User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 674 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 674
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnH.
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    These two characters never fail. Great platformer with the usual mix of shooting and puzzles. Can be enjoyed by gamers of all ages.
  2. NikH.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Not ever have I seen such beautiful graphics to complement outrageously fun gameplay. I have always been a fan of Ratchet and Clank, and after Deadlocked, I wasn't looking that forward to this one. But the minute I shot my combuster, I was taken.. Simply brilliant. Multiplayer has never been truly needed in these games, but it is a nice touch and could be added as a patch I might Not ever have I seen such beautiful graphics to complement outrageously fun gameplay. I have always been a fan of Ratchet and Clank, and after Deadlocked, I wasn't looking that forward to this one. But the minute I shot my combuster, I was taken.. Simply brilliant. Multiplayer has never been truly needed in these games, but it is a nice touch and could be added as a patch I might believe. Insomniac, keep it up! Expand
  3. ToddJ.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This game is just plain fun and an absolute joy to look at. I've not had this much fun playing a video game in years. My two year old daughter watches along with me (and tries to play herself) and keeps saying "Monsters dance!" I dowloaded the demo just to check it out, not expecting to like it. After playing through the demo four times I immediately bought the game. I have never This game is just plain fun and an absolute joy to look at. I've not had this much fun playing a video game in years. My two year old daughter watches along with me (and tries to play herself) and keeps saying "Monsters dance!" I dowloaded the demo just to check it out, not expecting to like it. After playing through the demo four times I immediately bought the game. I have never played a Ratchet & Clank game before, but after this I plan to pick up the PSP version and possibly more. All of the game players in our house (including the hardcore WoW players) are now hooked on this game. Expand
  4. MattJ.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Great Game The story so funny and it kinda long so you get to enjoy your weapons and get your money worth there so many weapons and there all fun to use and when you upgrade your weapon they get better and look cooler great game if anyone wants a long game to play with tons of laughs and tons of weapons every PS3 owner should have this game.
  5. MatthewJenkins
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    Not sure what to expect from the front cover. Big surprise! Imagine playing in 'Toy Story' and this is it. Funny characters lots of explosions weapons galore and many upgrades. Between planets/chapers the game becomes a shoot 'em up. Puzzles to solve. The whole works. Best £20 spent for a long time.
  6. LuisL.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Best game so far for PS3. Fantastic presentation and pacing makes this a great title. There's always more upgrades to keep you playing, and while the first play-through is a little on the easy side, the challenge mode unlocked after the first play-through is challenging, with upgraded weapons.
  7. KitF.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    As of yet, the greatest looking platformer ever made. That's a tough argument to beat. It's cartoon-style and wide color palette are delightful, and it's humor while at times a bit cliche, is not forced, and is truly funny; something that games nowadays are having a harder and harder time pulling off. The gameplay is an extremely polished revisit to games like Spyro, and As of yet, the greatest looking platformer ever made. That's a tough argument to beat. It's cartoon-style and wide color palette are delightful, and it's humor while at times a bit cliche, is not forced, and is truly funny; something that games nowadays are having a harder and harder time pulling off. The gameplay is an extremely polished revisit to games like Spyro, and Crash. I wasn't a Ratchet fan, but when I saw what this game had to offer, I had to pick it up. It's quality is irrefutable, and the game is executed well. If I had to complain about the game at all, it would be that it wasn't quite long enough. Not to say that it isn't a good length (10-20 hours depending on how many weapons you obsessively upgrade) but in the way that if the game was 60 hours, it still wouldn't be enough. Expand
  8. AdamA.
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    This game is, quite simply, fun to play. The weapons are cool, the worlds are colorful, and the action will keep players coming back for more. In a world where multiplayer is king, that's saying something. There are a few rough spots, however. Some of the cutscenes seemed unpolished, and a sparse few bugs (like falling through a level) kept ot from a higher score. Fantastic work all This game is, quite simply, fun to play. The weapons are cool, the worlds are colorful, and the action will keep players coming back for more. In a world where multiplayer is king, that's saying something. There are a few rough spots, however. Some of the cutscenes seemed unpolished, and a sparse few bugs (like falling through a level) kept ot from a higher score. Fantastic work all the same, though, I can't wait for the sequel. Expand
  9. Johigglesvash
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Nearly flawless in execution and purpose. The only failings of this game involve the motion controls, particularly of the tornado gun.
