User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 87
  2. Negative: 14 out of 87
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2010
    7
    After many years finally PES seems to follow the right track of...evolution. It's evident that Konami got the message of the fans about the decline of the once dominant footy franchise. The result is a better game than PES 2010 but still, a game of many problems. Robotic animations, non-realistic keepers, poor refs, annoying bugs, AI glitches, still haunt the game, preventing other niceAfter many years finally PES seems to follow the right track of...evolution. It's evident that Konami got the message of the fans about the decline of the once dominant footy franchise. The result is a better game than PES 2010 but still, a game of many problems. Robotic animations, non-realistic keepers, poor refs, annoying bugs, AI glitches, still haunt the game, preventing other nice touches (better presentation, passing system & stadium editor) to really shine. PES 2011 is hopefully the start of something good for the game in the future but it plays as an arcade game rather than a simulation and in the end, falls short to the competition in almost every category. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2010
    5
    5/10 - It's truly a shame, because underneath the awful match engine is a great game begging to be enjoyed. I just can't bring myself to overlook the actual gameplay.

    Pro Evo has been off the boil for a couple of years now, and after playing the 2011 demo I thought they had finally returned to form, but after buying a retail copy I am constantly finding myself disappointed. The shooting
    5/10 - It's truly a shame, because underneath the awful match engine is a great game begging to be enjoyed. I just can't bring myself to overlook the actual gameplay.

    Pro Evo has been off the boil for a couple of years now, and after playing the 2011 demo I thought they had finally returned to form, but after buying a retail copy I am constantly finding myself disappointed. The shooting is awful, the camera angles are confusing (what the hell is wrong with a standard side-on angle?), and the whole system for selecting a new player to control is just broken. For a start there is no manual setting. It actually makes free kicks impossible defend. I positioned a guy on the goal line, and the computer kicked it directly at my guy. The game thought it would be a good idea to autoswitch me to a guy in the wall, and the player on the line decided to slide under the free kick.

    Through balls either seem to go directly to feet (thus not being 'through' at all) or straight off the pitch. And the only accessible online mode is 1v1 one-off rated matches. Despite having every port open on my router, I get nothing but error messages whenever I try to play online master league or a championship.

    All in all I've had the game 2 days, and never intend to play it again. I consider it a total waste of £35, and the only reason I'm giving it 5 instead of 4 is because the modes themselves are actually decent. Master League is as good as it's ever been, and the feints system makes for some genuinely unique styles among different players online.
    Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    6
    Rigid animations, robotic players, confusing Line-Up menu, inability of scoring goals...
    That is a huge step backward for Konami, who once again is far away behind FIFA in Football simulation.
  4. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    This is still much weaker than Ps2 masterpieces....but in competition with previous years disasters its much better.......sound is steel just passable and graphics is just ok and we better not to talkabout licencing... but famous players faces are pretty similar and short and long passing system is very good... gameplay is a little slow but its close to reallity.
  5. Jan 12, 2011
    6
    Having played both Fifa 11 and PES 11, i find this year's installment of PES to be a significantly improved game compared to last year's. I still find the fifa series more realistic, everything about it seems like real football (soccer) , as with pes, the way players move seem very robotic and awkward, the ball physics aren't quite right and half the players in the game don't looksHaving played both Fifa 11 and PES 11, i find this year's installment of PES to be a significantly improved game compared to last year's. I still find the fifa series more realistic, everything about it seems like real football (soccer) , as with pes, the way players move seem very robotic and awkward, the ball physics aren't quite right and half the players in the game don't looks anything like there real life counterparts. All in all, its a decent football game that is fun for a while but im afraid fifa is still the better of the two. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2011
    5
    I was disappointed for this game. I am a huge fifa gamer and ditch pes for fifa everytime. but i pick this game as i heard about good reviews for this pes2011. you know what. don't trust the reviews . It is bad. I dislike the the passing,shooting although the crosses is outrageously interesting. However, it is still playable and champions league campaign is decent. Still, whatever it is, II was disappointed for this game. I am a huge fifa gamer and ditch pes for fifa everytime. but i pick this game as i heard about good reviews for this pes2011. you know what. don't trust the reviews . It is bad. I dislike the the passing,shooting although the crosses is outrageously interesting. However, it is still playable and champions league campaign is decent. Still, whatever it is, I am going to stick to fifa from now happens...Fifa the better game Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    5
    What has happened to PES? The jump from PS2 to PS3 seems to have taken the series backwards rather than forwards! On the PS2 PES dominated the war between themselves and FIFA. Year in, year out. But now, PES has been left adrift as FIFA continues to dominate proceedings. There is good news. This years PES is a considerable improvement on last years appalling outing. They have listened andWhat has happened to PES? The jump from PS2 to PS3 seems to have taken the series backwards rather than forwards! On the PS2 PES dominated the war between themselves and FIFA. Year in, year out. But now, PES has been left adrift as FIFA continues to dominate proceedings. There is good news. This years PES is a considerable improvement on last years appalling outing. They have listened and they have addressed some of the issues but the fact is PES still has a long way to go if they are to win back their crown. The fact is for all the positives (Player likeness, smooth passing system and a fresh editing system) the negatives continue to hinder any significant progress. PES still has poor referees, dodgy goalkeepers, terrible AI glitches, sluggish animations and just abysmal commentary that doesn't interlink with whats going on. Combined with the fact that it takes so long to master, its a losing battle and its a shame because its preventing PES from challenging because as things stand right now FIFA have their hands firmly grasped round the trophy, are dominating procedures and are showing no signs of letting go. Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2011
    5
    Overall, a weak game with the same basic problems. When in possession with an AMC, your strikers will rarely make any runs at all. FIFA fixed this with L1/LB to force a run, but PES still lacks this. When at the side of the box ready to cross, your strikers will not get to the penalty area, instead, they stand on the edge of the box. Sometimes they will even run backwards when they are inOverall, a weak game with the same basic problems. When in possession with an AMC, your strikers will rarely make any runs at all. FIFA fixed this with L1/LB to force a run, but PES still lacks this. When at the side of the box ready to cross, your strikers will not get to the penalty area, instead, they stand on the edge of the box. Sometimes they will even run backwards when they are in a good position.

