User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 52
  2. Negative: 6 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Just read few "critic" reviews, it's pretty obvious that the "professional" reviewers never played any of the original RE games. Good game buy it and enjoy it.
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There will be people here who complain about the controls and difficulty, which is to be expected given how 'awkwardly' the old RE titles handle. With that said, the controls don't take long to learn and to dismiss the game based on how it controls is an injustice to what is still a great game at core. This is arguably the apex of the old survival horror format, and in itself is a piece of gaming history. It might not have the immediate gratification of most 'pick up and play' games of this preteen CoD camper era, but if you take the time to absorb the atmosphere and setting, and pick up the nuances of the game then the rewards will be manifold. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Very good resident evil. Boring at the start, interesting later. People who voted down for it, i hope you get ran over by a combine harvester lol. Seriously. The graphics are good, sound is good and story is good. ALSO! ITS BEEN RELEASED IN HD ON PS3 AND XBOX 360 LATE 2011! OMG!

    Huh... Now... NOW WHAT WE NEED IS RESIDENT EVIL OUTBREAK IN HD! COME ON CAPCOM!
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    The fact this game has HD in the title is an insult. I love Code Veronica and had it on Dreamcast, then bought it again when it came out on PS2. So the thought of RE:CV having HD visuals was worth it (to me) to buy this game yet again. Well...I can't quite voice my true disappointment. This is a terrible port and a very obvious attempt to just cash-in. I'm not exaggerating when I say thisThe fact this game has HD in the title is an insult. I love Code Veronica and had it on Dreamcast, then bought it again when it came out on PS2. So the thought of RE:CV having HD visuals was worth it (to me) to buy this game yet again. Well...I can't quite voice my true disappointment. This is a terrible port and a very obvious attempt to just cash-in. I'm not exaggerating when I say this barely looks better than it did on PS2...even with the blurred up hardware acceleration the textures still manage to look horrible. This game is also insanely difficult...so anyone who has only played recent RE installments will likely be turned off by this. It's got a great story even though it has a few of my most hated RE characters of all time...(Alfred Ashford and the incredibly annoying Steve...I NEVER thought he was funny...some people do, but not me...I always found him incredibly annoying and stupid)...the bottom line is this game is completely overpriced...if you still have a PS2 (or backwards compatible PS3) you can probably find the PS2 version for $5-$10 and it's the exact same game even in terms of graphics and game play really. This should have been $10. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is as good as you expect from the original (not 3rd person) RE series. But there is one huge flaw. During the campaign (BEWARE OF MINOR SPOILER, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK BEYOND THIS POINT), you play for several characters. But the game doesn't warn you anyhow as to when you'll be switching characters. So I've left my grenade launcher with over than 40 grenades overall in Claire's inventory. However, final boss fight required me using it, because you can't take it down with your 6 magnum shots + 50% AK+ 11 shotgun + 40 pistol (and even if you'll stay alive long enough to make more shots with en-d HG, it'll still be faster to replay last hour of game to get GL to item box). So RE 2 was doing much better job combining gameplay for two characters. I'm not sure that HD textures are noticeable enough to be mentioned. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    5
    I found this rather frustrating to play all over again, not because of the actual game lacking replay value, but because I'm sick of all these so called, "HD Versions", of games that are hardly any different from the original. The image is a bit crisper and the font and menu looks better, but that's pretty much it. Claire still spins on an axis.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    When Resident Evil: Code Veronica X first released back 2001, Gameplay is Perfect, Story was Best even more thanks to Wesker.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Story: 8/10
    Total: 8/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  8. Nov 1, 2015
    10
