User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 442 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 442
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jason
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    A fantastic game. Better than TOD. Probably the best in the series.
  2. RyanR
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Awesome Game! Would be foolish not to try it. Epic Storyline and a blast to play.
  3. jerry
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Playing this game is like watching a saturday morning cartoon. It's such a blast to play and can be quite challenging at times. If you want a game with an excellent storyline, beautiful graphics & excellent gameplay A Crack in Time will have you covered on all fronts.
  4. JasonA
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    What are the reviewers that gave this game a 70 looking for? Why can't a game be a single player experience and just fun? This game is a blast to play, it grabs hold of you and never let's go. The pacing is amazing also, you work thru a huge battle requiring strategy and planning which leads into a cerebral puzzle or twitch rail platforming section. Like I said, pure fun, and What are the reviewers that gave this game a 70 looking for? Why can't a game be a single player experience and just fun? This game is a blast to play, it grabs hold of you and never let's go. The pacing is amazing also, you work thru a huge battle requiring strategy and planning which leads into a cerebral puzzle or twitch rail platforming section. Like I said, pure fun, and with all the side quests it's incredibly long for a platformer. Expand
  5. MatthewW
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Seriously, if the PS3 ONLY had it's exclusives and not a single other game I would go out and pay $500 for it today. The R&C Future series are just beyond amazing. You'd swear you were playing the playstation 4 it looks so amazing, it has such incredible framerates and of course, obsidian, being one of the world top devs has made the gameplay fun on every level. I recommend all Seriously, if the PS3 ONLY had it's exclusives and not a single other game I would go out and pay $500 for it today. The R&C Future series are just beyond amazing. You'd swear you were playing the playstation 4 it looks so amazing, it has such incredible framerates and of course, obsidian, being one of the world top devs has made the gameplay fun on every level. I recommend all the R&C future games, they all are worth whatever the cost for they bring a platforming experience that you've never even come close to playing. Trust me, buy all 3 games. If nothing to see just how HUGE the gap in pure gaming power the PS3 has over the XBOX. Seriously after playing the R&C:F games, killzone 2, uncharted 2, and resistance 2 I now realize just how much the xbox is holding back gaming. All these 3rd party devs want to make games on both so they have to make games with 1/3 the content and drasticaly lower graphics than if they were making a PS3 only game. Seriously it's a shame we have to suffer having mediocre games because people think the xbox is better than the PS3 which it is not, in any way. XBOX has HALO... seriously? ODST sucked, nothing else worth mentioning. Don't forget to check out Captain Quarks new movie, "My blasters run hot!" (now playing in holo-theatres galaxy wide.) Expand
  6. BrianR
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    That's actually a 9.25, Which is the Metascore this title deserves. Play it, and you'll understand... DISCLAIMER: I HAVE NOT PLAYED THIS GAME
  7. JasonM
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    This game is just amazing and i have only just finished the first level. But all the new moves and puzzle solving is brilliant. Yeah sure it has been the same for 7 years like the movie critics have said but if you've been playing it since PS2 and RAC 1 then it is amazing to see how everything has evolved from then on. Absolutely breathtaking.
  8. ImreK
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Nothing short of brilliant. If you liked the first one go out and get it now.
  9. RafeakyJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Excellent adventure , with paradox puzzles , customizable and upgradable weapons. Performs well with a good story platforming and action. Last but not least the Omega Ryno V is an Epic Weapon.
  10. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is a beloved series on the PS2 and PS3 and the Future games are totally awesome. My daughter and I love the series! It's not coop but you can still enjoy it together.
