Prototype PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 308 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 308
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayB
    Jun 14, 2009
    6
    Game is decently fun. Plenty of up-close action, decent, but not great, graphics. OK story. Unfortunately I must compare it to inFAMOUS, which is a far greater game. inFAMOUS is an easy 9. Prototype is, sadly, a mere 6. Mindless fun, but forgettable fun. Nothing new or interesting happening. It just feels like less effort was put into it.
  2. Mar 3, 2016
    7
    Prototype was, with InFamous, one of the few games that let you played a guy with super-human (can't say they are very heroic) powers and we know that InFamous won this fight but that doesn't make Prototype a bad game for sure.

    Sure technically the game is very less effective that InFamous with some frame drops, a camera a bit messy when you run, the IA is dumb as f**k ,the military may
    Prototype was, with InFamous, one of the few games that let you played a guy with super-human (can't say they are very heroic) powers and we know that InFamous won this fight but that doesn't make Prototype a bad game for sure.

    Sure technically the game is very less effective that InFamous with some frame drops, a camera a bit messy when you run, the IA is dumb as f**k ,the military may see you running on the wall, they'll not react even when you're supposedly the most wanted guy of the country, as long as you don't attack them you're good to go; finally the game clearly lacks colors, everything is so grey it's really "boring" to look at Even though the graphics are pretty good with lots of characters, nice animations, and a pretty big map all in all the game is just average technically speaking.

    Concerning the gameplay, the strongest point of the game, it's very fun, the different powers are all effective in, at least, one situation, so are the moments when you're in a vehicle and the side activities, event if a little repetitives, are very fun also and the game does a nice job at making them available at a good pace.

    Finally the story in itself is pretty weak and you'll have to collect the web of intrigues in the game if you want a true story, the main character is really not lovable and it's hard to even wish for his success. If you finish all the side activities the game will last about 15 hours (20 if you also want all the collectibles) which is the minimum for this kind of game.

    In conclusion Prototype is a decent game, pretty fun to play and with just enough content to justify its price, even if the story is weak and the game has some technical issues. Advisable for the gamers who already played InFamous and want more super powers to play with.
    Expand
  3. MarvinC
    Jun 27, 2009
    7
    It's a good game that's all I really have to say about it. The story is decent but it's so pointless to even care about the characters there's almost zero development for them. The graphics on the PC are acceptable but the ones for the console are way too unpolished it's fine graphics don't make the game but they should have used the opening cinema pre It's a good game that's all I really have to say about it. The story is decent but it's so pointless to even care about the characters there's almost zero development for them. The graphics on the PC are acceptable but the ones for the console are way too unpolished it's fine graphics don't make the game but they should have used the opening cinema pre rendered cutscene for all of the other cutscenes so it would have looked better. As for the gameplay it's pretty fun although it's a bit repetitive. Some of the controls are very unintuitive such as cannonball how on earth do they expect me to press square and circle and hold it in the middle of a heated battle? The side missions besides infiltration feel tacked on like time trials and kill as many enemies as you can. Also some parts make little to no sense such as one fight where Alex can get stunned by a stun baton. Overall it's a good game however it suffers what Assassins Creed and many sandbox games suffer from as well and that's being reptitive. Overall buy it if you must but I would suggest renting it. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    i really liked this game i just wish the story was a little bit longer that is why this game does not get a 10 from me. this is also a very unique game in the fact that you can become anyone else in the game that isnt infected and the story is alright just a little confusing at some points and since there is no online mode the game should have a long story line and be able to keep youi really liked this game i just wish the story was a little bit longer that is why this game does not get a 10 from me. this is also a very unique game in the fact that you can become anyone else in the game that isnt infected and the story is alright just a little confusing at some points and since there is no online mode the game should have a long story line and be able to keep you entertained for hours on end but sadly there is not much to do after you beat the final boss but play through the story again and maybe play the side missions but they feel random and get a little boring after a bit. it may seem as though i am just bashing the game which is why ill say something good about it now :). there is constant action and lots of blood and gore which gets your heart pumping and gets you hooked to playing this game for hours and that time just flys by without you realizing and considering the huge expanse you can roam in and no load times beetween areas the graphics are actually pretty good because keep in mind that you play in New York City, which is huge! there is also many different types of powers and many different ways to do the missions that you play through and love it. i loved this game but i really wish the story was longer or at least made some kind of online mode to kill each other with the powers we have aquired in the story mode so this is why i recomend renting this game instead of buying it but i hope that the sequal does some of the things mentioned above but just to be sure im going to be renting that before i buy it :) Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    Bought it at $20. Fun game, the controls are easy, i had good times killing and wreaking havoc to people. Missions are unique and memorable for gamers like me. Upgrades are cool too.
