Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as to how the player's body will automatically shape to receive it. Trueball Tech adds more freedom, with full 360-degree control within several yards around the player and the ability to shield the ball from opposing players, use deft controls to wrong-foot them, and intuitive methods to master close control. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is very much what its name implies, an evolution. Konami have taken off the gloves and issued a very strong challenge to EA; whether or not this will translate to actual sales is yet to be seen as this battle will be fought over the coming year.
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    Even though some long lasting problems -like the poor AI- are still here, the new edition of PES is one of the best representations of the "beautiful game".
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    It sacrifices little of the feel while introducing some new concepts that I hope stick around. While aspects like the bid to introduce emotion to players remains inconclusive and I'd like the developer refine its control scheme, for the first time in a while the future of the franchise is more exciting than its past.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The best Pro Evo has been all generation and, for players looking for a more in-depth and grounded game of football, a genuine alternative to FIFA.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Calling it a simulation doesn't quite feel right, but this captures the look and action of a football match better than anything else I've played.
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    75
    On the field we run into a more complex and deeper game, in which it’s all about patience and steel nerves. This is partly because PES 2014 is more a soccer simulator than a game and partly because the game part of it still has many flaws. It’s a promising step for the next generation of PES-games though, that much is obvious.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    This new PES 2014 has made efforts in its gameplay, offering freer and more realistic actions, but it disappoints on the technical side. Slowdowns in front of goal are annoying, most of the players (except the stars) are unrecognizable, the public is poorly done... In short, we are still far, far away from catching the ogre FIFA.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 71
  2. Negative: 40 out of 71
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Anyone who despises this game is either deluded or plain stupid...though we're all entitled to our opinions. PES' gameplay is far better than FIFA, it just needs that final off-field mode to fully surpass Fifa. The current sales are already in PES' favour and that shows that people are truly acknowledging PES Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    Cuando llegó la actual generación de consolas, los títulos PES no lograron adaptarse bien a PS3 y Xbox 360, logrando un producto mal acabado e incluso irritable para los seguidores tradicionales de la saga.

    Pues bien, llega una nueva temporada futbolística y Konami quiere recuperar el trono que una vez fue suyo, o al menos recortar la ventaja para hacer dudar a los usuarios en qué título deportivo comprar. Seguramente estéis de acuerdo conmigo en que el mayor lastre que tenía PES era su motor gráfico. Gracias a Hideo Kojima y su nuevo motor gráfico, el Fox Engine, que entre otros grandes juegos moverá el próximo Metal Gear Solid.

    Gracias al Fox Engine podremos disfrutar de unos partidos con una calidad gráfica impresionante. Mencionar que el graderío, los efectos de iluminación y las texturas son el mayor logro del estudio en la actual generación. Pero aquí tenemos que frenar nuestro entusiasmo y darle un palito a Konami. No tendremos partidos con lluvia, excusándose el estudio en qué no le daba tiempo añadir la física de la pelota con el terreno de juego encharcado…

    Destacar que dispondremos del sistema True Ball Techque, que logrará que los movimientos del balón sean más realistas y no parezca una pelota de playa. Esto se notará desde el primer momento, ya sea a la hora de pasar o disputando el balón. Hablando de disputas, destacamos el espectacular contacto físico que ofrece este nuevo PES, con choques y entradas que seguramente os impresionarán.

    Los rostros de los jugadores están recreados prácticamente a la perfección gracias al PES ID que ya se añadió el año pasado. Pero en esta ocasión además de aumentar el número de jugadores recreados, han añadido sus movimientos y gestos más característicos.

    Nos ha gustado mucho la forma que tiene Konami de ambientar los partidos, que es otro punto a destacar del nuevo PES. Antes de comenzar el partido veremos a los jugadores en túneles de vestuarios y colocarse posteriormente para que la prensa pueda tomar todas las fotos que necesiten. También podremos ver a los jugadores protestar cuando el árbitro pite el final por alguna jugada polémica vivida en el encuentro. Los cánticos de las aficiones son reales y tomados directamente de los estadios lo que hará que nos metamos de lleno en los partidos. Sin duda, las licencias estrella del juego son la Champions League, la Copa Libertadores, la UEFA Europa League y la AFC (la Champions de Asia). Por eso, hay equipos sueltos de ligas como Alemania, tales como el Bayern de Múnich.

    Hablando de esto último, Konami ha incluido la nueva característica llamada Heart, que su función es que los jugadores son motivados por el público del estadio dependiendo si juegan como locales o visitantes. Punto negativo para nuestra liga que se queda huérfana en lo que a la recreación de estadios se refiere.

    Pero por desgracia no es oro todo lo que reluce, ya que encontraremos algunos puntos negativos que seguramente os irriten más de la cuenta. Será prácticamente imposible quitarle el balón a nuestro rival sin hacer falta y si lo logramos será por fallo de nuestro rival, no por mérito nuestro. Los árbitros bajo mi punto de vista son bastante tarjeteros, ya que faltas que parecen inofensivas las castigarán con cartulina amarilla.

    El lanzamiento a balón parado es otro punto a discutir. Ahora dispondremos de una línea formada por puntos para apuntar en la dirección que queramos y seguramente os sea útil para lanzamientos precisos pero echaréis en falta sacar el balón rápido para sorprender al rival.

    El modo multijugador tampoco nos funcionó como debería. La estabilidad de los partidos deja aún que desear, con un lag molesto que influye en la disputa de los partidos. Se hace raro que a estas alturas todavía sigan pasando cosas como estas. El estudio se tira piedras sobre su propio tejado al no cuidar un componente tan importante para la mayoría de usuarios.

