Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is very much what its name implies, an evolution. Konami have taken off the gloves and issued a very strong challenge to EA; whether or not this will translate to actual sales is yet to be seen as this battle will be fought over the coming year.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    It deserves a wider audience, with Konami clearly having a corking engine on their hands in the Fox. Still, minor issues aside, this is a great way for the series to bow out on the current hardware.
  3. Oct 19, 2013
    88
    The best PES in years is intricate, addictive, and brilliantly realistic. [Dec 2013, p.60]
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    85
    PES 2014 really challenges the world of video game soccer games by implementing revised gaming mechanics and some impressive use of physics. It's a shame that the game does not have full licensing rights but if you're a fan of soccer, you really need to check this game out, especially for its local and online gameplay.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    Even though some long lasting problems -like the poor AI- are still here, the new edition of PES is one of the best representations of the "beautiful game".
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    85
    The game isn’t perfect, but it certainly comes recommended. To borrow one of football’s many clichés, PES 2014 is a great base from which the series can kick on to bigger and better things.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    85
    The new Fox Engine gives birth to a deep and engrossing soccer game. This is the best PES ever, but it still suffers from the comparison to its arch-rival FIFA in terms of licensing and options.
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    84
    And while that new foundation presents some huge benefits, particularly in terms of visuals, PES 2014 gets very close but never fully capitalises on that potential.
  9. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    It sacrifices little of the feel while introducing some new concepts that I hope stick around. While aspects like the bid to introduce emotion to players remains inconclusive and I'd like the developer refine its control scheme, for the first time in a while the future of the franchise is more exciting than its past.
  10. Sep 24, 2013
    82
    PES 2014 may not be the game that has the biggest advertisers, or the official licensing of the sport, but there is something very special and riveting about it. When other franchises are changing things just to change them, PES is holding onto tradition and, as any “Hooligan” will tell you, tradition matters most.
  11. Oct 20, 2013
    80
    PES 2014 leaps back into the conversation of where your soccer dollars should go after a few down years. With a bold new control scheme and a solid foundation based around the Fox Engine Konami will be a force going into the next generation.
  12. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    While it's still not quite at the same standard as FIFA, the Heart mechanic is an inspired addition, and if the franchise continues to follow its current trajectory, it could yet topple EA's giant in the years to come.
  13. PES still isn’t ‘better’ than FIFA, but by the golden boot of Beckham it’s the best one yet. [November 2013, p78]
  14. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    If you like that in-depth type of football/soccer gameplay, then you're going to find a lot of fun with Pro Evolution Soccer 2014. Just excuse its outer wrapper, which needs some major work.
  15. Sep 29, 2013
    80
    The debut of the Fox Engine signals exciting things to come for the series, already showing off some unique and realistic physics here. With improved player handling, new collision detection and the best visuals of the series, PES 2014 is simply another great soccer game.
  16. Sep 29, 2013
    80
    A slight step forward for a franchise that has struggled just behind the competition for almost a full console generation. Better ball and player physics plus improved player graphics for the top tier players brings something extra. Arena atmospheres are also great. Sadly the last PES of a generation is slightly marred by choppy frame rates.
  17. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Kojima's Fox Engine makes PES 2014 look pretty, but won't keep FIFA from crowning itself "footie of the year". The main culprits? An unhealthy amount of framedrops and once again a sore lack of licenses.
  18. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    It's almost tragic, really. Because, awful loading times and some smaller technical quibbles aside, on the field, this PES looks and feels just plain excellent.
  19. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    The MASS and TrueBall elements make the on-pitch gameplay feel authentic, while Heart makes games much more tense and interesting. It’s the things off the pitch that let down the game, as the commentary needs work, and the framerate issues need to be resolved.
  20. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Calling it a simulation doesn't quite feel right, but this captures the look and action of a football match better than anything else I've played.
  21. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    Off-field issues remain PES 2014's biggest problem, lacking that one killer game mode needed to overtake its main rival. However, the action on the pitch is the best it's ever been, rivalling and arguably surpassing that of FIFA, and setting up a tasty next-generation battle going forward.
  22. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The evolution is there, but we really feel like Konami could have used a couple of months to polish the product. Still, we believe this is the way for PES to be back, and we hope next generation versions will be what we expect from such a franchise. But, please, stop changing things compulsively.
  23. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The reality of the situation is that if you want a fully featured and licensed affair, there will be those of you that will just go with the new FIFA offering, and that’s fine I guess. But there are those who like a purer experience, and it’s undeniable that Pro Evolution Soccer has that.
  24. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The best Pro Evo has been all generation and, for players looking for a more in-depth and grounded game of football, a genuine alternative to FIFA.
  25. When PES 14 truly shines, though, it outplays its megaton rival in several key areas. If you’re willing to scrape beneath the surface and accept its technical and licensing shortcomings, then this offers a nuanced, deeply rewarding game of football. If Konami can iron out those issues next season, PES United could yet be champions.
  26. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    Producing a game like PES for a new engine brings huge challenges, it would be impossible to have the same level of tuning of the prior version using the previous engine, but it is truly amazing what was accomplished on the first time.
