User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1724 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is an amazing game, but one can't help but notice that Rockstar is "copy-pasting" the GTA template too much on its games. I mean, seriously, you guys have too much talent to re-hash your previous work. Anyways, despite that, the game has great visuals (slight de-grade on texture resolution), an enganging story, and a very good multiplayer component. I would like to point out that RDR's characters are too stereotyped and the twist and turns of the story are predictable, especially when it comes to the ending. But, everything else is spot-on and amazing, most notably the world itself, the combat, and the controls. I loved RDR and I recommend it to anyone who loved Westerns or GTA, for that matter. If you hate either of those two things, then RDR is not for you. A 9.8/10. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This game is beautiful. The vast landscape, the bustling western towns, the dynamic characters, this game is one of the greatest of this gen. Good job, Rockstar.
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous
    statements, but to me the gameplay is really good. The controls feel natural but at some points the game lacks some drama and becomes a bit repetitive.

    The graphics are quite good, but on the exception of the landscapes which are amazing, they are inferior to Uncharted 2 or Metal Gear guns of the patriots.

    The only thing that I really hated about this game was the ALIASING. It seems the game is not rendered at 720p or 1080p, but at some other inferior resolution which makes a constant annoying ALIASING...

    Although it has it's flaws, RDR is an amazing game.
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    rockstar takes the GTA formula and adds it to a western game and i feel they have improved it. i wasnt to impressed with GTA4 but this game did . it deffinitly captures that western feel with some nice graphics , solid voice acting , a ok story that can be intresting some times and dull other times. its a fun sand box game and im glad to see they fixed the whole police chasing stuff down to where they all arnt crazy maniacs chasing you down relentlessly non stop like in the GTA games . the game took me about 30 hours to finish and there is alot of bonus stuff you can do . there is a pretty solid selection of wepons you can use . the cover system is decent and i found the aiming abit of a chore and took me awhile to get use to it. the game is also alittle buggy and glitchy i didnt find any of it really game breaking . i had 1 freeze up and a few other things happen. all in all RDR was a real fun game i havent tried the online yet and want to down load the undead nightmare DLC but PSN is down but i have heard it alot of fun so looking foward to it. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    What can i say, apart from, this game is just epic. When i played through the single player story missions, i could never keep on track for long, thanks to all the random side quests popping up, which distract you from the main missions. The old west is brought to life again in this frankly, epic game. The story mission is suitably long, although the ending is questionable on how good it is, the main single player campaign is very good. The only problems seen with the single player is the fact the game is quite glitched, and during a 6 hour bashing session of this game, there were around 1 glitch/ freeze per hour, which is bearable, however very frustrating when you're in the middle of a mission and end up restarting the ps3. This is the reason that the game, personally for me, is just kept off the 10/10 mark. Moving onto the multi player, the multi player is deep, and keeps you occupied well after the single player is completed, the attraction of getting better horses and guns keeps you interested, as well as the endless activities and things for you to do. This game is especially good when you have a few mates to make havoc with. Overall then, this game is a brilliant buy, i would definitely recommend it, as in my mind it is way above the quality of GTA 4, thanks to the endless tasks to complete, and the knowledge that the open plains on the map are always full of life gives a warm feeling to the game. I definitely recommend, it's an excellent buy! Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Nobody makes better games than Rockstar. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Every aspect of their games is done better than anything else on the market - their control, their physics, their environments, their animations, their freedom of movement. When you play most games, there are usually 1 or 2 aspects of the game that are lacking or rushed...but Rockstar's games feel polished and complete in every respect. Red Dead Redemption is no exception. They improved the character control since GTA, but horses aren't as fun to control as cars, so the traveling can get a bit dull. This world isn't quite as fun as GTA and lacks the over-the-top action from GTA (like the ability to sky dive or create 10-car pile-ups that made GTA so enjoyable)...but this is still an amazing game that puts most other games on the market to shame. It really is baffling to me how under-appreciated Rockstar's work ethic. They put so much more into their games than anyone else does, yet many other games still get scored in the 9-10 range, despite the fact that these games have half the amount of content, half the freedom, half the environment, and half the attention to detail as Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  8. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now I'm not going to say what has been said a million times on EITHER side.On one side people are saying its the same as Gta4....it not.And on the other side Its the greatest game ever.Yes,I think it was very good but once you beat the game and hae to play as Johns son Jack he is the MOST annoying character since Jar Jar bink half the time when you are riding the horse he says stupid stuff that make me want to break my game.Also,why cant I swim ...you could in the previous rockstar games but no , a badass like John Marston can't swim. Expand
  9. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    A really fun game with a bit to do, however it just felt like the effort wasnt there to make it interesting but overall it had a solid base but they should of expanded on it more. I rented it for the week and I'm glad I did this instead of buying it.
  10. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This game reminds you why you play games! Great game, great story and one hell of a main character and awesome side characters who really grow on you. You really care about John Marston and he is very like-able, they did an excellent job on John Marston, on of the best protagonist ever created. The only thing that is a bummer is that is has no replay value. Ones you are finished, which will take you approx 40 - 50 hours if you are thorough, it is done. The story is told and time to shut the book and move on. Expand
  11. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    9.5 Amazing environments, fantastic controls, and incredibly addictive. Rockstar somehow keeps creating compelling characters because its one of the few gaming studios left that ACTUALLY KNOW HOW TO WRITE GOOD SCRIPTS. This is definitely one of the best games of the year so far.
  12. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  13. Aug 20, 2010
    7
    This game is indeed very good. the production values are very high and i must say that this game looks amazing. The character models are very detailed and the games story is very well told and you are constantly meeting new characters ( who usually vary from normal to very odd) this is a plus point. the controls are also very good. the developers at Rockstar have kept the same controls as in GTA 4. but the actual missions are what let me down. in my opinion the game just gets gradually more and more repetitive. after abut an hour into the game I felt as though the game started to lack something special as the missions become a real chore and you keep having to do the same thing over and over again. go over, talk to this guy and follow him over to another place, where a gang of thieves will be waiting for you or just to meet a new character. and it stays almost the same throughout the game. it is a very good game and playing online in a party with friends is very enjoyable and is where the game stands out, but as a single player experience, it is very good but I felt that it could introduce a more varied set of missions in order to keep me interested in it. Expand
  14. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    Perhaps the greatest sandbox game of all time. It's unlike Grand Theft Auto, as there's still so much to do after getting 100% completion. The graphics are incredible, and the soundtrack is amazing, too. The storyline is involving, but there's so much to do in the huge open world game that it may seem to get in the way.

    A fantastic game, my choice for Game of the Year 2010.
  15. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game with almost endless playability if you like the online. There are a few noticeable bad points to the game with prevent it from being a 10. Most notability the glitches which can be frustrating at times, also the multiplayer doesn't feel incredibly fun to play and competitive multiplayer can be quite boring. Although the game is redeemed with it's excellent story and the best 'open world' graphics a game has offered us yet. It certainly isn't for everyone, the first hour or so amounts to nothing more than cattle herding. But the rest of the game is very solid and although the pace never becomes 'intense', it does get quite brilliant towards the end. Finally, the world which the game is set is far more memorable and realistic than Liberty City of GTA IV. Unlike the crowded, drab world of GTA IV, (which was far from bad in itself), Red Dead manages a small collection of easily identifiable towns that have far more charm in them than Liberty City. Overall, It's not outright better than GTA IV, but certainly does Rockstar proud with a 'Game of the year' contender. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    Hype Strikes again i will admit the story was fun but horses suck compared to cars and I'm from the Midwest. i didn't like GTA4 that much and was afraid RDR would be the same layout which it was ,but my main reason for giving this game a 5 is because the MP was a joke auto aim lackluster pile of steaming horse crap there is nothing to do. Don't give me that **** about how there's challenges i mean come on flower picking and the game mode types were stupid this game was not made to be competitive its engine just cant handle that and as a result TDM and the other modes felt like a bad ps2 third person shooter ,and all the other boring ass stuff they threw in there to try to make it work was laughable at best. i found my self just boosting my levels up on the easiest gang hideout with friends just to give me something to do and the pvp reward system is a joke 5 point for killing another person its retarded you would have to kill 200 real people which would take for ever in a game were there is only ever 4 freaking people in a lobby when i could just boost a easy gang hideout in 1:40 and get 1000 xp. overall i was done with this game in like a 5 days b/c the MP was just to damn boring OVER HYPED NUFF SAID Expand
  17. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    RDR is a very good game, but an overrated one. Being a Western probably gave it a few extra plus for many people and perhaps for me, too. But it's certainly not the 'huge achievement' that Rockstar have claimed (if Zoo editor Toby McCasker is to be believed and, having contrasted my experience of the game against the stellar mainstream reviews and score, I leaning towards his story a bit more now).

