Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as to how the player's body will automatically shape to receive it. Trueball Tech adds more freedom, with full 360-degree control within several yards around the player and the ability to shield the ball from opposing players, use deft controls to wrong-foot them, and intuitive methods to master close control. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is very much what its name implies, an evolution. Konami have taken off the gloves and issued a very strong challenge to EA; whether or not this will translate to actual sales is yet to be seen as this battle will be fought over the coming year.
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    Even though some long lasting problems -like the poor AI- are still here, the new edition of PES is one of the best representations of the "beautiful game".
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    It sacrifices little of the feel while introducing some new concepts that I hope stick around. While aspects like the bid to introduce emotion to players remains inconclusive and I'd like the developer refine its control scheme, for the first time in a while the future of the franchise is more exciting than its past.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The best Pro Evo has been all generation and, for players looking for a more in-depth and grounded game of football, a genuine alternative to FIFA.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Calling it a simulation doesn't quite feel right, but this captures the look and action of a football match better than anything else I've played.
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    75
    On the field we run into a more complex and deeper game, in which it’s all about patience and steel nerves. This is partly because PES 2014 is more a soccer simulator than a game and partly because the game part of it still has many flaws. It’s a promising step for the next generation of PES-games though, that much is obvious.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    This new PES 2014 has made efforts in its gameplay, offering freer and more realistic actions, but it disappoints on the technical side. Slowdowns in front of goal are annoying, most of the players (except the stars) are unrecognizable, the public is poorly done... In short, we are still far, far away from catching the ogre FIFA.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 84
  2. Negative: 48 out of 84
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Anyone who despises this game is either deluded or plain stupid...though we're all entitled to our opinions. PES' gameplay is far better than FIFA, it just needs that final off-field mode to fully surpass Fifa. The current sales are already in PES' favour and that shows that people are truly acknowledging PES Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Gostei do jogo... Tem vários bugs e muitas coisas irritantes. Mas me dá vontade de jogar, ao contrário do 2013 que só era legar jogar com os amigos. Espero que os futuros "patchs" corrijam alguns desses erros. Por enquanto minha nota 8, mas com melhorias pode virar até um 9. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst PES ever.I gave 6 because KONAMI tries to do something new.It's like fifa but fifa is much much better now.Game has many mistakes,u cant enjoy playing it.I hope next PES will be better. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    where do i start...i think most PES players were looking forward to this game. Konami come out of the blocks with all the PR they could think of. New Engine, Heart, Mass, blah blah blah, but they seem to have forgot how to create a good football game.

    This game game is clearly not finished. Far too many problems with this game for it to be enjoyable, and at the end of the day even if your trying to simulate a sport or whatever its a game and it has to be fun. Problems are frame rate issues ,especially around the penalty box. Players do not react quick enough, they turn like tanks animations take far to long to complete when tackling etc allow to Ai to exploit you. Unresponsive commands, it takes far too long for players to do what you want them to do after having pressed a button

    Laggy menus, online completely broken, shall i go on??..this year is just a complete and utter mess, underneath it all there seems to be a game trying to get out, but its been very poorly implemented, and I just dont understand how any reviewer can give this a positive score in its current state. Konami need to patch this game and patch it quick. They should be ashamed of releasing this,
    Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    2
    I am a huge pes fan since 05. and I'm sorry to say PES seems to be selling out. Sacrificing game-play dynamics and mechanics for more detail. pes2010 was a great game 14 Is almost unbearable. Through balls fly ahead as though shooting on goal, it is virtually impossible to tackle, the midfield is non existent. the controls when on the ball feel very sluggish. All the features that made me stay away from fifa are now creeping into pes. Konami really need to go back to basics and stick to their own identity. I'm currently playing pes2012 become a legend, and I cant get enough of it. Why does the game dynamics between become a legend and exhibition change so drastically. i acknowledge that the players form and motivation come into their game-play now. But for an exhibition match that shouldnt be anything but 100%. And even so, we do not want a simulator. Gamers want the game. PES has always been a much more free and fast soccer game than fifa. Now they seem to have gone backwards. I would settle for the pes2010 graphics now and just use all their resources and developments on the gameplay. I dont need a stadium that is mindblowingly detailed, unless theres a mode where i can be a spectator and walk around ordering food and finding my seat. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    1
    Okay having persevered with this game for a while, I now find myself in a position to give an honest review. Konami have released without doubt the poorest PES game of the lot. A real own goal of epic proportions I fear.

    Where to start?

    We all know what PES lacks in official licences and presentation it usually makes up for in the slick smooth game play that gives it the real football edge over the more predictable and clumsy looking FIFA. But this latest PES 2014 is a real gut wrenching embarrassing let down. They've rushed out what can only be described as an unfinished broken game with this new graphics engine the core of all it's problems. The frame rate during the game is just all over the place and causes anti-dramatic slow downs during a match which are quite honestly horrifying and something that I can't help but be reminded of times gone by when you'd be left heart broken during a maiden voyage into a bad game conversion that a Sega Megardrive would be embarrassed about (Super Kickoff anyone?). So, if you want to watch your 30 yard screaming effort that just whipped passed the post on the instant replay, well forget about it because replays are stuttery and jerkier then a layer of dired out old beef and quite frankly off putting to the point where you'd wish you could just get rid of them altogether for the time it saves. Then there's the passing and tackling, the game has just got so wrapped up in the realistic movement of the ball, they forgot about the realistic movement of the players. Again the player movement looks clumsy and tackling has lost it's real time control the previous versions of PES were so good at creating. In this game you somehow win the ball or lose it without much effort put in either way. Then there's the delayed responsiveness when you have the ball. Want to get a shot off? Well sit down and apply for planning permission first because it takes that long for the moment you hit the shoot button for your player to actually kick the ball that by the time his leg is swinging back, the balls back in your own half and your left contemplating switching the game off or throwing the controller agains the TV screen in pure frustration. It's like having off line lag, thats the only way I can describe it. The football simulation known as PES has sadly been obliterated by this God awful mess.

    Then the nit picking, the menu's are just plain stupid. The team selection screen has been annoying for a few PES games now but this year they'e just completely overlooked this and it looks half baked where player names over lap one another. It looks like a school kid has designed it. And how long do the screens take to load? Put the kettle on and wait for the team strips to load up, you'll have time to let your tea cool down first before they eventually appear on screen.

    Then the Stadiums again are disappointing, why oh why do we have the same old rubbish every year, two San Siro's yet again??? WHY???? Bring back Anfield or just do something original. That Konami stadium was crap on the PS1, why is it still in there?

    I could go on but you probably get the picture, and it's just unfortunate that Konami don't or no doubt won't.
    My only salvaging thought is that this is a prototype for what will be an immense PES 2015 on the more capable PS4/Xbox One next year. There must be potential in there somewhere with this overhaul but Konami have a lot to do bring this game back up the level of quality it has been renown for by it's fans for over a decade. Sadly they've should have shelved this sorry effort until they had the game right, even if that meant skipping a year. At least their reputation my still hold firm. I wonder now how many like myself will skip future releases having been so badly let down by this pathetic effort.

    Avoid this game and carry on with the far far superior PES 2013, you'll save yourself alot of heartache.
    Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    0
    I used to play this game since winning eleven.. This year was the year that made me switch to Fifa and i am so glad that I did.. I will never EVER purchase any product from this company... I won't mind getting a game that I don't like.. but getting a half finished game for full price is a rip off.. Never buy this game. not worth half it's price Expand

See all 84 User Reviews