User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 288

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeS
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. The only thing I am going to say is to those considering playing this game, read the good user reviews and then the bad ones. Doesn't it seem like the people who knock the game the most seem to base their evidence on vicious rhetoric or a matter of taste? Also, a game being "too hard" should never be a knock, ever. If its too hard then you need to practice, my friend. Fantastic game. The only thing I am going to say is to those considering playing this game, read the good user reviews and then the bad ones. Doesn't it seem like the people who knock the game the most seem to base their evidence on vicious rhetoric or a matter of taste? Also, a game being "too hard" should never be a knock, ever. If its too hard then you need to practice, my friend. Incredibly rewarding game that is worth the price of admission Expand
  2. BryceS.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This game to me is all around satisfying and has alot to offer and keeps players coming back for more. It is true a few things could have been improved upon, but for such a huge sandbox game and being one of the first of its kind I give it props. If a player had to choose between this and Infamous I would say go with this because of the fast paced action, and all around because it has This game to me is all around satisfying and has alot to offer and keeps players coming back for more. It is true a few things could have been improved upon, but for such a huge sandbox game and being one of the first of its kind I give it props. If a player had to choose between this and Infamous I would say go with this because of the fast paced action, and all around because it has much more to offer. Expand
  3. AdamB.
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    A real fun game. Any flaws can be easily overlooked because of the sheer mayhem, power, and crazy fun it is to play one powerful dark anti-hero. The only people who I can see having a problem with this are graphics-junkies, casual gamers, and people who can't quite ever get used to the controls. A great game: go get it!
  4. KasperM.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Haven't had this much fun in a single-player game for a long time. A big thumbs up from me, only thing I didn't like was being able to just run around up and down buildings etc etc without anyone getting suspicious unless you had any sort of weapon out (even within military bases).
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing story unique gameplay mechanics overall best game of the summer.
  6. GamerPro
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    A lot of people and game critics are correct, it's one of those games where you have to do the same thing over and over again and the missions do get fairly boring. HOWEVER i still love it. Its like GTA 5 in a Resident Evil world but with a badass monster/virus guy who looks like a modern day Altair but has awesome powers, weapons, moves and upgrades like God of War. A blend of 4 of A lot of people and game critics are correct, it's one of those games where you have to do the same thing over and over again and the missions do get fairly boring. HOWEVER i still love it. Its like GTA 5 in a Resident Evil world but with a badass monster/virus guy who looks like a modern day Altair but has awesome powers, weapons, moves and upgrades like God of War. A blend of 4 of the best games ever. Its a must have game definitely if your a real gamer. Expand
  7. RobertS.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    The game is incredibly fun, addicting and mind-blowingly action-packed.
  8. KP
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Brilliant game, fun, makes you feel strong, storyline nice. I love surfing with people then throwing them at cars(Doesn't everyone). The only problem that kept me from giving this the ten is that there was no co-op. I think it would be pretty sweet if they wouldn't have cut it, though I guess having it now has its perks.
  9. DaleC.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    It is hard to define a game that you have desired on a subconscious level but could never yourself define. Prototype embodies the game I never knew I have always needed. Never has such power been displayed in a game. Some movies have chased it, some music echoes it, but Prototype defines what is like to be all powerful and not the least bit apologetic about igniting that power all over It is hard to define a game that you have desired on a subconscious level but could never yourself define. Prototype embodies the game I never knew I have always needed. Never has such power been displayed in a game. Some movies have chased it, some music echoes it, but Prototype defines what is like to be all powerful and not the least bit apologetic about igniting that power all over the streets of a virtual New York City . Kudos Radical entertainment Kudos. Expand
  10. MarkVandenB.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Shapeshifting. Brutal combat. Stealth. The Patsy... awesome game!
  11. EthanC.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    The reality of it is that this game is Crackdown on crack. Except everything is more realistic, the screaming and horrified bystanders just make me all tingly inside.
  12. GregW.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Great game. It will inevitably be compared to inFamous, which is unfair to both games, as they're pretty different. inFamous is more of a "shooter," and Prototype is a brawler. inFamous has better graphics, but Prototype is overall a much more entertaining game.