    My main gripe is that the game is often quite boring which, when put aside my feeling that the game is also too short, is quite an achievement: Rockstar created a short and partially boring game. Usually tedium comes with long, drawn-out games! The boredom is induced by the slew of horse riding courier-type missions throughout. Yes, I appreciate that it conveys the vast expanse of the West, but I didn't need to be slapped in the face with this every 5 missions or so. Luckily, the tedium is interrupted by some absolutely brilliant missions and some great cutscenes; just enough to save RDR from being a completely boring game, and instead turning it into a decent one. But I can't forget those horse riding missions. Other issues I have with RDR are: 1) It was set too late in history, and would have been better had it been in a more familiar Civil War setting; 2) The narrative pretty much restrained your role-playing into one of a bad guy turned nice guy - there was no chance to play the anti-hero, and very few choices afforded to the player, except outside of missions which didn't really affect the narrative in the same way that games like Mass Effect have managed (and Westerns are all about the anti-heroes!); 3) There was no 'bank job' mission (a Western without a bank job?!); 4) There was no Magnificent Seven/High Plains Drifter-style 'save a town from bandidos' side-story (perhaps more a personal preference, but if Rockstar are to pay homage to such films then you can't go without it).

    I've nit-picked a bit there, and have perhaps paid too much attention to what I didn't like about the game. Overall, I did really enjoy it and put a lot of hours into it, but I just feel very strongly that it didn't deserve the 9's and 10s it got, and that such inflated scores (and the Toby McCasker saga) leave me a little concerned about the credibility of mainstream games reviewers.
    Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a original thriller of Rockstar, is true ... His immersion, graphics effects, his soundtrack and epic love your way to practically all types of players.

    John Marston is a great character and justifies this in the wonderful storyline that the game provides. The missions are well balanced and many things are new at this game.

    It's amazing how Rockstar managed to
    faithfully reproduce the old-with this primacy. It's really one of the greatest games of all time.

    Since I have so much to write, my grade is 9 to why it could not be less than that. It's a review from Brazil, take care world ! =]
    Expand
  19. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Mafia II refuses to follow the crowd of open-world games by putting authenticity at the head of its agenda instead of sheer scale and off-the-hook action. Empire Bay is a fantastic embodiment of the 1940s/'50s; really sharp cinematography and mostly solid voice acting; well-built experience with a handful of notable moments. Most exciting moments in game are seen and not played; superficial narrative fails to explore briefly mentioned themes; streamlined campaign lacks side missions or exploration.
    Game duration 8 -10 hours depending how slow/fast you play
    Expand
  20. Nov 23, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have given this game this score for the simple fact that people made it out to be the perfect and best game imaginable but lets be honest, it really isn't. Its too easy for gods sake. I managed to go through out HUGE chunks of the game without dying. Im talking about 2-3 hours worth of the game and I would be able to kill everyone and everything and that is pretty much down to the fact that the shooting is so easy. Before you even think about it. I did take the auto aim and move it up to whatever difficulty it has for the shooting and it made no difference whatsoever because nothing was going to stop me. The AI is stupid. The story is boring. After you get to go to Mexico I seriously had had enough of the cut scenes so I just skipped them. They aren't like the ones in games like Uncharted where because of the characters and that it advances the plot that I have to watch it. The mission variety is boring. At least with GTA there was fun out of me going around and shooting and killing people. In this its just like here you go. I know its set in the days of cowboys and all that but come on. This is just boring. What annoyed me the most out of the game is that when I finished it I felt NO satisfaction from doing it. Expand
  21. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    The game is nice for a 3rd person shooter. The game allows you to free roam with some interesting finds to give you some side quest as sharp shooter, gatherer, etc. The main story is nice to follow with an end that I didn't predict. To play a GTA game settled in the west was a nice change.
  22. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a solid Wild West Themed Sandbox game. The games structure is very similar to Rockstars other Sandbox game series, the Grand Theft Auto series in which RDR places John Marston (the person you play as) into a huge Wild West Sandbox environment and complete missions, earn cash and shoot your foes. The landscape and views look authentic and has a certain naturalness feel to it with loads of plants and live animals. The story is good, deep, fascinating and provides a good, meaty single player experience. The game (for the most part) plays like a first person shooter. Many missions see you fighting against the bad guys in engaging fire fights and RDR has a neat cover system along with a great slow-mo precision targeting system feature known as Dead-Eye which allows you to slow down time and target multiple targets then unleash hell on them with fire power. The gunplay and the game play itself is polished and uncomplicated to play due to clear instructions on where to go and an auto targeting system which allows you to quickly dispatch a group of outlaws. There are some decent variety in the missions that you'll undertake like escorting someone to safety by defending them against outlaws, tame horses, herd cattle from one place to another and more. There is a hint of RPG style game play in this game. I like the fact that you can earn money by scavenging for materials from plants or organs from dead animals and sell them to someone. The single player campaign is defiantly action heavy and bloody. The weapons at your disposal are plentiful and fun to use with bolt action rifles, pistols and a really cool lasso which can be used to take down criminals or targets without killing them. The most ideal mode of transport across the vast environment is the horse. Horse controls maybe a little bit fiddly at first but you'll get use to them. However, galloping sections where you are just riding with a NPC and discussing about various topics can get repetitious at times and I hate the fact that you have to hold down the X button to keep galloping at a consistent speed or else you'll slow down. What I like about this game is how Rockstar San Diego has captured the perception of the Wild West beautifully with the landscape, music, building design, sound design, and the character models and how they move and talk. Speaking of the sound design, the characters in this game are well voiced and the gun noises sound wonderful. What is always a strong point in Rockstar's sandbox games such as their Grand Theft Auto games is that there is an abundance of stuff to do. This game is no exception. There's loads to do even after completing the expansive single player campaign such as side jobs like being a Night Watchmen or helping civilians, scavenge for plant material and play mini games such as Horseshoes and Poker which are fun if a little annoying (especially Horse Shoes, can't say the same thing about Poker: I don't know how to play it!). The physics look convincing and realistic like falling off a cliff or dragging someone behind you (attached to the lasso) and watching them tumble and twirl while you gallop along with your horse. The game does get a little bit slow at the end and I don't like hunting helpless, innocent animals and skinning them but I guess it's just a game. When you skin animals, blood splatters across the screen which is an unnecessarily effect considering the perspective that you play the game. It would be acceptable in a first person shooter where you look through the eyes of your character but not in a third person shooter. RDR is accessible to anyone due to a generous checkpoint system and clear instructions on what to do but in turn it does make the game a little too easy. As a whole, RDR is a great Third Person Shooter with RPG elements that do not overcomplicate things. This Wild West game deserves to be in any action gamer's collection. Collapse
  23. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    This game is a sigh that even games like GTA IV are now a thing of the past. Rockstar delivered a masterpiece that is worthy of GOTY for 2010. Plus, one of the best endings in recent gaming history!
  24. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Open-World Western? Check. Arsenal of weapons at the users disposal? Check. Expansive, detailed, massive world? Check. Rockstar once again essentially raises the bar for the open-world genre. With enough missions and side quests to keep you busy for hours-upon-hours, a world where every inch begs to be explored, and a cast of memorable characters who follow an engaging, adrenaline-fueled plot, this game is simply put, phenomenal. Red Dead Redemption is a shining example of how to make a western game, and one no fan of the genre should miss. If your not convinced to buy the game yet, apparently you have yet to drag a helpless civilian by the feet behind your horse as you ride off into the sunset. Expand
  25. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead is a brand of its own, hosting a massive world of rustic locales, interesting npcs, and beautiful graphics. What it does best though is it captures the Western feel of cinema, something very few games have ever done right (if ever). A long game depending how you play, which is very ambiguous and up to the player. Whether your hunting, capturing a bounty, free roaming, or just killing innocents, Red Dead has something for everyone; the cowboys, and the cowboys at heart. Expand
  26. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    This game was not disappointing. Think of GTA except in the early 1900's in rural Texas. The story is compelling, and the characters are like straight out of a movie (I couldn't skip one single cut scene). Heck, I even enjoyed the conversations you have on horseback while riding towards your goal in the mission. And for those who say screw the story, I'm just gonna wreak havoc, you can do that too. I recommend anyone who enjoyed the GTA franchise, or who is looking for a new game to pick up and play for several weeks. This may be the one partner Expand
  27. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, a GTA beater I don't know. If your looking for an interesting, new, different open world game then you could not go wrong with RDR. If your interested in cowboy movies and you have a small interest in computer games, then this will turn you in to a gaming addict, If your interested in computer games and have a small interest in cowboy movies then you will love this game. If your just interested in computer games, then there's a good chance that you will love this game anyway. Expand
  28. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Red Dead Redemption is probably Rockstar's most immersive and beautiful game to date but it is by no means perfect, basically GTA4 with horses. Lets start with the good; it's big, it's beautiful, capping people in the leg and watching the physics work their magic never gets old, the guns feel solid and powerful and for once in gaming we seem to have an accurate representation of what a gunshot wound to the head would actually look like. However the game does have problems, while almost every characters motivations and personalities are interesting, John Marston's, weirdly, isn't. While Marston's cause is a worthy one, he doesn't half go on about it, repeating the same story over and over to passers-by and anyone who'll listen, conscious or not. Also the game is just plain easy; the cover button seems to toggle god-mode and dead-eye (while visceral and satisfying) is just bullet-time in a dress. Also, bears shouldn't be able to take a shell to the head without flinching, they're bears not houses. In conclusion this is a good game hampered by small niggles, like a supermodel with no teeth... And Jack can jump in a **** black hole too Expand
  29. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Read dead is a fantastic game, from fun addicting game play to amazing graphics. I had loads of fun playing this game; itâ
  30. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    While this game blew me away with it's sheer size and seemingly limitless playability, it's techincal flaws really hampered what I feel could have been a close to perfect game. For one example, I had just finished using the gatling gun at Fort Mercer, one of the bandits had been shot off his horse and was suspended in mid-air and dead. Now my natural curiosity has me go over to the corpse and kind of chuckle at a minor game flaw. I walk near the corpse...and I DIE?? Really?? and that's just one of many bugs I found. As far as I am concerned, that is practically inexcusable to be in a $60 game. I can understand a glitch here and there...but dying after walking under a suspended in mid air corpse? Or having a wagon driver completely go **** for no reason and drive right over a cliff? A townsman running in place just propels himself into the sky? For shame Rockstar.....for shame Expand
  31. Sep 24, 2010
    4
    This game is rated WAY TOO HIGH for what it is. The dialog is full of tired old moralizing and just about the time you're willing to accept that it's a shooting game pretending to have a moral compass you walk in on Reyes having sex. What??? Riding horses back and forth the map gets really old, and the story line is tiresome. "If you'll just do this one more mission we'll find the man your looking for..." and then again "if you'll just do one more we can find him..." Rockstar must be thrilled to have put out such a basket case of a game and still make as much money off it. I almost finished this long game, but couldn't believe how much more crap I had to do after I'd reached a point in the story where it should have ended! Long games do not equal good games! Expand
  32. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    I give this game a 10 out of 10 but I wish I can give it more. The game was a mixture of class, amazing graphics, perpetually interesting gameplay, and a great storyline.
  33. Feb 23, 2011
    2
    this game is the most boring, DREADFUL, games i have ever ever played... graphically its sweet, sound is tight, i feel like i'm there... the horse riding, slow pace, they had me killing coyotes! in that moment i said i love john wayne, but i don't want to be him
  34. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    I think I hyped myself too much for this game add to that the fact that I do not enjoy western settings and you can understand my rating for this game. Overall it's a fine experience, the story is engaging and the game is fluid. I was a bit disappointed in the graphics department but it wasn't a big deal.
  35. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. Where the coyotes wail and the wind blows free. And when I die, don't bury me beneath the western sky, on the lone prairie."

