. Maybe just unappealing. It's not a flawless game, but even if flaws can be either big or small, I have one personal flaw that some may or may not agree: the roster itself. We got some iconic characters from the playstation world (well duh!), most of them are ok...but some are just...right. For instance...where's Crash? Spyro?! Lara Croft?!?!Dante (the white haired)?!!?! CLOUD!?! I just named a few "BIG" iconic characters from the Playstation world, and even if I'm not a big fan of most of these they are STILL important figures of the Playstation world that should have been inside from the very start. Instead, we get..."new dante" from DmC (even if not a fan of either new and old dante, this one is still my less favourite); the Fat Princess...from Fat Princess on PSP (no comment...), Raiden from Metal Gear Solid (....the name itself implies that the main character, is NOT Raiden), Radec from Killzone (really? Killzone? Is Call of Duty next?); Toro from that japanese game (Together Everywhere! it says. Never heard of it). Although, I admit that some other are actually good and I appreciate their addition (Spike from Ape Escape, Daniel from Medievil, Ratchet and Clank, Jak and Daxter, and my favourite: Sly Cooper!!!), the roster could have used a LOT more of iconic characters and I'm almost sure we gonna get more that won't be of our interest (I can almost see Lightning from Final Fantasy XIII in the future...). But it still has potential to deliver most of the iconic characters we loved and still love to this way...and that's what "makes" this game really. It has technical flaws, it can be considered whatever they think it is, it can be better in some other details, but I'm pretty sure that most of us are interested on the game mostly for the simple yet fun mechanics AND the characters themselves. It's like a dive into nostalgia and, as far I can see, the big reason to avoid this game, it's if you prefer more technical or more complex fighting games, with more realistic mechanics and just...more technical details. But if you like simple fighting games where you could bash others with few buttons together with friends just like old times (it has online, and it works...but it's BEST played offline with friends), I highly recommend to give it a try and try enjoying it for what it is. A simple and fun fighting game with your favourite characters of all time! Expand
  100. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, i'm not a fan of unrealistic fighters like this but i was blown away by the quality of this game, and i think it's kinda sad that some Nintendo fanboys are just giving it low scores calling it a clone or whatever, give this game a chance, it's not a clone, beleve me.
  101. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Why do people feel the need to sabotage the user review system? Just because you do not like certain aspects of the game, it does not mean the game deserves a 0. Similarly, I'm sure you may think the game is good, but that does not automatically make it worthy of a 10. You're all taking away from the credibility of the score.
    Anyway, I've been enjoying the game thoroughly so far. While at
    first I assumed you could just button mash your way to victory, I couldn't have been more wrong. The more you experiment with the game, the more you discover of the gameplay mechanics. There really is a hidden depth to it all.
    I do agree that the menus are a little bland, but I don't plan on spending a huge amount of time here, and they are very easy to navigate so I can't complain too much here. It is also a shame that there aren't all that many game modes, but I would likely be focusing most of my time on the multiplayer free for all and team deathmatch anyway, and I'm glad to say these are an absolute blast! Great game, and I expect I'll be spending countless hours with it to come, so well worth the investment in my personal opinion.
    Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    Playstation All-Stars battle Royale: Not the all-star moment everyone was hoping for, Playstation All-Stars battle Royale is instead a decent enough fighter with serious balance problems and a boring cast. [March 2013]
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    It adds that element of strategizing, especially in online play, where a player can knock out all three of their opponents in fell swoop. Plus, much to my amazement, a character I had no experience using won me my first online match – thank you, Jak.
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    Overall, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is mildly fun.