  10. MartinA.
    Oct 23, 2007
    6
    I think R&C was boring and annoying.
  11. MeNope
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    The game is awesome, the story is top-notch, the graphics look jav-dropping, the voice casting is nailed, the gameplay is superb, what more does a game need.
  12. JaakkoH.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning game. I knew what to expect, but I didn´t know how well the game presented itself. Very nice return to Ratchet and Clank frmo Insomniac.
  13. JosephS.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    The same great combat/platforming action we have come to expect from this franchise, but with a few new weapons and gadgets.
  14. JohnK.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Not sure what's up with Gamespot's review of this game. I am definitely starting to get an anti-PS3 vibe from their articles. Their only complaints were that they thought the game was too easy, that they thought there were too many mini-games, and that the ending is a cliff-hanger? Didn't seem to hurt their reviews of Bioshock, Halo 3 or Metroid Prime 3 (which are all Not sure what's up with Gamespot's review of this game. I am definitely starting to get an anti-PS3 vibe from their articles. Their only complaints were that they thought the game was too easy, that they thought there were too many mini-games, and that the ending is a cliff-hanger? Didn't seem to hurt their reviews of Bioshock, Halo 3 or Metroid Prime 3 (which are all awesome games deserving of their high reviews, just like this game deserves the high reviews it received from the other reviewers). Gamespot's review is really off base on this one and unfairly takes down the metascore for this game. Ratchet and Clank Future is AWESOME, and is the best game on the PS3 to date!! If you liked the prior Ratchet and Clank games on PS2, you will love this game! It is a great adventure, and it is tons of fun with lots of great humor along the way. The graphics will really knock your socks off, and if you think the game is too easy, complete it and do it again on the harder setting (just as I did for Bioshock). Obviously this is a much more lighthearted adventure, but this game is right up there with Bioshock, Halo 3 and Metroid Prime 3 for game of the year!!! Expand
  15. MartB.
    Oct 28, 2007
    4
    Might shift a few consoles to 10y olds who might find it challenging in short too easy and very little replayability.
  16. Bret
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Best looking PS3 game bar none. It's got a sense of humor and is fun.
  17. canberysimon
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    this game is the bomb! FACT u stink!!!!!!! im 36 and i loved the whole lot of em this ones my favourite!!!! now i dont know bout' you guys but this game deserves 10 just like F.E.A.R!!!! and any of you play runescape my usernames warkiller770 no caps or spaces. cya l8R
  18. StevenC.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Excellent game in all respects. There simply aren't enough games like this on the market. Game play is intuitive and enjoyable and there are plenty of laughs in the cut scenes and various weapons and gadgets.
  19. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics and gameplay. I would hate to see somebody not buy this awesome game. The weapons are great and this game would take a long time to beat. The boss battles are challenging and great. I would say this game should be one of the greatest games of the year.
  20. MikeW.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    This is a seriously fun game. And the coolest thing is that its a game everyone can get into. If you're a hardcore gamer you can take a break with this and have some fun, and be entertained and possibly challenged. If you aren't a serious gamer you will love this game. My wife isn't a serious gamer and beat it before I did. She loved it, you will too.
  21. JasonL..
    Feb 19, 2008
    9
    Another great installment in a series that never disappoints. The game looks great, plays great and has great replay value (being able to bump of the difficulty and replay it with all your weapons and then buy roided out versions of the weapons you already have the second time through). The reason I give it a 9 instead of a 10 is because it looses a point for lack of muliplayer. The last Another great installment in a series that never disappoints. The game looks great, plays great and has great replay value (being able to bump of the difficulty and replay it with all your weapons and then buy roided out versions of the weapons you already have the second time through). The reason I give it a 9 instead of a 10 is because it looses a point for lack of muliplayer. The last installment had a promising multiplayer component but instead of giving it some TLC and turning it into a great multiplayer experience it has been removed from the game entirely. When will Sony get it together and start releasing these exclusive games with muliplayer or co-op modes? Drake's Fortune is another game that suffers from this same problem. Ultimately though another great installment in the Ratchet and Clank Series. Not as good as Up Your Aresnal but a game I would call a must have for any game fan. Expand
  22. JasonW.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    This is and excellent game. One of the top five for the Playstation 3. Great replay vaule with challenge mode. The graphics are amazing Insomniac did it again.
