Red Dead Redemption PlayStation 3

Red Dead Redemption Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2350 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the IndustrialDeveloped by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    100
    If you’re for the West, you will latch onto Redemption like an ornery rattlesnake. If the old West is of no particular interest to you, you still ought to find it difficult not to appreciate the incredible level of workmanship and depth on display here. It is a true opus. [July 2010 p.69]
  2. An unmissable game for any fan of the genre or great action adventures in general. We don’t often get masterpieces around here, but this is certainly one of those moments in time when gamers will look back more fondly on a dusty old six shooter than anything that involves jacking cars.
  3. 100
    Red Dead Redemption has a beautiful virtual world with an enormous amount of things to do, an exciting story and fantastic action. The game not only shows a world of the past, but also makes the player reflect the times we live in now. An exceptional achievement for a game.
  4. Red Dead Redemption is a fantastic game and arguably the finest Rockstar has ever produced. The production values are amazingly high, the gameplay is varied, challenging and nearly always a blast and the old West is as alive as any video game world yet seen.
  5. Red Dead takes a familiar recipe, adds a skilful blend of western elements, and the result is something really rather special. Easily the best Wild West game to date.
  6. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!
  7. If you like the idea of a sandbox western then this is money well spent. In what other game can you earn a ‘dastardly’ achievement by saving a damsel in distress, then putting her on the rail road tracks to meet her fate?

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 360
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class andMuch, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  2. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. Red Dead Redemption is the perfect game for Rockstar to make, the story is immersive and theThis is one of the greatest games of all time. Red Dead Redemption is the perfect game for Rockstar to make, the story is immersive and the overall gameplay is great! The graphics are some of the best I've seen, this game is just awesome! :P But if your looking to just shoot up the west, then this may not be the game for you. Yes there are amazing gun blazing moments like RockStar always delivers, but the story is where its at in this game. Now I love to shoot a barman as much as the next guy, but people (while looking through the reviews here) must have expected another GTA 4. This is not GTA, this is better in my personal opinion. I had no problems with this game, maybe a little slow to get the story going, but I love the huge open world, with animals to hunt and bandits to shoot in the face. The multiplayer however is by far the best part, multiplayer free roam is just a blast! Going into possies with your friends and hunting outlaws (or being outlaws) is an exhilarating experience that should be in more games. Overall, I can expect to keep coming back to Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Ok, i was a Western movie lover i always used to watch Western movies and i loved Red Dead Revolver i have always loved Rockstar Games andOk, i was a Western movie lover i always used to watch Western movies and i loved Red Dead Revolver i have always loved Rockstar Games and Then.... Red Dead Redemption i pre-ordered the game because i liked the trailers and Gameplays so bad! and the game got me in love with it 89 hours of gameplay i loved it it's the best PS3,360 game i think i just have to say this...MASTERPIECE Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    A nearly flawless game. Rockstar took a different path with this game, a more serious storyline rather than the GTA series. You become soA nearly flawless game. Rockstar took a different path with this game, a more serious storyline rather than the GTA series. You become so attached to the characters and their story, and it really got to me when I played. On the subject of graphics, Red Dead Redemption is beautiful. From the beautiful sunsets, to the tiny details that somebody took time to make. It's a game you really have to take slowly to fully enjoy, and you can't quite play it like GTA. Overall, one of my favorite games of all time and why I think Rockstar is one of the best developers out there today. Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    Rockstar found gold with this title.Yeah, you can cause havock if you want to, just like in GTA 4, but the story and more importantly, it'sRockstar found gold with this title.Yeah, you can cause havock if you want to, just like in GTA 4, but the story and more importantly, it's feel, makes this game more than a GTA set in the west.They just nailed the inherent sadness of the best westerns.Behaviour, dialog, characters and beautiful graphic design, all evoke those hard, past times.The ordeal the main character has to overcame to find some kind of solace it's handled in a very serious manner, giving the ending some extraordinary gravitas to it I've never seen before on a game.The gameplay is flawless, a 3rd person shooter with varied, fun missions you can accomplish to advance the main story or side missions for secondary characters which provide some much needed comic relief.The game's long and fun, and it has a multiplayer that give it endless replayability.Highly recommended! Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    RDR is a very good game, but an overrated one. Being a Western probably gave it a few extra plus for many people and perhaps for me, too. ButRDR is a very good game, but an overrated one. Being a Western probably gave it a few extra plus for many people and perhaps for me, too. But it's certainly not the 'huge achievement' that Rockstar have claimed (if Zoo editor Toby McCasker is to be believed and, having contrasted my experience of the game against the stellar mainstream reviews and score, I leaning towards his story a bit more now).

    My main gripe is that the game is often quite boring which, when put aside my feeling that the game is also too short, is quite an achievement: Rockstar created a short and partially boring game. Usually tedium comes with long, drawn-out games! The boredom is induced by the slew of horse riding courier-type missions throughout. Yes, I appreciate that it conveys the vast expanse of the West, but I didn't need to be slapped in the face with this every 5 missions or so. Luckily, the tedium is interrupted by some absolutely brilliant missions and some great cutscenes; just enough to save RDR from being a completely boring game, and instead turning it into a decent one. But I can't forget those horse riding missions. Other issues I have with RDR are: 1) It was set too late in history, and would have been better had it been in a more familiar Civil War setting; 2) The narrative pretty much restrained your role-playing into one of a bad guy turned nice guy - there was no chance to play the anti-hero, and very few choices afforded to the player, except outside of missions which didn't really affect the narrative in the same way that games like Mass Effect have managed (and Westerns are all about the anti-heroes!); 3) There was no 'bank job' mission (a Western without a bank job?!); 4) There was no Magnificent Seven/High Plains Drifter-style 'save a town from bandidos' side-story (perhaps more a personal preference, but if Rockstar are to pay homage to such films then you can't go without it).

    I've nit-picked a bit there, and have perhaps paid too much attention to what I didn't like about the game. Overall, I did really enjoy it and put a lot of hours into it, but I just feel very strongly that it didn't deserve the 9's and 10s it got, and that such inflated scores (and the Toby McCasker saga) leave me a little concerned about the credibility of mainstream games reviewers.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2016
    0
    This game was an utter disappointment. After loving Red Dead Revolver, I knew this game would be so great - I didn't grow skeptical until IThis game was an utter disappointment. After loving Red Dead Revolver, I knew this game would be so great - I didn't grow skeptical until I saw that it was made by Rockstar. The controls are absolutely terrible from the start. The default actions available to you for 'driving' your horse (which is something you have to do a lot with how big the world Expand

See all 360 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.