User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 339 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 339

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    One of the best games you can play. Everything about this series screams the word "fun" but this one in particular was hands down the best experience of them all so far! I love the clank time puzzles, they are easy at first but take quite a bit of thinking towards the end. I adore all the characters in this franchise and it is awesome when you see people from previous games return or make cameo's. Nice blend of action, comedy, and fun! Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the best PlayStation 3 game I've played. Although it feels distinctly similar to the other Ratchet and Clank games, there are a few new things to keep it fresh. The main antagonist from the 3rd Ratchet and Clank game, Dr Nefarious, returns (Yay!) and plans to use a device called the Great Clock created by the mysterious beings, the Zoni and create a Future in which the Heroes always lose. The game play is similar to anyone who's played a Ratchet and Clank game: You have a selection of weapons and have to fight through enemies to reach the end of the level. The weapon designs are great like the Buzz Blades and the Tesla Spikes.The spiritual moons return from past RaC games and are fun to explore. The graphics are lovely: It feels like your watching and playing a Pixar movie. A new game play element to the series is the introduction of Time Puzzles which Clank has to solve which are fun to solve and the later puzzles in the game give your brain a workout. The plot is interesting and the characters are well designed and nicely voiced. The boss battles are epic and quite challenging and the soundtrack is superb. Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is a really enjoyable game and a great conclusion to the Future Trilogy. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This game is a testament to why Insomniac is so good. A Crack in Time creates an epic story with a great deal of humor mixed in for good measure. The game consistently rewards and praises you while running through the game, and even though some of the challenges are easy, it still gives has a nice feel good touch. The graphics are vibrant and colorful. You will be amazed at how outstanding these graphics are, they are truly spectacular all around. Playing the game is very easy, and you can easily jump right in to everything. Each gun in the game is also spectacular in their own rights, and each also gets a special intro video to each, which by the way are very humorous. Puzzle sequences alternate with Ratchet's shooting sequences, and they are time based. Clank is in charge of the puzzles in the game, and there is enough to satisfy, yet not too much to get annoying. If you need a Platinum Trophy... this game is a 25-35 hour Platinum trophy, and a very easy one at that. Should you get this game? Yes, absolutely pick this up, you will love it. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    I've given this a 9 because the story mode is good however i found flying round in space and doing some of the moons a bit boring. I loved the hover boots as they make it a lot easier than using the charge boots all the time like in the old game, the hover boots also make it easier to get from action to action so it makes it more enjoyable that you can kill more enemies in a shorter amount of time. I found the variety of weapons very good as there are just normal guns and burping frog guns. I think i would give it a 10 if it had multiplayer and online like in 3 and gladiator as I don't think that just the story is going to keep you entertained for more than 20 hours. I think it's worth buying and if you don't have the games before this one there is a cinematic telling you the story so far. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This game is the best Ratchet and Clank game ever!! It is so fun to play and I am a big fan of Ratchet and Clank!! Fantastic story, wonderful graphics, and very good gameplay makes this a must buy. 10/10
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Pretty much the culmination of 10 great years of Ratchet & Clank mechanics, "A Crack in Time" has everything I'd expect from a main series entry and then some. The story is in parts amusing, but overall very touching and surprisingly moving. The gameplay is as fast-paced and enjoyable as any of the other entries and I had a great time blasting enemies to pieces with the variety of crazy weapons you're given. And there's a surprising amount of content here too, given all the planets you can explore with Aphelion for bolts, zoni and other treasures. Overall, one of the best videogames I've played in a long time. I cannot recommend it enough. Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    This has to be the best Ratchet & Clank game out. The jokes are so bad they're good, the weapons are inventive and the graphics are still cartoony, but polished to make an already good look better. I loved this game so much i was gutted when i took it back to Blockbuster. However, i did manage to get an easy platinum trophy out of it! There are a few annoying glitches though. Sometimes, the game sound stopped if i fireda gun for more thn 5 seconds, and Ratchet glitched through barriers and insta-died a couple of times too. These glitches stop this game from being a perfect 10, but 9.9 is still good enough! Good job Insomniac! Expand
  8. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    This game was very good the graphics were smooth the gameplay was very good I liked giong from moon to moon although there should have been more planets another complaint is that the weapons werent as useful as the other R and Clank games very very good but not perfect. 9/10
  9. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    This game is a great game but it didn't feel like a ratchet and clank game i had grown up with. I just love having ratchet on my back. I have finished this game 3 times and it is really addictive to get all the trophys on this game and to play the game another time. I had quite alot fun on this ratchet and clank I think its worth buying.It has beautiful visuals and there really nice and smooth in HD I love the twists on this game but i don't want to ruin it. I would give this a Solid 8.7. Expand
  10. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is one of my favorite video game series of all time. The platforming, great graphics , good gameplay, comedy, and cool storyline are what makes certain games like this great. 10/10
  11. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best games money can buy. The arsenal of weapons is better than expected, the characters are real characters and.. Quark is definitely being..Quark. Great graphics, great gameplay, better space combat and free real roaming-- everything you expected and maybe more. The ending was pleasing.. but so sad to see the series end. Long live Ratchet and Clank!