  11. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This game is a testament to why Insomniac is so good. A Crack in Time creates an epic story with a great deal of humor mixed in for good measure. The game consistently rewards and praises you while running through the game, and even though some of the challenges are easy, it still gives has a nice feel good touch. The graphics are vibrant and colorful. You will be amazed at howThis game is a testament to why Insomniac is so good. A Crack in Time creates an epic story with a great deal of humor mixed in for good measure. The game consistently rewards and praises you while running through the game, and even though some of the challenges are easy, it still gives has a nice feel good touch. The graphics are vibrant and colorful. You will be amazed at how outstanding these graphics are, they are truly spectacular all around. Playing the game is very easy, and you can easily jump right in to everything. Each gun in the game is also spectacular in their own rights, and each also gets a special intro video to each, which by the way are very humorous. Puzzle sequences alternate with Ratchet's shooting sequences, and they are time based. Clank is in charge of the puzzles in the game, and there is enough to satisfy, yet not too much to get annoying. If you need a Platinum Trophy... this game is a 25-35 hour Platinum trophy, and a very easy one at that. Should you get this game? Yes, absolutely pick this up, you will love it. Expand
  12. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    One of the best games you can play. Everything about this series screams the word "fun" but this one in particular was hands down the best experience of them all so far! I love the clank time puzzles, they are easy at first but take quite a bit of thinking towards the end. I adore all the characters in this franchise and it is awesome when you see people from previous games return or makeOne of the best games you can play. Everything about this series screams the word "fun" but this one in particular was hands down the best experience of them all so far! I love the clank time puzzles, they are easy at first but take quite a bit of thinking towards the end. I adore all the characters in this franchise and it is awesome when you see people from previous games return or make cameo's. Nice blend of action, comedy, and fun! Expand
  13. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    I am a big fan of the Ratchet & Clank games and it may seem I'm giving it a 10 just because I'm a 'fanboy' to the series but I really wouldn't give it 10 if I didn't think it deserved it. A Crack in Time is exactly what I expect from R&C and the absence of Clank throughout the game makes it so much different from the previous games as in the previous games you had lost him for a limitedI am a big fan of the Ratchet & Clank games and it may seem I'm giving it a 10 just because I'm a 'fanboy' to the series but I really wouldn't give it 10 if I didn't think it deserved it. A Crack in Time is exactly what I expect from R&C and the absence of Clank throughout the game makes it so much different from the previous games as in the previous games you had lost him for a limited period. The hoverboots make up for his dissapearance however and they are extremely fun. Must buy for any R&C fan. Expand
  14. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is one of my favorite video game series of all time. The platforming, great graphics , good gameplay, comedy, and cool storyline are what makes certain games like this great. 10/10
  15. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best games money can buy. The arsenal of weapons is better than expected, the characters are real characters and.. Quark is definitely being..Quark. Great graphics, great gameplay, better space combat and free real roaming-- everything you expected and maybe more. The ending was pleasing.. but so sad to see the series end. Long live Ratchet and Clank!
  16. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This game is the best Ratchet and Clank game ever!! It is so fun to play and I am a big fan of Ratchet and Clank!! Fantastic story, wonderful graphics, and very good gameplay makes this a must buy. 10/10
  17. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, the story is great, the game play is better. Truly the best game in the series. This game has many changeling puzzles, heart-pumping action, and laugh-out-loud humor. This game is great for anyone and everyone.
  18. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Ratchet & Clank: A Crack in Time is incredible, absolutely incredible. It uses the gameplay formula style of Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty, but they've improved it, they've tweaked it so that it's more fast-paced and engaging, it's an awesome game to play. The graphics style has changed a bit, so that it looks better, it's very easy on the eyes. One thing that makes the wholeRatchet & Clank: A Crack in Time is incredible, absolutely incredible. It uses the gameplay formula style of Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty, but they've improved it, they've tweaked it so that it's more fast-paced and engaging, it's an awesome game to play. The graphics style has changed a bit, so that it looks better, it's very easy on the eyes. One thing that makes the whole experience even better is the massive space hub-world, where you can explore different moons, complete quests, listen to hilarious radio, and blow up stuff. One of the best parts of A Crack in Time is the excellent story-line, with shocking twists, hilarious conversations and stuff, and dramatic sequences. The soundtrack wouldn't be that great to listen to on its own, but it fits in with the game insanely well. If you haven't played this game or got it yet, I truly, truly recommend this to you! Expand
  19. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This game is pure fun. It follows the same formula but never seems to get old. The new additions from previous is the ability to now travel between planets and do mini planets/moons, fight and earn bolts from jobs! Leveling up weapons as you use them and collecting all the special item's is very satisfying. If you want a brilliant 3d platformer with a great story then look no further.