  23. SYC
    Feb 4, 2008
    7
    Exactly what you'd expect from a PS3 Ratchet title. Georgeous visuals, silky smooth framerate and some polish and tweaks to the existing formula makes TOD the best yet in the series, The general
  24. GregT
    Mar 31, 2008
    8
    This game is excellent. Terrific fun to play and I feel it is a shame that some others have rated it as 0 and 2 as it is certainly not that. The graphics are excellent, even beautiful at times, the game play is a quality platform with multiple paths and intricacies and the overall experience is good. There were a couple of niggles for me, the
  25. BruceB.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    No need to say much here. This one is a must own if you have a PS3! Best graphics on the system to date. It is like playing in a Pixar movie.
  26. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    Good game with lovable characters that put a smile on your face while playing. Beautiful graphics but I didn't enjoy the level layouts they felt non-organic to me.
  27. HughJ.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Amazing gameplay, graphics and story. Xbox may have Bioshock, Halo and Crysis, but it will never have anything that can compete with this.
  28. LouisP.
    Jul 27, 2008
    6
    Decent game. Not as much fun as the previous R&C titles. I even lost interest before beating the game once. The weapons include some new stuff, but a lot of completely useless junk. The weapons are only rarely useful for specific enemies, other than that, not much strategy is involved.. just fire away. This worked fine for me in previous games, but here it just gets boring for some Decent game. Not as much fun as the previous R&C titles. I even lost interest before beating the game once. The weapons include some new stuff, but a lot of completely useless junk. The weapons are only rarely useful for specific enemies, other than that, not much strategy is involved.. just fire away. This worked fine for me in previous games, but here it just gets boring for some reason. I don't like the bosses, its not like you have to find a weakness or anything... just empty clip after clip of ammunition on them... heck, the first space boss could even be defeated by flying around in the same clockwise circle on the screen non-stop, while holding down the firing button... boring. There's also numorous little glitches like u can get stuck while walking on different objects (rocks and other scenery). The story held me interested for a couple of hours, and then i just thought screw it. It's not a bad game though, i just feel a need so complain over everything i dislike about it, when all other critics give it 9 or 10. Expand
  29. DanO.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Just got this amazing game for £20 but feel as though I should have paid more. Absolutely great platforming and shooting mechanics, brilliant humour and pixar-esque hd visuals will leave you wanting to play again and again. For my money its the best ratchet and clank game to date and one of the best games the ps3 has to offer. Needless to say I'm downloading Quest for booty Just got this amazing game for £20 but feel as though I should have paid more. Absolutely great platforming and shooting mechanics, brilliant humour and pixar-esque hd visuals will leave you wanting to play again and again. For my money its the best ratchet and clank game to date and one of the best games the ps3 has to offer. Needless to say I'm downloading Quest for booty right know to see how the plot develops. Expand
  30. andrewb
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    This game is amazing the graphics are brilliant the gameplay is brilliant with plenty of great guns like predator launcher, buzz blades, and my favourite negotiator. Very funny and great story line. So why not 10 the ceckpoints are way to far apart so gets quite annoying but if you look past that it is amazing. any ps3 owners should buy this game
  31. GaryCarr
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    I've been buying the Ratchet and Clank gamers from the start, and as always, this game is amazing. The graphics are polished and really sets a high standard for other games to follow, the sound and storyline are excellent, the game is massive and challenging, and it has kept it's amazing weapons, great voice acting and brilliant sense of humour. I'd recommend this toI've been buying the Ratchet and Clank gamers from the start, and as always, this game is amazing. The graphics are polished and really sets a high standard for other games to follow, the sound and storyline are excellent, the game is massive and challenging, and it has kept it's amazing weapons, great voice acting and brilliant sense of humour. I'd recommend this to anyone, even if you're not a big fan of platform games. Can't wait for the next one later this year Expand
  32. VitSavicky
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    Jokes are like salt. If you add too much it's ruined. If you add too few, it's just not good. Insomniac Games found the right amount and serve it with style. I admit it's getting a bit repetitive in the end, but the variety of 'tools of destruction' is making up for it. It's a game-play experience that you should not miss.
  33. JayM.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Great sense of humor that is designed both on younger kids and adults sense of humor. If you enjoy the previous installments you should enjoy this one. If you are more biased towards adult fps then I doubt your enjoy this title as much.