    When you do a low cross to your strikers, and it heads straight to their feet for a tap-in, the cursor often won't select them, so they just watch it go past, even when you're pressing shoot. When closing down with X, your player will often not even attempt a tackle and just let a player run past them.

    None of your players are able to control the ball quickly, or do anything with any finesse. It's very clunky and slow.

    The classic "Wide" camera view has a terrible swing to it, which is unadjustable like in previous PES's, and there are no good replay cameras. None of them give you the freedom to create your own angles/zooms like in FIFA and earlier PES's. Making subs and choosing a team lineup is a nightmare. It gives you a PC-style arrow to guide around, and you have to press L1/R1 just to see what positions they play in, which hides the circle which shows if they make the bench or not, and comparing players requires a press of Triangle, and you can't flick quickly to other players. It always changes up your substitutes, forcing a GK in, so you have to adjust it every time. PES is not a simulation of football like FIFA tries to be. It is a seperate entity all of its own. If you treat it as such, there are parts you will enjoy.â
    Expand
  9. Mar 19, 2012
    5
    It's almost impossible to shoot a penalty, the keepers can get some impossible balls, the menu is confusing, there is still a lot of teams missing on Libertadores Cup and some missing Leagues too... The Game Engine is good, the AI is harder, the graphics keep improving each year and the controls got better. Still a Must-Have game only because the FIFA franchise is the only competitor inIt's almost impossible to shoot a penalty, the keepers can get some impossible balls, the menu is confusing, there is still a lot of teams missing on Libertadores Cup and some missing Leagues too... The Game Engine is good, the AI is harder, the graphics keep improving each year and the controls got better. Still a Must-Have game only because the FIFA franchise is the only competitor in the market and it sucks. Expand
  10. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Un año mas Pro Evolution Soccer se queda por detrás de Fifa...y sin ser tan vistoso como en las consolas de la ps2, una lastima, porque su prometía mas que el 2010, aun así, corrigieron muchos fallos del juego, lo mejoraron bastante, Konami iba por buen camino, poco a poco se van integrando bien en ps3, pero a este paso...lograran asentarse con un PES decente cuando salga la siguienteUn año mas Pro Evolution Soccer se queda por detrás de Fifa...y sin ser tan vistoso como en las consolas de la ps2, una lastima, porque su prometía mas que el 2010, aun así, corrigieron muchos fallos del juego, lo mejoraron bastante, Konami iba por buen camino, poco a poco se van integrando bien en ps3, pero a este paso...lograran asentarse con un PES decente cuando salga la siguiente generación.... Expand
  11. Jul 14, 2015
    5
    Lo único que voy a decir de este juego es que cuando había una pelota dividida no se le podía pegar de primera. Ah y también el 90% de los centros bajos eran gol. Le pongo un 5 por cariño a la saga PES (?).
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    80
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2011 promised a revamp and it delivered in spades.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 14, 2011
    80
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jan 14, 2011
    89
    "Quotation Forthcoming"