  20. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Pretty much the culmination of 10 great years of Ratchet & Clank mechanics, "A Crack in Time" has everything I'd expect from a main series entry and then some. The story is in parts amusing, but overall very touching and surprisingly moving. The gameplay is as fast-paced and enjoyable as any of the other entries and I had a great time blasting enemies to pieces with the variety of crazyPretty much the culmination of 10 great years of Ratchet & Clank mechanics, "A Crack in Time" has everything I'd expect from a main series entry and then some. The story is in parts amusing, but overall very touching and surprisingly moving. The gameplay is as fast-paced and enjoyable as any of the other entries and I had a great time blasting enemies to pieces with the variety of crazy weapons you're given. And there's a surprising amount of content here too, given all the planets you can explore with Aphelion for bolts, zoni and other treasures. Overall, one of the best videogames I've played in a long time. I cannot recommend it enough. Expand
  21. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This was a really great game. one thing i liked was the space exploration, this is a great addition to the game, and made it seem more alive somehow. I hope they add it to another ratchet and clank game in the future. the graphics are even better than they were in Tools of Destruction, you also get the hoverboots which are a better version of the charge boots. It also has an amazing storyThis was a really great game. one thing i liked was the space exploration, this is a great addition to the game, and made it seem more alive somehow. I hope they add it to another ratchet and clank game in the future. the graphics are even better than they were in Tools of Destruction, you also get the hoverboots which are a better version of the charge boots. It also has an amazing story that will keep you hooked. but as you're reading this and looking at the metacritic score "87" you might be scratching you head (Ign did not give it a perfect score because it was "more of the same" really? more of the same? is call of duty not more of the same? seriously). well take my advice and mine only ignore it because those reviewers don't know JACK. That score should be at least a "96" because this game is awsome! Expand
  22. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    You didn't know your PS3 could do so much. "Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack In Time" is the final installment in the "Ratchet and Clank Future" trilogy, and the final "Ratchet and Clank" game to follow the original format (Yes there ARE new R&C games, but these are simply because R&C are Sony's main mascots and naturally star in other games with different concepts, just like how SuperYou didn't know your PS3 could do so much. "Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack In Time" is the final installment in the "Ratchet and Clank Future" trilogy, and the final "Ratchet and Clank" game to follow the original format (Yes there ARE new R&C games, but these are simply because R&C are Sony's main mascots and naturally star in other games with different concepts, just like how Super Mario still stars in MarioKart). This game has it all; an incredible, gripping plot, a massive variety of weaponry (customizable and upgradable) and a very long list of game-play options, in a game that will last for weeks. simply incredible, it has no flaws, and is an ideal PlayStation title. If only there were more gripping action/third-person-shooter titles like this one. Expand
  23. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    From the top of the saga.
  24. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Literally the only game on the PS3 that is flawless. Stunning graphics, exceptional storyline, beautiful gameplay, and great dialogue. One of the best values considering how long the game itself is. Entirely worth the purchase; I play it all the time.
  25. May 15, 2013
    10
    I have always loved the Ratchet & Clank series and this doesn't disappoint in terms of the experience. This probably has the best story of any game in the series revealing more about Ratchet and Clank's respective origins and what happened to the Lombaxes. The other characters are great to with Azimuth being my favourite. The wepons are as fun as ever and the same great platforming andI have always loved the Ratchet & Clank series and this doesn't disappoint in terms of the experience. This probably has the best story of any game in the series revealing more about Ratchet and Clank's respective origins and what happened to the Lombaxes. The other characters are great to with Azimuth being my favourite. The wepons are as fun as ever and the same great platforming and shooting is there from the other games. The changes such as now being able to freely pilot your ship and Clanks's time puzzles are good to. It changes up the gameplay well unlike All 4 One. The graphics are great to with alien worlds and varying environments looking better than ever. Truly a great game Expand
  26. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time is not just the best Ratchet and Clank game ever made, but it is also the best platformer ever made! It's funny, exciting and full of heart. It stays true to the Ratchet and Clank series while improving it. This game has the heart of Pixar and the comedy of Dreamworks while still bringing an exhilaratingly fun traditional game that has tons ofRatchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time is not just the best Ratchet and Clank game ever made, but it is also the best platformer ever made! It's funny, exciting and full of heart. It stays true to the Ratchet and Clank series while improving it. This game has the heart of Pixar and the comedy of Dreamworks while still bringing an exhilaratingly fun traditional game that has tons of replay value despite its long length (if your trying to complete everything that is). All of the cool new quarky weapons brings new excitement to the series, and the customizable weapons is also great upgrade. Expand
  27. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is the best game that I have ever played. It is all I ever wanted in a video game. Its gameplay is really good, even the Clank stages which I disliked in the other games, the story is great and unique, the graphics and design is just so beautiful, and the soundtrack is amazing. This game doesn't let me down.