  34. ToddD.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    This game improves on an already established AAA IP, the graphics are great the gamplay and controls impoved and is fun for kids and adults alike.
  35. HermanA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, every game does not need multiplayer.
  36. JoeD.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is a beautiful game with amazing gameplay. This a must have for all PS3 owners.
  37. GiorgosD.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Best Ratchet And Clank game ever builded. Just what PS3 gamers needed. All the good stuff from it's ancestors are here. I suppoce that's playable from older ones mostly! Still PS3 needs more games like this.
  38. B.S.M.
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    First time really sitting down with a Ratchet & Clank game, and I enjoyed every hour of it. This game even had me wanting to go through it again to really max out my weapons only available the 2nd time through. This is a terrific game for gamers who haven't played a previous one through before.
  39. BaderN.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the most addictive games i ever played, even though its easy on the first run still you will find your self going back to play this incredibly amazing looking game, also the ending is not as some reviewers say is bad since R&C:ToD 2 is confirmed.
  40. D.G.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Game looks incredible. Gameplay is super fun. Dialogue is quite hilarious.
  41. EricS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    Super Solid Graphics. Super Solid Gameplay.Honestly commical script. The best of the series leaves you with never a dull moment and awesome action. A must buy for series fans and any owner of a PS3 who's into playing a truely and honestly fun experience.
  42. Stryydr
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Really showing what class is all about.
  43. JeffH.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Nothing really to say, great graphics, great gameplay, awesome weapons, all wrapped up in the nice bundle we all know and love as the Ratchet & Clank series. The improvements made to the game, in my opinion, have elevated the platformer genre once again. R&CF:ToD is everything a good game should be.
  44. DylanN.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is awesome, and this one is the best yet. Possibly the first game that really makes you say "Wow... that's what Sony was on about when they were bragging about the Cell".
  45. AdamK.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    I have been a fan of the R & C series since the beginning and have yet to be disappointed. Insomniac has found a way to mix platforming, free roaming, and shooting in a way that continues to be addicting and original year after year. Tools of Destruction appears to be another "platinum bolt" in Insomniac's already impressive repetouire of games, and long time fans of the franchise I have been a fan of the R & C series since the beginning and have yet to be disappointed. Insomniac has found a way to mix platforming, free roaming, and shooting in a way that continues to be addicting and original year after year. Tools of Destruction appears to be another "platinum bolt" in Insomniac's already impressive repetouire of games, and long time fans of the franchise are certainly anxious to get their hands on the crazy weapons and gadgets that have lead the franchise to overwhelming success. However, for those who have never played a R & C game before, Tools of Destruction seems like a pretty good place to start, considering insomniac's uncanny ability to tie up loose ends from the previous titles, while at the same time creating a whacky new stroyline with boatloads of comical humor along the way. Not only is this game perfect, it's Qwarktastic! Expand
  46. Ditani
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    A game that needs to be played, throwing a groovy grenade will put a smile on your face eveytime.
  47. Jan
    Oct 24, 2007
    4
    Too easy, too short, mediocre Storyline, no Multiplayer, no long time value.
  48. RobertH.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Best in the series in my opinion. It is the only game in the series that gave enough appeal for me to actually want to buy it, fun game play, great control, and highly entertaining with beautiful astetics...couldnt ask for more.
  49. SeanZ.
    Oct 24, 2007
    2
    Meh, it is just like all of the other ratchet and clank games, which isnt' exactly a bad thing, but i just feel like this game has been beaten into submission, even with the upped graphics.
  50. HenriqueS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Fun platforming, great weapons and the story is fun as in any R&C game.
  51. ShaunL.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning game. Plenty of stuff to do and is tons of fun!
  52. NR
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Once you start you just can't stop. Addictive, fun, and so much to do. Easily the best Ratchet and Clank yet.
  53. RashadS.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Very good game. Im so impressed with the amount of content. Obviously the graphics are amazing. Gameplay is perfect.
  54. BrodenW.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Incredible game, great addition to the series.
  55. EduardoR.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    When it comes to graphics; Very few games are a colorful and beautiful as R&C. The different game mechanics that have been included in the game make it varied and interesting to play; the controls are responsive and easy to master. This is definitely a "Must Have" game for PS3 owners.