    En conclusión, Konami ha empezado prácticamente de cero para asentar las bases para la siguiente generación, porque en la actual llega tarde. Tomamos a PES 2014 como un título de transición y es de agradecer que pongan empeño en lograr recuperar aquellos años maravillosos. Algo que tendrán que mejorar será la adquisición de licencias pero aún así nos encontramos un buen juego gráficamente muy vistoso y con unos efectos sonoros bastante logrados, con comentarios de Carlos Martínez y Julio Maldonado “Maldini”.
    Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    7
    the realism is impeccable, the motion is wonderful at some points such as heading but is weak at others i.e. side foot shots, team editing in edit mode needs an upgrade, its been the same sort if thing for around 3/4 years and wasn't even that great in the first year of its usage. the lack of players scanned in is also something that frustrates me about the game. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 4 / 10

    I owned Pes 2011, which i bought for 29.99 after waiting for the price to come down, I waited to buy pes 2014 until it dropped to 29.99 as well. I have played Fifa since world cup 06 for 360. I bought and sold Fifa 14 for PS4 which was the straw that broke the soccer fan's back. I generally enjoyed fifa in the past, despite it having real shortcomings from a footballing standpoint. I decided that it was going to be PES 2015 for PS4 or nothing, and picked up this sorry excuse of a game to get me up to speed.

    I really wanted to like this game, and give it a real chance, and frankly I am disgusted and I feel like i have been ripped off. It's bizarre since Konami has gotten a lot of flack over Lords of Shadow 2 and Ground Zeroes, the former people saying it's a junk game and the latter a rippoff demo. The truth is, I wish I bought Ground Zeroes instead of PES 2014, at least that Paid Demo runs properly and has good gameplay.

    Presentation, while slightly better than 2011, the framerate is terrible, and frankly whoever decided to put the match presentation in and the cutplay / replays should hand in their resignation as it's embarrassing. It runs at sub 10 frames, it is hard to watch I feel like i'm going to have a seizure. I don't understand why the replays are so hard to skip, it's bad enough people on fifa make your watch their offsides, this game punishes me for playing single player.

    There is really poor licencing. How can you claim to have the champion's league licence etc when you don't even have all the teams participating licenced?

    Netherlands does not have proper players etc? WTF????

    I scrounged an edit file pack online and figured out the arcane process of using it, it is still embarrassing.

    I appreciate all of the updates that they tried to do, And the fair price for the "world challenge" update of only 10 dollars. I wish I could support them on that, but with the game itself being so abysmal there is no way, I have to cut my losses and call it a rental fee, plus whatever I can recoup from trade in which will likely be horrendous.

    Your players don't even jump when they are in the box on defensive duty, meanwhile you can win headers in midfield with 5'5 players, what they hell. there innovations for passing and shooting in this new game are horrible.

    It is just frustrating because some things this game does better than fifa, and others it does way worse. On the whole the gameplay itself is just bad.

    The tactics menus are aweful, having it decide irrational things for me between matches is insane. Yeah it makes perfect sense to play Vidic at RB, thanks PES. and you have to keep moving your guys around so that it recognizes where they are playing and what the rating is, then it switches it. If you need to change tactics, they game refuses to register your changes. It shows 3 slots for your tactics and you try and select one and it does nothing. It's just unnacceptable and doesn't seem to have imporved in the slightest from 2011.

    I could forgive the licenses, and the poor menus and polish, and the uneven graphics and framerate, and the lack of a good career mode that follows a specific league. The lack of stadiums etc etc.

    What is unforgivable is how poor this game is where it is supposed to have the edge on fifa, the gameplay.

    Avoid it.

    my advice to everyone that is disapointed in fifa and pes, just watch the games on tv and go and play the real sport. these games are a farce and do not capture the essence or spirit of the sport at all.

    It's sad because i like to play it in conjunction with watching the season, and despite having my team licenced (manchester united) it is pathetic and unsatisfying, it doesn't help that the ratings for most United players are ridiculously high. The only ones that should have a high rating are RVP Rooney and DeGea, the rest do not deserve their scores in the slightest, and thats after the latest updates. hahah Young with a 87 are you high? Nani with a 90 guy can't make the bench on a 7th in the league season, baffling.

    And Ronaldo is a 100, can't remeber the last time i saw that horse s h i t in a game. He and messi should be in the 95 range. but instead RVP is a 95 (yeah right more like a 90 pes wise) and they jacked themselves into a corner.

    It's just an unsatisfying substandard experience and as much as I want to support them ( I bought new despite not caring for online ) I feel like they should just pack it up.

    As for Fifa 15, it will be nothing but an Ultimate Team garbage fest, with no gameplay improvements and terrible homogenous gameplay with scripting. They will talk it up big, and ignore their customers after launch as usual. I will not support EA again when it comes to anything football related as they are shills.

    my two favorite(hockey, soccer) team sports and EA has a darth vader vicegrip on the licensing. *sigh* I wanted you to be good pes, but sadly you are not. RIP my videogame soccer obsession.
    Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    2
    Un paso atras para la saga: juego a medio hacer, IA desastrosa, respuesta del mando horrible y un ONLINE injugable...
    Konami se ha reido de
    nosotros esta vez..... Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    1
    konami trying something new i can see that. but its never good idea turn your game like FIFA. i like pes because its fast game you can feel free and you can do things on your mind in this game. but they took away these things. and made a WORST FIFA PROTOTYPE. i cant even run the ball. i cant pass i cant shoot i cant do anything in this game. i really hate it. please KONAMI dont make games like this. sorry about bad english. Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    0
    I used to play this game since winning eleven.. This year was the year that made me switch to Fifa and i am so glad that I did.. I will never EVER purchase any product from this company... I won't mind getting a game that I don't like.. but getting a half finished game for full price is a rip off.. Never buy this game. not worth half it's price Expand

See all 71 User Reviews