  28. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I played so far. The graphics are amazing. the gameplay is FUN FUN FUN!!! there are a lot of weapons, and customizations for them. The story and characters along with the voice acting are amazing. There was nothing I didnt liked in this game. Do yourself a favor and get it!!! This is a game world you have to visit.
  29. May 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before I start let me say this: This is a masterpiece, the best Ratchet game on PS3, the best game Insomniac made for the PS3, and one of the best games for the PS3. If you have a PS3, go buy this, your collection isn't complete without it! It follows the story of Quest for Booty (which is a follow-up to Tools Of Destruction), It completes the trilogy with a fun and clever platforming based gameplay, with lots of weapon based battles and time travel segments. The story is a freaking masterpiece, you set up on your journey to save your best robot pal, Clank, and along the way, you learn about Ratchet's race, the Lombaxes' fate and why they disappeared from the only other remaining Lombax in the universe, General Alister Azimuth. So this is the Ratchet gameplay. But you get to also play as Clank, in the Great Clock, who is also learning about his origins and how he was created by Orvus, and along the way, you get an awesome weapon capable of slowing time, you also have to solve some mind-cracking puzzles based on multiple selves (time recording? I don't know what to call this exactly! Lol). The game has a serious nature, the story is very dramatic, but of course, Insomniac developers never forget to throw Captain Qwark to tell some jokes and add a humorous side to the game.
    Even after you complete the main story, you don't really complete the game, you could set out to search for the RYNO V holo-plan, which you can later assemble to obtain the most powerful weapon in the game, you could participate in the Agorian Battleplex, in which you participate in tournaments to win even more weapons and gadgets. You could also collect 40 Zonis scattered across the universe to upgrade your ship, and therefore access more planets to collect more Zonis that are hidden in them. And what do you know, when you finally collect all of them, you get to fight Lord Vorselon again in an awesome (real) final boss battle. And even when you complete that, you could just crack up the difficulty level to add more challenge to the game or play the challenge mode, where you just restart your game whilst keeping all the weapons and Zoni you collected during your first game! Overall, this game got everything you want to see in a R&C game, fun gameplay, charming story that makes you want to keep going, clever puzzles, awesome humourous dialogue, weapon upgrades, and a small funny advertisement for weapons you get after buying each new one (Insomniac didn't need to get through all the trouble to make this since it adds nothing to the gameplay, but it's small detail like this that improves it), and a complete weapon costomization section which includes removing or adding accessories, giving you the possibility to change the whole weapon, and you could even paint it! Sweet! And even if you are a newcomer to the series you eon't miss anything, since during the game installation, Qwark gives a brief, funny, summary of what happened during the two prequels.

    WOuld totally recommend to anyone! 9.9/10!
    Expand
  30. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best things Insomniac did. A Crack in Time does everything right with no mistakes whatsoever. The only people who won't like this game are the haters and fans who have gotten sick of the formula.
    +Story
    +Fun Shooting
    +Constant Rewards
    +Challenge Mode
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Same gameplay, new story. More jokes and many new little gadgets make the new part of this series as enjoyable as the older ones. Insomniac Games build on their qualities and do well so.
  2. 85
    This is the last part in the trilogy and has a few new gameplay possibilities. You can use the great new Hooverboots, explore space with your spaceship and you need to find Clank. A great adventure and a truly worthy closing of the trilogy.
  3. 90
    It's not a difficult game, but with bolts, Zoni, Skill Points, holoplans, Constructo Mods, space missions, Trophies and Challenge Mode, there's an abundance of gameplay. It's a robust single player experience, and I particularly love that Insomniac has kept their signature Skill Points, with their own quirky requirements, separate from Trophies.