Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 15 out of 23
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    60
    Ape Escape is quite funny, but the gameplay is too repetitive and boring to keep you motivated.
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    60
    In conclusion, Ape Escape provides a relatively short game for the gamer and doesn't add anything new to the franchise nor makes good use of the Move capabilities. It's unfortunately one of those stock standard Move games that seems to be the go at the moment.
  3. Jul 8, 2011
    56
    A disappointing game, that although succeeds in being a game for all types of public, is too repetitive and has a very limited cooperative gameplay.
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    55
    It still manages to feel hackneyed and ignorable. [Issue#208, p.89]
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    52
    Long-term Ape fans will be disappointed. [Sept 2011, p.92]
  6. It feels like Ape Escape is a curio from times past. [Sept 2011, p.111]
  7. 50
    It's a shame where the series has headed lately, and fans should skip out on PlayStation Move Ape Escape altogether.
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    50
    With a super-casual experience Japan Studio ruined the name of Ape Escape. Game feel funny only for a couple of minutes and then sink into a spiral of boredom and frustration.
  9. Jul 26, 2011
    48
    The return of the apes could be fun, but the problem is that the gameplay is way to repetitive, the game is also pretty quick completed and it doesn't really have any variations in the gameplay. The PlayStation Move support, which is working perfectly, could have been used a lot more, but the developer failed to do it.
  10. Jul 16, 2011
    45
    Ape Escape Move is actually a mini-game because even for an on-rails shooter this game is short. The gameplay is way too easy, creating a very boring experience. After a few hours you'll toss this out of the window and play one of the better Move games available.
  11. Jul 5, 2011
    45
    The slow, frustrating and difficult ride that is Ape Escape is another in a long line of failures of titles trying to moot the need for PlayStation Move.
  12. 40
    Not even nicely suited apes are able to save this repetitive, visually obsolete and boring game. You better get drunk before trying this ape hunt. [Issue#207]
  13. Aug 7, 2011
    40
    Move Ape Escape keeps the charm but loses the fun from its goofy predecessors.
  14. Jul 29, 2011
    40
    A wasted opportunity to show off Move control. [Sept 2011, p.102]
  15. Jul 11, 2011
    40
    Despite it's name and lineage, Ape Escape is just a simple and boring "on-rail shooter" that doesn't deserve your attention.
  16. Jul 11, 2011
    40
    Short, boring and not very inspired. This is exactly what we feared about Move: a rerun of Wii's worst mistakes.
  17. Jul 9, 2011
    40
    An embarrassing, shovelware shooter that feels more like a bargain bin Wii title than a first party affair.
  18. Jul 5, 2011
    40
    Ape Escape was the first game to require the use of a DualShock controller on the original PlayStation, but this new PS3 episode won't be as important to PlayStation history as his illustrious predecessor was. It's a repetitive rail shooter where you switch from butterfly net to catapult to fan in order to capture monkeys and get as much bananas as possible, but it's mainly aimed at younger kids. With its nice animated sequences and a fair game mechanic, parents can offer it safely, but the lack of a multiplayer mode to share the experience and the overall lack of variety are hard to forgive.
  19. Jun 27, 2011
    40
    As it is, this feels like it could just be a re-skin of any one of a dozen poor quality Wii shovelware titles that we all feared when Sony's Move controller was first showcased and we would have difficulty endorsing that kind of product to anyone but the youngest, most easily amused.
  20. Jun 27, 2011
    40
    An acceptable enough lightgun game, but a poor Ape Escape title. More importantly it's still no reason to own a PlayStation Move.
  21. Aug 8, 2011
    30
    Even at a budget price point, this is one slip-up that can't be blamed on banana skins. [Issue#112, p.120]
  22. Jul 3, 2011
    30
    Ape Escape for the PS3 is a title that turns your Move into a fan and the avid fan into a disappointed person. A year ago, Sony promised us that they would not just use Move for braindead titles where we just wave it around like fools. But this is precisely one of those titles, and even though Ape Escape with its 15 levels is quite short, it's still terribly boring.
  23. Jun 29, 2011
    30
    The original Ape Escape was charming and innovative, but this entry is as basic as motion gaming gets. What really hurts is that there's no reason why Ape Escape couldn't have been the game to take the waggle genre to the next level, if only it had a bit more passion behind it.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    единственная нормальная игра на эту парашу пс 3, озон и ваномас мрази =* Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    this is NOT ape escape. Ape escape is about freedom and catching monkeys. Its about using the dualshock analog controller. NOT about using a dumb stick to move the gadgets around. This game is trash. I cant BELIEVE they used time they could of used for ape escape 4 on this hunk of trash. I want my money back sony. Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    I am really surprised why you have rated this game so low. Of course it is not a must-have production, but just an entertainment to fulfill short time. Yes, the goals are almost the same, but I could really enjoy 20-30 minute`s sessions with Ace Escape. If you don`t predict a lot from that game, you can be surprised how much fun it it gonna give you. I paid for that about 3000JPY, which means about 28 USD and I do not regret. I am sure I will be back to Ace Escape after tiring day at work or during relaxing days at home for make me a good mood. Full Review »