• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 1, 2013
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 77
  2. Negative: 2 out of 77
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    It makes you feel lonely and lost, yet fails to really make the most of its wonderful attributes, never maturing into the rich experience it could've been.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Rain pulls you in from the early moments. The abandoned city that you roam through is beautiful in its gloominess, and the quiet piano score adds subtle background texture without overwhelming the other aspects. The pieces of Rain meld wonderfully together, and as the story comes to a tense conclusion, it becomes absolutely riveting. But there are hours between the evocative opening and cathartic ending that go through the motions.
  3. 84
    If you are looking for a game that’s a non-stop thrill ride, you should look somewhere else. But if you want to connect with a game in a way that you aren’t used to, want to feel something, or just love buckets of precipitation–rain is the game for you. At $15, there isn’t really anything else like it.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    65
    Rain tries to tug at the heartstrings, but I never felt connected to the characters.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    60
    As for the narrative that the cinematic camera serves, Rain's tale is too flimsy and poorly-paced to build into something significant.
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    75
    Without any multiplayer, exploration, or any other significant points of interest, Rain is a short, easy ride you'd be hard-pressed to venture into more than once.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    While not as intriguing or long-lasting as something like Tokyo Jungle, I think PS3 players will still find themselves enraptured by the unique design of Rain's water-soaked world.
  8. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    I think Rain, with its simple design and story, is best for families to play together or gamers looking for a relaxing weekend jaunt. It is for the most part quite lovely, but it lacks both the narrative and visual punches that could have ascended it to more worldly appeal and acclaim.
  9. Oct 19, 2013
    77
    This is a beautiful and brave adventure with an inescapable sense of melancholy. [Dec 2013, p.66]
  10. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    Rain is a melancholic poem that grabs you as you play it and stays with you after you turn off your PS3.
  11. Oct 1, 2013
    60
    Rain is packed full of interesting ideas and themes: the visual aesthetics, the characters, the metaphors being woven, the mechanics. All of these are pleasing in their own right and could have warranted their own small title, but ultimately their sheer number overwhelms and muddles the delicate nature of the story trying to be told.
  12. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    From the very first video, you already knew whether Rain was for you or not. It's short and simple. Actually, it's always trying to tell you what to do next, preventing you from even attempting to think how to solve a situation, which is something hard to understand and annoying. But if you can forgive this, you'll live an experience that no other game can give you.
  13. Oct 7, 2013
    50
    Rain’s core ideas remain frustratingly underdeveloped throughout, and it comes off more like a watercolour sketch than the oil painting that was promised.
  14. Oct 1, 2013
    95
    The night I finished “rain”, I fell asleep thinking about the story and what had transpired during the journey. Then the next morning I awoke thinking about it once more. While I didn’t have any clear ideas as to what it all meant, I was left with the undeniable feeling that I had experienced something exceptional.
  15. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Without the option to deviate from the game’s strict and straight path at any point, and with mechanics repeated to the point of exhaustion, Rain certainly shows there’s room for artistically vibrant properties in games, but that aesthetic shouldn’t detract from a focus on engaging, consistent gameplay.
  16. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    With similarities to the likes of ICO, Shadow of The Colossus and last year's Journey, it's another exceptional entry in Sony's arthouse-inspired run of games that it consistently does so well.
  17. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    Rain is a beautiful experience for PS3. A creative and charming adventure with all the flavors of Sony Japan Studio.
  18. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    With an emotional story and great sense of style, Rain should be one of this year's best games. Unfortunately it's marred by a story that ends far too soon and puzzles that are never challenging. Even with those problems, fans of ICO and stealth action will find a lot to like about Rain. At least for the three hours it lasts.
  19. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    The experience of playing Rain felt like it should have culminated in an emotional and poignant ending, but the abstruse storytelling only acted as a roadblock to a sought-after moment of epiphany – it borders on pretentiousness. But where the narrative and gameplay are let-downs, the impressive art style and outstanding soundtrack are a treat for the senses.
  20. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    Rain’s emotional potency is progressively diluted by tiresome design, but there’s no one particular grievance that completely ruins the experience.
  21. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    Rain is not quite the model of refinement that some of its PlayStation Network peers have been, but it's an overwhelmingly amiable, effectively cultivated little adventure. Calming and scary, amusing and sorrowful, Rain is a game that jogs calmly through a gamut of emotions, rather than sprints headlong into mood whiplash, and it's incredibly difficult to ever dislike it, even during its twitchier moments. Rain is, above all, a most balmy experience.
  22. Mar 11, 2014
    86
    Rain is sad, beautiful and highly playable. [Nov 2013]
  23. Oct 22, 2013
    70
    Rain cannot reinvent itself, but instead delivers a usual gameplay from start to finish, in a driven and linear adventure. The sense of wonder that comes in the early stages tends to stall, washed away by a heavy rain.
  24. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The only thing we don’t like about Rain is its playtime: it’s too short, we want to enjoy more of this game. A stunning display of story, with a magnificent soundtrack and we haven’t even talked about the gameplay yet. Puzzling in the rain has never been this beautiful and good.
  25. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Too weak in its gameplay to be considered a proper videogame, Rain is just (and only) a wonderful story that could have been an unforgettable title.
  26. Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Rain brings up the poet in you. With a beautiful soundtrack, refined story and a style that oozes beauty, it keeps you looking for a deeper meaning. That makes for an intriguing experience, although the stylish bubble has a tendency of breaking and the simple gameplay becomes an obstacle.
  27. 50
    Impressively unique in terms of both visuals and gameplay but all the most interesting ideas seem to wash away disappointingly quickly.
  28. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    There are some poetic moments using evocative music and words that seem to exist within the world right along with you, and though it rains for hours, the atmosphere somehow never feels tiresome. Rain can be a bit irritating though. You don’t get to see the script beforehand, and the stage managers often fail to provide you with proper cues. Things seem to stretch out too long, with some scenes seemingly exist just to fill time.
  29. A curiosity that rewards, but shouldn’t be showered with praise. There are fewer new ideas in here than it seems in the opening level, but pace-changing pursuits and a dreamy Debussy vibe mean it’s still well worth playing.
  30. Oct 31, 2013
    80
    If you have a PS3 and can roll with the kind of plaintive adventure Rain revels in, it’s one of the year’s most interesting peculiarities.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    In short Rain is beautiful,short,sad and immersive. Like every game it does come with flaws....the main ones being how short it is and once you beat it that's pretty much it....however if you can immerse yourself in this beautiful,stunning world then you will come out of this game like me amazed. Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Rain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almost immediately. It's the type of game that only comes around once every couple of years. Everything was so perfect there's nothing i can say i would change. If i had to pick one word to describe this game it would "Simple". Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    One of the best gaming artistic experiences I ever had. Set in a European city, probably Paris, in a wet raining night, escaping from what it is the metaphor of an illness. In terms of gameplay it may seem a bit weak, but that its not what the games focus on, it is all about the experience. Also you bet you will still manage to die anyway. I have been a bit disappointed by the ending, that like the prologue turned into a water colours clip. But apart from that the journey gives what intended to, what any lover of raining days does expect. It can't be missed, you won't regret it. Full Review »