    Red Dead Redemption is the missing link between players and wild west, since there is no possiblity go back in the wild west, this game is the next best thing, and oh it's good.

    I'm big fan of western movies and games, this game
    makes the impossible to possible by offerring very deep and authentic feeling wild west for players to play, visit, travel, ride and live.

    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. This words came soft and painfully from the pallid lips of a youth who lay on his dyin' bed, at the break of day."

    RDR looks pretty amazing on consoles and if there's coming PC version I think it will be also must buy.

    Gameplay is almost identical to GTA IV but there is few minor differences, like swimming that isn't possible in RDR. Shooting and hunting is probably the second best part in this game, but riding on sunset with fast horse and perfect music playing on background is absolutely the best part in whole game.

    At the end of one mission player had to ride to Mexico and there was perfectly fitting music track playing and sun is starting to set behind the horizon, oh my god it was amazing.

    "But we buried him there, on the lone prairie where the rattle snakes hiss and the wind blows free. In a shallow grave, no one to grieve beneath the western sky, on the lone prairie."

    Red Dead Redemption is true masterpiece and well executed piece of art. It's the only game that I have bough dlc packs and will keep buying. For everyone who is interested in wild west or western movies this is a must buy.

    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. These words came soft and painfully from the pallid lips of a youth who lay on his dyin' bed, at the break of day. On his dyin' bed, at the break of day."
    Expand
  36. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this is better then Grand theft auto 4 on multiply fronts. For starters the environment is stunning and you will have to ride from town to town with the risk of wild animals attacking you giving a realistic edge to the game. Next there is more to do besides just missions, you can help random people who come up to you for help, you and also hunt for wanted people for a small payment, you can gamble as well with the risk of loosing money or you can completed challenges to improve your fame and honour levels which has many improvements. More fame means more people want help from you which rewards you with money. More honour means bigger discounts at stores and more pay from jobs. One favourite of mine is that you can shoot out both legs of your enemy stopping them from moving then pull out your lasso and tie them up. Now last but not least dead eye, you slow down time to get a better lock on your enemy. Still there are many things to discover if you bye the game, Expand
  37. Nov 9, 2010
    6
    What an overrated void of nothingness. First of all this really is gta4 in the wild west. All of the games side quest or secondary activities are boring and useless except hunting, you play them to earn money yet you cant use money for anything which makes them pointless. The game is way too easy, i died very few times and the game is not long at all if you dont waste your time playing stupid, pointless, easy, shallow mini games (Arm wrestling what a joke!) or side quests. The game also makes the wild west look boring and dull and the ending just plain sucks. Expand
  38. Mar 1, 2011
    5
    Although this game appears to have a great atmospheric quality to it that non other game in the history video gaming can conquer, Read Dead Redemption is a title that will ultimately captivate western fans and those of the Rockstar genre, and though it delivers with a great amount of action, where it fails to deliver are in it's dull moments. The game is incredibly lengthy, on the plus side, but the down side is that it causes the audience to enjoy it much less after a few play throughs, which has burdened the rockstar franchise for may of there titles. Overall, great game, but lacking in quality when it comes to some aspects. Expand
  39. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    Really enjoyable, but mediocre experience. Too much horse riding, duel system is awful, dead eye feels useless, there is no real need to aim(the game has inbuilt aimbot), most of the missions are either repetitive or boring, story is not interesting, there are too many strange story related characters, you cannot really choose what to do(only in which order you do things), there isn't any choices that would affect the story or the way people see you, the performance is awful(runs 15-25fps and sometimes even drops around 5fps). I still gave it 7 because I sort of enjoyed it and there are not many western games. Expand
  40. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is legendary!!!
    The truth is i was never really into the whole west thing and was extremely skeptical about RDR because of rockstars previous games ,mainly GTA. GTA got on my nerves because it always felt like the same thing, the only difference was location and story. But now rockstar has exploded my faith in them with one of the most beautiful,most innovative and the
    biggest games i have ever played!!I now love the west and all the cowboy stuff!!!This is one of those games that you will remember for the rest of your life!!YOU ROCKSTAR!!!LOL Expand
  41. Oct 15, 2010
    2
    Disgusted that I paid for this junk. I have Gun for the PS2 and r.d redemption is just a rip off of it. Following people to your next mission bores me to tears and what makes it worse is that you have to listen to a conversation that dosent interest me at all. Graphics are very good, I'll give it that but of course they are...its on the PS3 for christs sake.......If you've never played Gun for the PS2 and you like keeping the X button pressed for long periods of time while you listen to someone rattling on about why they live in the wild west then be my guest. All you animal lovers out there will love this game as 80% of the time is spent staring at a horses arse jiggling up and down.....Money not well spent....... Expand
  42. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    This is not just GTA with horses. Red Dead Redemption isn't a good game, its a great game. Definitely feels like something worthy of game of the year, and is definitely Rockstar's best title ever. An open world western setting with tons of innovation and new ideas with great voice acting to go with great story telling. Graphically wise everything looks very good also and with tons of extra side content in the game this is one that could hold you over for a while. Expand
  43. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    i love this game and i still continue to play it now... the graphics are amazing the story is great and the world is just alive... yes this game is better than gta because rockstar have taken the GTA formula and then made it better... no its not GTA on a horse its like a simulator of wat life was like as a cowboy....essential buy it now...
  44. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best environments I've ever seen in a video game. It makes you feel like you're in the wild west. Rockstar always has really great voice acting and storytelling. This game may be their best.
  45. Apr 26, 2011
    7
    A brilliant narrative that plays with the players perspective, and sheds the wild west in a new light. It is proof that videogames are indeed art. Unfortunately it's not actually fun to play, with some of the most tedious mechanics in modern gaming. The section in mexico was especially a chore, with it's frequent backtracking. At the end there is a great annoyance as well, as a completely achievable obstacle assumes and forces the player's defeat. Expand
  46. May 25, 2011
    10
    Rockstars best game. This game is so much better than all their other games in every aspect (apart from L.A. Noire which is much more innovative). Shortly: it's GTA: Cowboy but with a lot of improvements.
    The game has amazing graphics, some of the best characters in a video gamer ever, a quite good story, great gameplay, dynamic environment: you can go hunting, saving people, killing
    people, stealing stuff, robbing stuff, catching criminals etc etc ... and all this feels really realistic and alive. The only thing I can bash on is that it's still the standard (in the main quest) go from "point A to point B" thing. There is no real choice on how to do a mission which feels very linear to the rest of the game. But anyhow, it's one of the best games ever and it's definatley Rockstars best game. Love it. Expand
  47. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Having played all the GTA series I was anxious to get this game. It is a truly absorbing and atmospheric game , expansive and enthralling. However one can't help feeling that because GTA exists it never fully feels 'new' and because of that the impact is lost a little. If you have never really played GTA go for this straight off, you wont be dissappointed. Even if you have GTA I would recommend. Its a superb game. The game is worth playing just for the wow factor of looking at the views and listening to the wildlife. Id put it close to GTA but not quite a GTA 4 beater. Expand
  48. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = Despite a few bugs this game is seriously great!! Great world, great atmosphere.
  49. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This is not only the best game I have ever played; I think it belongs in a new class. Nothing else has come close. It is the most immersive open world experience out there. The graphics are stunning graphics, the voice acting excellent, and the sheer number of interesting activities is mind-boggling. This is not simply GTA with horses, it is a significant leap ahead.
  50. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    Very well thought out game, has a great story line all the way to the end, enough different weapons to make it interesting, i personally prefer the GTA games however this was definitely worth buying. I enjoyed it to the very end.
  51. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    I took the Madame of Thieves' Landing, hogtied her to train tracks then sat back and watched in sadistic glory as the train roared on by and a little pop-up in the corner of my screen alerted me that I received the "Dastardly" trophy (I swear I felt somewhat bad). How can you not give this game at 10 out of 10.

