Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 133
  2. Negative: 29 out of 133
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    This console generation is not generous with the Pes franchise. Despite that, Pes 2012 is the best Konami offered since Pes 5 or Pes 6... But the flaws are still here and some of the are breaking the game. Namely, the dreadful keepers, choppy animation & too-easy-to-score shots. The game flow is better than ever but the players are still robotic & again, please, fix the keepers. AlmostThis console generation is not generous with the Pes franchise. Despite that, Pes 2012 is the best Konami offered since Pes 5 or Pes 6... But the flaws are still here and some of the are breaking the game. Namely, the dreadful keepers, choppy animation & too-easy-to-score shots. The game flow is better than ever but the players are still robotic & again, please, fix the keepers. Almost every shot results in a spectacular or stupid goal when the keeper fumbles and 'serves' the ball to your incoming attacker. Bugs like AI sending the ball out of play with no reason at all, or the infamous run bug does not do justice to the revamped gameplay engine. Konami needs to think about hiring new stuff members or pray for better luck in the next gen machines as the "other" football game gets better and better. For a brighter note, if you enjoy fast arcade pick-up and play game, you should try Konami's offering Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    7
    hi! I own a copy pf pes 2012 i played it and my personalreview is:
    the GOOD:
    1.Great pass control improvement over the PeS2011 2.The PK`s nobody says anythingabout the horendous and Nightmare PK`s for 2011 i hate to use the sticks to shoot its so complicated fixed for pes 2012 thank GOD! 3.more dynamic gameplay! ... Ok now lets face it.. the BAD 1.The goalkeepers, i cant beleive how
    hi! I own a copy pf pes 2012 i played it and my personalreview is:
    the GOOD:
    1.Great pass control improvement over the PeS2011
    2.The PK`s nobody says anythingabout the horendous and Nightmare PK`s for 2011 i hate to use the sticks to shoot its so complicated fixed for pes 2012 thank GOD!
    3.more dynamic gameplay!
    ...
    Ok now lets face it.. the BAD

    1.The goalkeepers, i cant beleive how stupid they became on this version, i cant beleive That Chelsea`s Check cant save so easy shots!! its ridiculous! this is a nightmare...what where they thinking? u will know what im talking about once u have ur copy...

    2.The in game sound, how can i tell u when i use optical cable to conect to a DDIGITAL 7.1 BR home teather and i play the 2011 version at the same volume than the 2012 version, well i cant feel inmediatly the lack of quality on the 2012... so sad konami u need to do best with ur sound...

    as for pesonal i would like to ask konami to fix some details:

    1. like i no bench partnets visible cmon u can do this simple thing i dont care if they dont move i just want to see them.

    2.PLEASE PLEASE the goal`s post are are NOT made of WOOD, when the ball hits the goal post why does it sound like the player broke his BONE? i mean Cmon, on the first PS2 versions they sound like this too but then on the lastest versions u fixed this sound and turned in to a nice METAL POST sound, so why go back to WOOD sound again??? CMON!!
    when the refery finalyzes the game why cant he do the animation to put the whistle in his mouth, i can see this animation when the match begins, but why not when it ends???

    oh yes by the way, on the ps2 versions the additional time was increadibly well executed and actually the refery gave u more time to do a danger play ... here on PS3 additional time..is RIDICULOS......
    maybe im askingfor too much, but Im a fan since the ps1 versions, and here in MExico i pay like 85 USD to get my copy sales at 999MXP! so i think its not cheap for what i ask....

    Still i prefer this game over his competitor naybe FIFA has better graphis better sound and more licences , but the basic BALL movement still is so unreal and feels so un natural

    thank u for reading....
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    Eeeh, doesn't leave me breathless, but still OK. I mean, it's really easy to play even if it's on Legendary. I don't like how the players move, but the graphics are amazing. PES is still taking a dive, just like the previous 2 years. FIFA definitely has advantage this year, nothing unexpected. I think that KONAMI, doesn't have that much ideas any more, so the just advanced PES 2011. ItEeeh, doesn't leave me breathless, but still OK. I mean, it's really easy to play even if it's on Legendary. I don't like how the players move, but the graphics are amazing. PES is still taking a dive, just like the previous 2 years. FIFA definitely has advantage this year, nothing unexpected. I think that KONAMI, doesn't have that much ideas any more, so the just advanced PES 2011. It gets boring after a couple days. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    This is without doubt the best PES game released on the PS3 but it is still yet to reach the dizzy heights it achieved on the PS2. The game play has been completely overhauled and the result is really good allowing skills and great passes to result in fantastic goals. Fixing the problem that allows fast players to actually run clear and slow players not able to catch him was a definite andThis is without doubt the best PES game released on the PS3 but it is still yet to reach the dizzy heights it achieved on the PS2. The game play has been completely overhauled and the result is really good allowing skills and great passes to result in fantastic goals. Fixing the problem that allows fast players to actually run clear and slow players not able to catch him was a definite and very pleasing to see. Also the ability to customize your own personal set up even changing how close your passes go to the nearest player is a very welcome addition. The only real new criticism (the old one's remain, graphics, commentary, licenses) is they have perhaps made it too hard and the computer is so tough to break down. Overall a good game but just feels like its lacking something to make it great. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    I don't understat why Konami has avandoned this game... It used to be the best football game on consoles and PC but its quality is going under every year since PS3 and XBOX 360...
    This generation is not for Konami I guess...
    Maybe the next one...
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    is teh very boring is the evry monotoning game is the all games of football the moving is very difficult and the control the players is impossible :S sorry konami :S
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The graphics are stunning and the lack of licenses, compared to its rival FIFA, is somewhat compensated with the presence of UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and Copa Santander Libertadores. But when the game starts things seems a bit awkward. First, the rhythm of the game is annoyingly fast. Second, the team positioning is not compact as it should be. Defenders sit much deep andThe graphics are stunning and the lack of licenses, compared to its rival FIFA, is somewhat compensated with the presence of UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and Copa Santander Libertadores. But when the game starts things seems a bit awkward. First, the rhythm of the game is annoyingly fast. Second, the team positioning is not compact as it should be. Defenders sit much deep and attackers go forward, creating a huge empty space at the centre of the pitch. Some animations look stupid. But one thing in the game impressed me a lot. There are so many imprevisible manners to score a goal and all of them looks like it could have happen in a real match. Expand
  8. Oct 7, 2012
    7
    This successful football Evolution can blemish as the missing licenses and the average stadium atmosphere easily forgotten. Convinced Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 with a lot of dynamic, fast game play and an appealing look.
  9. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    For me, the worst pes in all times. Graphics? What is it? The game has the same graphics since pes 2010, arcade gameplay, not so realistic faces.... its not a evolution, its an update.
  10. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    Same formula over and over again. Good formula although. It becomes quickly repetitive and challenging (and frustrating) in higher difficulty. Only for those who love football. Yes football and not soccer (what a stupid name...).
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 6, 2012
    80
    So that's Pro Evo 12 – not massively different to Pro Evo 11, but enough of an improvement to warrant the upgrade. So far as comparisons to FIFA go, our view is that it is neither better nor worse, but simply... different. And that's just fine with us. [Dec 2011, p73]
  2. Play UK
    Nov 27, 2011
    74
    Drop the Football Life rubbish, please. [Issue#210, p.82]
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Nov 13, 2011
    90
    Arguably less fluid and immediate than its rival FIFA 12, PES 2012's superior single-player game is nevertheless deep, challenging and often outright magical. [Dec 2011, p.102]