User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 141
  2. Negative: 6 out of 141
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobJ
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    Red Faction: Guerrilla delivers one of the most fun experiences i have ever had with video games. Geomod is the most amazing technologies to date. It allows for hundreds of objects to be simulated at once, along with all the other game factors to be running. I am yet to run into lag or even any glitches. This game will keep you busy for months. The game contains over 100 side missions, Red Faction: Guerrilla delivers one of the most fun experiences i have ever had with video games. Geomod is the most amazing technologies to date. It allows for hundreds of objects to be simulated at once, along with all the other game factors to be running. I am yet to run into lag or even any glitches. This game will keep you busy for months. The game contains over 100 side missions, tons of collectibles, and over 3 main missions per region. Among the collectibles are 300 ore deposits in which you can mine, over 200 EDF crates that you can break and collect salvage from, and 50 propaganda signs you can destroy. The voice acting is superb, and the explosions and guns sound awesome. Pop-in distance is not problem at all, the only thing you will even see pop-in is mountains in the distance. This game also has multiplayer to boot! There is really no reason why not to pick up this game. Only bad thing about this game is the side missions are slightly repetitive but, all are unique. Expand
  2. GontakF
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    Great game with good graphic,s but the sheer destructability and physics blew me away in this game, it took physics to a level which i thought not possible until i played this game, truely a great technical acheivement.
  3. guy!
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    Hey Sitan, try actually finishing the game OR changing the difficulty, or both, u'll luv it man. Anyway, RF3 is a game you don't want to miss.The destruciton is awsome. Like, you have no idea until you play it. Any building, and I mean ANY building you see, can be deformed any way you like it. The whole new gameplay of guerilla warfare is fresh, origional, and just plain awsome,Hey Sitan, try actually finishing the game OR changing the difficulty, or both, u'll luv it man. Anyway, RF3 is a game you don't want to miss.The destruciton is awsome. Like, you have no idea until you play it. Any building, and I mean ANY building you see, can be deformed any way you like it. The whole new gameplay of guerilla warfare is fresh, origional, and just plain awsome, especially if you like riggin ur truck with C4 and driving it into a building. If that doesn't make you smile, you shouln't even be playin video games. Mulitplayer is also wicked fun, but takes some getting used to. All that needs to change is the mission variety, but other than that, a must buy. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This is the first 10 i have given. This game is awesome, physic work every well and online play is awesome. The world is open ended (which i am a huge fan of) and you can literally blow up everything. Its a very good game worth at least a rental.
  5. May 23, 2011
    10
    if you have stress isues get this game. you will be amazed whith the destruction in this game, i thought it was aewsome whith the start 3 hours bieng tame but then you get the good wepoons a lectric gun. a super rocket launcher and a jetpack are my faviroutes but the vichles are abotsolute rubbish. aka just trucks when you start,and the online is broken but this is a fantasic game. getif you have stress isues get this game. you will be amazed whith the destruction in this game, i thought it was aewsome whith the start 3 hours bieng tame but then you get the good wepoons a lectric gun. a super rocket launcher and a jetpack are my faviroutes but the vichles are abotsolute rubbish. aka just trucks when you start,and the online is broken but this is a fantasic game. get it,play thourgh the first 3 and a half hours and youl see what i mean. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I dont care what people say this game is awesome. Period , one of the best sandbox gamea i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  8. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    If you want a pure fun game to play then buy Red Faction:Guerrilla , this game offers a very fun gameplay and destructable buildings which i think is better than battlefield's engine, good game :D
  9. May 15, 2014
    10
    Awessssssssssssssoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. MarcoP
    Jun 8, 2009
    9
    I bought thisgame on/around the same day as Infamous, and this game is much better than that one IMHO. I liked Infamous, but outside of that game's story, the game got boring really quickly. RF:G however, is without a doubt the most fun I've had playing a game this year. Multi-player is perfect too. Pick this one up at all costs.
  11. DamianL
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    only things im not keen on are poor A.I and third person view, everything else is great fun. wrecking crew great to play with friends and multiplayer has wide range of percs and weapons. almost a 10! :D
  12. DavidG
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    It's not "perfect" but it kept me coming back for 2 months straight. Aside from Call of Duty and GTA, this game is the best out there I've played for quite some time. I'm already looking forward to Red Faction II.
  13. J.S.
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    What a great game. Decent storyline, great premise. Love the building destruction, but it could have used a better engine. Very fun, innovative. The multiplayer sells this game. One of the only good PS3 Multiplayer games. There's so much variety and ranking up to do. This game wouln't get old anytime soon.
  14. PeterH
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    It's a great game. It would have been 10/10 if they added a few extra things such as the ability to recruit Red Faction members when not on a mission.