  6. JacobP.
    Jun 28, 2009
    6
    Ever play 'Flower' on PSN or 'Electroplankton' for the DS? No? Me neither. Know what those games have in common though? No? Well, from what I've read, they're not 'games' per se but trinkets you can kick around and relax with. For me, that's what Prototype strikes me as: it's not the greatest game out there, but after a long and toiling Ever play 'Flower' on PSN or 'Electroplankton' for the DS? No? Me neither. Know what those games have in common though? No? Well, from what I've read, they're not 'games' per se but trinkets you can kick around and relax with. For me, that's what Prototype strikes me as: it's not the greatest game out there, but after a long and toiling day earning your daily dollar it's fun to return home, boot up Prototype, lay back and casually enjoy the mayhem on screen. You play as Alex Mercer, second cousin to Canadian weasel Rick Mercer and the product of genetic tampering gone too, too far. You've gained superhuman powers and can lay waste to the city, blow things up, throw around trucks and cars and hijack tanks for 'splosions galore. Alex himself is grim and moody, but otherwise tolerable-- except for that damn hoodie he wears all throughout the game. God, I'd love to go up and yank that thing off! And tell him to stand up straight while I was at it! When I first returned home after renting Prototype, to be frank I was a bit biased. I knew InFamous had come out a few weeks earlier and that not only was it an exclusive to the PS3 but also had a lot more work go into it. In terms of music, presentation, cutscenes and graphics InFamous wins over Prototype; hands down. I was perpetually surprised though as I played through Prototype. The cutscenes take themselves way too seriously, so if there's another person in the room you can count on smart-assed comments and your peers substituting cheeky dialogue whenever there's a pause in character interaction. Which can add to the fun, granted: think MST3K. However, there are a few well done plot twists in the game. I can remember my eyebrows shooting up my forehead when Alex's mysterious informant was revealed, and I certainly enjoyed Alex tearing down and causing havoc for the PMC Blackwatch, a not-so-subtle reference to it's real-life inspiration Blackwater. Naming the villainous PMC after Blackwater was clever; nuff said. All things aside though- if you've played The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction for last generation consoles, you've played Prototype. This game was made by the same team behind Hulk: UD, and it shows. Even the 'hints' scattered around the city are back, along with the 'critical mass' move. The game is fun but short as hell, and once you've beaten it there is zero incentive to play any further. Games like these function well because of their mission based design, and once Alex completes all his tasks, the longevity of the title sinks like a stone. That brings me to my final point. Anyone here still go to Penny Arcade? I do, maybe once a month, where I happened upon the character Gabe literally screaming that you should buy it. Shame on you, Penny Arcade. Endorsing Prototype? What, did they give you another free DS? Here's the link: http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2009/6/19/ Save your money, folks. This game is great as a rental but if you buy it it'll just wind up collecting dust because of it's short lifespan. Don't waste your cash! The Economic Crisis isn't over yet! Expand
  7. MattB
    Aug 6, 2009
    6
    I will try to keep this simple, Compared to other sandbox games the amount of environment detail is close to none. A few of the powers once upgraded are vary cheap and you could say don't use them like but that takes me to my next point. When you get any where near one of the mutated infected i kid you not they run right at you even if a take is shooting them in the back, it almost I will try to keep this simple, Compared to other sandbox games the amount of environment detail is close to none. A few of the powers once upgraded are vary cheap and you could say don't use them like but that takes me to my next point. When you get any where near one of the mutated infected i kid you not they run right at you even if a take is shooting them in the back, it almost forces you to use cheap tactics (upgraded sword arm jump slam down) its a one shot for the most part. The humans have rockets and they some one can toss you around like nothing. This was a weird game, sometimes you felt like you were a god and nothing could stop you and on the other hand sometimes you just felt helpless. If you want a overall great experience go buy inFAMOUS. I would not suggest buying this but renting. Expand
