User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 203

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    7
    Adding about 8-10 hours of content to one of the best games ever this DLC is merely average. The story of Undead Nightmare is somewhat laughable as how everything fans out. Voice acting is still stellar and killing zombies is always fun. Definitely worthy of the 10$ price tag on it.
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    Red Dead Redemption is one of my favorite games of all time, so I was frothing at the mouth (pun intended) for this piece of DLC. Unfortunately, Undead Nightmare is shallow, vapid and repetitive. The scripting and cut-scenes are absolutely hilarious, but the zombie slaying gameplay is actually quite boring. Whilst fun at first, clearing out graveyards or re-taking lost cities fast becomesRed Dead Redemption is one of my favorite games of all time, so I was frothing at the mouth (pun intended) for this piece of DLC. Unfortunately, Undead Nightmare is shallow, vapid and repetitive. The scripting and cut-scenes are absolutely hilarious, but the zombie slaying gameplay is actually quite boring. Whilst fun at first, clearing out graveyards or re-taking lost cities fast becomes a chore. As I have already noted, it's just very repetitive. Shoot zombie in the head. Run in a circle whilst reloading. Shoot zombie in the head. Re-take town from zombie hoard. Clear out graveyard. Shoot zombie in the... zzzzzzz. I love Red Dead Redemption. This DLC... Not so much. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    It's a fun expansion pack but I felt that it detracted from the story of the main game a little too much for me. It simply doesn't mesh into the main RDR storyline history in the slightest and I think if they had changed the protagonist to someone else, or allowed playing from a choice of sub characters from the main story, it would have worked better for me. I guess with the success ofIt's a fun expansion pack but I felt that it detracted from the story of the main game a little too much for me. It simply doesn't mesh into the main RDR storyline history in the slightest and I think if they had changed the protagonist to someone else, or allowed playing from a choice of sub characters from the main story, it would have worked better for me. I guess with the success of RDR breathing life and emotion into the main story characters I just felt a little let down when this plot was completely out of context! Other than that - it has all the greatness of the main game... just... I dunno... it's not Red Dead Redemption any more! Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2014
    7
    I was disappointed with this "dlc", this is NOT the red dead redemption I've played and loved 100x over. Everything that made the game a masterpiece is non-existent in this dlc. Granted there is a whole lot to do and explore for a dlc, I've never thought this hybrid red dead redemption would be so bland and repetitive. It still has it's core gameplay mechanic down, but for anyone lookingI was disappointed with this "dlc", this is NOT the red dead redemption I've played and loved 100x over. Everything that made the game a masterpiece is non-existent in this dlc. Granted there is a whole lot to do and explore for a dlc, I've never thought this hybrid red dead redemption would be so bland and repetitive. It still has it's core gameplay mechanic down, but for anyone looking for more than a mindless zombie game, look elsewhere. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    7
    Western + Zombies = RDR Undead Nightmare. For any fans of RDR and/or over-the-top zombie massacres this is the way to go. For a DLC this is a substantial and quality content with 10+ hours of gameplay and many new additions. My favourite being the four horses of the apocalypse (Pestilence, War, Famine and Death). It's really fun to put on the black coat of the legend of the undead and rideWestern + Zombies = RDR Undead Nightmare. For any fans of RDR and/or over-the-top zombie massacres this is the way to go. For a DLC this is a substantial and quality content with 10+ hours of gameplay and many new additions. My favourite being the four horses of the apocalypse (Pestilence, War, Famine and Death). It's really fun to put on the black coat of the legend of the undead and ride the world on the horse of Death who is trampling down anything in its way, or on the flaming horse of War that burns everything it touches. 7/10 Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2015
    6
    The game has solid graphics and an original story.One of the bad things about the games is that some characters are glitchy and they don't really help you when one of the places is attacked.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    83
    For Wild West virgins, it's an entertaining package, if just shy of an essential purchase. [Jan 2011, p.96]
  2. Rockstar is the master of horror. [Christmas 2010]
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    87
    There's no doubt that this is top quality content but playing these modes without the main game is not a full experience. Thankfully the price tag makes up for that in a big way. [Issue#199, p.86]