  12. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, the story is great, the game play is better. Truly the best game in the series. This game has many changeling puzzles, heart-pumping action, and laugh-out-loud humor. This game is great for anyone and everyone.
  13. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This game is pure fun. It follows the same formula but never seems to get old. The new additions from previous is the ability to now travel between planets and do mini planets/moons, fight and earn bolts from jobs! Leveling up weapons as you use them and collecting all the special item's is very satisfying. If you want a brilliant 3d platformer with a great story then look no further.
  14. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This was a really great game. one thing i liked was the space exploration, this is a great addition to the game, and made it seem more alive somehow. I hope they add it to another ratchet and clank game in the future. the graphics are even better than they were in Tools of Destruction, you also get the hoverboots which are a better version of the charge boots. It also has an amazing story that will keep you hooked. but as you're reading this and looking at the metacritic score "87" you might be scratching you head (Ign did not give it a perfect score because it was "more of the same" really? more of the same? is call of duty not more of the same? seriously). well take my advice and mine only ignore it because those reviewers don't know JACK. That score should be at least a "96" because this game is awsome! Expand
  15. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    The game is enjoyable all the way through and still adds many new gameplay elements to keep it fresh. Do
    not think that you are crazy for playing this game through more than once; I and many others most certainly have.
  16. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    I am a big fan of the Ratchet & Clank games and it may seem I'm giving it a 10 just because I'm a 'fanboy' to the series but I really wouldn't give it 10 if I didn't think it deserved it. A Crack in Time is exactly what I expect from R&C and the absence of Clank throughout the game makes it so much different from the previous games as in the previous games you had lost him for a limited period. The hoverboots make up for his dissapearance however and they are extremely fun. Must buy for any R&C fan. Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    A solid 9.
    Great game with great cinematic's and graphics. The story is interesting, weapons are unique and somewhat customizable, rewarding gadgets and lots to do on challenge mode (or on the first play through) like catching Zoni, doing side missions, running around on moons, looking for Gold bolts, upgrading your weapons, flying around in space and fighting in the arena.
    It even has a
    VERY small arcade mini game of Qwark on the battle station which should keep you entertained for a (VERY) small while.
    The only real gripe is the lack of online play and somewhat unforgiving instance on certain boss battles.
    Expand
  18. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the final game to the future saga and overall became a more exciting game than Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty. The game may have the same formula as previous Ratchet and Clank games, but provides new elements that's never been featured in the other Ratchet titles like exploring through space freely and the new Clank's time puzzles. I think what makes this game really engaging is the continuation of the story and those outstanding animations. Though some parts of the plot are a bit mind boggling and even if the visuals are really vivid this time around, the cutscenes seem too inconsistent compared to previous Ratchet games. As always, the writing in the story and humour is great for both kids and adults to enjoy with a great set of voice cast to make the experience really entertaining. Like Tools of Destruction, A Crack in Time came close to a perfect 10 with its old and new variety of gameplay, but the lack of world explorations and recycled weapons gives it a 9. Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time is definitely the better Ratchet and Clank game to try out on the PS3, but be warned that you might be confused with the story if you decide to play this game before Tools of Destruction. Expand
  19. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This is without a doubt one of the best games out. Easily the best on the PS3 so far, and the previous games weren't exactly slouches. Pure fun is what you're buying into here, and if you really want value for money you can get anything from from 10 - 20 hours from this game, it keeps on giving. If you haven't played a Ratchet game yet start with the HD collection/trilogy and play your way through them. The humour is fantastic, it's very much along the lines of things like Futurama - quirky, laugh out loud, larger than life, yet relatable and presented in bite size doses. An absolute must. Expand
  20. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    To close the Future arc in the Ratchet & Clank series, A Crack in Time is a perfect mix of everything that was best in each previous game of the series. Without sacrificing the fun dialogue, Insomniac created a serious story that explores the past of the main duo and gives them new depth. Ratchet's origins and the fate of the Lombax race and Clank's purpose are intelligently developed as the game progresses, powered up by the return of the best villain of the series by far, the mad Doctor Nefarious. Gameplay was improved and Ratchet feels lighter than ever. The soundtrack is great and the new weapons are outstanding even by the series' standards. Firing the Rift Inducer 5000 and seeing your kraken-like monster buddy Fred come out of a black hole to pull in enemies never gets old. Graphics are as colorful as ever, and the breathtaking environments are simply beautiful. Clank has a whole new role to play in the series, and his time-based puzzles are imaginative and challenging without being frustrating. Space travel, planetoid exploration, everything was improved and perfected. A Crack in Time is arguably the best game in this brilliant series. Expand