  8. StevenR.
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    If you enjoy doing the same thing over and over and over and over then youll probably like this game. It has its moments where its fun but overall its pretty dull and gets old after a few hours of play. Worst part about the game is the graphics and horrible physics.
  9. joshs
    Jun 28, 2009
    6
    Disappointment if you are a big gamer this game will seem rather childish it was hyped up but unfortunately did not deliver unlike red faction and inFAMOUS who exceeded my expectations.
  10. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    as far as sandbox games go this is an ok game, i would recommend that someone interested in this game go out and buy infamous instead, after playing both games its definitely the way to go and the graphics are much better
  11. ChrisA.
    Jun 11, 2009
    6
    This game has some very big flaws that take away from the overall fun, but there is a lot of fun there to start. Not great, not terrible, just meh.
  12. AnonymousMC
    Jun 12, 2009
    6
    all the infamous comparisons can stop now. it is nothing like it. while infamous had a few bugs...this has a lot. the pop up completely takes me away from the experience and although graphics aren't everything, this is just a bad game graphically during gameplay. how am i supposed to hunt for orbs when i can't see the damned things until they are right in front of my face?all the infamous comparisons can stop now. it is nothing like it. while infamous had a few bugs...this has a lot. the pop up completely takes me away from the experience and although graphics aren't everything, this is just a bad game graphically during gameplay. how am i supposed to hunt for orbs when i can't see the damned things until they are right in front of my face? blood does not make a game...but people seem to love it for some reason...so hey, lets put it everywhere! that will sell a game! this game is not a 10, 9, or even an 8...but it's not a 0 either. it's just okay. rent it and save your $60 for something else. Expand
  13. James
    Jun 10, 2009
    7
    Great feeling of power and destruction but the fun doesn't last forever and the disguise mechanic is pretty disappointing.
  14. DavidS.
    Jun 12, 2009
    7
    A game that combines excellent depth in it's gameplay with very fluid controls (except for some aerial combos) and camera is hindered by the lackluster presentation and sometime overly stressful and frustrating combat. If you want to compare this to inFamous, I would have to say that this game is more for people who just want to blow everything to pieces and not really give a crap A game that combines excellent depth in it's gameplay with very fluid controls (except for some aerial combos) and camera is hindered by the lackluster presentation and sometime overly stressful and frustrating combat. If you want to compare this to inFamous, I would have to say that this game is more for people who just want to blow everything to pieces and not really give a crap about anything else. The entertainment value here is great, but not long lasting. I'd recommend renting this one for the weekend. Expand
  15. KyleR
    Jun 15, 2009
    5
    Fair enough, the combat is nice and its set in a big open New York, but the city itself is just purely window dressing. Its purely a case of 'Go to mission, kill stuff, go to mission, kill stuff" If you're expecting a deeper experience, leave well alone.
  16. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2009
    7
    Was it just me or did the game get boring way too fast. I mean it's pretty frustrating but I would have preferred a game that had more lasting appeal. Don't get me wrong, it's fun for like the first 10 hours, but then it just gets repetitive. I had no incentive to play it again. I suggest renting it first.