  56. PeterC.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    The presentation is absolutely phenomenal. Graphics, Sound, Controls are all spot on. Yes a lack of multiplayer is unfortunate, but Insomniac even said themselves that the reason they left it out was because not many people participated in the multiplayer in the previous titles. An excellent game overall and a AAA title for the PS3. Get it!
  57. JoshD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Insomniac fixes what they needed to from Deadlocked. This game is GREAT.
  58. MezzasalmaFicarotta
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    This game is wonderful. I am completely without sleep this morning because I couldn't put the game down. The graphics are beautiful (the best I've seen on any system). The controls are perfect, and the gameplay is very fun. I'm glad that Insomniac didn't change the way Ratchet controls since it was great before. why change a good thing? One thing that makes me crazy... This game is wonderful. I am completely without sleep this morning because I couldn't put the game down. The graphics are beautiful (the best I've seen on any system). The controls are perfect, and the gameplay is very fun. I'm glad that Insomniac didn't change the way Ratchet controls since it was great before. why change a good thing? One thing that makes me crazy... How does a game that looks so good run at such a good frame rate? 60fps most of the time. Gamespot & Gamespy. Both unprofessional reviews and the writing style is worse than mine (English is my 2nd language). Gamespot punishes Ratchet for having too many things to do. what??? when is that bad? HP Hurh... oh dear... There are many people upset about the Gamespot reviews, but, I am more disappointed with yours. What you say about the game is at many times not even accurate. You give the framerate large dings. (apparent in your score). Since when did a game that looked this beautiful and run soooooo damnnn fast seem like it's slowing down? How many other games that don't even come close to these graphics run 30fps or worse most of the time? Gamespot and Gamespy. I question your motives, professionalism, credibility, and most of all education. Expand
  59. ShaneS.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    This game is definatly the best in the series, it delivers the Ratchet & Clank universe with perfection to fans of the series, and if you arn't a fan you will be!
  60. RyanS.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Just gone done playing through this game on the regular game, and I will admit, yes. Its easy until you get to the last set of bosses, which required me to save up on the BFG 9000 (Alpha Disruptor/Cannon to the rest of you guys) until the last 25/50% of the bosses health. There isn't a single hiccup/lag in the game, and with the graphics, the frame rate didn't slow down to a Just gone done playing through this game on the regular game, and I will admit, yes. Its easy until you get to the last set of bosses, which required me to save up on the BFG 9000 (Alpha Disruptor/Cannon to the rest of you guys) until the last 25/50% of the bosses health. There isn't a single hiccup/lag in the game, and with the graphics, the frame rate didn't slow down to a notice able frame rate, and if it did, it didn't go below 24 FPS [Which is what the eye can notice... form what I've heard]. The series is everything you've found and loved in Ratchet and Clank: Going Commando. Changed to a point where you need NO BACKSTORY [Which is why its called Ratchet and Clank Future] so people who liked Fall of Resistance can pick up on Ratchet and Clank Future: ToD without having to worry about details from the last couple of games (Though, tidbits referring to previous series are there for old time fans). And to people complaining about multiplayer. Please, please, PLEASE refer to the first two Ratchet and Clank games, every platforming Mario game (Besides the Mario Bros. Arcade game), Jak (2 and 3) and Daxter, AND every Sonic-related platform game. No Multiplayer didn't stop them from becoming great replayable games, now did they? In short: Awesome graphics that we'd expect from a 7th Generation game. The detailing of every landscape in this game /will/ make your jaw drop. Fantastic humorous relief, and something I'd recommend to someone on the PS3. Oh yes, and if you're worried about the SIXAXIS controls, don't worry. I assure you, they work as well as the Wii's stick wagging does on Wii Sports. They aren't as sensitive as Motocross or Heavenly Sword, not are they too tight when you have to turn your body upside down. Expand
  61. JoeS.
    Oct 29, 2007
    1
    Ratchet and Clank games in general aren't good, but this is particularly bad. Horrible story, and the gameplay manages to be worse than usual.
  62. MasterB.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Best game on the PS3 to date. Only played the first game, but decided to try the game again cause it looks so fricken good. Best decision I made. Gameplay is so much fun and simple without being too serious. But the game mechanics are varied with the multitude of weapons/gadgets/devices to make the gameplay varied. Story is interesting and the voice acting is very well done. The graphics Best game on the PS3 to date. Only played the first game, but decided to try the game again cause it looks so fricken good. Best decision I made. Gameplay is so much fun and simple without being too serious. But the game mechanics are varied with the multitude of weapons/gadgets/devices to make the gameplay varied. Story is interesting and the voice acting is very well done. The graphics alone is worth the price of admission. Every PS3 owner needs to have this game in their collection. Expand
  63. Duke
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Who says a game has to be hard to be good? this game is loads of fun. top notch graphics and hilarious story. the best ratchet yet.