    Great soundtrack too, by the way.
  52. Jan 30, 2011
    8
    By now you probably know all about Red Dead Redemption. It had a harsh development life at Rockstar, it won all the awards and it's "awesome." But you haven't bought it yet - so you're probably wondering if it's for you. Here's some perspective. If you felt disappointed, bored or simply satisfied and done with the last GTA than you probably won't find much to love with Red Dead Redemption. No, it's not fair to call RDR simply GTA on a horse but it does play much like it. There is an interesting story here, the world feels alive and is gorgeous, there's plenty to do but in the end the game plays very similar to GTA. That is a good or bad thing. Additionally while the overall story is interesting and engrossing it takes its time to progress. It started, something happens at the 4ish hour mark and another thing happens at the 8-9 hour mark. Nothing is happening in between. Nothing. So what goes on there? Favor quests. Do you know those sidequests games throw in with strangers asking you for a favor? Yeah, most of RDR's main quests are just like that. You'll meet someone, they'll tell you to do something and you'll need to do it. The main character will begin commenting on how ridiculous this is in the 6th or 7th hour of this constant favor quests which doesn't make it ok. It feels lazy. "I'll help you if you do this...now this...great! Now let's do this! Ok. I have a friend. Go see them and do this and they'll help you. I have to go and can't." Get used to that. For all there is to do in RDR I've been focusing on the main missions simply because they already feel like side missions so I have no desire to do extra favors for extra goodies on the side and the game is pretty long which is good (10th hour right now) but they could have made the missions more story or main character oriented. The combat is good, this is a great shooter at it's core. You can also use a bullet-time system to mark enemies and do quick executions. You can fight on your horse. You'll lasso and tie enemies from afar. Occasionally you'll make important decisions. You'll enjoy horse riding from mission to mission although there comes a point where it takes too long and gets a bit old, so you'll probably switch to the instant travel option in the menu. There are some fun games to play, old movie shorts to watch, and some system to buy property for money but you'll never need it. I've never needed to worry about money, buy health or buy a weapon...but if you want to it's there. There's multiplayer in here too but it feels as unpolished and fun as GTA's multiplayer - so can decide on that for yourself. So is Red Dead Redemption for you? This is a game worthy of it's hype. The story is good, the voice acting is even better, the graphics are usually gorgeous and the gameplay is topnotch. It appeals to a mass audience and is a better package than most games last year. Is it worthy of the hype? Yes and no, for reasons I've noted. If you're interested in cowboys, love GTA or want a deeper action experience then give it a try. If you don't like games with a ton of excess fat that is labeled as "depth" or if you've had enough of the GTA sandbox-littered-with-favor-missions setup than you will not find much to enjoy here. While it is a better overall package than most games last year I'd have to give it an 8/10 at most due to some lazy structuring, extremely slow pacing and poorly implemented mechanics. Expand
  53. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    Here is my simple and straight forward review; no bs. Pros:

    - Massive landscape and scope of game. Variety in landscapes (blistering hot desert to restless tundra)
    - Compelling characters: John Martson is by far the most compelling character this year and you can feel really connected to this man's struggles
    - Great Graphics: Presentation is A+, no sacrifices were made to make the large
    free roam
    - Epic narrative: The story itself is the greatest aspect of this game
    - Variety of weapons, horses, activities - Original: No other game this year is like this one, best Western videogame ever made Cons:

    - Missions are REALLY repetitive and boring (follow guy on horse, kill some dudes, take reward, done). - Glitchy (falling off the map isn't exactly hard to do if you try) - Too much desert, the deserty landscape of this game althought different takes up like 60% of the map. Tall trees (snow part) is far too small compared to the rest of the map.
    - Dragging length; due to the repetitive missions, the singleplayer is a bit too long. There seems to be like 3 different instances were you thought you beat the game only to find out you didn't. - At one point you end up shooting birds to protect a barn and helping your son hunt deer. Not exactly the most exciting aspect of the game. This part should have been cut
    - Multiplayer is extremely boring; gamemodes and uninteresting, free roam has literally NOTHING to do other than beat the same gang hideouts over and over again - No replay value due to boring multiplayer and extremely long singleplayer