    You know it's not a true HD Release when textures look exactly the same as the PS2/DC/Gamecube versions, however everything else was done correctly, the source content is intact and they even went and enhanced the graphics by quite a large amount, which somehow people here have not mentioned, like dynamic shadows instead of a blob under everything, proper lighting being implemented whereYou know it's not a true HD Release when textures look exactly the same as the PS2/DC/Gamecube versions, however everything else was done correctly, the source content is intact and they even went and enhanced the graphics by quite a large amount, which somehow people here have not mentioned, like dynamic shadows instead of a blob under everything, proper lighting being implemented where it shines onto things from a light source, plus the huge improvement to water by using a nice shader. Also 99.9% of PS2/Gamecube/DC owners used composite cables, so telling yourself it's merely a bump in resolution is lying to yourself, this version is the version to buy if you have never yet had the joy to play through this RE title, it was made at a time where 3D games looked and played with real finess, but this release has made a really good effort to look modern day on PS3/360 yes i own both versions, it is a great game. I also own the Dreamcast Japan import Biohazard Complete SE and RECVX for PS2. Expand
  9. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    This is the very last time RE was a non-linear true survival game. The last time in RE history that there were puzzles that took more than two seconds to figure out. The last time you had to figure out just what this item is for and where you're supposed to go. The last time you had to worry that killing everything might leave you out of ammo. The last time you had to backtrack through anThis is the very last time RE was a non-linear true survival game. The last time in RE history that there were puzzles that took more than two seconds to figure out. The last time you had to figure out just what this item is for and where you're supposed to go. The last time you had to worry that killing everything might leave you out of ammo. The last time you had to backtrack through an area. The last time you ran into a locked door and had no idea where the key was. And it did all of that really damn well, while preserving the cheesy dialogue and silly plot that RE is known and remembered for. Expand
  10. Oct 24, 2015
    4
    I;ll be honest. this is a game i've been meaning to play since it first came out back on the dreamcast and now that i have played it?.. um.. i have mixed feelings.. for the most part the game is fun, even if it's controls are outdated and the cheesy, badly acted dialog is still present (minus Alyson Court as Claire.. she's the only good voice actress who tries in this game). The enhancedI;ll be honest. this is a game i've been meaning to play since it first came out back on the dreamcast and now that i have played it?.. um.. i have mixed feelings.. for the most part the game is fun, even if it's controls are outdated and the cheesy, badly acted dialog is still present (minus Alyson Court as Claire.. she's the only good voice actress who tries in this game). The enhanced graphics were the selling point of this re-release and while some of the character models and a few of the water effects look better.. most of it looks it's age.. most of the environment is full of blurry textures, or just no textures at all, like it's a early ps1 game.The biggest problem is the difficulty . it's way to hard and part of the reason is that capcom USA decided to eliminate the ability to choose the difficulty settings that were present on the dreamcast, ps2 and gamecube version.. as well as the japanese version of this game.. why did they get the difficulty settings but we in the US didn't? your guess is as good as mine.. overall i really wanted to like this game, but the way too outdated graphics (that clearly had very little work down to them for is supposed HD version), the awkward controls, and the extreme difficulty are too much to make this game enjoyable.. this is a incredible lazy "HD" remaster that clearly had about 5 minutes of work done on id before being sent out the door. i wish i could say i expected better from capcom but considering they haven't made a good RE game since RE4, i'm not as surprised as i could be. if you want to play RE Code Veronica X, get the PS2 or gamecube version instead.. Expand
  11. Jan 19, 2016
    10
    Excellent Resident Evil experience! The last of the RE games that you don't know where to go and what to do next, with all the creatures around! Great story and great survival horror game-play! Recommended for all the RE fans who loved the fixed camera angles and the dark atmosphere! Of course its a 10!
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    69
    When Code Veronica was released on the Dreamcast in 2000, it was an amazing game. Today it feels outdated, especially after the changes Resident Evil 4 brought to the series. [Nov 2011, p.97]
  2. Play UK
    Nov 18, 2011
    72
    It's going to be off-putting for newcomers because it's an awkward mess in the context of modern gaming's drive for slick controls but regardless, it's strangely familiar and reminiscent of a different era for everyone else. [Issue#211, p.99]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 13, 2011
    60
    Moments of horror glimmer among the frustration. [Dec 2011, p.108]