  17. DirkG
    Jun 16, 2009
    5
    Mixed Emotions. Game is entertaining but the control is totally clumsy and so is the camera. Infamous is much better, even though it has some control problems as well.
  18. JayB
    Jun 22, 2009
    5
    I really wish that everyone could see this game for what it is. A very mediocre and bland action game at best. Fun upgradeables and shapeshifting tied in with vehicular manslaughter is a relative blast. I would be lieing if i were to say that driving a tank down NYC's sidewalk over 1000's of pedestrians wasnt one of the better moments of my recent days. But people open yourI really wish that everyone could see this game for what it is. A very mediocre and bland action game at best. Fun upgradeables and shapeshifting tied in with vehicular manslaughter is a relative blast. I would be lieing if i were to say that driving a tank down NYC's sidewalk over 1000's of pedestrians wasnt one of the better moments of my recent days. But people open your eyes and see the nearly broken combat and ugly ugly ugly ugly game. Oh and did I say the game is ugly? The missions bore me and its darn easy. With the exception of few missions that are just a pain in my back side that make me want to just give up and not play anymore. My final verdict is this game is a rent at best!!! Expand
  19. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    This game had the potential of being so much more than its final product, but sadly ends up being a flawed mixed bag before anything else. The story follows Alex Mercer who has been infected with a virus that gives you insane powers. Though these powers are a lot of fun accessing them couldn't be more cumbersome due to the clumsy weapon wheel that always takes you out of the action. A lotThis game had the potential of being so much more than its final product, but sadly ends up being a flawed mixed bag before anything else. The story follows Alex Mercer who has been infected with a virus that gives you insane powers. Though these powers are a lot of fun accessing them couldn't be more cumbersome due to the clumsy weapon wheel that always takes you out of the action. A lot of times there is simply too much action. Be prepared for numerous tanks shooting at you at oce and dozens of cheap deaths. There are often too many enemies on screen at once and sometimes it feels like you aren't making any progress. The story is almost as flawed as the gameplay. It's filled with poorly developed characters, unnecessary twists and cutscenes, and some abysmal voice acting. All this being said there is some fun to be had here. The combat feels fluid and responsive. Besides the weapon wheel the combat is great. Otherwise, Prototype is a game that is incredibly mediocre and ripe with flaws. Expand
  20. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    This is not a good game. The controls aren't very good, the graphics are decent but the environment all looks the same, the buildings all look the same. The powers aren't really fun to use either. And the game can be frustrating as well.
  21. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    This game makes me sad. Not because I hated the game, but because this game could have been sooooooo much better had Activision actually delayed the games release and actually gave the developers more time to finish the damn thing. The graphics in the game are pittiful and the story is a mess that has great moments that are taped together with scotch tape. The game loves giving you coolThis game makes me sad. Not because I hated the game, but because this game could have been sooooooo much better had Activision actually delayed the games release and actually gave the developers more time to finish the damn thing. The graphics in the game are pittiful and the story is a mess that has great moments that are taped together with scotch tape. The game loves giving you cool powers and awesome moves, but the game's difficult suffers for it. The grunts are no match for you, while the super powered enemies seem to be there to over compensate for your awesome powers by doing rediculous damage and hit you in large numbers. To say the combat is unbalanced is an understatment. The boss battles are the worst offenders, as they are bobarded by enemies that make the fights huge **** But the reason this game makes me sad the most is the fact that it had all the potential in the world. The story problems just needed some more meat to them. The enemies just needed to be balanced better. The developers just needed to be given more time to give the game more detail. I left this game disappointed, and seeing all the good scores this game has been getting only makes me even more disappointed. Let's just hope the second one can improve on this game's missteps. Expand
  22. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    Generally un-imaginative game. I cannot believe this game scored as high as it generally has. After the vaguest of introductions, game launches you into missions. Poor back-story. Uninteresting ongoing storyline. Unimaginative combat system and game dynamics.