    Overall: Red dead is a rent and not a buy. The multiplayer is a waste of time and effort but the single player is a very compelling narrative but with boring and repetitive missions, the presentation is great as well. I wish I could give this game a 7.5 but I can't. So 7.
    Expand
  54. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Dull. This is the best word for this game. Sorry, but I am not interested in skinning racoons, or riding MILES across plains to get to the next shootout. Yes, beautiful, atmospheric, clever, well made. But dull.
  55. Nov 17, 2010
    9
    This game is gran-theft auto in the desert using western guns and horses. Its awesome. Probably one of the most creativite ways to use an open world system in years. The graphics are good, gameplay is non-manatonous, random events occur, and you can kill any animal you see anywhere. Pretty unique game here. Buy it if you like western movies, are a gta fan, or enjoy open ended games. Rent it if not, because everyone should try this game. Expand
  56. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Nowadays sanbox games are as common as never before and most of them don't do much do be diffrent or unique. The gta series is recycled and other sandbox franchises try to imitate it. Red dead, although from the same developer, is nothing like that and is in fact the best sandbox game I have ever played. There arent many western videogames around so red dead redemption comes out as a very unique game. The gameplay in RDR is varied and goes from the regular shooting/escorting missions to sidequests and mini games. The side quests, though usually not related to the main story, are very good and interesting. There are tons of mini games of all sorts( poker, horseshoe etc.) and they are fun. The game really gets incredible with the story mission. the story is a bit similar to that in gta 4 but more subtle. John Marston is a badass but is very human( unlike Niko). You really bond with the characters so you really want to know how everything turns out in the end. The game is incredible in the sound and graphics compartments as well. The graphics are probably the best in sandbox games history and the sound fits perfectly to the game. You really feel like you are in the wild west and exploring the huge map is great. There is also multiplayer, which I didn't really like but others do, if you are intrested in that. The game has quite a few glitches and sometimes they are annoying but they are far far from being a deal breaker. Overall the game is superb. It takes an overused genre and turns it unique back again. As a whole package this game is everything you could hope for in an action game: fun and unique gameplay, great story, good sound, incredible visuals and a ton of replay value. One of my favourites this gen for sure. Expand
  57. USG
    Nov 21, 2010
    9
    The story, overall, in Red Dead Redemption is excellent, at least one of the best. It's dynamic, long and still works perfectly. Truthfully the story has blown me away. The game's graphics are generally good; the sky really stands out. The gameplay works; horses prove to be second to none compared to any other game. It has great exploration value, good difficulty, and sufficient features and side missions. The map adds hours of extra play. Its greatness does not even require multiplayer. Redemption does provide a classic Western feel. However, a huge problem are all the glitches in-game which breaks the momentum. Expand
  58. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    There is no where near enough words to describe the majesty and scale of this unforgettable western adventure, so you will simply have to play it yourself. The characters and plot are well fleshed; John Marston is probably the coolest character ever made in a video game. The graphics are beautiful, the sky a wish-wash of oranges and reds at sunset and a bright electric blue at day. Whilst it is not of the length of the likes of GTA IV, the journey through is probably better (just). Absolutely essential to any game collection, this game is a modern gaming masterpiece. 95%. Expand
  59. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. Rockstar has outdone themselves on this one. Excellent atmosphere that really give the feel of a Western world. Large variety of weapons and horses. Good gameplay mechanics and a good system for online play.....Love the posse.
  60. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Never was a fan of GTA series but a big fan of Westerns. So I was intrigued at the concept of a sandbox game mixed with a Western background. The result was one of the best gaming experiences ever. The storyline is greatly influenced by classic Western movies like The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. Plus, the soundtrack is one of most memorable pieces of music I've had the pleasure of listening to.
  61. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    very good game but not as good as GTA IV, the production values didn't seem as impressive in this game and the story was uninteresting for me until the awesome finale but anyway this game is a little of an improvement gameplay wise over GTA IV and it had more activities to do, i hated playing some of the mini games but the ability to hunt animals and pick up flowers as well as taming horses was really awesome, it feels like there's so much to do even when most of it is tedious, but at the end I really enjoyed the game including the great multiplayer, not as fair and diverse of an experience as GTA IV but it was fun nonetheless. Expand
  62. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For anyone out there that thinks this is just GTA with a western background, we'll maybe your'e partially right but don't let that deter you from enjoying the best game of 2010. We'll start with the graphics...
    The character models are finely detailed, down to the scars on Marston's face and when compared to Niko Bellics character in GTA 4 you can clearly see that Rockstar is continuing to push the power of these consoles. The landscapes are very detailed in some areas while other areas could use some more texturing and you'll still see some pop up as you did in previous Rockstar titles but due to the sheer scope of the game these are subtle complaints that never take you away from overall experience. There where times that I would ride my horse to the edge of a cliff just to look at the enviroment below, it's simply breathtaking knowing that you have the ability to go to any of these areas. Rockstar has done another amazing job crafting a world unlike any of their previous efforts. The land itself is a character full of animals to kill and skin as well as flowers and weeds to pick which of course you can turn around and sell to the local general stores. I followed and watched an NPC look around until he realized there was no one there before he could relieve himself, I also watched a husband take his own life after crying over his dead wife. It's all about the subtle touches that Rockstar uses to bring the world to life.
    The sound is well done throughout the game, whether it's the voice acting, the sound of your horses gallop or the sound of a cougar as it sneaks up behind you Rockstar has done another exceptional job. During one of the final missions, Marston is riding back to his family, there is a song that plays called "Far Away" written by Jose Gonzalez specifically for Red Dead Redemption. The scene itself will leave you in awe, it feels unlike anything i've ever felt playing a videogame. Rockstar went above and beyond and it is immediately noticeable.
    Controlling Marston is immediately accessible to anyone who has played GTA4. The controls are fairly easy to pick up and after a few missions you'll be lassoing horses and using Dead eye with ease. Dead Eye itself gets better throughout the game starting with the ability to slow time...Later on in the game Dead Eye evolves allowing Marston to not just slow down time but also target specific body parts during Showdowns. During gameplay the user will have the ability to use Dead Eye but is never subjected to having to use it. While, the user has no choice when it comes to Showdowns, I actually chose to play most of the game without it bumping up the difficulty. Riding horses is very accessible and never really caused frustration. You might complain that the horses are not fast enough at times due to the size of the world, but let's face it these are not cars. If you have played GTA in the past then you already know what to expect when it comes to a lot of the missions. The story missions are good with some decent voice acting as well as some memorable characters but when it comes to the side missions, this is where the game can get bogged down in repetition. There is some variety in these missions but not enough to keep you coming back to them. Rockstar did a good job of giving the user incentive to do these missions as the user is going to be given either Honor or Dishonor when completing or not completing them. The Honor/Dishonor system actually has some benefit to it, the more honorable Marston is the more praise he will get when going to different towns, Marston will also have access to specific items that are normally unaccessible without gaining the honor. While on the other hand if Marston is dishonorable he gets access to a separate branch of items and praise. Most of these side missions consist of getting back a stolen horse, to helping someone save his hanged wife etc. Marston can also find other things to do around the world such as skinning animals for profit. Skinning animals can be very addictive (at lease for me it was), and there's nothing like taking out 3 bears at once with Dead Eye. Certain animals are worth more in certain parts of the map adding some depth and reasoning to go back to specific stores to sell the skins. The only negative aspect that I found about the wild animals are that they can be pretty linear in how they react and what they are doing when seen. I would have loved to see some deer drinking out of the rivers or birds catching snakes, anything to make the world feel more alive. There are so many things to like about this game and there are so many things to dislike. I myself was blown away by the overall presentation of the title and can easily say that this is better than any of the previous GTA games...Being the first game in the franchise (not counting Red Dead Revolver) has me looking forward to bigger things...fishing anyone?
    Expand
  63. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a game that gets everything right: The script, the acting, the atmosphere, the game mechanics and most importantly the emotional connection. There have been few games that have moved me quite like RDR. It's ending is a masterstroke of subtlety, which is something you rarely see from gaming. If you play the game as it was intended (like a hero and not a GTAIV thug), it has a contemplative, lilting tone that stays with you long after the credits have rolled. Red Dead Redemption is a true adult gaming classic; mature, well written and with a huge heart. Basically speaking, it's one of the best games that I've ever played. Expand
  64. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The single player campaign was too short for my liking, but the missions in it were well designed and beautiful to play. That being said, I've spent hours just riding around the world, attacking stagecoaches and lassoing horses and it hasn't gotten old yet. The Legend of the West sidemissions are a little tedious, and you can't complete them until the game is essentially over, which makes the outfit you receive too little, too late. In fact, some of the coolest outfits (e.g., FBI uniform granting you amnesty from the law) can only be used after the game has been beaten. I imagine this is to keep the gameplay fair insofar that you must really beat each mission to progress.

    The online multiplayer is enjoyable as long as you've got a couple of friends to play with; it seems as though every random person I've met is an insufferable 10 year old who wants nothing more than to tea-bag your corpse. Co-op missions are varied, attacking gang hideouts is a blast.

    If you get the game, sign up for the Rockstar Social Club! You'll get additional challenges, cheat codes and outfits at no extra cost to you, extending the gameplay for at least a few hours. The DLC is great, too - who doesn't enjoy tomahawking a townsperson or sniping with an explosive rifle?

    Easily my favorite game for the PS3.
    Expand
  65. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Out of Rockstar Games, it was actually the best I saw, but I still believe this game does not deserve to be in Game of the Year because although the game had amazing gameplay and storyline, the battle system was a little too unoriginal just because it shows the Old West. If I look closely, I still believe that Final Fantasy 13 shows better graphics, storyline, and even gameplay because that game was the first to indtroduce a new concept which I understand was not perfect. Expand
  66. Feb 1, 2011
    5
    A great game is one that in the first five minutes, you're drawn in. The game continually takes you deeper and gives an unparalled experiance. This is not one of those games. It takes you thirty minutes to get a gun and your first enemy are crop rabbits. The beautiful landscapes take all day to traverse on horseback and the missions just repeat themselves. The story was just like any other open world Rockstar game where the main character is a broken man that becomes a hired gun. Tell me that isn't the same in al GTA's. So much time and energy is put into side quest that do nothing but extend the lenght of the game. The characters met along the way are rehashes of same old models we've seen one too many times. The average score is given to the play mechanics which are very nice. This game has high production values that tricks players into believing its a great feat to shoot a cowboy off a horse. Or to win a quick draw. I got 80% completion until I just didn't want to play anymore. Expand
  67. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    Aim, fire, reload, repeat. Aim, fire, reload, repeat. These are the first three things you should know before entering this dangerous yet immersive world of the wild, wild west. When it is heard that Rockstar San Diego is cooking something up in their kitchen, you can be sure it'll fall short of nothing spectacular, and Red Dead Redemption, is absolutely no exception to this, rule if you will.

