Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    65
    If you can look behind the flaws, you will spend a lot of time with Agarest. The fighting system and party management offer a lot of freedom, while the vivid anime style goes beyond voyeuristic effects.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    43
    What interesting ideas are here end up lost beneath a tidal wave of bad ones. [Issue#223, p.87]
  3. Tedious enemies. [Aug 2012, p.117]
  4. Agarest 2 is a competent strategy RPG with satisfying gameplay, but there are better ones out there that we'd be less ashamed to share with our friends. [Sept 2012, p.,86]
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    82
    If you have shunned Idea Factory RPGs in the past and/or found the previous Agarest War titles a chore to play, this one's marked improvement may sway you slightly. I recommend at least giving Record of Agarest War 2 a rental because it shows that Idea Factory has the potential to create good stuff.
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    50
    Agarest 2 is a definite step in the right direction for the series, but there's still plenty of room for improvement. Some time spent focusing on creating a more engaging world and story, as well as to streamline some of the game's unnecessarily complex systems should help in getting Agarest to rise up the rankings. The series is beginning to show promise, however, and its pre-existing fans will find much to like in this entry.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    DefinItely for the hardcore niche. If you enjoyed gameplay in titles such as Xenogears this game is for you. The story leaves some to be desired but the addicting gameplay in terms of control layout makes for a type of JRPG that hasn't been seen in a while. Turn based with button designated moves like triangle for upwards attacks, X for downwards, Square for Paralyze and Circle for ranged it keeps the turned based mechanic feeling fluent and fun through a somewhat recognizable outing. I give it a 9 based on the re-introduction of what made old-school niche RPG's fun and the fearless attempt at completely changing a gameplay layout from its prior successor. Although a lot different from Agarest 1 and Zero in terms of gameplay it makes for my personal most enjoyable entry into the series and could see this adaptation of mechanics extending its lifespan of the Record of Agarest War series to become one of the most favored in the genre in a long time in the niche market to come. Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    0
    confusing grind fest with battle system that can still make no sense even after tens of hours into the game and thats coming from someone who has played previous games from IF. Boring quest system if that even be called quest ... kill 10 of regular enemies or 2 of rare and come back. rinse repeat 360 times. thats all there is to this game. There is also disturbing sexual art in here that snuck up on me out of the blue and not in a nice way. Disturbing is the only way to describe it. Minigames that will break your controller if you play them by that consist of breaking off the stick or mashing same button 999999999999 times. Yah ok. I'll be going now. Cross Edge was way better than this and that game was terrible. Full Review »
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    from start to finish i was surprised by what it had to offer its a solid rpg that keeps you wanting more night after night and besides the sometimes boring overused battle grounds and theme music its one of those games i would recommend to anyone who is a fan of the genre Full Review »