Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    Rayman Legends isn’t just good, it’s utterly terrific on practically every level. That such a title was once confined to Nintendo’s sickly hardware seems abhorrent, although it’s the sort of rare game that would sell a console. An exquisite offering, it exudes polish and should appeal to everything sentient within 50 yards of the TV.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    100
    Oozing quality and packed with content, Rayman Legends justifies its place among the platforming elite, and proves that even after all this time, Ubisoft's oldest mascot is still full of new ideas.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    95
    An essence of pure, unpretentious fun, a work of geniuses with untamed creative powers. I simply can’t imagine a human being that will not enjoy this wonderful, beautiful game. [CD-Action 11/2013, p.66]
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    95
    It is indeed a legendary game.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    95
    After the formidable Origins, Ubisoft continues the rebooted Rayman franchise with Legends. Once again, the developer hits it out of the park. The interesting art style, the fun and accessible gameplay, and the gleeful soundtrack all add to the overall experience. It's a shame that there is no online multiplayer, but a number of competitive challenges more than make up for it.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    95
    Rayman Legends rediscovers the roots of the platform, overcomes its colleagues (even famous ones) and involves the player.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    95
    I love its subtle and inventive visual tricks that hide dozens of crafty secret areas in plain sight, and since most levels don’t have time constraints, Legends gives us carte blanche to roam around to discover and appreciate secrets for ourselves.
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    91
    A joy to play - challenging, amusing and very, very French. Essential platforming shenanigans. [Nov 2013, p.60]
  9. Oct 3, 2013
    90
    One of the best platformers we've played in a hell of a long time with a mix of traditional design and clever reinvention. [Nov 2013, p.76]
  10. Sep 16, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends is an instant classic, mandatory for any player, whether a beginner or veteran.
  11. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    With Rayman Origins Ubisoft showed the world that they could develop gorgeous platform levels for multiple players. Rayman Legends moves forward and is a platform game that also works as well for the single player. The level design is great, largely varied and the game includes lots of stuff to do. Rayman Legends is the best platformer in a long time and one of this years best games so far.
  12. If you don’t have others to play with, that doesn’t mean you should miss out on the fun, though, because have no doubt about it, Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers we’ve played in years. [October 2013, p79]
  13. 90
    Although the absurd nature of the game might be a hurdle to some, Ubisoft crafted it with enough skill and confidence to tie together all the disparate strands into a cohesive, enjoyable whole. A lot of care went into making Rayman Legends, and the refreshing result of that care is a platformer that can proudly stand beside the genre’s greats.
  14. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    If you loved Origins, you’ll definitely get $60 worth out of this even with some Origins content being present here, while those who’ve never played Origins should give the demo a shot and see if they like it. If you’re won over by it, then snatch it up ASAP.
  15. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Chaotic with friends and addictive alone, this will leave you intoxicated by its charm, and with so much to do, it won't outstay its welcome anytime soon.
  16. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    No fan of platform games should miss this one: it's incredibly fun, tremendously beautiful and exudes a lot of charisma.
  17. Aug 26, 2013
    90
    Just one word will accurately describe the whole experience: "fantastic."
  18. Level design is so good – so intricate, yet always presenting the right level of challenge – that you take for granted how effortlessly it pulls off each chapter’s musical finale. Racing through a crumbling castle in sync with a gibberish version of Ram Jam’s Black Betty has no right to be this thrilling.
  19. Aug 26, 2013
    90
    Fueled by smooth platforming, striking visuals, wacky situations, and infectious beats, Rayman Legends is a nifty platformer that exudes unabashed delight.
  20. Aug 26, 2013
    88
    The legend is back with a big display of artistic and graphical quality. The original exquisite play style will be, however, slightly burdened by the requirements of a touchscreen environment.
  21. Make no mistake, the difficulty has been ramped up considerably. Something we, as grown up gamers, can truly appreciate. Even the first worlds aren't all that easy, since the levels vary greatly in difficulty. Don't expect a new Demon's Souls, but be prepared to make that same jump a dozen times. [September p.80]
  22. Sep 25, 2013
    83
    It's a beautiful game, and some levels are genius, but Murfy is irritating as hell and we wish he'd go away forever. [Issue#235, p.84]
  23. 80
    I just wish there was a more elegant solution for touch-screen gameplay that simply doesn’t translate to platforms other than Wii U, where Legends was conceptualized and built first.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Like falling in love all over again. This game is pure magic. I've been a fan of Rayman for a while now so I picked this up hoping to find another good platform experience in Rayman Legends. Not only was I blown away by the sheer awesome unique game design and mechanics but also by the awesome story. Gameplay is very good and every level brings up something new and fresh to keep you interested. Enemies and your friendly characters are top notch with a lot of variety. The soundtrack fits the mood perfectly in each level and keeps you pumped in anticipation. The story is epic and interesting. There is a lot of replayability. I just have to recommend this to other people. If you don't buy this you're really missing out. I know I'm going to be jumping in those paintings for amazing adventures for a long time to come! Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    There is nothing other than the word PERFECTION to describe this game. I bought it for my fiancee' and instantly we both spent all night playing it. We just stopped... and can't wait to have 4 people in on the action. Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    WOW!!! This is a platforming-gem! I have always loved the Rayman series going back to the PS1, but this is clearly the best game in the Rayman series (sorry Rayman 2). The graphics and sound are a thing of beauty. The controls are pinpoint precise, and allows the player full control over Rayman. The story is alright, but what would you expect from this type of game? There are over 100 levels, including 40 remastered levels from Rayman Origins. The replay value is excellent. Two player co-op is awesome and is recommended to get the most fun out the game. Anything over two players gets dicey. There is an old expression...to many chefs spoil the stew---and that same saying applies to this game. The pure fun factor of this game harkens back to the enjoyment of the old school NES games. The game is challenging, but not frustrating. The music levels are some of the most creative levels I have ever experienced playing video games (and this goes back to the Atari 2600/ Colecovision). I fully recommend this game to anybody who owns a PS3. This is a must have for your collection. You will NOT be disappointed! Full Review »