    Once you embrace the opening cutscene, you will step into the jacked up shoes of John Marston, the main character. He is, if not apparent already, a cowboy, one who is seeking revenge. He was once part of a murderous gang. However, to Marston's surprise, he is back stabbed and left for dead in the desert of America. He is rescued by a rancher who goes by the name Bonnie and in return for her nursing of the man, John Marston repays her by doing odd jobs for her. Still, revenge is only one tree in his enormous forest, as the feds take his family away because of his sins. He is forced to complete tasks for the feds so he can take his family back home and start a new life. But at the same time he must achieve his revenge as he moves on to New Austin and eventually Mexico in which area outstandingly large. John Marston makes new enemies and friends along the way, all of which are memorable and lovable. Player be warned, this game is extremely (I use that word strongly), extremely vast and deep. Starting off with the core story of the game, the amount of words that can be used to describe it is itself incredible. The game has a way to keep you hooked from it's very beginning all the way through its +20 hour storyline. John Marston is a deep, deep character and it is clear he is going through a rough time. As you continue the story, you quickly realize that he is willing to do anything for anybody just to get his revenge and to regain his family back. This may seem silly at first, but you then realize how much he cares for his family. The story is perfectly paced and the missions never get tiresome or boring, as you can ride your incredibly detailed horse around the dynamic vistas of the wild west. You don't get to get closer to your family until near the end of the game, which also is a very moving and strong part of the story. This brings me to the locales and the side missions. The locales are in their own way distinct, diverse, and deep and that adds so much to the story. The characters you meet along the way are some of the best ever in a video game. The chemistry between them and John Marston is engaging in a sense that you'll actually feel like you're in the wild west. The side missions themselves are also some of the best mainly because they actually contribute to the main storyline. They are so good that some of them should go as far as to winning an award for best side mission. However, the gameplay is strong with the dead-eye system as well as deep and solid, but it can get a bit wonky and easy.

    This brings me to the world. Huge, vast, colossal are only few of the words to describe this open heaven. Collect herbs, hunt wolves, shoot birds, skin boars are only some of the few things you can do in this open world. You can go treasure hunting to unlock new outfits or complete challenges to become legend of the west and fill your fame meter, which impacts the way people talk to you. This also brings up the karma system. You can choose to be a goody two-shoes cowboy, or one hell of a bad ass. Either way, this affects the missions that you do. Speaking of doing, despite a few bugs, the best part of the game is the fact that you can ride through the beautiful sunsets of the game while admiring the musculature of the horses and the heavy attention to detail to everything around you especially the characters and towns. Everything is incredibly gorgeous and stunning. The atmosphere created is easily the best of this generation; this feels like the wild west.

    The voice acting is phenomenal in the game. There isn't a single character with a bad voice actor in the game, and I don't know how, but I recognized the people without seeing them, with only hearing their voice. The game sucks you in even more with the tremendous job of voice acting. The soundtrack is just as good, if not better. It fits so seemlessly into the backround when you explore what the game has to offer and it is of such high quality.

    Lastly, the multiplayer is every bit as good as the single player. Create a possy and roam in free play, kill each other to level up and earn new weapons, horses, and characters in team deathmatch, capture the gold, or for the enthusiasts, play it all on hardcore mode. The multiplayer is insanely deep with its leveling system, and it goes on par with even Call of Duty.

    Get this game. Calling it a bang fo your buck would be an understatement. Incredible game. Just incredible.

    Presentation-10/10
    Story-10/10
    Sound-10/10
    Graphics-9.5/10
    Gameplay-9.5/10
    Lasting Appeal-10/10

    Overall-9.9/10
    Expand
  68. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    So, this is one of the best games I've ever played, hands down. It's not the grudgingly good score some give games that are rated well but not quite as enjoyable as expected, nor is it one that I am fanboyish about because I just happened to be in the perfect mood for it one sleepless night. Those games, and we all know there are plenty of examples of each, all have something to improve on. Yet RDR has nothing to improve on, it simply gives us a living, breathing world, and lets us romp around in it like the heroes of westerns would have, but with the self-conscious modernist philosophical twist Rockstar showed more crudely in GTA. The societal commentary is there, but more intelligent and not as nihilistic or snarky as in GTA. Much more consistent message and world all around here.

    So, the GTA formula is inevitably what this game will be compared to by anyone who ever played Rockstar's stuff since GTA 3. And it's a fair comparison because it's superficially just like GTA, but, unlike GTA, it is quite refined in action. There is no tedious travel because you can quick travel with a minimum amount of downtime, yet you can appreciate the landscape if you wish by just riding toward the sun and seeing where it leads you (try it at sunset, it's pretty and it's fun).

    The GTA formula could not, IMHO, get much more refined than this, because not only is it convenient, but it encourages you to explore and has a TON of stuff for anyone who wants to go outside the storyline and play around. There are 10 ranks in 4 different categories of various tasks, in hunting, shooting, picking herbs, and treasure hunting. I love all these activites, and it's fun to work on them because they feel so natural in conjunction with running around across the landscape.

    So rather than rehash what you can read in dozens of professional reviews, I guess I want to say, to clear away all the informational overload, how I react to this game overall, and how it fits into the landscape of gaming these days. This game is more like Oblivion than any other, I believe, because its best character is the world in which everything takes place. Except unlike Oblivion, its polish, detail, and mind-boggling variety will even impress the most pissy, jaded critics. The world has a personality of its own, and there are two basic themes that shine through this entire experience - a rustic nostalgia we all love from the best 50's westerns, and also the kind of serious humanistic character-driven drama we get from the best modern cinema. There are plenty of examples of both in this game, which is one of the biggest reasons that it succeeds so well, that it does not simply flip the bird to everyone the way Grand Theft Auto did. There is depth and maturity in, not only the story, but the whole world and style. This, folks, is a video game world if there ever was one, not just a haphazard collection of missions - so get it already if you have a PS3 or 360 and if you love quality games. And, on a side note, if jaggies bother you in your games you will have to get used to them, especially for the PS3 version, which has quite a bit of aliasing that distorts the otherwise beautiful landscape. Odd since the PS3 is so much more powerful with exclusives. As a PC gamer I am especially picky about graphics, but even compared to many other PS3 games the jaggies are pretty noticeable, and I heard the 360 version's graphics are smoother.

    To close, I did read about the exploitation of the Rockstar SD employees by executives, and I think it's a travesty - if someday a Rockstar SD employee might read this review, the silent majority of gamers wish you could've been given an extra year to make this game if that meant you could've worked a reasonable work week. To think that the few hundred men and women who made one of the greatest games of our generation had to worry about their labor rights being upheld is simply ridiculous. But in the end we all appreciate your blood, sweat, and tears, and we hope you continue to do more fantastic work in the future. The game speaks for itself.
    Expand
  69. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    I don't think I've ever grown to care so much about a character as I did with John Marston. The story is so well crafted and every character feels so believable. I've never liked "doing nothing" in games, but I'd rather do nothing in this game than do something in most games. I understand if some people think this game is hyped and don't enjoy this. But everything in this game is just so beautiful and well thought out. Quite buggy from time to time, but nothing too serious. An incredible cowboy simulator, I really really got into the western feeling. Riding is incredible and missions are great! This is the first gime where I really cared about doing everything 100% because I couldn't stop playing it. Also, when the game was over I felt sad for days - I'm not kidding. There was such a big emptiness and I wish I could erase my memory and play it from the beginning. Truly a masterpiece in gaming, much better than GTA IV. Expand
  70. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, stylish and engrossing. If you ever had the yearning to be a cowboy in the old west then Rockstar have got all the bases covered. From duels in the streets to poker in a bar in Mexico to watching the sun set ove rthe mountains there is every activity you could ever want to enjoy in the game. Story wise the tale of John Marston is engrossing and you feel deeply connected to the character throughout the game. This is one of Rockstar's best moments and one which has gameplay for many months to come. Expand
  71. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Rockstar may be well known for their Grand Theft Auto series, but Red Dead Redemption is the game to remember the company by. The game feels much more complete, engaging, open, and fun than GTAIV. Everything you do in the single player is a ton of fun. From the tasks such as hunting and games, to saving civilians and doing other side objectives. not only that, but the multiplayer is outstanding, with fantastic DLC and an awesome open world setting. I can go on for hours about why this game is awesome, but do I really need to? You absolutely must go out and buy this game! Expand
  72. Jan 25, 2011
    6
    Not that great. I am a fan of some sandbox games, but the genre is very saturated. Red Dead has an interesting premise but the landscape is far too boring. The endless desert is repetitive, there are few unique locations, and the "vehicles" do not make it better. The story was not great, and the graphics could use improvement. Pretty okay voice acting, though.
  73. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    As far as games go, it doesn't get much better than this one. The graphics are, at times, strikingly beautiful. The game is also unbelievably well written and acted, there were a couple times during this game which almost made me tear up. Gripping, intelligent, and fierce. A great game all around. Oh, yeah, and it's fun as **** to play.
  74. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    This is a spectacular game, and did not disappoint at all. I had trouble putting the controller down every time i played. It is an easy 10 out of 10.
  75. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    I make my own Movie with it. Great Game, Great Graphic. It is easy to lose track of time. When I will finish it, I will start again.