  13. EvanB.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    I do not know how 1UP and such gave this game such mediocore reviews. Why do they complain about the controls? The controls are mostly flawless and easy to use in my opinion. Are they just bad at the game? This is the funnest sandbox I've ever played! All the cool abilities never get old, The missions are very fun so far, and the free-roaming is at its best. I recommend it to anyone.
  14. KyleH.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    This is a great game. The controls for locomotion are a bit shakey at first, but once you get them down it's off to the races. The powers are amazing, even if there are one or two that I will probably never use. It's a sick game, and really fun.
  15. WizosB.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    The great control system + massive ammount of upgradeable power + gore as far as the eye can see makes prototype a must get. This is the type of game I've been waiting for on the next gen consoles a classic GTA style with loads of action content. This game really puts the POWER at your finger tips.
  16. JohnP.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    it is a very good game.it have very good graphics and a perfect gameplay and the scenario is very good.
  17. willh
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. running up walls, jumping from building to building, using civilians as surfboards. this game has everything and is a strong contender for game of the year.
  18. DanteM.
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    This is by far the best game i have played all year.And yes I have played inFAMOUS in my opinion [PROTOTYPE] surpasses it by far in terms of gameplay, sounds, the upgrading system, and the powers... oh the powers creates such an interesting and diverse experience. The story is very in depth and the web of intrigue is a very unique way to present the story. Not similar to me in anyway to This is by far the best game i have played all year.And yes I have played inFAMOUS in my opinion [PROTOTYPE] surpasses it by far in terms of gameplay, sounds, the upgrading system, and the powers... oh the powers creates such an interesting and diverse experience. The story is very in depth and the web of intrigue is a very unique way to present the story. Not similar to me in anyway to hulk UD, assassin's creed , or GTA IV. Expand
  19. NakettiS.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    I don't understand on what drugs or personal vendetta some of the official reviews have been on. The game is amazing. The freedom and easy of moving and doing what you want to do in a Sandbox New York is unbelievable. I have always wanted to experience being a half god in a crowded city and this is the first deliverance of that for me. Technologically excellent game. The plot is I don't understand on what drugs or personal vendetta some of the official reviews have been on. The game is amazing. The freedom and easy of moving and doing what you want to do in a Sandbox New York is unbelievable. I have always wanted to experience being a half god in a crowded city and this is the first deliverance of that for me. Technologically excellent game. The plot is beautifully executed but could be more interesting. Awesome game, though. Expand
  20. AlexW.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Definitely a good game; target system took me a minute to get used to but other than that it is very good.
  21. AlS
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    It's true the graphics aren't superb, but I could care less when I'm having so much fun causing unlimited mayhem. Every time I get a new mission it's easy to get sidetracked for an hour just roaming around the city. This game is a 10 on the pure fun scale.
  22. CameronD.
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. The first time I played I was completely blown with Alex's abilities and powers. This game is by far the best on the ps3 at the moment by far.
  23. R.M.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Prototype spanks Infamous like it's a little bitch! No doubt to anyone on the fence about which game to pick up, cross my heart, Prototype is a lot more fun! Infamous looks cool, but from this gamer the compliments stop there. It's boring!! Prototype on the other hand is balls out crazy fun GTA style with sweeter powers! Ahh!! It's Awesome!!!
  24. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I thought this was one of the best games I've played in a long time. There is something about defying gravity... I did not see any of the negatives others spoke about. I found the accuracy spot on and I didn't feel the graphics suffered whatsoever. Movement was smooth and natural. The ability to go anywhere in the city in 3D is so much better than those games where they lead you by theI thought this was one of the best games I've played in a long time. There is something about defying gravity... I did not see any of the negatives others spoke about. I found the accuracy spot on and I didn't feel the graphics suffered whatsoever. Movement was smooth and natural. The ability to go anywhere in the city in 3D is so much better than those games where they lead you by the one way maze. I highly recommend it. Expand
  25. Kevin
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    extreme combat is exellent. outstanding gameplay and is very fun.cool story.graphics need more work.maps need more detail.
