Red Dead Redemption PlayStation 3

Red Dead Redemption Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2395 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the IndustrialDeveloped by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    100
    If you’re for the West, you will latch onto Redemption like an ornery rattlesnake. If the old West is of no particular interest to you, you still ought to find it difficult not to appreciate the incredible level of workmanship and depth on display here. It is a true opus. [July 2010 p.69]
  2. An unmissable game for any fan of the genre or great action adventures in general. We don’t often get masterpieces around here, but this is certainly one of those moments in time when gamers will look back more fondly on a dusty old six shooter than anything that involves jacking cars.
  3. 100
    Red Dead Redemption has a beautiful virtual world with an enormous amount of things to do, an exciting story and fantastic action. The game not only shows a world of the past, but also makes the player reflect the times we live in now. An exceptional achievement for a game.
  4. Red Dead Redemption is a fantastic game and arguably the finest Rockstar has ever produced. The production values are amazingly high, the gameplay is varied, challenging and nearly always a blast and the old West is as alive as any video game world yet seen.
  5. Red Dead takes a familiar recipe, adds a skilful blend of western elements, and the result is something really rather special. Easily the best Wild West game to date.
  6. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!
  7. If you like the idea of a sandbox western then this is money well spent. In what other game can you earn a ‘dastardly’ achievement by saving a damsel in distress, then putting her on the rail road tracks to meet her fate?

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 365
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class andMuch, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    A very immersive experience. The world feels so alive and authentic.This along with the time period and a strong cast of characters allow forA very immersive experience. The world feels so alive and authentic.This along with the time period and a strong cast of characters allow for an engaging story. The gameplay is a lot of fun and typical of a rockstar game. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charmMuch, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    this is a great game with an amaceing story and great gameplay. You can put lots and lots on hours in to this game with so mutch there is tothis is a great game with an amaceing story and great gameplay. You can put lots and lots on hours in to this game with so mutch there is to do in it. a 10/10 for me Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    The only thing that I hate from this game is : Why The John Marston Cannot Swimm ?? great riding horse,great visualization,great hunting,greatThe only thing that I hate from this game is : Why The John Marston Cannot Swimm ?? great riding horse,great visualization,great hunting,great storyline and characters Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants,The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous statements, but to me the gameplay is really good. The controls feel natural but at some points the game lacks some drama and becomes a bit repetitive.

    The graphics are quite good, but on the exception of the landscapes which are amazing, they are inferior to Uncharted 2 or Metal Gear guns of the patriots.

    The only thing that I really hated about this game was the ALIASING. It seems the game is not rendered at 720p or 1080p, but at some other inferior resolution which makes a constant annoying ALIASING...

    Although it has it's flaws, RDR is an amazing game.
    Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm pleased to see that I'm not the only one who thought that this game was just a steaming pile of crap. After about the 4th mission the story starts becoming pretty tedious ('Go and kill 5 guys over here using deadeye... go and kill 9 guys over here using deadeye... go and kill 15 guys WAY the **** over there using deadeye, then ride all the way back...' I was at least looking forward to finishing the central story, so I could just ride around in the nice big map, play virtual poker and blackjack, terrorize Mexican peasants, and hunt the occasional bounty. Imagine my disgust at being betrayed by the stupid, pointless, on-rails ending. I hate the ending so much that I can't even sell the disc in good conscience; just have to toss it in the trash like dangerous waste.

    The game gets two points for beautiful, sprawling, luxurious scenery, then loses one point for the crappy controls. I feel completely let down.
    Expand

See all 365 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.