  64. SakariS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    There are no better games! Fantastic gameplay and very long. Of course, there's still The Challenge Mode, which is much harder. the Best game of 2007 for sure!
  65. AhmedA.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    What can I say, everything, I mean it, everything is freakin awesome.The only scratch is the short length of the game.
  66. JackC.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Like any Ratchet & Clank game, you get so much bang for your buck. For example, the weapon library puts Half Life 2 to shame. The environments with the plants moving, and the birds flying around really puts GTA IV to shame. Ratchets fur puts Uncharteds skin textures to shame at times as well. I mean, last time I felt like this about graphics was when I watched 'Ratatoulie' at Like any Ratchet & Clank game, you get so much bang for your buck. For example, the weapon library puts Half Life 2 to shame. The environments with the plants moving, and the birds flying around really puts GTA IV to shame. Ratchets fur puts Uncharteds skin textures to shame at times as well. I mean, last time I felt like this about graphics was when I watched 'Ratatoulie' at the biggest screen in my local cinema. If this was a movie, it would be a tripple A easily. Now, of course I'm not just going to judge it by graphics, because then I'm missing the point of the actual playing part. The gameplay is smooth, immersive and always action packed. Just short of a 10 because the auto aiming system feels broke, and when you fire a blaster bullet into an enemy, you really don't feel the "Oomph" of say Call Of Duty 4. The voice acting and story are absaloute peices of gold, though can feel a bit repetative at times. Graphics: 10 Gameplay:9 Story: 9 Audio: 10 So I'd probably give this a 9 in total. Expand
  67. LeonL.
    Mar 19, 2008
    9
    One of the best game for PS3. I'll give a full point for graphic. Game play is fun and it's very easy to pick up. I wish the game can be longer and have a more challenging mode. Highly recommended.
  68. JamieC.
    Jul 27, 2008
    9
    A fun and natural sequel to the R&C series, this one is a must-have for PS3 owners who are into 3D platformers.
  69. JasonM
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    I don't know what people see in this game. I guess it's made for kids, because the gameplay is just repetitive shooting....over and over and over, just shooting enemies. Nothing interesting about it. Why is this thing getting such good reviews?
  70. J.J.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Fun unique and well done! The story and controls are fun and will engage you from start to finish!
  71. MatthewH.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This game delivered on everything Insomniac promised, and more. While the motion-controls in some areas of the game are sub-par, it doesn't take away from the experience hardly at all. Those parts of the game are still very fun, even if the controls are sluggish. Insomniac continues to outdo itself over and over, and this is definitely a reason for consumers to purchase a PS3.
  72. SuleimanM.
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    A great game that'll surprise you in many ways. However, there's still too much of the same. At times it has that been there done that feeling. However, Ratchet makes a successful debut on next gen, and gives the Playstation 3 it's first true killer app.
  73. Brian
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    This game is a lot of fun. Despite the fact that the game is pretty easy, I never found myself bored playing it.
  74. [Anonymous]
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Oustanding graphics and fun old school game play
  75. RichardK.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Easily the best looking game on the console, despite not being "True HD." (If you buy into all that nonsense, anyhow). Anyone docking points for lack of multiplayer obviously is very inexperienced in the gaming media, because this game has never pretended to have or implied to have multiplayer/online capabilities. It's comparable to docking a Mario game for not having guns, or an RPG Easily the best looking game on the console, despite not being "True HD." (If you buy into all that nonsense, anyhow). Anyone docking points for lack of multiplayer obviously is very inexperienced in the gaming media, because this game has never pretended to have or implied to have multiplayer/online capabilities. It's comparable to docking a Mario game for not having guns, or an RPG for not having platforming. It is a great single-player game with a decent amount of replayability (challenge mode, anyone?). Not to mention that despite the normal objectives being fairly simple to complete, obtaining all the skill points and unlockables require a much more proficient hand at platforming, and gaming in general. The humor and voice acting is outstanding, and the production value really shows. Insominac has done a tremendous job with this game, pushing the envelope once again from a technical standpoint. Expand
  76. DanielF.
    Nov 9, 2007
    6
    Looks nice but very boring...has a life span of 10 minutes before you yawn and turn the game off. Been there done that is all you can say...another poor poor next gen game. Avarage at best.
