• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 5, 2011
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 15 out of 23
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    60
    Ape Escape is quite funny, but the gameplay is too repetitive and boring to keep you motivated.
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    60
    In conclusion, Ape Escape provides a relatively short game for the gamer and doesn't add anything new to the franchise nor makes good use of the Move capabilities. It's unfortunately one of those stock standard Move games that seems to be the go at the moment.
  3. Jul 8, 2011
    56
    A disappointing game, that although succeeds in being a game for all types of public, is too repetitive and has a very limited cooperative gameplay.
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    55
    It still manages to feel hackneyed and ignorable. [Issue#208, p.89]
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    52
    Long-term Ape fans will be disappointed. [Sept 2011, p.92]
  6. It feels like Ape Escape is a curio from times past. [Sept 2011, p.111]
  7. 50
    It's a shame where the series has headed lately, and fans should skip out on PlayStation Move Ape Escape altogether.
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    50
    With a super-casual experience Japan Studio ruined the name of Ape Escape. Game feel funny only for a couple of minutes and then sink into a spiral of boredom and frustration.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    единственнаяединственная нормальная игра на эту парашу пс 3, озон и ваномас мрази =* Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    this is NOT ape escape. Ape escape is about freedom and catching monkeys. Its about using the dualshock analog controller. NOT about using athis is NOT ape escape. Ape escape is about freedom and catching monkeys. Its about using the dualshock analog controller. NOT about using a dumb stick to move the gadgets around. This game is trash. I cant BELIEVE they used time they could of used for ape escape 4 on this hunk of trash. I want my money back sony. Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    I am really surprised why you have rated this game so low. Of course it is not a must-have production, but just an entertainment to fulfillI am really surprised why you have rated this game so low. Of course it is not a must-have production, but just an entertainment to fulfill short time. Yes, the goals are almost the same, but I could really enjoy 20-30 minute`s sessions with Ace Escape. If you don`t predict a lot from that game, you can be surprised how much fun it it gonna give you. I paid for that about 3000JPY, which means about 28 USD and I do not regret. I am sure I will be back to Ace Escape after tiring day at work or during relaxing days at home for make me a good mood. Full Review »