  26. AndrewL.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Prototype is an endless source of random carnage with the most unreal level of satisfaction. While chopping things to bits has lost its charm over the years, there is no stopping you losing that sinister smile on your face when you whip out the claws and start hacking. Or leaping from building to building carrying a car, only to throw it full strength at a helicopter. It's hard to Prototype is an endless source of random carnage with the most unreal level of satisfaction. While chopping things to bits has lost its charm over the years, there is no stopping you losing that sinister smile on your face when you whip out the claws and start hacking. Or leaping from building to building carrying a car, only to throw it full strength at a helicopter. It's hard to turn the game off once starting. The story is so great that as you slowly, slowly get more hints towards Alex Mercer's origin and that extra step to his revenge, you're in suspense. With countless sandbox items to add to gameplay like 'events' (my favourite is the building jumping ones) that aren't there just for PS3 Trophies and more fun, they actually pay off with EP (evolution points). The more EP the more upgrades you can afford, and it goes without saying, the more upgraded your powers are the more devastating your attacks are, theyve perfected this RPG style in that there are significant changes between level 1 moves and level 2. While flaws in graphics are there, especially during in-game cinematics, you have to forgive the game for such impeccable, long-lasting gameplay. New York City is monstrously huge, crossing one part of town to the next to see the effects of the Infected is a spectacle. Especially while you glide across the skyline with a strike team and horde of creatures on your tail. It is a necessity for any gamers collection, without a doubt. 10/10 Expand
  27. JesseH.
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. I was completely hooked the moment I started the game and have been playing it almost non-stop since it came out. Lived up to several years of hype from me, back from when it was announced.
  28. TherBigmac
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Graphics: Let's get one thing out of the way. While the graphics in this game are not bad (A little better than Grand theft auto 4) they don't compare to titles like uncharted or Arkham asylum. And the reasoning behind this is quite simple. A large portion or your PS3's processing power in working in the HUGE environments since you're pretty much free to go wherever Graphics: Let's get one thing out of the way. While the graphics in this game are not bad (A little better than Grand theft auto 4) they don't compare to titles like uncharted or Arkham asylum. And the reasoning behind this is quite simple. A large portion or your PS3's processing power in working in the HUGE environments since you're pretty much free to go wherever (or as high) as you want. Gameplay and Overall feeling of the game: Mind-blowing. Imagine being in a GTA / sandbox type of environment where you can do almost anything. Leap buildings, run across walls, Hijack armored tanks, glide above a massive (very accurate) replica of New York City (Mostly Manhattan) and unleash pain at will when you detect foes below you, I could go on and on. Weary of battle? low in health? help yourself to an innocent bystander and literally suck the life out of them. Possibilities are endless. Oh, and by the way, how do you actually "suck the life" out of them? Well, just the way the T-1000 used to do it in Terminator 2, you can replicate people on contact and become them while sucking their life energy and making it your own in the process. It's a win-win. (Maybe not for the poor basterd you snatch off the street but it works pretty well for everybody else, a.k.a.....You. - In game jargon you're technically "consuming them"). And not only you can alter your appearance to look like your victims with the push of a button. You also own their knowledge. You know everything they knew which slowly but fascinatingly unravels the plot of the game via the "web of intrigue": A living organic map that connects your victims with each other, with special emphasis on the characters that have knowledge of the mystery behind your powers and maps their previous interactions with each other before their met their doom at your hands. So, when military choppers with enough firepower to start world war 3 come after you, they quickly realize that's not such a good idea, when you catapult yourself into the air, storm the cockpit and do to the pilots things that one day you'll tell your therapist about. And guess what: you just "consumed" a military chopper pilot along with all his life memories including his ability to fly military choppers which is now.......yours. Without even landing it, guess who is flying the chopper now! (Just the way trinity used to do it in "The Matrix" but with LOTS more blood involved). Becoming people is just so much fun I found myself spending hours just infiltrating military bases, and consuming weapons specialists, fighter pilots etc. And the more you do that, the more your skills in that particular discipline are refined. I had a blast while being chased through the city by military squads just to turn around the corner, push a button, become one of them and seeing them run right past me and then get all confused. It would be right there and then when I would resort to one of several methods: 1. Use the Assault rifle now in my hands (comes with the body of the poor soul you just consumed) and shoot everybody in the back while laughing like a maniac. 2. One of my favorites, with a simple button command ACCUSE one of the soldiers of being ME in disguise resulting in the rest of the team shooting him, execution style, no questions asked. HILARIOUS. or 3, reveal my true self and impale everyone in the vicinity with lethal spikes, blades, claws or whichever one of my mutant virus obtained powers I fancy at the time, just to see everybody scream for their lives in despair. Most people compare this game to InFamous, which was released about at the same time and to my surprise is rated higher. I also own InFamous. I played InFamous for about 2 hours and it was OK. Both games are indeed very similar in it's concept but in my opinion Prototype is vastly superior. The InFamous guy was really slow. He climbs buildings and runs at human speed. The Prototype guy leaps buildings, glides to the point of almost-fly and runs at superhuman speed. Playing InFamous, was OK, but at times it felt a bit like a chore. Like I had to play through an annoying not really fun part, just to get to the fun parts people raves about on the web. Playing Prototype was an absolute blast of non-stop fun which I wasn't able to put down since the first minute I played. Expand
  29. GhislainG.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    Gameplay is addictive and fluid. The parkour is flawless. Visual effects are well done. The only down is how good it looks. Graphics must have been cut down to permit better gameplay, a good choice!