  77. Jason
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    This is a superb game. It's game play is excellent. The graphics are stunning. The plot, while thin, is at time hilarious. As always, the level design is top notch. It does, perhaps, lack some of the variety of previous iterations.
  78. AaroS.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    This is it! The best PS3 game! Graphics, gameplay, sound, music and just everything is soo polished and fantastic! If you do not own this game yet then go out and buy it NOW!
  79. Agent-A20
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    This is great gamemaking. It is fresh to the senses and alive with color, totally invigorating. You will marvel at the level of visual accomplishment but thats not where it ends. The game's pacing is sharp and its pieces many. There is much fun to be had. This masterpiece should not be passed on.
  80. LennyM.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Stunning visuals,almost up to pixar par graphics! immersive gameplay, amazing singleplayer, must have!!!
  81. John
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    A beautiful, fun, and addicting addition to an already exceptional game series. A must own for any PS3 owner.
  82. PatM.
    Oct 24, 2007
    6
    Decent game, but not worth the 9 it is getting. It is lacking in replayability, and online capabilities.
  83. CAM
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    A great addition to the Ratchet and Clank series. This game has fast and fluid gameplay, taut suspense, and breathtaking visuals that stun the eyes and dazzle the senses.
  84. AndyK.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Beautiful next-gen visuals, 60 frames per second. Definitely the best-looking console game on the market.
  85. Unclebreakfast
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    To the admins at metacritic, I suggest you re-examine the weighting you have associated with Gamespot's reviews....I'm pretty sure 99.9% of people who have played this game would tell you their review is way off base and has skewed the metascore lower than it deserves. They gave Conan the same score as R&C ffs...nuff said.
  86. Mooncalf
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    The best! Games spot seems to have forgotten that everygame doesn't have to be a FPS or a real time stratergy to be great. At the end of the day it is how much fun it is to play and this game delivers
  87. KathleenC.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    More of the same Ratchet&Clank, but that's certainly not a bad thing. Great graphics, great sound, great controls. The plot could have been fleshed out a little more, but this game is so much fun that you'll hardly notice. Sure there's no multiplayer, but we have Up Your Arsenal and Deadlocked for that. It's not perfect, but if you have a PS3 why would you willingly More of the same Ratchet&Clank, but that's certainly not a bad thing. Great graphics, great sound, great controls. The plot could have been fleshed out a little more, but this game is so much fun that you'll hardly notice. Sure there's no multiplayer, but we have Up Your Arsenal and Deadlocked for that. It's not perfect, but if you have a PS3 why would you willingly miss out on this? Expand
  88. E.Boy
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Have to say any score below around 85% seems odd for this game. Scoring down on MP doesn't seem right to me as its up to each game to decide if it is SP, MP or both. If a game is only SP it should be reviewed as such. By the logic of most of the lower reviews then Bioshock should be scored around 75% to 80% as well due to lack of MP.
    Judged purely on its own content there is
    Have to say any score below around 85% seems odd for this game. Scoring down on MP doesn't seem right to me as its up to each game to decide if it is SP, MP or both. If a game is only SP it should be reviewed as such. By the logic of most of the lower reviews then Bioshock should be scored around 75% to 80% as well due to lack of MP.
    Judged purely on its own content there is almost nothing wrong with this game, and for myself I'd score it 95%
    Expand
  89. MasJ.
    Jan 21, 2008
    9
    Nice graphics, good story and interesting locations. Creative and the boss battles are just right. I rented it, finished it in about 10 hours and definitely feel I had my money's worth of entertainment.
  90. WarrenC.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    In my top three games of 2007 (right under Call of Duty 4 and Bioshock). It's a a great breath of fresh air in a year packed with dark shooters.