    I can not wait for the next one.
  76. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    A very immersive experience. The world feels so alive and authentic.This along with the time period and a strong cast of characters allow for an engaging story. The gameplay is a lot of fun and typical of a rockstar game.
  77. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Great game. Main story is linear but pretty long and interesting. It remainds me movies like Unforgiven. There is large world with a lot of things to do and plenty of side task/quests. If you like TPP action games you have to play it.
  78. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    i am going to be honest and say that this game just wasnt really very interesting for me it is a great game in many ways it just couldnt hold my attention maybe because it was a wetern style game i dont know but one thing i can say turned me right off of this game was the controling of the horse it just would not do what i wanted it to do most of the time and i ended up getting frustrated with that but it isnt enough to turn some one off of the game enterly. the game looks beutiful with a couple of screen tears every once and a while but other than that the graphics are amazing. if you like western type games then this is defenatly for you but otherwise stay clear Expand
  79. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    It is an absolut merit to say that a videogame could capture a good part of Leoni's western moviesfeeling. RDR is one of the greatest videogame experiences because it successfully gathers a well told story, beautiful scenarios, outstanding characters (both major and supporting roles) and the greatest gameplay mechanics and missions compilation from the whole Rockstar's library. It is true that at first I got a little disapointed with the empty world when compared to GTA IV, but on the other hand, traveling from place to place reminded me of how much GTA San Andreas was awesome. If GTA IV impressed me with a higher maturity level than all the previous titles from the series, this subject takes a step further on RDR, as a one of kind plot on its debate about morality and consequences of your action. Plus, a very enjoyable multiplayer content comes with the pack. Not to say that this game is perfect, the final missions are very anticlimactic compared to the rest of the story, but the final mission and the ending makes this bad experienced to be quickly erased from your memory. In the end, you have a one of a kind opportunity to join John Marston on his journey to save everything left that matters to him, and learn from a tragically beautiful perspective that the scars from his past are deeper than the ones in his face, and to comprehend that the good and the bad relies on single actions and gestures of individuals, because people don't simply change, but the cirscunstances always do. Expand
  80. May 28, 2011
    8
    Ive never been a fan of the wild-west in any spectrum what-so-ever but at a knockdown price I purchased RDR after the rave reviews it had received. Rockstar have done wonders with this game. GTA4 wasn't as bad as everyone makes it but a big problem I felt was the reptitive nature within the game and this was one thing that Rockstar seems to have addressed. The missions give you a big variety which is always helpful. Then there are the side-stories which once again offers you something totally different from the main storyline combine that with the alternatives of skinning wild animals, playing poker, bounty hunting, duels RDR can't be accused of lacking in terms of gameplay. As John Marston you are torn away from your family and told to find and kill one of his old friends Bill Williamson, initially the game is slow and lets you get used to everything but once you get going, if you stick with it, RDR is very engrossing. Visually it depcits the Wild West superbly. Its not jaw-dropping as such but its still impressive the detail and natural feeling that Rockstat managed to bring to the table. Multiplayer gives you the usual free-for-all with up to 16 players and theres team matches but the best part comes with the Zombie Undead DLC a genius idea that you can never go wrong with it is awesome! All in all RDR is a great game, nobody can dispute that but its a game thats a hit or a miss. Some people will love it and some will hit hate. If you stick with it it is a rewarding experience but at times it can be boring and the game is let down by quite a weak ending. Expand
  81. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Completed this game just today. A magnificent game that improves over GTA 4 in every possible way. The graphics look more detailed, the gameplay is better and there are far more weapons to be messing about with. My only complaint is that the ending was rushed and I was let down due to the fact that the game felt much shorter than GTA 4.
  82. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Recently, I'm playing the PS3 version for one of the best games from these generations and what I can say it's that, I didn't find any problem at all in the single-player (glitches , technical problems , or playability difficulties ) . In simple words, Red Dead Redemption is another master piece brought to you by the folks from Rockstar , without a doubt is a definitive tittle to your library.
  83. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    Take Grand Theft Auto, transport the concept to the old west, swap the cars for horses, the handguns for pistols and safe houses to saloons and you find yourself immersed in Red Dead Redemption. Despite the sarcastic tone of my opening line I say immersed because it is grand and vast although this can be a bad thing with huge ground having to be covered by horseback at times.