  15. KhalilB
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    General: This game is just insane. I mean, there's no other game out there that can let you destroy EVERYTHING. Any little object you see can be destroyed to little pieces of rubble. This is the best game out so far this year, in my opinion. Online: The multi-player is pretty fun and the six different modes are enough. There's 21 total maps to play. Also in multi-player you can General: This game is just insane. I mean, there's no other game out there that can let you destroy EVERYTHING. Any little object you see can be destroyed to little pieces of rubble. This is the best game out so far this year, in my opinion. Online: The multi-player is pretty fun and the six different modes are enough. There's 21 total maps to play. Also in multi-player you can choose who you want to be, you also have customization to a certain extent of course, I mean there isn't a full customization on characters but you get to choose which character you would like to play as after unlocking them and with which hammer you would like to start off with after also unlocking. It shows all of your stats for the most part which some game lack and it also has some challenges that you can try to do. Even if most of them show as hidden you can sometimes figure it out. Wrecking Mode: Then there is also Wrecking Crew Mode, I mean, there is nothing more fun then to play with my brothers, for me, or friends and just smash as much as you can to get the most points.This is always fun, they should maybe have some type of DLC to put it for online. Single-Player The graphics in the cut scenes are great. The story itself wasn't the greatest, but it'll do. Even though it was short and I would have liked to have seen more cut scenes and with some action, I mean none of the cut scenes had some real action which it lacked, but besides that, Single-Player was fine with me. Also one thing that I really appreciated is that you can continue to play Single-Player even after you finish the Story mode unlike in some other games, so that's a plus. There's is a lot more to do then what you first think. You can try to mine all the ores, find all radio tags, do all of the guerrilla actions, or just destroy everything if you really don't care. Expand
  16. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Red Faction Guerrilla is the newest game in THQ's series of video games, but unlike the other two fps games on the PS2 Red Faction Guerrilla is a third person shooter. Red Faction is not a story heavy game (having less the 10, 3 min cut scenes) which is a real shame because I enjoyed both the story and the beautifully made cut scenes a lot. The plot of the game is that you are Alec MasonRed Faction Guerrilla is the newest game in THQ's series of video games, but unlike the other two fps games on the PS2 Red Faction Guerrilla is a third person shooter. Red Faction is not a story heavy game (having less the 10, 3 min cut scenes) which is a real shame because I enjoyed both the story and the beautifully made cut scenes a lot. The plot of the game is that you are Alec Mason and you've come to mars to work until your brother is shot down by an "evil" government called EDF, so you join the red faction to help them rebel against EDF and kill them. The game's gameplay focuses on blowing stuff up and explosions more than anything else, but that isn't saying that there is bad gun-play. The game has many intense and fun gunfights were you use any one of the 3 guns or mines on you to kill the enemy. Like I said though the game is mainly about blowing stuff up any way possible, you can take it down with a lot of mines or you can use the power of your rocket launcher plus many other fun ways. The game only really has one problem difficulty spikes, they are very noticeable and annoying. Expand
  17. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    Red Faction: Guerrilla is a really fun game. The setting for this game is Mars. The games selling point is obviously the way you can destroy buildings. You can smash them brick by brick with a sledgehammer or just bombard it with rockets. The physics in this game are astonishing. The way buildings fall down is so realistic. The Geo-Mod 2 engine is a showcase of destructability. Anyhow, theRed Faction: Guerrilla is a really fun game. The setting for this game is Mars. The games selling point is obviously the way you can destroy buildings. You can smash them brick by brick with a sledgehammer or just bombard it with rockets. The physics in this game are astonishing. The way buildings fall down is so realistic. The Geo-Mod 2 engine is a showcase of destructability. Anyhow, the game is still a fun sandbox. There is a excellent array of weapons like proximity mines and rocket launchers to show the EDF (Earth defence Force) who's boss and loads of things to do other than the main missions like hijacking an EDF vehicle, rescuing fellow Guerrilla allies and finding audio tapes scattered across the Mars Landscape. The graphics are really cool and make you feel like your on the planet Mars. Multiplayer is a blast to play too. There's the usual Capture the flag, deathmatch modes but not there are Backpacks which give you special abilities. Red Faction: Guerrilla is a brilliant game and if you don't fancy destroying buildings in real life, look no further than this game. Expand
  18. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Really an 8.5, but because I just love blowing stuff up, I had to give it a 9. The destructible buildings is what makes this game. This game is basically GTA on Mars, except that you're the good guys, fighting the oppressive EDF. The story could have been great, but there is poor character development, and your character has a pretty much non-existent personality. He pretty much joins theReally an 8.5, but because I just love blowing stuff up, I had to give it a 9. The destructible buildings is what makes this game. This game is basically GTA on Mars, except that you're the good guys, fighting the oppressive EDF. The story could have been great, but there is poor character development, and your character has a pretty much non-existent personality. He pretty much joins the Red Faction because of the death of his brother. How many times do we have the theme of revenge in games? But anyway, the world is very expansive, and just because it's on Mars doesn't mean you'll be seeing red sand all the time. There are urban areas, and due to terraforming, there are some plant life. Multiplayer was fun, but no one plays online anymore. This is the best Red Faction in this series, and I really want to know what the future of this series is like, especially that THQ has closed down. Expand
  19. JonahS
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    Pretty fun for a while. The game mechanic is exciting, and player freedom to destroy ANY structure you see is as liberating from a gamer standpoint as it is innovative. I just wish there was more to the story, and a little bit more variety in missions. What little I have played of MP so far seems kinda fun.
