Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Volition and THQ's martian insurgency will continue in a fourth chapter in the franchise with expanded online play and enhanced destruction.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    95
    Honestly if not for some minor complaints Red Faction Armageddon would be a damn near perfect game. As it is, this is a strong contender for best game of the year for its fantastic mix of intense action, fun character customization that changes how you play the game, great graphics and all around fantastic gameplay experience. Even the minor flaws are easily ignored and most will likely not even notice them, as wrapped up in the game as they will be.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    83
    That inherent, unapologetic, child-like fun is still present in Armageddon.
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Red Faction: Armageddon has weak points and highligts. The story isn't that great, the dungeon-crawling experience isn't that cool and in fights chaos reigns. On the other hand, it's damn fun to kick some alien ass and destroy everything you want.
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    73
    Armageddon is an unimaginative shooter, showing more creativity in Darius' tribal tattoos than in any of its combat scenarios. If you're looking for a memorable Red Faction experience, you're better off playing Guerrilla again.
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    70
    A back-step for the series. Not terrible by any means, Armageddon is nevertheless a huge disappointment.
  6. Bloated, Armageddon loses its luster...For our money, Armageddon needn't linger but rather leap at us with tooth and claw, tear, and then depart. [July 2011, p.78]
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    40
    Backwards sequel that sabotages or removes all the best features from the last game and wastes one of the best arsenals in gaming.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Worth every penny, as a long running fan of the Red Faction franchise I know for a fact the games are never "perfect", and are never going toWorth every penny, as a long running fan of the Red Faction franchise I know for a fact the games are never "perfect", and are never going to be everyones cup of tea - but what it does it does wonderfully. Nuff said. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    This was my second game on the ps3 and i really liked it! I have been a fan of the red faction franchise from the beginning and this game is aThis was my second game on the ps3 and i really liked it! I have been a fan of the red faction franchise from the beginning and this game is a great addition to it! Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Red Faction: Armageddon is a very unique game it will offer around 15 hours of game play. The also offers a very detailed storyline and bigRed Faction: Armageddon is a very unique game it will offer around 15 hours of game play. The also offers a very detailed storyline and big replay value once the game has been beat. As for the multiplayer side of the game Infestation mode is fun when you have friends with you playing. If you're into a horde like attack and or defend game mode then enjoy. As for Ruin mode, which is online but as a single player mode. I feel like it should have had more than just the maps given and it grew boring once the top scores where beat. Hopefully in the future more is brought to the game as DLC. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    8
    Let me just say this. Red Faction Armageddon (RFA) is a great game with unfair reviews. I love 3rd person shooters and RFA is a damn greatLet me just say this. Red Faction Armageddon (RFA) is a great game with unfair reviews. I love 3rd person shooters and RFA is a damn great one! Yes the story doesn't shine (i can't even remember what it was!) but you can blow stuff up to kingdom come and that is whole lot of fun. The weapons feel great and the foes are challenging. The Multiplayer lacks depth whithout competitive mode. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    Metacritic REALLY need to fix their ratings, this game is a great example of how broken their system is... 10 people gave positive ratings andMetacritic REALLY need to fix their ratings, this game is a great example of how broken their system is... 10 people gave positive ratings and 3 gave negative. The 6 people who actually BOTHERED to WRITE anything gave it, 9, 10, 7, 8, 9 and 10, from those 6 it's an average of 8.8, but this game sits on a 6.6 , that's just crap! For all we know 3 idiots could have just came along and scored it a 1, so this game gets made out to look like crap at 1st glance. Very unfair. I think maybe people who actually bother to write something and give some reasons for their score should be given more weight to their scores. It's WAY too easy for some jerk to come along and just anonymously click a 1 for no or little reason. This game is worth playing for the physics alone, extremely well executed. All the way through the game I was a impressed how they pulled it off. If you actually pay attention to that kind of stuff I don't think it's possible to not like this game. Some very solid piloting levels too where you control various battle suits, just to mix it up and excellent boss fights too.. Some of the weapons seem superfluous, I finished 90% of the game with just the hammer and magnet gun, but I actually count that as a positive as those weapons were so much fun! I think the story of guerrilla was more fun because I really like the saboteur theme and there aren't as many outdoor environments in this game, but overall I enjoyed this one just as much. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2011
    7
    ive played all the red faction games and they all at the very least have been a fairly decent game . RFA is pretty much the same. its muchive played all the red faction games and they all at the very least have been a fairly decent game . RFA is pretty much the same. its much heavier on the action then the last RF game which is nice but its also alot shorter and i feel like there is less opertunity to exploite the fun of just causing total destruction like in other RF games. you will spend alot of your time killing theese bugs with a very nice varity of guns and there are some real cool ones as well. the story has you chasing a man named Hale who is up to no good . i wont say to much but there are some tie ins with the original RF game with the story. the game is about 8-9 hours long the level varity is all pretty much the same but there are some change up driving a few different vehicles which are fun. the online mode didnt thrill me much there isnt much new there and the 4 player co - op bug hunt mode is kinda fun for alittle while but so many games are adding it theese days that its nothing that will keep you to entertained for long .you can also upgrade your charicter with powers , improve your preformance , and raise your health with your scrape wich is kinda cool. RFA as is is surely worth a rental but personally i wouldnt want to run out and pay $60 for it which makes me glad i rented it . its a game that will give you a few days of fun maybe more if you really get into the online part. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    This game is so repetitive...its just run..fire..run..fire...reload...run...fire..
    the enemy AI is weak and just annoying. While it does sport
    This game is so repetitive...its just run..fire..run..fire...reload...run...fire..
    the enemy AI is weak and just annoying. While it does sport some brilliant arsenal, you get pretty tired of shooting the same weak enemies. I really hoped for me but its a total let-down. better rented than owned.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews