Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 479 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battle Royale is a brawler featuring a broad array of PlayStation characters and worlds. From Kratos to Sly Cooper, Sweet Tooth to Parappa the Rapper, Sony characters from throughout Sony history are brought together in a brawling adventure that's simple to pick up and tough to master. BringBattle Royale is a brawler featuring a broad array of PlayStation characters and worlds. From Kratos to Sly Cooper, Sweet Tooth to Parappa the Rapper, Sony characters from throughout Sony history are brought together in a brawling adventure that's simple to pick up and tough to master. Bring the battle online for competitive multiplayer fury, or go head to head with a group of opponents at your pad to prove who's the top dog. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    91
    Playstation All Stars Battle Royal is an amazing fighting game wrapped in an idea we have seen before. When it comes down to it, what makes a great game in any genre is balance and All Stars has it in droves. Although some will never see its brilliance, I would maintain that once played it could change the mind of many a sceptic. Add to this a return for some of Playstation's well missed characters and awesome value for money in Cross Buy and you have one of the most refreshing fighting games in years.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    89
    As a tribute to the PlayStation family it could have been better, but as a fighting game it's outstanding. Loads of fun based on a great multiplayer will have us playing for a long while.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    83
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale has a lot going for it. I find the single-player a tad disappointing, the learning curve can actually feel too steep for certain characters, and you may start hearing about various combat balancing issues (I'll bet money on that). But the control is rock solid, the entertainment is always of a certain quality with virtually no glaring flaws or drawbacks, the diversity and variety of the roster is absolutely fantastic, and the multiplayer could definitely attract a great many people.
  4. 80
    A tribute to the PlayStation fans that have supported the brand over the years, and whom have been eagerly awaiting a game like this since the advent of Smash Bros. SuperBot has delivered a game that embodies everything these iconic PlayStation franchises and characters offer, and it will surely make PlayStation fans proud.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    75
    All-Stars is clearly similar to Smash Bros., especially because it's far more fun to play with friends. Solo, it quickly becomes repetitive and doesn't give you much reason to continue. If you have company over, however, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale can be a lot of chaotic fun.
  6. Battle Royale is an otherwise tightly designed and technically accomplished fighting game. Consulting our crystal balls – not a euphemism – we see it acquiring a small but dedicated following on the tournament scene. It'll never be as big as Street Fighter or Tekken, but it'll always be present on the periphery. [Christmas 2012, p.70]
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    20
    The constant parallels to Super Smash Bros. eventually undermine Playstation All-Stars, which has nowhere near the generosity, enthusiasm, or longevity of a Super Smash Bros.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 200
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. ThisFor real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    I'm a HUGE fan of Super Smash Bros. BIG fan. They are my "Go To" fighting games especially when I have a group of friends over. But that allI'm a HUGE fan of Super Smash Bros. BIG fan. They are my "Go To" fighting games especially when I have a group of friends over. But that all changed with PlayStation All Stars. It's unanimous across the board with all my friends. It is far better in every aspect.In Smash Bros. you don't really have to be in the heat of battle to win. You can camp edges and troll opponents with high percentage and do very little attacking to actually win a fight. PlayStation All Stars does not favor those players in any sort of way. If you want to win, you have to be in the battle attacking. You have to actually be contributing to the fight or you will not even come close to winning. PASBR benefits the players who are skilled with the character they have chosen. It also has one thing above Smash Bros. DIVERSITY. Nearly every character in PASBR plays so differently than the other. If you play about 5 characters in any of the Smash Bros, you have the mechanics for all the other characters that will play exactly the same as the others. All of the characters are so insanely unique in PASBR. They all stand alone with their own unique moves. Much much much more challenging and is far more engaging than Smash Bros. Don't get me wrong, I still and will always love Super Smash, but PlayStation All Stars is far more superior. It is definitely for more aggressive gamers. If you're not an aggressive gamer, you can always go back to camping edges and trolling high percentage players in smash bros. PlayStation All Stars takes some serious skill. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Fun game and I look forward to seeing more from this series in the future. Most of the other reviews that give this game a bad ratingFun game and I look forward to seeing more from this series in the future. Most of the other reviews that give this game a bad rating describe things that are just not true such as being a quick time event and a rehashing of the same game each year. For one their are no annoying quick time events and this is the first entry in the PS allstars series. Also it is not a blatant Smash Bros. copy it is more complex than smash and closer to traditional fighters while still being fun and easy to jump into. The system of wining by kills which is different from other games may seem strange at first but it just works out in the end and will give matches a more entertaining feel and weight to them. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Wow i see a lot of hate in this. Giving a zero to a game? Seriously a zero? i understand a 4 but a 0 coming from people that just give 10's toWow i see a lot of hate in this. Giving a zero to a game? Seriously a zero? i understand a 4 but a 0 coming from people that just give 10's to nintendo and wii games is just lame. This is not about a console war, but about giving fair ratings to the games. If you didn't played it or you just don't like the Playstation just don't rate the games and come back for the nintendo. I like this game, it's not perfect but i have a lot of fun playing it on multiplayer and solo. And playing with some of my favorite characters of my loved games is just awesome. And again Kratos came and kicked-ass in this game. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    the game has most of the elements of a Nintendo "you know what" game but makes changes significant enough to be a game of its own. Its Singlethe game has most of the elements of a Nintendo "you know what" game but makes changes significant enough to be a game of its own. Its Single player or 1 on 1 matches are probably its weakest points with poor story telling (as expected for a fighter) using still images and narrative and little variety in combat. The roster feels a little on the slim side spanning around 20 characters from different franchises within the Playstation legacy. Also, some people may be put off by the choice made to make super moves the only method of killing your opponent. Those are the problems i generally have with the game.