  20. MikeS
    Jan 17, 2010
    8
    Despite a few minor glitches such as invisible walls and the likes, RFG Still manages to be a great game an excellent Destruction engine and Physics.
  21. JamesD
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    On the surface RFG might just be a run of the mill sandbox in the way of mercenaries 2 but I think it has a grander scale of destruction than World in Flames. One thing RFG nails is the destruction and deformation of buildings, they are an obsession to wreck with a vehicle or with grenades. Their are odd glitces but they are still masses of fun to blow to pieces. Mars however is one On the surface RFG might just be a run of the mill sandbox in the way of mercenaries 2 but I think it has a grander scale of destruction than World in Flames. One thing RFG nails is the destruction and deformation of buildings, they are an obsession to wreck with a vehicle or with grenades. Their are odd glitces but they are still masses of fun to blow to pieces. Mars however is one repetitive place, as such it can get a little boring to overlook the degraded red planet over and over. The game is tough as nails and can get really frustrating but it requires a lot of strategy. So Red Faction Guerilla is excellent but borders on repetition a lot. If you like your sandbox's filled with variety in terms of environments and missions you will not find it. However if you like to blow things up endlessy don't think twice about enduring it. Expand
  22. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    I have spent about 2 hours on Red Faction Guerrilla and I must say that it has been time well spent. IMO, you have to go into this gaming experience with the mindset of having a good time and not so much looking for great story writing or character development. I came into this game looking to blow s**t up, and thats what I got. The destruction is on par with DICE's Frostbite Engine.I have spent about 2 hours on Red Faction Guerrilla and I must say that it has been time well spent. IMO, you have to go into this gaming experience with the mindset of having a good time and not so much looking for great story writing or character development. I came into this game looking to blow s**t up, and thats what I got. The destruction is on par with DICE's Frostbite Engine. The overall physics are astounding. If you are looking for a good sandbox game with destruction a-plenty, this is the game for you....and at the current price point its a win-win. Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    i loved this game but i wish it had a longer story line and more in depth story. this game is amazing with the fact that you can destroy any buidling and a variety of different missions makes me long for it to be longer and maybe make that story line a bit better so i can feel some attachment to the charachters but that is hard to do but the story sometimes feels non existant and theyi loved this game but i wish it had a longer story line and more in depth story. this game is amazing with the fact that you can destroy any buidling and a variety of different missions makes me long for it to be longer and maybe make that story line a bit better so i can feel some attachment to the charachters but that is hard to do but the story sometimes feels non existant and they should have made cutscenes or something after every mandatory mission so you feel like the story is progressing further Expand
  24. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    A super addictive game that makes a rubbish game (naming no names alone in the dark), look like a deadly sin, out of 10 i give this 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
  25. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Destroying whole buildings with a hammer can be fun for a long time. Any building can be destroyed. The main reason for the 8 is because the game can be frustrating because of physics, getting stuck behind something, and because the world could be more detailed.
  26. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    Red Faction Guerrilla is the typical good sandbox game, a large map, a lot to do in it, many hours of fun ahead of you, the destructibility is great (it's a shame that there is so few games that takes advantage of this engine). But it doesn't do anything to go over the genre, side-activities get repetitive, the story is only there to allow you to destroy everything. I also regret that youRed Faction Guerrilla is the typical good sandbox game, a large map, a lot to do in it, many hours of fun ahead of you, the destructibility is great (it's a shame that there is so few games that takes advantage of this engine). But it doesn't do anything to go over the genre, side-activities get repetitive, the story is only there to allow you to destroy everything. I also regret that you can't manage the guerrilla (calling them for help, send them to a location to distract the enemy etc...) and the artistic direction could be better (the architecture and vehicles are cool but Mars feels like Mojave, it's a waste of a great scenario !).
    But overall Red Faction Guerrilla is a pretty good game that does honor to the franchise.
    Expand
  27. May 26, 2015
    8
    This game is good. Nothing more and nothing less. You will have a fun time playing it. Even it looks a little bit dated in some parts it still holds up pretty well even today. Demolishing houses with a walker never gets old. The only negative thing i can think of is the sometimes quite repetitive gameplay (go to point a and kill all the enemies then go to point b).
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 100
    An in your face, balls to the wall, destroy everything in your path treat. With a ton of missions to complete, an entire planet to destroy, and online modes that will have you sitting in front of your television for hours upon hours, this game has it all. I know this has been said a ton of times before, but it holds true for this game; if Red Faction: Guerrilla doesn't get your blood pumping, check your pulse.
  2. 90
    This is explosive, balls-to-the-wall action that makes no concessions in delivering the ultimate playground in which to wreak havoc. The almost limitless potential for reckless mayhem is what makes Guerrilla such an unashamedly fun game to play, which is why this is without a doubt the biggest summer blockbuster so far this year and consequently an essential purchase. Now go on, get your ass to Mars.
  3. It may be a one trick pony but Saints Row 2 in space will give anyone an appetite for destruction.