  23. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    Prototype is a good game. It has an open world, although you have nothing to explore in it. It has decent graphics, although it lacks serious polish in the city people, cars and trees, especially. The sound is forgettable and there is no soundtrack, what I think is bad. The story didn't catch me, but it's not bad. Maybe a little confusing though. What's really really cool about this gamePrototype is a good game. It has an open world, although you have nothing to explore in it. It has decent graphics, although it lacks serious polish in the city people, cars and trees, especially. The sound is forgettable and there is no soundtrack, what I think is bad. The story didn't catch me, but it's not bad. Maybe a little confusing though. What's really really cool about this game is the gameplay. You can run on the walls, jump higher than you can imagine and rip apart people's limbs with cool powers. All you do is to cause chaos. Also, you can drive vehicles and the controls are very nice.
    In sum, Prototype is a game that deserves being played. If you're feeling bored and wanna make the world burn, Prototype is a nice choice.
    Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    a fun game and kinda reminds me of infamous. well u can do a bit more things than infamous in prototype, but i cant remember the entire game cuz i played it for quite a while(Prototype1) and I am still playing Prototype 2 and i think its pretty good so far.
  25. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    I have to say that this game is not one of my favorite in the ps3.i enjoyed the game but it had some flaws and things you couldn't ignore. The story was nothing special for me, but the most important was the gameplay. You could consume the soldier and the population to your evolution and had some variety of weapons in this game. The war between the mutants and the soldiers was good and itI have to say that this game is not one of my favorite in the ps3.i enjoyed the game but it had some flaws and things you couldn't ignore. The story was nothing special for me, but the most important was the gameplay. You could consume the soldier and the population to your evolution and had some variety of weapons in this game. The war between the mutants and the soldiers was good and it was one of the best aspects for me. One of the things i didn't liked where the boss fights, especially the last one. The city was also cool but this game was nothing much surprising or great, basically a good game in my opinion. And another thing, comparing this game to InFamous i would without a doubt choose InFamous, because it has a better story, cool characters and good boss fights. Expand
  26. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    It's a good game, with a vast world to explore, but the story is not credible and loses interest halfway through. But still, it is fun to play with several options in combat, but the combat is messy, sometimes the player does not know which side is being attacked, which leads to an annoying death. It's a good game, but could be better.
  27. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    It's a good game, with a vast world to explore, but the story is not credible and loses interest halfway through. But still, it is fun to play with several options in combat, but the combat is messy, sometimes the player does not know which side is being attacked, which leads to an annoying death. It's a good game, but could be better.
  28. Nov 2, 2014
    6
    I liked story, even though way they told it was very tortuous. Only thing I didn't like in story was main character. All that angst and thirst for vengeance. Boring. really.

    Free roam was kinda boring, because design of city was too simple and almost all houses and other buildings looked same. Gameplay with all super powers were fun (Shape shifting was very great idea!) , but moving
    I liked story, even though way they told it was very tortuous. Only thing I didn't like in story was main character. All that angst and thirst for vengeance. Boring. really.

    Free roam was kinda boring, because design of city was too simple and almost all houses and other buildings looked same. Gameplay with all super powers were fun (Shape shifting was very great idea!) , but moving especially superjumping and gliding was fumbling
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. PSW Magazine UK
    90
    Still, you won't ever have played a sandbox game that creates so much carnage and offers so many ways to play.
  2. 90
    I suspect that some people will find their enthusiasm drained more than mine by the shallow enemy gene pool, but even they're bound to get swept away by the myriad pleasures of tearing up town as a ghoulish and preternaturally fleet-footed shape-shifter.
  3. Prototype is one of the best games to release this generation and is definitely the best game to drop in 2009 (so far). Outside of the lackluster stealth and disguising mechanic, the brutal combat, huge open-world, varied challenges, and utterly satisfying gameplay makes this a must-have title for any serious gamer's collection. Get ready to put your life on hold!