  91. IanR.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    This game is seriously fun, I completed it 3 times back to back and still wasn't bored of it. I bought this game as a bit of a gamble, hoping it would take me back to my much loved platform gaming days and it didn't disappoint. The range of weapons is awsome and it looks fantastic, incredible colour and graphics especially in HD. You may need some help to find all of the golden This game is seriously fun, I completed it 3 times back to back and still wasn't bored of it. I bought this game as a bit of a gamble, hoping it would take me back to my much loved platform gaming days and it didn't disappoint. The range of weapons is awsome and it looks fantastic, incredible colour and graphics especially in HD. You may need some help to find all of the golden bolts and holo plans (for the Ryno weapon) as they are scattered throughout the galaxy, but all in all one of the best games out on PS3 at the moment. Expand
  92. AndrewO
    Mar 26, 2008
    8
    Very fun, fast paced game. Of course you are going to have fun with all the weapons and upgrades. The only flaw that I can find is the short story. I rented the game and easily beat it within the 5 day rental period. A good weekend rent, but not worth purchasing.
  93. JeremyN.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    The bottom line is, it's a must buy for playstation 3 owners.It has my vote for the best ps3 exclusive out there.
  94. GarrettS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Perfection. Ratchet and Clank: Future Tools Of Destruction feels like a sream. Not only is the gameplay absoloutly brilliant but there are times when you just have to put your weapon (s) down and look at the environment your playing in. The concepts in this game are truly breathtaking. I very much indeed look forward to the next installment because if it is anything like this one, it Perfection. Ratchet and Clank: Future Tools Of Destruction feels like a sream. Not only is the gameplay absoloutly brilliant but there are times when you just have to put your weapon (s) down and look at the environment your playing in. The concepts in this game are truly breathtaking. I very much indeed look forward to the next installment because if it is anything like this one, it should be a law to own it. Oh....and dont be scared off by the occasional glitch...I think that one floating box can be excused seeing as how it is floating in a flawless world that is Ratchet and Clank: Future Tools of Distruction. Expand
  95. ChrisM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    Entertaining for the family. Wonderful graphics. Downside is that it's not 2 player and it's to short. Re-playability just isn't there. Recommended for non-hardcore games looking for a couple weeks of fun. I wish there were more entertaining games like this on the market.
  96. NathanSmit
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This game is defenetly the best game of all time by very far!!!!! I have been a fan of the game since the begining and i still have all the games on ps2 and this new R&C 5 (TOD) is by far the best game i have played so far!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  97. FACT
    Nov 18, 2007
    0
    Another over-hyped PS3 game. Gameplay is broken and graphics are ugly in their own special way. I would only recommend this to little kids too young to realize that it's crap.
  98. MichelleT.
    Dec 14, 2007
    0
    Broken game. It corrupts save files at will and there is an interesting glitch I just found where a blank screen with white text appears, making the rest of it unplayable (I'm currently stuck, the black on white pops up and I cannot play it anymore). Unforgivable! Older games didn't break this way - why do all these new $60+ games come out "unfinished"?
  99. FACTISWRONG
    Dec 26, 2007
    8
    This is my first Ratchet game, not to mention first PS3 game. I must say I am very impressed, and glad I got a PS3. A previous reviewer FACT is on crack because what he mentions is the opposite of what is really the fact. Ratchet and Clank is a Super Mario Bros for the PS3, and that is a compliment in itself. My only complaint is why is it not at the full 1080p? I do not think thisThis is my first Ratchet game, not to mention first PS3 game. I must say I am very impressed, and glad I got a PS3. A previous reviewer FACT is on crack because what he mentions is the opposite of what is really the fact. Ratchet and Clank is a Super Mario Bros for the PS3, and that is a compliment in itself. My only complaint is why is it not at the full 1080p? I do not think this game FULLY leverages the PS3, as I expect more from this platform. Expand
  100. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is a beloved series on the PS2 and PS3 and the Future games are totally awesome. My daughter and I love the series! It's not coop but you can still enjoy it together.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Given the series orientation towards multiplayer in the final chapters on the PS2, it's quite surprising to find Tools of Destruction a solely single-player experience. With a handful of mini-games Tools of Destruction can be rushed through over a weekend, with the only real replay value stemming from Insomniac's traditional selection of Skill Point challenges to achieve on every level.
  2. The single best game you can find on the PlayStation 3 right now, and at the end of the day, it's the best in the series. If you own a PS3, you need this game in your library. It is the absolutely definition of a must-have title, and right now is the front-runner as game of the year, hands down.
  3. 85
    Not only one of the best looking PlayStation 3 games, it's incredibly enjoyable, with some excellent weapons and some brilliant action set pieces.