  21. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Ratchet & Clank: A Crack in Time is incredible, absolutely incredible. It uses the gameplay formula style of Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty, but they've improved it, they've tweaked it so that it's more fast-paced and engaging, it's an awesome game to play. The graphics style has changed a bit, so that it looks better, it's very easy on the eyes. One thing that makes the whole experience even better is the massive space hub-world, where you can explore different moons, complete quests, listen to hilarious radio, and blow up stuff. One of the best parts of A Crack in Time is the excellent story-line, with shocking twists, hilarious conversations and stuff, and dramatic sequences. The soundtrack wouldn't be that great to listen to on its own, but it fits in with the game insanely well. If you haven't played this game or got it yet, I truly, truly recommend this to you! Expand
  22. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    You didn't know your PS3 could do so much. "Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack In Time" is the final installment in the "Ratchet and Clank Future" trilogy, and the final "Ratchet and Clank" game to follow the original format (Yes there ARE new R&C games, but these are simply because R&C are Sony's main mascots and naturally star in other games with different concepts, just like how Super Mario still stars in MarioKart). This game has it all; an incredible, gripping plot, a massive variety of weaponry (customizable and upgradable) and a very long list of game-play options, in a game that will last for weeks. simply incredible, it has no flaws, and is an ideal PlayStation title. If only there were more gripping action/third-person-shooter titles like this one. Expand
  23. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    From the top of the saga.
  24. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Simply fantastic game. Seems like the game series are never going to die away. Beautiful graphics, epic storyline and gameplay make this easily one of the best action/adventure games what ps3 has to offer.
  25. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    ratchet and clank a crack in time is probably one of the best ratchet and clank games together with up your arsenal this game is just so good the graphics are better more and cooler weapons many extra's and great gameplay and character development another great extra for this game is the insomniac museum what is quite big too in short ratchet and clank a crack in time is probably the biggest ratchet and clank game ever made this is what ratchet and clank shoud be again.
    +better weapons
    +good character development
    +big open universe
    +great gadjets
    Expand
  26. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Literally the only game on the PS3 that is flawless. Stunning graphics, exceptional storyline, beautiful gameplay, and great dialogue. One of the best values considering how long the game itself is. Entirely worth the purchase; I play it all the time.
  27. May 15, 2013
    10
    I have always loved the Ratchet & Clank series and this doesn't disappoint in terms of the experience. This probably has the best story of any game in the series revealing more about Ratchet and Clank's respective origins and what happened to the Lombaxes. The other characters are great to with Azimuth being my favourite. The wepons are as fun as ever and the same great platforming and shooting is there from the other games. The changes such as now being able to freely pilot your ship and Clanks's time puzzles are good to. It changes up the gameplay well unlike All 4 One. The graphics are great to with alien worlds and varying environments looking better than ever. Truly a great game Expand
  28. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    A Crack in Time stands to be one of the greatest Ratchet & Clank adventures to date, taking everything that made Tools of Destruction great and expanding on it. The addition of explorable space, as well as reinforcing the platformer elements with time puzzles and additional collectables make this title a fine addition to glowing franchise, and one of the most highly recommended titles to play in the series. Expand
  29. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time is not just the best Ratchet and Clank game ever made, but it is also the best platformer ever made! It's funny, exciting and full of heart. It stays true to the Ratchet and Clank series while improving it. This game has the heart of Pixar and the comedy of Dreamworks while still bringing an exhilaratingly fun traditional game that has tons of replay value despite its long length (if your trying to complete everything that is). All of the cool new quarky weapons brings new excitement to the series, and the customizable weapons is also great upgrade. Expand
  30. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is the best game that I have ever played. It is all I ever wanted in a video game. Its gameplay is really good, even the Clank stages which I disliked in the other games, the story is great and unique, the graphics and design is just so beautiful, and the soundtrack is amazing. This game doesn't let me down.