    Overall
    though Rockstar have to be commended for what is an excellent but flawed game with a good, if predictable, storyline and some good character development. Kudos for the unusual ending (although maybe not so unusual in the old West) which came as a surprise and I cannot say that has happened too often in my gaming life. Roll on the inevitable RDR2, not the Undead pack, but a real sequel. Expand
  84. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    If this game let you get around without that pile of cat food it calls horse it would be a 10.
    Just so much fun and so different from all the other adventure shooters out there.
    It is a must have.
  85. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I am speechless. This game is jaw dropping and a strong entry from Rockstar. Play it on HD if you can, you will love the sceneries and those simple moments just galloping through the fields. Subtle things take little to almost nothing away from the experience. A solid soundtrack and a cleverly written story that climaxes to a fulfilling ending that blends the love of a man for his family and the overpowering hand of the system that breaks the soul of man. I can't say anything anymore, it is unjust. Go out and get it and play the whole story, do the side quests, they're fun; and you'll have an experience like no other. I give this game a solid 10, for its direction and cinematography, strong dialogue, and rich thrilling western experience. HD must. Expand
  86. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Expand
  87. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Absolutely the most visually stunning game I have ever played. Hours upon Hours could be spent just wandering through the huge map, exploring and admiring the beauty and grace of the game. The multiplayer is fun and has some really great game modes. The real treasure of RDR is the single player. A great story, perfect music, and spectacular eye candy make this a must play game. The only reason I give it a 9 out of 10 is the controls are a little clunky especially for multiplayer. That is quickly forgotten when you are transported back to the old west to live out your wildest childhood cowboy adventures. Expand
  88. May 2, 2011
    10
    This game captures you from the start. Gameplay mechanics much the same as GTA, so no amazing fun their. The immersion of this game is priceless....from the main story to side stories to hunting Legendary Animals. The greatest Wild West game to date. They need to start on a sequel as soon as L.A. Noire hits the shelves.
  89. May 25, 2011
    10
    A bit late in reviewing but, it is truly one of the greatest games ever. Superb storytelling, superb gameplay and a very likeable protagonist. A must have for every PS3 owner
  90. May 7, 2011
    8
    I absolutely loved this game until the end of the Storyline. It was a huge disappointment, so much I stopped playing it. It's better than all of the GTA games and the graphics were epic.
  91. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. Red Dead Redemption is the perfect game for Rockstar to make, the story is immersive and the overall gameplay is great! The graphics are some of the best I've seen, this game is just awesome! :P But if your looking to just shoot up the west, then this may not be the game for you. Yes there are amazing gun blazing moments like RockStar always delivers, but the story is where its at in this game. Now I love to shoot a barman as much as the next guy, but people (while looking through the reviews here) must have expected another GTA 4. This is not GTA, this is better in my personal opinion. I had no problems with this game, maybe a little slow to get the story going, but I love the huge open world, with animals to hunt and bandits to shoot in the face. The multiplayer however is by far the best part, multiplayer free roam is just a blast! Going into possies with your friends and hunting outlaws (or being outlaws) is an exhilarating experience that should be in more games. Overall, I can expect to keep coming back to Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  92. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    A great, great game! RDR takes you to the western world with perfection. John Marston is one of the best characters ever in video games history. Open world, tons of missions, great gameplay, awesome graphics and a soundtrack that makes the experience more immersive! if you have a PS3 or a XBOX360, go and buy this masterpiece! RDR is one of the 3 favorite games of all time (for me).
  93. May 12, 2011
    9
    For me this was pretty much everything GTAIV wasn't... an immersive story line with a new world that was exciting to explore, from the mountains all the way down to the lush green plains and then the rolling deserts... The zombie add on was also truly great, changing the world enough so that I wanted to go exploring again to find the yeti's the four horses of the apocalypse... and many other little hidden gems! One of the best sandbox games ever Expand
  94. May 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Collapse Expand
  95. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Amazing game and a must must must buy for a Western fan. The story is as engrossing as any classic western, visuals and animation are at rockstar quality, sounds are top notch (from the soundtrack to authentic sounding weapons to the excellent voice acting). This is a very long game but exciting every step of the way and story develops slowly but leaves you entirely satisfied at its conclusion. Outside of the main story, there a numerous side adventures that are extremely fun (hunting animals in particular and chasing fugitives). It was a pleasure for me to complete this game 100% which I could not say the same for GTA4. Best Rockstar game of all time. Expand
  96. Nov 1, 2011
    4
    (SINGLEPLAYER REVIEW) After being terribly disappointed with GTA4, I avoided RDR until the recent GOTY release. I figured, hey, free dlc? OK, why not? Unfortunately, this game is about as mediocre as GTA4. Much like GTA4, RDR sports a completely uninteresting protagonist, a terrible, drawn out story, two dimensional characters, and a nauseating interpretation of the American southwest and northern Mexico that will make you gag. The story missions are hopelessly repetitive, the side missions are almost all fetch quests, the mini games (aside from casino games) are boring, and the "ambient challenges" (sharpshooting, hunting, treasure finding, plant gathering) serve no purpose other than to increase your fame score (and marginally at that) which yields passive bonuses every time you 'level it up.' Throughout the game, you also unlock different outfits, some of which grant passive bonuses one might call "perks" but the majority of them serve no purpose other than to make your character look different. Sorry Rockstar, I don't want to play dress up. Combat is improved over GTA4, however, it's still way too easy. Add to that the inclusion of bullet time (called Dead Eye) and the game is a cakewalk. Even on Hardcore mode with auto aim disabled, less health, and longer health regen (yes, it has health regen), it's still too easy. The game world is quite vast requiring large amounts of travel. While traveling, you might encounter random events along the road, say, travelers under attack by bandits or people trying to steal your horse. It's a nice diversion from moving through the massive world, but the variety of events is lacking and rescuing the same maiden in distress or recapturing the same escaped prisoners over and over gets old fast like many of the features in the game. Fast travel is also a feature but is not without its flaws. Fast travel takes place from stage coaches - the taxis of RDR. Stage coaches are not in every town, however. You can instead set up a camp, wait for the game to force you to watch some animations as you navigate the camp menu, and then fast travel. Yes that's right - you have to set up a camp in order to fast travel. Not that intuitive but whatever. If there is no stage coach at the town you are currently in, you can't set up camp inside the town to fast travel out of it. Instead, you have to leave the town, travel into the wilderness for a bit, set up your camp, watch the stupid animations and navigate the menu, then select your destination, loading screen, and voila, it's 6 hours later and you're where you need to be. The controls are generally good but there are some curious decisions. While on horseback, you have to hold a button to maintain your speed. If you want to make your horse gallop faster, you have to mash that same button in order to make it sprint. But your horse has stamina and will tire, so you have to mash X, hold it and let him regenerate his stamina bar, then mash X again to go faster. This is so **** tedious and hurts my thumb. The graphics are good, the atmosphere is great (even if the characters are 2D), but that means **** all since the gameplay is so stale. That's not to say the game isn't fun to play. The shooting is solid (though easy thanks to bullet time) and the missions are fun at first, but the game does absolute nothing new so that by the time you are 20% complete with the game, you have seen all it has to offer. Never does it incrementally introduce new mechanics or switch things up. It is the same tedious, mind numbing tasks over and over again, much like GTA4. If you are a GTA die hard, you will love this game. If you have never played a GTA game before, you will love this game. If you were expecting a fresh experience and not just a new setting, look elsewhere. Expand
  97. May 30, 2011
    9
    No game ever deserves a perfect ten, but RDR is the closest to it! Everything about the game is wonderful, the story, the setting and the characters! John Marston quickly becomes a favourite and you become attached to him! My favourite game I have ever played! I didn't want it to end!
  98. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    this is a great game with an amaceing story and great gameplay. You can put lots and lots on hours in to this game with so mutch there is to do in it. a 10/10 for me
  99. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    It's much more than just GTA in the West. It expands upon the already solid formula we're so used to from Rockstar's earlier games and brings its own flavor and character to a genre which was sorely lacking. There's something in this game for everyone and once you've finished the 20+ hour long story, there's always the ranked multiplayer to keep you busy in the Wild West for quite some time.
  100. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption, a must game for every gamer. Great story telling, great characters and great environment, just leaving my controller idle and watching some of the scenery is just a one way of admiring the beauty that Rockstar made. Truly a masterpiece. The only bad thing i found out was the online multiplayer for this game doesn't have the longevity like other games. I went online after 4-5 months after release and I didn't found much people playing anymore.

    All in all, even without online, this game can hold it's own.
    Expand
  101. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    Red Dead Redemption is a solid Wild West Themed Sandbox game. The games structure is very similar to Rockstars other Sandbox game series, the Grand Theft Auto series in which RDR places John Marston (the person you play as) into a huge Wild West Sandbox environment and complete missions, earn cash and shoot your foes. The landscape and views look authentic and has a certain naturalness feel to it with loads of plants and live animals. The story is good, deep, fascinating and provides a good, meaty single player experience. The game (for the most part) plays like a first person shooter. Many missions see you fighting against the bad guys in engaging fire fights and RDR has a neat cover system along with a great slow-mo precision targeting system feature known as Dead-Eye which allows you to slow down time and target multiple targets then unleash hell on them with fire power. The gunplay and the game play itself is polished and uncomplicated to play due to clear instructions on where to go and an auto targeting system which allows you to quickly dispatch a group of outlaws. There are some decent variety in the missions that you'll undertake like escorting someone to safety by defending them against outlaws, tame horses, herd cattle from one place to another and more. There is a hint of RPG style game play in this game. I like the fact that you can earn money by scavenging for materials from plants or organs from dead animals and sell them to someone. The single player campaign is defiantly action heavy and bloody. The weapons at your disposal are plentiful and fun to use with bolt action rifles, pistols and a really cool lasso which can be used to take down criminals or targets without killing them. The most ideal mode of transport across the vast environment is the horse. Horse controls maybe a little bit fiddly at first but you'll get use to them. However, galloping sections where you are just riding with a NPC and discussing about various topics can get repetitious at times and I hate the fact that you have to hold down the X button to keep galloping at a consistent speed or else you'll slow down. What I like about this game is how Rockstar San Diego has captured the perception of the Wild West beautifully with the landscape, music, building design, sound design, and the character models and how they move and talk. Speaking of the sound design, the characters in this game are well voiced and the gun noises sound wonderful. What is always a strong point in Rockstar's sandbox games such as their Grand Theft Auto games is that there is an abundance of stuff to do. This game is no exception. There's loads to do even after completing the expansive single player campaign such as side jobs like being a Night Watchmen or helping civilians, scavenge for plant material and play mini games such as Horseshoes and Poker which are fun if a little annoying (especially Horse Shoes, can't say the same thing about Poker: I don't know how to play it!). The physics look convincing and realistic like falling off a cliff or dragging someone behind you (attached to the lasso) and watching them tumble and twirl while you gallop along with your horse. The game does get a little bit slow at the end and I don't like hunting helpless, innocent animals and skinning them but I guess it's just a game. When you skin animals, blood splatters across the screen which is an unnecessarily effect considering the perspective that you play the game. It would be acceptable in a first person shooter where you look through the eyes of your character but not in a third person shooter. RDR is accessible to anyone due to a generous checkpoint system and clear instructions on what to do but in turn it does make the game a little too easy. As a whole, RDR is a great Third Person Shooter with RPG elements that do not overcomplicate things. This Wild West game deserves to be in any action gamer's collection. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!