  27. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    The addition of the FOX engine has been a dangerous but necessary leap of faith. With PES 2014, Konami made the jump, but hasn't landed safely yet. It shows many positive things, such as the renewed gameplay that feels deep and strong, new tactical options that really add something and a human aspect. Unfortunately, it still doesn't feel like a finished product.
  28. Oct 2, 2013
    75
    On the field we run into a more complex and deeper game, in which it’s all about patience and steel nerves. This is partly because PES 2014 is more a soccer simulator than a game and partly because the game part of it still has many flaws. It’s a promising step for the next generation of PES-games though, that much is obvious.
  29. Sep 23, 2013
    75
    Finally, Konami sets the route of its soccer saga. With Fox Engine's help, Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 absolutely changes the last year's franchise direction, offering an excellent playing basis that allows the product to evolve. However, there are some flaws which are clear and, although understandable, can't simply be brushed aside.
  30. Sep 20, 2013
    75
    PES 2014 shows that Konami knows exactly what they're aiming for and what to do to catch up with EA's FIFA. FOX Engine doesn't provide exactly what we were expecting from it, but it offers a real good physics engine. No need to say it will probably reach its peak on PS4 and Xbox One. This all new PES is a true football simulation, with some problems and glitches, but also with some good ideas like the Emotion system. These kinds of ideas, added to gameplay features from FIFA, could make the difference in the next ten years.
  31. Sep 24, 2013
    74
    Unfortunately for Konami, Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 doesn’t have the benefit of coming at a highly reduced price tag. Konami is working against a stream of influence and licensing deficiencies, but has failed to work what it does have into a good product. Unless you are dying to play two soccer games, or have the burning desire to customize, Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is best left on the shelves.
  32. Oct 16, 2013
    70
    I realize this has been a fairly short review (especially by my standards), but frankly there just isn’t that much to say about PES 2014. It feels like a slightly shinier version of last year’s installment.
  33. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    The foundation is promising, but although PES 2014 is not a bad game, it's still far from the elite of the genre.
  34. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    The best footie is FIFA 14. PES 2014 is better than last year's version but still has a lot of problems, like framerate issues and the game is constantly loading.
  35. Sep 20, 2013
    70
    The bases for the future are definitely in place with PES 2014, but there are also many frustrations.
  36. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    I did not enjoy the new PES. Players are unresponsive, their AI is weak, refereeing is sometimes questionable and the automatic passing system often annoying. Match commentary is simply awful. There is almost nothing new in the modes department and as usual team licenses are a problem. But there is a good new engine at last (along with new physics system) and I see some hope for the series in the future. [12/2013, p.50]
  37. Oct 23, 2013
    60
    Not quite as well-rounded overall as last year. [Issue#140, p.106]
  38. 60
    A fun arcade experience that goes all-in hoping that all you want to do is kick a ball around. No depth, lack of licensed leagues due to exclusivity deals, and slow menus keep this from being a legitimate challenger to FIFA's undisputed throne on console soccer.
  39. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    This new PES 2014 has made efforts in its gameplay, offering freer and more realistic actions, but it disappoints on the technical side. Slowdowns in front of goal are annoying, most of the players (except the stars) are unrecognizable, the public is poorly done... In short, we are still far, far away from catching the ogre FIFA.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 84
  2. Negative: 48 out of 84
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    where do i start...i think most PES players were looking forward to this game. Konami come out of the blocks with all the PR they could think of. New Engine, Heart, Mass, blah blah blah, but they seem to have forgot how to create a good football game.

    This game game is clearly not finished. Far too many problems with this game for it to be enjoyable, and at the end of the day even if your trying to simulate a sport or whatever its a game and it has to be fun. Problems are frame rate issues ,especially around the penalty box. Players do not react quick enough, they turn like tanks animations take far to long to complete when tackling etc allow to Ai to exploit you. Unresponsive commands, it takes far too long for players to do what you want them to do after having pressed a button

    Laggy menus, online completely broken, shall i go on??..this year is just a complete and utter mess, underneath it all there seems to be a game trying to get out, but its been very poorly implemented, and I just dont understand how any reviewer can give this a positive score in its current state. Konami need to patch this game and patch it quick. They should be ashamed of releasing this,
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    This game dissapointed me,it is just dissapointg to me i am one of the bigest fans i know of pes since i am alive.....i played countless hours of pes,reaching top rankings,having fun whit frends and then this comes out that for me ruined the franchise....When i first started playing everything seemed normal,when the game started the menu was different it was a little bit strange but...i went to play master league and become legend...everything was missing,the cutscenes,the talking,,everything that made the game fun it was not there and in the match the game just was horrible bugs everywhere and the grapich were horendes but how much i hate this game at the same time i love it.....this broke my heart i was not expecting such a tthing from you konami you were the best in football games....in this game you went the fifa way and they/you failed...miserably...and teh worst thing is every player llooks dam the same.....i went to fc london to rename it and make my own club and every onfe of the players was same i cud not recognize them...this game is dissapointing in every level if you are a fan and a newbe..so it deserves a 3-and this is coming from a old fan of the franchise..dissapointed. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    2
    The worst Pro ever!!! Nice job Konami! The response of every player is too slow,you can't understand the difference between the best and the worst players when you control them,very slow response on every move,bad passes and the goalkeepers are something like Chuk Norris,they can stop every shoot without a problem! For me pro 13 is the best! Full Review »