  30. AnonymousMC
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    In prototype you are a super powered infected dead guy who runs amuk in New York on a personal vandetta to get revenge on those that made you what you are. Oh and you get to kill zombies, hijack helicopters while they're flying, use the blades of that helicopter to chop up people on the ground, run straight up any surface, shape shift into an enemy and walk around undetected, and aIn prototype you are a super powered infected dead guy who runs amuk in New York on a personal vandetta to get revenge on those that made you what you are. Oh and you get to kill zombies, hijack helicopters while they're flying, use the blades of that helicopter to chop up people on the ground, run straight up any surface, shape shift into an enemy and walk around undetected, and a myriad of other things. What part of that doesn't sound cool? With all the detail they put into making the combat visceral, adding multiple ways to attempt missions, multiple types of side missions, and multiple types of hidden items in the environment it's easier to forgive the un-polished graphics, which are honestly the only thing I really have to complain about. Expand
  31. JustinB.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Prototype has some flaws but they don't distract from the amazing game it is. Prototype set out to do many things, making New York, awesome superpowers, open world, etc. And all these things are done perfectly without much flaw. I loved this game and will be playing it for a long time to come
  32. JimbWitchunter
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Frantic and truly fun.
  33. JohnK
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    One of the best games i played in years. its a mixture of hulk ultimate destruction with more better powers and blood and gore. This game has graphics like saints row which is not a bad thing. the story is good it will draw you in. THIS GAME IS ADDICTING.
  34. Jamie
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    Prototype is definatly one of the best open world games you can get. The main reason for this is the huge amount of variety. With roughly 9 individual ability's, all of which have individual move sets, the ability to drive tanks, transport and attack helicopters as well as the mix of infected and millitary zones gives the player the tools to do what they want, how they want. This is Prototype is definatly one of the best open world games you can get. The main reason for this is the huge amount of variety. With roughly 9 individual ability's, all of which have individual move sets, the ability to drive tanks, transport and attack helicopters as well as the mix of infected and millitary zones gives the player the tools to do what they want, how they want. This is where Prototype succeds most, by succsefully giving you easy control to a incredibly powerful creature and making you FEEL good about it. Expand
  35. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Loved the game. I feel 79 is not doing justice to this one. There is awesome feeling of super powers, the city feels alive and wast and the battle mechanics work well. The tech behind the game is amazing and graphics are good.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Still, you won't ever have played a sandbox game that creates so much carnage and offers so many ways to play.
  2. 90
    I suspect that some people will find their enthusiasm drained more than mine by the shallow enemy gene pool, but even they're bound to get swept away by the myriad pleasures of tearing up town as a ghoulish and preternaturally fleet-footed shape-shifter.
  3. Prototype is one of the best games to release this generation and is definitely the best game to drop in 2009 (so far). Outside of the lackluster stealth and disguising mechanic, the brutal combat, huge open-world, varied challenges, and utterly satisfying gameplay makes this a must-have title for any serious gamer's collection. Get ready to put your life on hold!