  31. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I played so far. The graphics are amazing. the gameplay is FUN FUN FUN!!! there are a lot of weapons, and customizations for them. The story and characters along with the voice acting are amazing. There was nothing I didnt liked in this game. Do yourself a favor and get it!!! This is a game world you have to visit.
  32. May 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before I start let me say this: This is a masterpiece, the best Ratchet game on PS3, the best game Insomniac made for the PS3, and one of the best games for the PS3. If you have a PS3, go buy this, your collection isn't complete without it! It follows the story of Quest for Booty (which is a follow-up to Tools Of Destruction), It completes the trilogy with a fun and clever platforming based gameplay, with lots of weapon based battles and time travel segments. The story is a freaking masterpiece, you set up on your journey to save your best robot pal, Clank, and along the way, you learn about Ratchet's race, the Lombaxes' fate and why they disappeared from the only other remaining Lombax in the universe, General Alister Azimuth. So this is the Ratchet gameplay. But you get to also play as Clank, in the Great Clock, who is also learning about his origins and how he was created by Orvus, and along the way, you get an awesome weapon capable of slowing time, you also have to solve some mind-cracking puzzles based on multiple selves (time recording? I don't know what to call this exactly! Lol). The game has a serious nature, the story is very dramatic, but of course, Insomniac developers never forget to throw Captain Qwark to tell some jokes and add a humorous side to the game.
    Even after you complete the main story, you don't really complete the game, you could set out to search for the RYNO V holo-plan, which you can later assemble to obtain the most powerful weapon in the game, you could participate in the Agorian Battleplex, in which you participate in tournaments to win even more weapons and gadgets. You could also collect 40 Zonis scattered across the universe to upgrade your ship, and therefore access more planets to collect more Zonis that are hidden in them. And what do you know, when you finally collect all of them, you get to fight Lord Vorselon again in an awesome (real) final boss battle. And even when you complete that, you could just crack up the difficulty level to add more challenge to the game or play the challenge mode, where you just restart your game whilst keeping all the weapons and Zoni you collected during your first game! Overall, this game got everything you want to see in a R&C game, fun gameplay, charming story that makes you want to keep going, clever puzzles, awesome humourous dialogue, weapon upgrades, and a small funny advertisement for weapons you get after buying each new one (Insomniac didn't need to get through all the trouble to make this since it adds nothing to the gameplay, but it's small detail like this that improves it), and a complete weapon costomization section which includes removing or adding accessories, giving you the possibility to change the whole weapon, and you could even paint it! Sweet! And even if you are a newcomer to the series you eon't miss anything, since during the game installation, Qwark gives a brief, funny, summary of what happened during the two prequels.

    WOuld totally recommend to anyone! 9.9/10!
    Expand
  33. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best things Insomniac did. A Crack in Time does everything right with no mistakes whatsoever. The only people who won't like this game are the haters and fans who have gotten sick of the formula.
    +Story
    +Fun Shooting
    +Constant Rewards
    +Challenge Mode
  34. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    This game is awesome, anything you want to see in a R&C game is here; awesome platforming, smooth game play, precise controls, good graphics, the crazy weapons that Insomniac implemented and a beautiful story, the mechanics are relatively fresh with time travel that somewhat reminds me of Chrono Trigger where there are multiple "gates" scattered around and time manipulation, also the Clank sections of the game are really enjoyable, the cut scenes are serious but have that bit of humour in them, you know, just like every Ratchet game. Collecting Zonis is great fun, and it reminds me of Zelda's pieces of heart; Collect 3 Zonis to add a new upgrade to your ship. The final verdict is; go get this game, you'll enjoy it thoroughly. Expand
  35. Nov 6, 2014
    9
    RC A Crack In Time is one of the best PS3 games i have played. The story is great, beautiful graphics, cool music and awesome gameplay.

    You will love the weapons, most of the planets, the sidequests, and riding around the galaxies while listening to the Pirate Radio or the Deep Space Jams!
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Same gameplay, new story. More jokes and many new little gadgets make the new part of this series as enjoyable as the older ones. Insomniac Games build on their qualities and do well so.
  2. 85
    This is the last part in the trilogy and has a few new gameplay possibilities. You can use the great new Hooverboots, explore space with your spaceship and you need to find Clank. A great adventure and a truly worthy closing of the trilogy.
  3. 90
    It's not a difficult game, but with bolts, Zoni, Skill Points, holoplans, Constructo Mods, space missions, Trophies and Challenge Mode, there's an abundance of gameplay. It's a robust single player experience, and I particularly love that Insomniac has kept their signature Skill Points, with their own quirky requirements, separate from Trophies.