User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 808 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 808

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2011
    2
    Come on people for how long are we gonna take this crap, 60 bucks for 5 hours. The critics are also getting more unbelievable every day, and most of us get fooled by them. The game industry with its greed, and lust for domination, is crumbling more and more everyday.
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    I was waiting for this game for about a year. I am a big fan of the original portal.Actually the game is OK, but it is not a sandbox anymore like Portal 1. Everything is scripted. If you throw the cube it will 100% fall in the right place, the portal will open in right place, laser beam will hit its target, etc. This is why I do not like portal 2. From the other side, the game is good. A+I was waiting for this game for about a year. I am a big fan of the original portal.Actually the game is OK, but it is not a sandbox anymore like Portal 1. Everything is scripted. If you throw the cube it will 100% fall in the right place, the portal will open in right place, laser beam will hit its target, etc. This is why I do not like portal 2. From the other side, the game is good. A+ high quality puzzle. Levels are hard enough but not too hard. Interesting plot. My mark is 0 only because it is too scripted. I loved portal 1, and I hoped portal 2 would be the same... Collapse
  3. May 27, 2011
    1
    This game infuriates me. The original is one of my all time favorites, but this one takes a game that was about strategy and turns it into a game where you spend most your time searching for that one spot that you are able to create a portal just so you can progress. The environments are not as appealing, the new droid with a British accent is lame (but the original GladOS still kicksThis game infuriates me. The original is one of my all time favorites, but this one takes a game that was about strategy and turns it into a game where you spend most your time searching for that one spot that you are able to create a portal just so you can progress. The environments are not as appealing, the new droid with a British accent is lame (but the original GladOS still kicks ass) and to be honest I have to force myself to play and get through the levels. It's simply not fun, engaging, or compelling. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    As good as Portal 2 was, I just wanted a little more...
    .
    The single player campaign was really quite good but felt lacking in some areas, maybe some of the sections got tedious around the middle of the game but overall it was pretty good. The Co-op was alright but the story was lacking and didn't really inspire much thought. This game probably deserves an 7 but to even it out i'm
    As good as Portal 2 was, I just wanted a little more...
    .
    The single player campaign was really quite good but felt lacking in some areas, maybe some of the sections got tedious around the middle of the game but overall it was pretty good.

    The Co-op was alright but the story was lacking and didn't really inspire much thought.

    This game probably deserves an 7 but to even it out i'm giving it a 0.
    Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2012
    3
    wth!? why the 9.5!!? seriously, im a big fan of portal, such a good interactive and brainy game, but no storyline, no characters, no of nothing, seriously overrated game
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    0
    I don't know what happened there, from Portal to Portal 2, but what I experience is not what I expected. GLADOS lost her uniqueness. "Helping you help us help you help us all" compared to fat and "your parents don't love you" jokes speak a clear language. Graphically there is nothing to complain, but the audio work is extraordinary great! Still, the gameplay has flaws! Not the puzzles!I don't know what happened there, from Portal to Portal 2, but what I experience is not what I expected. GLADOS lost her uniqueness. "Helping you help us help you help us all" compared to fat and "your parents don't love you" jokes speak a clear language. Graphically there is nothing to complain, but the audio work is extraordinary great! Still, the gameplay has flaws! Not the puzzles! They are great! But that world just doesn't fit in. Glados beeing an idiot? WTF were you thinking? GLADOS is a passive aggressive machine ffs. Why is it human all of a sudden? Who cares about a human? It's all about an uncontrolled machine that wreaks heavoc over human habits. 0 compare to a flawless 10 from Portal. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    I was waiting for this game for about a year. I am a big fan of the original portal.Actually the game is OK, but it is not a sandbox anymore like Portal 1. Everything is scripted. If you throw the cube it will 100% fall in the right place, the portal will open in right place, laser beam will hit its target, etc. This is why I do not like portal 2. From the other side, the game is good. A+I was waiting for this game for about a year. I am a big fan of the original portal.Actually the game is OK, but it is not a sandbox anymore like Portal 1. Everything is scripted. If you throw the cube it will 100% fall in the right place, the portal will open in right place, laser beam will hit its target, etc. This is why I do not like portal 2. From the other side, the game is good. A+ high quality puzzle. Levels are hard enough but not too hard. Interesting plot. My mark is 0 only because it is too scripted. I loved portal 1, and I hoped portal 2 would be the same... Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 continues the original's model, both in terms of gameplay and humor, and reviewing it poses just as many challenges. So let's just get this out of the way right now: Portal 2 is videogame nirvana for the thinking man.
  2. 100
    Portal 2 is an instant classic, a driver of innovation and originality, where everything is far from settled by the law of the bullet, but within the limits of physics.
  3. That Valve has been able to imbue so much depth to what is, at its heart, a sophisticated puzzle game proves once again it's not the genre that counts. It's the talent. Combine it with a superb physics-based game mechanic and you've got an experience that defies easy categorisation and can be recommended without reservation. [June 2011 p.67]