    Now that's out of the way, i feel the game is terrific in a party setting, if you can get 3 other people in the game your in for a hell of a good time. Though the roster is fairly small for this type of game, they are very well balanced and diverse(besides good/evil cole). Replacing the Ring outs with super only kills wasn't exactly the greatest idea for the game but i feel that it does it in a way where it requires you to plan and manage yourself in a match. you have 3 supers stages you can do and in order to charge up those supers you have to deal damage with your normal attacks so you don't take damage but if you don't land hits you cant do any supers. Despite what some reviewers say the emphasis in normal attacks are definitely there. Also each stage of super dictates how difficult it will be to actually land it on someone. If you use level 1 supers you will learn that they are not easy to land, so you need to be smart about how you use them unless you don't mind charging that gauge to do it a bunch of times. 2nd level is more persistent but can still be avoided while the 3rd usually guarantees 1-2 kills just keep in mind it takes much longer to get to level 2 and 3 so be ready to dodge a lot of 1st levels if you choose to take either of those routes.

    The stages were nicely done as well, the obstacles they throw at you can greatly affect the way you approach someone as sometimes the stage can knock your super gauge down and turn the tides with or against your favor. The mixes made between franchise themes made in each stage is also weird but funny at the same time. Fans of the Sony Franchise are likely to appreciate them, especially the Buzz trivia level where your knowledge of their history will determine how well you do in the level. Overall as i say it is a fantastic game with friends, the added value of getting the Vita version of the game for free (the game is literally identical to this version!)is a bigger plus. This is a game i can definitely recommend to anyone who is into this type of fighter.
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    7
    Save some cash and get a real party game. Smash bros... If you already have it and are getting wore out then this might be for you. FamilySave some cash and get a real party game. Smash bros... If you already have it and are getting wore out then this might be for you. Family night is smash bros night. Well gonna see how the kids are to this but from just solo play it is a clone. Items seem more added on rather then game changers but its a welcome addition to Family and friends party nights. I really wish they would have tossed in an assassin. They fit a big daddy in there and it started as 360 so yeah. But that aside im pleased with the choices. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I just can't express my disappointment enough with this game! So here is my review: GRAPHICS: For a PS3 game that has some of the mostI just can't express my disappointment enough with this game! So here is my review: GRAPHICS: For a PS3 game that has some of the most iconic characters in gaming history, it also has some of the most bland, simplistic, and uninspiring visuals I have seen in a long time. Anyone would think that a game of this caliber would show off what the PS3 is capable of doing...but is this truly a PS3 title? or more like a Vita mediocre game ported to the PS3!?
    AUDIO: Well no matter how bad a game can be, the sound is pretty hard to mess up. With that said the sound is proper but not memorable.
    GAMEPLAY: This is where I have to say DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY...although this is NO CLONE to MASH BROTHERS, you will wish it was. This game is plagued by so many under developed gameplay ideas not to mention how badly UNBALANCED this title is...it will irritate you to no end....is it me or these characters have a "floating motion" every time you jump or get hit.!? BOTTOM LINE: With Uninspiring visuals and lack of character detail, an OK audio, and Under developed gameplay ideas I have to say I do regret my purchase....this game needs a day 1 patch right away, but I doubt the graphics can be redone to make them worth of the title "ALL STARS".
    Expand

See all 200 User Reviews