User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 93
  2. Negative: 9 out of 93

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    6
    If you are a fan of the original Prince of Persia games, this game is for you. Has that classic Prince of Persia: Sands feel with next generation visuals. The combat and animation is a bit stiff, but overall its a nice throwback to how the series used to be. I loved the visuals and landscapes, opening was really cool. If you liked the Prince of Persia Sands games, I'd recommend this game to you else you might not enjoy it because it doesn't really do anything revolutionary to the series. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    An amazing platformer with some average combat is what I could say to shorten this review down by a lot, but i'm not. The newest entry to the Prince Of Persia series lives up to all expectations, climbing is tense and is a satisfying core gameplay mechanic, combat see's you take on lots of enemy's in one go, the story is pants and it overall feels like a solid game. Like I said climbing and using your ability's to smoothly over-come obstacles that normal humans would find impossible is brilliant fun. But unfortunately as the name suggests the game was soon forgotten despite how awesome it actually is. It had little problems yes, such as the combat being not as good as say Assassins Creed and the story was quite dull, but it is a very good game worthy of every pound and pence. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! game.. One of the Best games in the Prince of persia series.. Very underrated! I dont get how people hate it, if you actually finished the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like hack'n'Slash/adventure games
  4. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    One of the Best games in the Prince of persia series.. Its soooooo underrated! I hate how everybody says this game sucks or its boring, i mean if you actually finished the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like hack'n'Slash/adventure games
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    6
    Forgotten Sands was the suprise game for me in 2010. I got it cheap and gived it a go. For me, it's the best in Prince of Persia series, while its more easier it has better gameplay too. Controls, graphics are better then any title in Prince of Persia games before. Game lasts about 8-10 hours but it's very enjoyful time. Decent game with a decent story and good gameplay. It isn't a game of score 10 but it's a short, nice game to play through. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    If you like platforming games then this is the game for you! From start to finish this game impresses from game play to graphics to basically everything else. The final boss fight (not going to give away any spoilers) was one of the best things I have ever seen in any game, it combined the great combat and platforming the series is well known for perfectly. The new powers the Prince has in the Forgotten Sands also add a lot to the game and a linear but good story line also is also present here. The only problem in the game was that it was short, it is approximately a 9 hour game, depending on how good you are at figuring out puzzles (which are amazing in this game). Saying that I just recommend this game would be an understatement, this is one of my favourite games of all time. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This is, by about the size of Russia, My favorite, and what I think BEST, game i have ever played because the graphics are jaw-dropping, so is the game-play and the enjoyment, 2 words, BUY IT
  8. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Not having played any POP in about 20 years I thought I would give Forgotten Sands a go. The overview is that it is easy on the eye, fun to play. Agreed the game can be a little monotonous at time but fills a weekend nicely. More than happy with my purchase :)
  9. Sep 12, 2011
    8
    Short, simple and easy but definitely fun. While this game brings no real innovation to the series (or platformers in general) the game still manages to be a pure joy to play from start to finish. The platforming segments and level design is of top quality, the combat, while simplistic, is also very fun and satisfying.

    With a new story completely separate from past games this is a great
    entry in the series for newcomers and existing fans alike. Expand
  10. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    skvela hra ale ma par chyp a jedno miste me flusrovalo a lepsi hra byla prince of persi sands of time pak byl podle ni film a podle neho tato hra skvele zabavi mladsi hrace do 15 asi
  11. Feb 5, 2011
    7
    Forgotten Sands was a surprisingly pleasant experience. I originally bought this game expecting nothing more than an abomination but I walked away happy with my $15.00 purchase. The game has a simple enough battle system where you can quickly start punching face right away without any struggle. My only annoyance about the fighting system is that the command to jump followed by jumping upon a target is not refined enough to my liking. I ended flying by enemies countless times. The puzzles are fun and gathering the "Sarcophagi" throughout the game came to be a pleasant hunt. The story is nothing special and the ending was lackluster. I was able to gather all my trophies in one play-through with doing the trials after I beat the game. Whether you are looking for an easy platinum or just want a way to kill 8 hours without bashing your head into a wall by the stupidity of a game, I would recommend purchasing this game used. Expand
  12. Feb 1, 2011
    7
    A pretty enjoyable title that is affected by a short story, very simple controls and a fair bit of repetition. The only mildly challenging part of the game are the puzzles but these are few and far between even with the short story. What impressed me most about the game is the way it keeps you going though despite its drawbacks. I played this for several hours straight and managed to get the platinum trophy within 2 days. A very enjoyable but predictable story, not the best game out there but nowhere near the worst either. Good for a rent and a relaxing session of gaming. Expand
  13. Dec 2, 2010
    8
    Forgotten Sands takes what could have been and even appears to be a cash in to make an extra buck off of the POP file (which is rubbish by the way) from 2010 but ends up offering more than expected. That is to say however that if you didn't care for any of the POP games from last gen, this one won't change your mind, but if you are a fan however the game has plenty to offer. Albeit, there could have been more to offer if it was given more time in development but in the end, it has little new to offer, however it takes what already has been done and does it well with a few little twists. If you are looking for the next big thing for POP this isn't it, but if you're a fan and were dissapointed by the Prince's first Current gen outing and wanted to see the prince you know and love from the ps2 and xbox days in HD, than this is well worth your time. Expand
  14. LBC
    Sep 8, 2010
    6
    Forgotten Sands is an enjoyable game, but it really just feels like an HD remake of the Sands of Time games. I was annoyed by the lack of variation in enemies throughout the game and by the overly simplified combat. I give Prince of Persia 2008 more credit than this game simply because it tried to go in a different direction. If you're a PoP fan, by all means get this game. Otherwise, a rental will do. It's a very short game. Collapse
  15. LBC
    Sep 8, 2010
    0
    Forgotten Sands is an enjoyable game, but it really just feels like an HD remake of the Sands of Time games. I was annoyed by the lack of variation in enemies throughout the game and by the overly simplified combat. I give Prince of Persia 2008 more credit than this game simply because it tried to go in a different direction. If you're a PoP fan, by all means get this game. Otherwise, a rental will do. It's a very short game. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    50
    Prince of Persia is a great series with a lot of potential, but the developers just didn't hit the mark with this entry.
  2. The Prince makes a triumphant return to his roots in The Forgotten Sands, and all of your fears of this being a rushed game to simply be released alongside the movie can be abolished; we'll put that one down to good timing.
  3. 70
    In the end, though, there's only so much we can praise an exercise in teaching old dogs old tricks. Forgotten Sands is exactly one step back for one step forward. Let's hope a flying leap is on the way.